Downie & Gadban

01420 82879

Downie & Gadban offers a comprehensive range of legal services to individual and business clients. With offices in Alton, Hampshire and Guildford, Surrey, we cater to clients both locally and across the South on matters including residential and commercial property sales and development, commercial and civil litigation and dispute resolution, and Wills, probate and inheritance matters. Our clients include private / high net worth individuals, business owners and entrepreneurs, as well as a wide range of commercial clients, from SMEs to larger companies. We pride ourselves on a client-focused, solicitor-led service, ensuring that our clients get advice that is tailored to their individual needs, whether on routine residential property transactions or more complex and substantial matters. We offer the level of technical legal expertise clients would expect from larger firms – many of our team have experience working in national or Legal 500 ranked firms – but combined with the bespoke service, personal touch and competitive pricing that have seen us build a loyal client following in the region, London and beyond. Our work covers property development, commercial property, residential conveyancing, dispute resolution, Wills, probate, inheritance and trusts, and Powers of Attorney. We also offer the services of a Notary Public, who is able to notarise, certify and authenticate documents for use abroad. Established in 1905, Downie & Gadban combines a rich heritage and trusted pedigree with an expansive, forward-looking approach that puts its clients firmly at the heart of its business.

4.9/5 151 Client Reviews 151 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation

How Downie & Gadban compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Downie & Gadban on ReviewSolicitors

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Downie & Gadban offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Show more

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

151 Client Reviews

4.9/5

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    135
  • Very Good
    13
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    2

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Jean
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Downie & Gadban Solicitors. Jean Added 1 day ago Report to admin
May 13, 2021 20210513212026

An excellent experience

5

Matter Type: Probate

Sophie handled the probate in a friendly and efficient manner. Communication was excellent, we were kept up to date at every stage. Everything was explained very clearly. Would have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending Sophie Booker.

Solicitor named in this review: Sophie Booker

Was this review helpful? Yes

Nikki
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Downie & Gadban Solicitors. Nikki Added 1 week ago Report to admin
May 05, 2021 20210505092816

Great service

5

Matter Type: Probate

We had a great interaction Sophie and Simon when handling my mum and step fathers estate and house sale. Explained things well and made a difficult time easier.

Solicitor named in this review: Sophie Booker

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mark
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Downie & Gadban Solicitors. Mark Added 1 week ago Report to admin
May 05, 2021 20210505090624

Downie & Gadban

5

Matter Type: Probate

I would like to recommend Sophie Booker for the outstanding service provided.

Solicitor named in this review: Sophie Booker

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wendy
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Downie & Gadban Solicitors. Wendy Added 1 week ago Report to admin
May 02, 2021 20210502094600

Friendly and efficient service

5

Matter Type: Wills

I chose Downie & Gadban when I needed to make my will because they had such good reviews, and I wasn't disappointed. Sophie listened to my requirements, advised me when I needed it, and kept me informed throughout. The whole process was completed in record time despite the current restrictions. I am very pleased with the service I received, and will definitely use Downie & Gadban again.

Solicitor named in this review: Sophie Booker

Was this review helpful? Yes

Maxfield
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Downie & Gadban Solicitors. Maxfield Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
April 29, 2021 20210429091423

House sale & purchase

5

Matter Type: Purchase and Sale

Great value for money, professional, efficient.

Solicitor named in this review: Sandie Barnett

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mark
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Downie & Gadban Solicitors. Mark Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
April 21, 2021 20210421074813

2020 to 2021

4

Matter Type: Probate

It’s been quite an adventure but we were looked after every step of the way, friendly, helpful and down to earth I would recommend them to anybody who needs a good and honest solicitor
Thank you

Solicitor named in this review: Sophie Booker

A representative from Downie & Gadban responded to this review on 27 April, 2021

Thank you so much for your lovely positive review., we really appreciate you taking the time to write this.

Was this review helpful? Yes

anon
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Downie & Gadban Solicitors. anon Added 4 weeks ago Report to admin
April 15, 2021 20210415104945

Money claim

5

Matter Type: Debt and Bankruptcy

From the point of initial advice thru to conclusion of this case I would rate the service and advice I received as first class.
Mr Robert Small was very professional , honest and candid with me. I was kept informed and updated on both fees and process throughout the entire claim.

Solicitor named in this review: Robert Small

A representative from Downie & Gadban responded to this review on 27 April, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for Robert Small. We appreciate the positive feedback.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Richard
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Downie & Gadban Solicitors. Richard Added 4 weeks ago Report to admin
April 15, 2021 20210415055935

Great Service

5

Matter Type: Purchase and Sale

Quick to reply and easy to contact, which puts them about other solicitors that I have used.

A representative from Downie & Gadban responded to this review on 27 April, 2021

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jeffery
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Downie & Gadban Solicitors. Jeffery Added 1 month ago Report to admin
April 14, 2021 20210414144913

Probate case

5

Matter Type: Probate

As executor of my aunts will, I intended to get the probate and inheritance tax sorted myself but the paperwork was daunting and there were time constraints due to a house sale.I contacted Sophie who sorted the case very quickly and efficiently at a reasonable price. Myself and all the family are very impressed and grateful.

Solicitor named in this review: Sophie Booker

A representative from Downie & Gadban responded to this review on 27 April, 2021

We are delighted that Sophie was able to help you in a difficult time. Thank you so much for leaving a positive review.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Lisa
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Downie & Gadban Solicitors. Lisa Added 1 month ago Report to admin
March 28, 2021 20210328114902

Will writing

5

Matter Type: Wills

Very helpful, by email and phone on writing wills for a husband and wife

Solicitor named in this review: Sophie Booker

A representative from Downie & Gadban responded to this review on 27 April, 2021

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Ian
Ian Added 11 months ago Report to admin
May 24, 2020
Collected on
20200524061758

Ian

5

I highly recommend Downie and Gadban. The staff are friendly and the service they offer is second to none.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Shyam
Shyam Added 2 years ago Report to admin
April 08, 2019
Collected on
20190408184325

Shyam

4

Good customer service, but expensive. Recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ramzi
Ramzi Added 2 years ago Report to admin
September 04, 2018
Collected on
20180904071308

Ramzi

5

Excellent solicitors,explained all things to me in simple terms 'in relation to me buying my first house,and would not let the contract go through until it was water tight,thank you very much Sandie & Simon.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jack
Jack Added 2 years ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
July 03, 2018
Collected on
20180703131551

Jack

1

Rude staff

Was this review helpful? Yes

Downie & Gadban responded to this review on 17 July, 2018

We are sorry to hear about your experience and would like to find out what went wrong. If we didn’t get things right for you then we would like to make sure it doesn’t happen again. Please can you contact me on katie.sweeney@downieandgadban.co.uk or 01420 81278.

marylin
marylin Added 2 years ago Report to admin
June 22, 2018
Collected on
20180622172403

marylin

5

Sañdie was excellent when dealing with my sale of 11 Gaskell court. I would certainly consider recommending your firm

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

Downie & Gadban offers a comprehensive range of legal services to individual and business clients. With offices in Alton, Hampshire and Guildford, Surrey, we cater to clients both locally and across the South on matters including residential and commercial property sales and development, commercial and civil litigation and dispute resolution, and Wills, probate and inheritance matters. Our clients include private / high net worth individuals, business owners and entrepreneurs, as well as a wide range of commercial clients, from SMEs to larger companies. We pride ourselves on a client-focused, solicitor-led service, ensuring that our clients get advice that is tailored to their individual needs, whether on routine residential property transactions or more complex and substantial matters. We offer the level of technical legal expertise clients would expect from larger firms – many of our team have experience working in national or Legal 500 ranked firms – but combined with the bespoke service, personal touch and competitive pricing that have seen us build a loyal client following in the region, London and beyond. Our work covers property development, commercial property, residential conveyancing, dispute resolution, Wills, probate, inheritance and trusts, and Powers of Attorney. We also offer the services of a Notary Public, who is able to notarise, certify and authenticate documents for use abroad. Established in 1905, Downie & Gadban combines a rich heritage and trusted pedigree with an expansive, forward-looking approach that puts its clients firmly at the heart of its business. .


Regulated By:
Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal Services

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000