Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Expatriate Law Compares

Value for money

This firm - 96%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Expatriate Law on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 6%
About Right 93%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 99%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Expatriate Law and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Expatriate Law performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 99%
No 1%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 98%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Expatriate Law and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Expatriate Law compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 98%
No 2%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Expatriate Law offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.9/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    89
  • Very Good

    5
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    1
  • Awful

    1

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Ruth

Ruth

June 28, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent Law Firm

My case initially started with Byron in Dubai before being transferred to Oscar in the UK. It was a complicated case due to jurisdictional issues.
Byron was excellent and I’ve recommended him to several people needing UAE legal advice.
Oscar Smith, who is based in the UK, was always available to speak with, offering sensible and practical advice. I can’t speak highly enough of him. His legal knowledge is vast. Even throughout the most difficult periods he kept a calm head and offered constructive solutions.
Thank you both.

Was this review helpful?

amleia

Matter Type:

Children

amleia

June 09, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Recommend without hesitation

Sonny offered incredible support and advice at the most difficult time of my life. I was alone in a country I'd only just moved to and every step of the way had confidence that he had my back. It was absolutely invaluable to have somebody so supportive, practical, organised and responsive on my 'team'. I particularly appreciated that he wasn't agressive with the other side, he constantly encouraged me to work with my ex to find a child centered solution that would work for everyone and leave me in a good position. I would, and have recommended Sonny without hesitation. Thank you so much Sonny. I am incredibly grateful.

Was this review helpful?

Stefanie

Stefanie

May 24, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

International Family Law Case

I came to Sonny in my desperate situation on recommendation and I can only say good things about him and his team. I would recommend him without hesitation. He is very competent, very well networked, extremely reliable, fast, very easy to reach, absolutely solution-oriented, pragmatic and empathetic and understanding.

Was this review helpful?

Asma

Matter Type:

Divorce

Asma

April 21, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Divorce and Settlement Case

Dear Sonny,
I am writing to thank you for all your help and support throughout this time. My case wasn't an easy one but you and your team dealt with it so wonderfully. I had heard quite a few horror stories where people's cases went horribly wrong but I am so lucky that I was in very safe hands and your approach throughout was very pragmatic and incredibly wise and I was guided at every step - I am truly grateful for everything. I already am highly recommending your law firm to my expat friends so that they make the right choice at the right time rather than wasting their time and money on wrong people. Because of you and your attention to detail I am in such a strong position and you saved me from making many wrong choices.
Best wishes,
Asma

Was this review helpful?

Fares

Fares

March 21, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great firm to work with

Sara Lange from Expatriate Law has been such a pleasure to deal with. She is very efficient and prompt in her responses and helped me complete my case in record time! I highly recommend her and her firm! Thank you Sara.

Was this review helpful?

Sarah

Sarah

March 03, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Top-Notch Legal Practitioners

A very special thank you from my heart to Expatriate Law who have provided my family hope in what can only be described as a horrendous divorce.
They have shown such dedication, compassion, and vast amounts of expertise throughout which is a very rare combination of attributes to continually maintain whilst under the pressures of complex cases.
The amount of gratitude and respect I hold for Byron James and his team is immense, and I have no doubt this barrister will continue to receive the recognition he so deserves throughout his career as he prospers as a top-notch legal professional.
This barrister possesses a razor- sharp mind that will navigate your case through very complex areas of family law and in most cases achieve results.
I must also add that Marilou Mitra and Ashleigh Herbert are to be commended for their patience throughout, they really are wonderful paralegals.
And lastly, praise to the firms Legal Secretary Sally Pretorius for the warmth and encouragement she has given my family since day one.
Blessings to you All,
Sarah






Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Matter Type:

Divorce

Anonymous

March 02, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

A very professional, yet caring approach through a difficult time

Divorce is a challenging time, and Lauren provided the space, care and expertise to ensure that I received the best advise to ensure that the process was completed as required. Throughout the divorce, the process was carefully explained and I was updated at every step. When a significant change was proposed unexpectedly from my ex husband, Lauren made it a priority to call me (even though I was in Australia) and ensure that I was part of the decision regarding next steps. Lauren would often work outside of normal business hours to progress my case and responding in a timely manner to all my queries and updates. The best experience I could have asked for in a very challenging life change.

Was this review helpful?

Stacey

Stacey

February 15, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent, highly recommend

Byron James is a fantastic solicitor who I would recommend to anyone engaged in a family law dispute. He was an incredible support for me, I always felt far more positive and encouraged after speaking to him. He guided me meticulously through the process, was always efficient, and was generous with his time and expertise. He would always tell me what I needed to hear (as opposed to what I might have wanted to hear), was honest and realistic. I hope never to need his services again (which I of course mean in the nicest possible way) but would be straight back in touch with him if the circumstances ever arose again. Also a special mention to the support staff who were always friendly and helpful, namely Marilou Mitra and Sally Pretorius.

Was this review helpful?

Stefanie

Stefanie

February 15, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Non-molestation order

Sara and Jack were fantastic! They were professional and supportive throughout the worst time of my life. I cannot thank them enough for their support. I was understandably anxious, they were responsive and always gave me the time I needed. I’m so grateful for their support and cannot recommend them enough!

Was this review helpful?

Robert

Matter Type:

Divorce

Robert

February 09, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Exceptional Service

Byron and his team were consummate professionals. I cannot thank them enough for all their help with my case, in the face of some frankly appalling conduct from the solicitors on the other side. Byron and his team remained steadfast and professional in their approach with their focus only on keeping costs at the correct level and settling the matter as efficiently as possible. They were hugely proactive and extremely approachable and helped achieve an excellent outcome, despite the best efforts of the other side to simply drive up costs and spin the case out for as long as possible. I would hugely recommend this firm, and especially Byron for their calm, honest and professional approach and the exceptional service they provide.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Mûlî

Mûlî

May 03, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Mûlî

Hero Lomas from Law of Exile has been a great pleasure to work with. She is very efficient and quick in her responses and most helpful to finish the matter in record time! I highly recommend her and her firm! Thank you Hero Lomas

Was this review helpful?

Stefandroo

Stefandroo

February 15, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Stefandroo

Sara and Jack were amazing and I can’t thank them enough. I was very anxious about the process but they put me at ease and gave me the time and support I needed. They were flexible, reliable and super professional I can’t recommend Expatriate Law enough! Thank you so much.

Was this review helpful?

MARTIN

MARTIN

December 31, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

MARTIN

TQ to Sara Lange and the team, I have been going through a divorce action for over 5yrs and tried other Lawyers, which seem to come to a dead end when a problem was hit with my ex not communicating and living abroad, Sara was very helpful and good ,sound advice, even through the COVID situation with courts being affected Sara and her team kept me informed and we pushed through to the End. Highly recommended, TQ again.

Was this review helpful?

Natasha

Natasha

December 16, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Natasha

Waste of time and money. Generic information provided at the price of £400 per hour. Questions left with no replies. I am not convinced at all of this legal services provider’s underlying technical skills.

Was this review helpful?

Peter

Peter

November 12, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Peter

I have been a client of David Truex for over fifteen years - actually, the last time we engaged before our matter this last week was fifteen years ago!! On both occasions, I have appreciated David's quick grasp of my core issues/concerns and the clarity of his speedy advice. As an Australian seeking advice about UK law, I have always appreciate another feature of working with David: he has a sense of humor - something that we all need sometimes "in these situations".

Was this review helpful?

About this branch

Description

We are a specialist team of international divorce lawyers, advising expats worldwide on divorce and family law matters. We appreciate that living as an expat, it can be difficult to know where to turn for accurate and trusted advice. Unfamiliar and conflicting laws make divorcing abroad a potential minefield. Our firm only advises expatriates and so on a daily basis we assist British clients residing in Dubai, Abu Dhabi, Singapore, Qatar, Cyprus, Thailand, Kenya and other expat hubs. Contact us for confidential advice on international or expat divorce if: - You were born in England or Wales - Your spouse was born in England or Wales - You have property or other assets in England or Wales - You or your spouse live in England or Wales - You or your spouse did live in England, and either of you intend to return there In addition to divorce, we advise on a large range of international family law matters including: 1. Child custody and contact disputes 2. National and international relocation with children 3. Child abduction 4. School fees and choice of school disputes 5. Maintenance claims 6. Injunctions and freezing orders 7. Pension and other asset claims 8. Same sex financial claims on separation 9. Financial claims for unmarried parents We offer free initial telephone advice from a senior solicitor in the firm, giving an initial overview of your matter and the steps you can take. Call us today on 02030061664 or email alexandra@expatriatelaw.com.

Practice areas

*Divorce *Jurisdiction and forum disputes *Divorce planning *Nullity *Maintenance claims *Variation of maintenance *Division of assets on divorce *Injunctions * Freezing orders *Legal fees claims on divorce *Child custody *Child abduction *Schedule 1 claims for unmarried parents *Financial claims after a foreign divorce *Prenuptial and marital agreements *Settlement agreements

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Annulment
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Abduction
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Maintenance
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Divorce Mediation
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Domestic Violence
    • Elderly care
    • Elderly care home fees
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Fixed Fee Divorce
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • High Net Worth Divorce
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • International Divorce
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Legal aid
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
Book an appointment