Expatriate Law

0203 006 1661

International Divorce and Family Lawyers Expatriate Law is a firm of highly respected international family lawyers, based in Old Bailey, London. Chambers and Partners describes the firm as "the go-to people for cases involving Dubai and the UAE," and Alexandra Tribe is particularly commended for her "fantastic advice to clients." Expatriate Law has received exceptional accolades for their work this year, including being shortlisted for the Law Society's Excellence Award for International Legal Services, and Byron James being shortlisted as International Family Lawyer of the Year within the Family Law Awards.

4.8/5 58 Client Reviews 58 Leave a review

How Expatriate Law compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Expatriate Law on ReviewSolicitors

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Expatriate Law offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

58 Client Reviews

4.8/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    52
  • Very Good
    5
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    1

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Anonymous
Verified Anonymous Added 5 months ago Report to admin
August 19, 2020 20200819101937

Melanie will be my first port of call if I am ever in trouble again.

5

I cannot find the words to express how grateful I am to have had Melanie Bataillard-Samuel as my solicitor. Melanie is brilliant, tenacious and empathetic. I found her extremely knowledgeable when advising and fast at grasping complication situations. I could not have asked for a better lawyer. I would like to thank Melanie for all the efforts she made in supporting me in my legal case. She acted swiftly to ensure that we won while keeping me calm throughout a traumatic week of court hearings filled with false allegations.

I contacted Expatriate Law at very short notice after being handed a surprise court order while visiting England during the coronavirus pandemic: I was informed that a court hearing had taken place in my absence the day before, and that another hearing would take place in "two days time", to determine visitation/custody arrangements. This case involved two different jurisdictions, discussions about the implications of Brexit, already initiated divorce/custody/visitation proceedings in Germany, and carefully prepared allegations. I was swamped with feelings of shock, numbness and anxiety. Melanie took control of the situation and worked hard to present our case with less than two days notice, gathering all relevant evidence, as well as finding a great barrister. In the end, we "won" and the other party was ordered to pay my legal fees - quite frankly, I think that says it all.


Melanie will be my first port of call if I am ever in trouble again.

Solicitor named in this review: Melanie Bataillard-Samuel

Was this review helpful? Yes

Nadeem
Nadeem Added 5 months ago Report to admin
August 14, 2020 20200814111534

Thank you, Raphaela

5

Matter Type: International Divorce

Raphaela provided me with an excellent service.
I was particularly impressed on how she professionally handled my ex-wife's queries.
I was also very impressed with the online divorce and how quick the process took.

Was this review helpful? Yes

John
John Added 5 months ago Report to admin
August 08, 2020 20200808095008

Prompt and Efficient, Excellent Client Care

5

It's a bit difficult to review the handling of one's own personal matters by a legal firm particularly in Social Media...but well, here goes. Despite Co-VID, despite the distance between London and where I am abroad, my matters were handled most sensitively and speedily by Sophie Capo-Blanco and her team.

The perception I have is of the client coming first, where one's choices are valued, carefully considered and then carefully advised. Thus options become swiftly available; which in turn are underpinned by Sophie's solid legal expertise. The client is more than informed regarding their options and their potential consequences. Advice is given on those options and the final client decision is then backed up with efficient and prompt expertise, where things are swiftly moved forward. Collaborative and in one's interests. So a big thumb up to Sophie and her firm from me!

Was this review helpful? Yes

H
H Added 9 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
April 22, 2020 20200422102141

Excellent and realistic advice

5

Matter Type: Child Maintenance

Was provided with very sensible, comprehensive and very realistic legal advice from Mr David Truex of Expatriate Law regarding a Child Support Agency historical debt (20 years old!). My circumstances required legal knowledge in both UK and Australian jurisdictions and Mr Truex’s experience and knowledge covered all options for my situation. Highly recommended and very professional dealings.

Solicitor named in this review: David Truex

Was this review helpful? Yes

Hooman
Verified Hooman Added 9 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
April 21, 2020 20200421114645

excellent service, highly recommended

5

Matter Type: Grandparents' Rights

i acquired the services of Alexandra Tribe at Expatriate law through a recommendation whilst experiencing huge problems with a previous lawyer named Davina Warrington at Woolley&co who was using me for her benefit.
Alexandra and her team were incredibly professional, sought solutions where others would not look, and bring an end to a painful international divorce i was going through. As a business owner i appreciate the way they run their business ethically and would strongly recommend their services.
A big think you to expatriate law.

Solicitor named in this review: Alexandra Tribe

Was this review helpful? Yes

Angela
Verified Angela Added 1 year ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
December 15, 2019 20191215095642

Family case

5

Matter Type: Separation Agreement

Hero was fantastic, very knowledgeable and a lovely manner. Hero was very supportive and replied quickly.

Solicitor named in this review: Hero Lomas

Was this review helpful? Yes

Christine
Verified Christine Added 1 year ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
November 29, 2019 20191129073654

Wonderful service

5

Matter Type: Separation Agreement

I am so grateful to Hero for helping me with my application for divorce. Her advice was perfect, she was always very quick to respond to any queries I had and was very approachable, encouraging and reassuring in her advice. I thoroughly recommend this law firm and Hero. I can’t thank them enough.

Solicitor named in this review: Hero Lomas

Was this review helpful? Yes

British
British Added 1 year ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
October 07, 2019 20191007010000

I will be recommending you to everyone I know.

5

your professionalism and expertise have been top quality, so thanks for that.

Was this review helpful? Yes

MN
MN Added 1 year ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
October 07, 2019 20191007010000

To be honest you are the only lawyer who I have seen so far who advised me in an, honest, down to earth and professional way

4

I would like to thank-you for seeing me and giving me a thorough outline of my case under the UK law and detailed explanation and advice.

Was this review helpful? Yes

DS,
DS, Added 1 year ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
October 04, 2019 20191004010000

So thank you for your approach, Hero, and your mannerism around this.

5

I also wanted to say, that to me, Hero was more than just a lawyer, she offered some great advice and listened really deeply at times to me. At times felt it was like talking to a friend. It was very much appreciated.

Solicitor named in this review: Hero Lomas

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

olivia
olivia Added 1 month ago Report to admin
November 30, 2020
Collected on
20201130094434

olivia

5

Summer was excellent in communicating, and organising everything quickly and professionally. The correspondence was sincere and individualised. An appointment was arranged within 3 days or my request with no issues. I was always able to get a very quick and comprehensive reply which was extremely helpful seeing as I live in Australia.
Melanie was able to answer and elaborate on all questions I had, in a very straightforward, informative manner. Following our discussion I gained a lot of confidence in the process moving forward. Melanie's explanations and answers were very much tailored to my personal circumstances rather then a generic response which was reassuring. She was able to understand my concerns immediately which made the conversation efficient. A really professional and reliable team that i definitely felt wanted to help.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Florence
Florence Added 2 months ago Report to admin
November 12, 2020
Collected on
20201112184518

Florence

5

Hero a ete tres professionnelle du debut a la fin. Le prix du service etait raisonnable. Elle repondait systematiquement a mes questions en 24 heure le plus souvent. Je recommendrai Expatriate Law a quiconque a des besoins legaux. Merci, encore Hero pour votre patience

Was this review helpful? Yes

Hold
Hold Added 2 months ago Report to admin
November 12, 2020
Collected on
20201112184518

Hold

5

(Translated by Google) Hero has been very professional from start to finish. The price of the service was reasonable. She answered my questions systematically within 24 hours most of the time. I will recommend Expatriate Law to anyone with legal needs. Thanks again Hero for your patience

(Original)
Hero a ete tres professionnelle du debut a la fin. Le prix du service etait raisonnable. Elle repondait systematiquement a mes questions en 24 heure le plus souvent. Je recommendrai Expatriate Law a quiconque a des besoins legaux. Merci, encore Hero pour votre patience

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jen
Jen Added 3 months ago Report to admin
October 08, 2020
Collected on
20201008070158

Jen

5

From the start of my case Sonny managed it professionally, honestly and accurately. I would highly recommend Sonny and Hilary to anyone who needs advise or representation in regards to a divorce.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jason
Jason Added 4 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
September 16, 2020
Collected on
20200916072925

Jason

5

Extremely professional and expert in their specialised area. The whole team are quick to reply, very on-the-ball and supportive. They also all go beyond the call of duty in order to help resolve situations amicably where at all possible

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

We are a specialist team of international divorce lawyers, advising expats worldwide on divorce and family law matters. We appreciate that living as an expat, it can be difficult to know where to turn for accurate and trusted advice. Unfamiliar and conflicting laws make divorcing abroad a potential minefield. Our firm only advises expatriates and so on a daily basis we assist British clients residing in Dubai, Abu Dhabi, Singapore, Qatar, Cyprus, Thailand, Kenya and other expat hubs. Contact us for confidential advice on international or expat divorce if: - You were born in England or Wales - Your spouse was born in England or Wales - You have property or other assets in England or Wales - You or your spouse live in England or Wales - You or your spouse did live in England, and either of you intend to return there In addition to divorce, we advise on a large range of international family law matters including: 1. Child custody and contact disputes 2. National and international relocation with children 3. Child abduction 4. School fees and choice of school disputes 5. Maintenance claims 6. Injunctions and freezing orders 7. Pension and other asset claims 8. Same sex financial claims on separation 9. Financial claims for unmarried parents We offer free initial telephone advice from a senior solicitor in the firm, giving an initial overview of your matter and the steps you can take. Call us today on 02030061664 or email alexandra@expatriatelaw.com.


Practice Area

*Divorce *Jurisdiction and forum disputes *Divorce planning *Nullity *Maintenance claims *Variation of maintenance *Division of assets on divorce *Injunctions * Freezing orders *Legal fees claims on divorce *Child custody *Child abduction *Schedule 1 claims for unmarried parents *Financial claims after a foreign divorce *Prenuptial and marital agreements *Settlement agreements


Regulated By:

Legal Services

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000