Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Expatriate Law Compares

Value for money

This firm - 94%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Expatriate Law on ReviewSolicitors.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 99%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Expatriate Law and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Expatriate Law performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 98%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Expatriate Law and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Expatriate Law compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Expatriate Law offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.9/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    65
  • Very Good

    5
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    1

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Gillian

Gillian

September 08, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very progressive law firm in highly complex issues arising from bicultural marriages

I presented Byron James with an absolutely mammoth task in what is a very serious cross-juristrictional case involving three very young and very vulnerable children. Not only was Byron confronted with a case that had been neglectfully managed first time around by another law firm he knew time is of the essence when dealing with such serious cases involving children.

The simply stupendous QC Will Tyler was instantly instructed by Byron and together these great minds were victorious!! In a very rigorous Court of Appeal hearing .

Expatriate Law are a very strong, talented and compassionate work force which is an absolutely crucial combination when faced with a life tragedy concerning very vulnerable children.

I would wholeheartedly encourage any persons facing such complexities within family law to contact Expatriate Law at the very onset and without delay.

Was this review helpful?

Christian

Matter Type:

Child Arrangements Following Divorce

Christian

September 06, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

A firm which holds the utmost integrity

Expatriate Law have compassionately aided me throughout my divorce proceedings taking place under the jurisdiction of the UK family court whilst my ex-wife and I live in the UAE. Living in a foreign country whilst settling legal matters in your home country adds extra layers of complexity. Expatriate Law's professional understanding of the laws in multiple countries has added priceless benefits in my case.
Mr Byron James and his team have guided me through a stressful journey and have provided me with excellent advice and reasoning to ensure that I have approached the matters on my case pragmatically and with dignity.
I highly recommend Expatriate Law and their team.

Was this review helpful?

Mitts

Matter Type:

Child Custody

Mitts

August 18, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent Advice and Support from Mr Byron James in Dubai

Mr Byron James has been providing a truly exceptional service to me in Dubai, with excellent support from his colleague Mr Oscar Smith in London.
For the past 3 months, Byron has steadfastly given his shrewd, no-nonsense, expert advice and legal support to me. In this very difficult situation, I am very glad that Byron is on my side! I highly recommend Byron and his team.

Was this review helpful?

Dr. Russell

Matter Type:

Divorce

Dr. Russell

June 25, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

A firm that demonstrates a genuine duty of care towards it's clients

Have been going through a somewhat acrimonious divorce with my now ex-wife. The solicitors at Expatriate Law have always been empathetic, reassuring and most importantly highly competent in dealing with my divorce. They ensured that I did not have to deal with any of the bitter correspondence with my ex-wife. Always applying the correct law to the facts and ultimately ensuring the legal battle was kept as efficient and financially viable as possible. I was fortunate enough to have the managing partner, Alexandra Tribe deal with my divorce on a fixed fee basis and Alexandra's no. 2, Sara, resolve the financial issues in an exceptionally cost effective, friendly but business like and coherent manner. Moreover they removed so much of the stress and burden from my shoulders I could not endorse them enough.

Was this review helpful?

Adam

Matter Type:

Divorce

Adam

May 04, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Professional & Empathetic

My mother asked me to help her find a family law solicitor to represent her during a difficult time in her marriage. I was referred to Alexandra Tribe at Expatriate Law.

I must say it has been a pleasure having Alexandra and her team represent my mother.

Besides Alexandra’s depth of knowledge, professionalism and expertise in all matters of family law, including across the complex jurisdictions outside the UK that she had to navigate, Alexandra’s compassion, empathy, care and attention to my mother’s emotional welfare and needs, as she is an elderly, vulnerable woman, stands Alexandra head and shoulders above her peers.

Alexandra is a remarkable individual and legal practitioner. A true credit to humanity and her profession.

I cannot thank Alexandra and her team enough. I wish her colleagues and her every success for the future.

Adam Z

Was this review helpful?

Philipp

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Expatriate Law.

Matter Type:

Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements

Philipp

March 20, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great support

Melanie supported us well during our pre-nup process. Clear communications and ownership throughout the process. We were very happy with Melanie and will use her services again.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Anonymous

March 04, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

English divorce between Singapore and Dubai

I am very glad that I used the services of Sonny Patel at Expatriate Law to manage my divorce through the English courts, between my ex-husband in Dubai and me in Singapore. Sonny's experience - and the specialty knowledge of the firm - perfectly matched our circumstances. Sonny gave extremely thorough, fair and human advice throughout the process and made an unpleasant life event far more manageable. He was a speedy communicator and the entire procedure was much faster and smoother than I had originally anticipated. The fees were clear, proportionate and within the budget outlined at the start. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Sonny and Expatriate Law to anyone seeking advice on similar issues.

Was this review helpful?

Sinead

Sinead

February 08, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Thank you Alexandra and Sara

I had the pleasure of working with Alexandra Tribe and Sara Lange while navigating through complex divorce proceedings which I brought from New Zealand to the UK. Having worked with a large number of lawyers in both locations I have to say that Expatriate Law are magnificent. My experience with Expatriate Law was quite simply above and beyond any law firm in every way possible.

After my initial phone call with Alexandra I was so impressed with her wealth of knowledge, the incredible advice offered along with being so wonderfully kind that I was confident enough to sign up with her as a client immediately.

After a turbulent year it was a huge relief to know I was finally in safe hands.

My expectations were not only met, but beyond exceeded.
Never before have I experienced a law firm or solicitor who are so incredibly professional and efficient yet compassionate and truly have your best interests at heart. I felt heard, supported and I simply could have not got through the past year without Alexandra and Sara.

Every issue that arose was dealt with with such ease, options were considered and explored and then completed in a swift manner with perfect detail.

I will always be incredibly grateful to have found Expatriate Law and more so Alexandra and Sara who are just marvellous. I cannot recommend Expatriate Law enough and will be passing on their details to anyone who may need assistance with a legal matter across the globe.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Expatriate Law.

Anonymous

August 19, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Melanie will be my first port of call if I am ever in trouble again.

I cannot find the words to express how grateful I am to have had Melanie Bataillard-Samuel as my solicitor. Melanie is brilliant, tenacious and empathetic. I found her extremely knowledgeable when advising and fast at grasping complication situations. I could not have asked for a better lawyer. I would like to thank Melanie for all the efforts she made in supporting me in my legal case. She acted swiftly to ensure that we won while keeping me calm throughout a traumatic week of court hearings filled with false allegations.

I contacted Expatriate Law at very short notice after being handed a surprise court order while visiting England during the coronavirus pandemic: I was informed that a court hearing had taken place in my absence the day before, and that another hearing would take place in "two days time", to determine visitation/custody arrangements. This case involved two different jurisdictions, discussions about the implications of Brexit, already initiated divorce/custody/visitation proceedings in Germany, and carefully prepared allegations. I was swamped with feelings of shock, numbness and anxiety. Melanie took control of the situation and worked hard to present our case with less than two days notice, gathering all relevant evidence, as well as finding a great barrister. In the end, we "won" and the other party was ordered to pay my legal fees - quite frankly, I think that says it all.


Melanie will be my first port of call if I am ever in trouble again.

Was this review helpful?

Nadeem

Matter Type:

International Divorce

Nadeem

August 14, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Thank you, Raphaela

Raphaela provided me with an excellent service.
I was particularly impressed on how she professionally handled my ex-wife's queries.
I was also very impressed with the online divorce and how quick the process took.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Alexandra

Alexandra

May 11, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Alexandra

Melanie Bataillard-Samuel has been a safe pare of hands with her personable and professional approach to assessing and advising my international divorce matter. I have found it such a daunting task sorting my legal details in divorce proceedings in England whilst doing this domiciled in Canada as a Canadian citizen in the midst of this pandemic. I now feel capable of steering this mammoth undertaking, and much more wisely informed about it all by Melanie after our meetings.

Was this review helpful?

Lorna

Lorna

May 10, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Lorna

Raphaela is a loving caring person and true proffesional

Was this review helpful?

A

A

May 04, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

A client

My mother asked me to help her find a family law solicitor to represent her during a difficult time in her marriage. I was referred to Alexandra Tribe at Expatriate Law.

I must say it has been a pleasure having Alexandra and her team represent my mother.

Besides Alexandra’s depth of knowledge, professionalism and expertise in all matters of family law, including across the complex jurisdictions outside the UK that she had to navigate, Alexandra’s compassion, empathy, care and attention to my mother’s emotional welfare and needs, given she is an elderly, vulnerable woman, stands Alexandra head and shoulders above her peers.

Alexandra is a remarkable individual and legal practitioner. A true credit to humanity and her profession.

I cannot thank Alexandra and her team enough. I wish her colleagues and her every success for the future.

Was this review helpful?

Noa

Noa

February 28, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Noa

Lauren was so helpful and fast in helping my case go smoothly.

Was this review helpful?

Andy

Andy

February 10, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Andy

My interface with expatriate law was extremely professional. Even through working through a very challenge period.

Thanks to everyone involved.

Was this review helpful?

About this branch

Description

We are a specialist team of international divorce lawyers, advising expats worldwide on divorce and family law matters. We appreciate that living as an expat, it can be difficult to know where to turn for accurate and trusted advice. Unfamiliar and conflicting laws make divorcing abroad a potential minefield. Our firm only advises expatriates and so on a daily basis we assist British clients residing in Dubai, Abu Dhabi, Singapore, Qatar, Cyprus, Thailand, Kenya and other expat hubs. Contact us for confidential advice on international or expat divorce if: - You were born in England or Wales - Your spouse was born in England or Wales - You have property or other assets in England or Wales - You or your spouse live in England or Wales - You or your spouse did live in England, and either of you intend to return there In addition to divorce, we advise on a large range of international family law matters including: 1. Child custody and contact disputes 2. National and international relocation with children 3. Child abduction 4. School fees and choice of school disputes 5. Maintenance claims 6. Injunctions and freezing orders 7. Pension and other asset claims 8. Same sex financial claims on separation 9. Financial claims for unmarried parents We offer free initial telephone advice from a senior solicitor in the firm, giving an initial overview of your matter and the steps you can take. Call us today on 02030061664 or email alexandra@expatriatelaw.com.

Practice areas

*Divorce *Jurisdiction and forum disputes *Divorce planning *Nullity *Maintenance claims *Variation of maintenance *Division of assets on divorce *Injunctions * Freezing orders *Legal fees claims on divorce *Child custody *Child abduction *Schedule 1 claims for unmarried parents *Financial claims after a foreign divorce *Prenuptial and marital agreements *Settlement agreements

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Annulment
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Abduction
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Maintenance
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Divorce Mediation
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Domestic Violence
    • Elderly care
    • Elderly care home fees
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Fixed Fee Divorce
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • High Net Worth Divorce
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • International Divorce
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Legal aid
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
Book an appointment