Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Guy Williams Layton LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 94%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Guy Williams Layton LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Guy Williams Layton LLP. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 26%
About Right 73%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 95%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Guy Williams Layton LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Guy Williams Layton LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 95%
No 5%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 95%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Guy Williams Layton LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Guy Williams Layton LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 95%
No 5%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Guy Williams Layton LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.8/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    199
  • Very Good

    5
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    11

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Guy Williams Layton LLP.

Anonymous

April 25, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Deceased Estate

My father had been a client of Guy Williams as it was originally for about 50 years and after he passed away I asked them to deal with the business of the estate. Throughout the whole process they have been professional, helpful and easy to deal with. They also dealt with the sale of my father's property. I couldn't have asked for a better service and I would recommend them to anyone.

Was this review helpful?

Beryl & Geoff Collins

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Guy Williams Layton LLP.

Beryl & Geoff Collins

April 12, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Qualities that are very rate by today's standards

We would like to take this opportunity of thanking you for all your true professional advice and indeed your own very personal friendly attention and care - qualities very rare by today's standards - throughout the entire period of time relating to the preparation and finalising of our respective LPAs, which we both very much appreciate.

Please remember us to Jane - we hope she is keeping well.

Was this review helpful?

Rhoda Tyrie

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Guy Williams Layton LLP.

Rhoda Tyrie

April 11, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

House sale

Efficient, courteous, and responsive. Timely responses to phone calls or email sent..

Was this review helpful?

Fanny

Fanny

March 27, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent service

For Probate service, GWL were extremely helpful and professional. Their service was quick and efficient. We are very grateful for the service provided and would recommend them to other people.

Was this review helpful?

Fay H

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Guy Williams Layton LLP.

Fay H

March 15, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

House sale

Wendy and her colleagues showed total professionism and courtesy to both my Aunt and myself, going above and beyond at all times with what can only be described as the very difficult and time consuming sale of my Aunts house.
Thank you all for your help.

Was this review helpful?

Andrea Jones

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Guy Williams Layton LLP.

Andrea Jones

March 15, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Lease renewal

Graham Hulbert dealt with a lease renewal for our office premises. He was courteous and efficient throughout, explained everything well and kept good communication with us.

Was this review helpful?

Hilary Woolley

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Guy Williams Layton LLP.

Hilary Woolley

March 04, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Mother’s estate

We have been with GWL for many years. From the day Jane Hogg took over she has been outstanding in her care and support. Both whilst my mum was alive and in dealing with her estate after she passed away. Mum and I found Jane to be clear in explaining things, easy to engage with on the phone and brought light into our days whenever we spoke to her on the phone. Her compassion, encouragement and approach meant so much to us. I can still hear my mum say….’phone Jane’ she will know what to do! Thank you Jane (and Nicola who would also speak to mum and I). I always recommend GWL when friends are looking for a solicitor.

Was this review helpful?

Alison Powell

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Guy Williams Layton LLP.

Matter Type:

Probate

Alison Powell

March 01, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Professional and efficient

The firm dealt with the probate of my late mother's estate with efficiency and sensitivity. I dealt with 3 different solicitors due to leaving and maternity leave, but the process moved seamlessly. I have dealt with the firm several times and my experience has been similar each time

Was this review helpful?

Andrew Mathie

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Guy Williams Layton LLP.

Andrew Mathie

February 29, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

House sale

Excellent service, easy to understand everything and clear documents made the process easy

Was this review helpful?

Amelia Hanna

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Guy Williams Layton LLP.

Amelia Hanna

February 26, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

House sale

Would really recommend Guy Williams Layton solicitors, kept us well informed throughout the process of selling our house. Communication was really clear and quick. Would definitely recommend, thank you!

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Debi

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Debi

June 18, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Debi

Looking for a Solicitors who offers value for money and a high level of professionalism they look no further! The service provided by Wendy and the team was exceptional, eg. Always returned my calls, never had to call back, always friendly. Will be using again if the need arises. 5*

Was this review helpful?

P

Matter Type:

Wills

P

June 03, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

A client

Very professional service provided by Nikki Taylor and the team dealing with our family wills. I would highly recommend them.

Was this review helpful?

Steve

Matter Type:

Wills

Steve

June 01, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Steve

Excellent service from Nikki Taylor at the Liverppol office.
My wife and I have just had our wills completed and filed.
The whole process from start to finish was conducted in a very professional and efficient manner.
Many thanks for all your help.

Was this review helpful?

Robert

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Robert

April 10, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Robert

Excellent service from Sarah Walker and her team.Our house purchase was not straightforward but we were well advised and the process was managed efficiently.
I would recommend the practice.

Was this review helpful?

Stephanie

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Stephanie

January 24, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Stephanie

Amazing service! Family have used this solicitors for many years my first time buying a property and was support by Wendy who was amazing and listened to 1000s of questions I asked her constantly never had to chase for updates she was the best and so responsive and most helpful throughout the whole time we wouldn’t of coped with out Wendy at all!

Was this review helpful?

Guy Williams Layton LLP are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

We firmly believe that our size allows us to be small enough to really care about our clients and our service but large enough to offer high quality legal advice and support. We are committed to adapting to the changing needs of the legal market whilst preserving the best aspects of true personal service. To ensure that we are in the best position to do this we invest substantial resources in the effective use of technology. We are proud of the fact that in spite of the economic and social challenges that have affected the UK over recent years, we have retained the continuing loyalty of our clients and colleagues. This gives us the stability and confidence to continue working with our clients to achieve their aims, whether business or personal, and to pursue our own quest for excellence in all we do. Take time to understand your business and personal situations. Focus on maximising your opportunities and forestalling any threats that you might face. Use our technical and professional expertise to develop practical solutions specifically suited to your existing or potential problems. Recognise the difference between business and private clients. Develop a frank and honest relationship of trust with you. Use the technology that is most appropriate to you and to each particular case in order to deliver a fast and cost effective service.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Consumer Credit
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
  • Housing & Property
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Second charges
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Trusts
  • Professional Negligence
    • Professional Negligence
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Farming disputes
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Credit Control
    • Debt Recovery
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Litigation for Holiday and Residential Parks
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
Book an appointment