Request an appointment

Request an appointment

Guy Williams Layton LLP

0151 342 1831

View map
Guy Williams Layton LLP

How Guy Williams Layton LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 93%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Guy Williams Layton LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 100%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Guy Williams Layton LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Guy Williams Layton LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 100%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Guy Williams Layton LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Guy Williams Layton LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Guy Williams Layton LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Become Verified

Guy Williams Layton LLP has Not Been Verified by ReviewSolicitors

You may want to discover a firm with an established and proven reputation on ReviewSolicitors


Top Rated Law Firms - Highly Recommended and Recently Used By Clients Like You

Review Sources

Client Reviews

5.0/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    18
  • Very Good

    0
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    0

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Colin

Colin

December 26, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

House purchase

Despite Covid restrictions, my house sale was processed and progressed with only one slight glitch. The pre-contract information document did not arrive, and I would have appreciated an email to let me know that such an important document was on the way, and to return it ASAP. The Post Office at my end was short of staff due to self isolation by 8 members of staff, and all post was delayed. In the end I travelled to the office to expedite the completion.
I would heartily recommend Mark Broughton as a thorough professional .

Was this review helpful?

Ernest

Ernest

December 13, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Probate Matter

We were introduced to GWL by a friend who was aware of health issues which prevented my wife and I from continuing with our duties as Executors of my Mother-in-law's Estate.
From the start, Georgina Roberts, who acted for us, was both friendly and welcoming, and very professional in her work on our behalf.
Although a modest Estate, it was not easy to administer.
Georgina sorted everything competently and kept us fully informed throughout the process of winding up the Estate.
Regardless of difficulties, which resulted in more work than anticipated, Georgina ensured that her fees were contained within the budget originally quoted.
We are extremely grateful to Georgina and GWL Solicitors, for all there work on our behalf.
We would certainly recommend them to prospective clients.

Was this review helpful?

Andy

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Andy

November 28, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Conveyancing

Our house sale and purchase were handled by Mark Broughton during the period July - November 2020.
Owing to the pressures of the covid-19 situation the searches, etc. took longer than might otherwise have been expected, and there were unexpected issues with our buyers’ situation. Despite this, Mark was able to guide us through what turned out to be a protracted and stressful (for us) process in a very professional manner, with patience and clarity.
We would highly recommend Mark to anyone wishing to move house.

Was this review helpful?

Julie

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Julie

October 09, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Conveyancing

My house sale and purchase has been done during the Covid-19 pandemic which has been a difficult time. My move was due to my husband having gone into full time care so I was having to deal with the move on my own for the first time. I have been looked after by Sarah Walker and Mark Broughton and both have been wonderful in giving me excellent advice and great support throughout the whole process. My sincere thanks to them both for everything they did. I cannot recommend them highly enough, they were brilliant.

Was this review helpful?

Susan

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Susan

August 31, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Conveyancing

Mark Broughton has now handled a number of house sales for me and I cannot recommend him highly enough. Always available to talk through any problems and he ensures the process has always been as easy and painless as possible, despite dealing with the conveyancing factories (as quoted by a previous reviewer)!
And all at a very competitive price. I personally would not go anywhere else for this service.
Many thanks Mark.

Was this review helpful?

Lisa

Matter Type:

Wills

Lisa

August 21, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Will Service

Professional & friendly company. I was given clear and practical advice as well as being put at ease. Service was first class and excellent value for money.

Was this review helpful?

thomas

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

thomas

July 17, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Satisfied client

outstanding attention from Mark Broughton....always prepared to go the extra mile...nothing was too much trouble...making the property sale and purchase as easy as possible....all the staff at Heswall friendly and helpful....many thanks to all

Was this review helpful?

David

David

May 18, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Another Transaction

Mark Broughton at GWL Ltd has handled several transactions for us during the last few months. What a pleasure it is to do business with him. Always friendly, professional and approachable. He takes the stress out of these situations and always calls back. What a difference from the ‘conveyancing factories of other companies’. Thank you Mark

Was this review helpful?

Derek

Derek

May 10, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills service

This being the first time of using WGL found them to be most courteous and professional team and would definitely use the company again.

Was this review helpful?

Alan

Alan

April 23, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Friendly and Efficient Service over many years

Have always been our family solicitors and have acted for us through the years on a number of property purchases (Wirral, London, Llandudno, Hertfordshire) and with our personal wills. We left the Merseyside area 20 years ago and therefore our communications with Guy Williams Layton since that time have necessarily been by telephone calls and letters but we have always received first class, efficient and friendly service from everyone involved.

Was this review helpful?

About this branch

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Libel and Defamation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Malicious falsehood
    • Pre-publication advice
    • Travel - Airlines going out of business
    • Travel - Falsely advertised accommodation
    • Travel - Holiday Sickness
    • Travel - Travel agents going out of business
    • Travel - Trip cancellation
    • Travel - Unsanitary hotel conditions
    • Travel - Volcanic ash disruption
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Media and Sports
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Human rights
    • Human rights
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Personal Injury
    • Against The Council
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Charities
    • Charities
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Slander
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
    • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
    • Computer and IT Law
    • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
    • Copyright
    • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
    • Design rights and product designs
    • Domain Names
    • GDPR
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
    • Patents
    • Personality and Image Rights
    • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Regulations
    • Environment
    • Health and Safety