Request a callback

Book an appointment

Mobile app for your matter

Mobile app for your matter

Download the Hutchinson Thomas app to track the progress of your case.

Choose your device platform below:

Generate Conveyancing Quote

How Hutchinson Thomas Compares

Value for money

This firm - 92%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Hutchinson Thomas on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Hutchinson Thomas. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 25%
Overpriced 12%
About Right 62%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 91%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Hutchinson Thomas and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Hutchinson Thomas performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 91%
No 9%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 91%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Hutchinson Thomas and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Hutchinson Thomas compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 91%
No 9%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Hutchinson Thomas offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.6/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    127
  • Very Good

    8
  • Average

    2
  • Poor

    1
  • Awful

    11

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Tony

Tony

March 13, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Outstanding!

From the first speaking to Debbie about my situation i immediately felt I was making the right decision as I was in two minds about hiring a solicitor, I’m glad that I did!
Firstly Debbie asked about my situation and what I wanted going forward, asking key points and thoroughly understanding my situation. Debbie was open and honest about what could happen and the possibilities when I asked as I was very unsure and lacked knowledge. Debbie guided me through every step of my case, told me what the best things I could do were and aided me with anything I was unsure about. Debbie even took the time to check in to see if anything had changed or if there was anything I was unsure about. Debbie represented me in court and words do not do any justice!
I was amazed by Debbie’s extensive knowledge, professionalism and ability within her field. Without Debbie I know I would not have had the outcome that I wanted. I would highly recommended Debbie as I know she goes above and beyond when it comes to clients and her professionalism is of the highest degree. Overall a fantastic solicitor as well as the rest of the team that I had the pleasure of working with!
On behalf of myself and my family,
Thank you!

Was this review helpful?

Gareth

Gareth

November 02, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Fantastic Service

Kiani dealt with my divorce which was not straightforward to say the least. At what was the most difficult time of my life Kiani was on hand to guide me through every step of the divorce proceedings and financial settlement. I could not have wished for a better individual and firm to have looked after me from start to finish and I would highly recommend both Kiani and Hutchinson Thomas to anyone looking for a professional, quality service.

Was this review helpful?

Gwaaa

Gwaaa

July 14, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Highly recommend

Very profesional , understands exactly what is required and knows what direction to go, couldnt recomend a better solicitor very much appreciated and well recomended

Was this review helpful?

Peter

Matter Type:

Change of name

Peter

February 02, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Family related

I was nervous at first with letting someone do all the legwork as I try not to rely on anyone but Lauren has proven me wrong. She proved to be friendly and very knowledgeable in the subject form day 1. Lauren got me the result in a good timely manner while keeping the piece and fairness across both parties.
Thank you Lauren for all the time and effort given to me.

Was this review helpful?

David

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Hutchinson Thomas.

David

July 14, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Service Excellence as always

We have engaged the Firm to act in recent years on various matters including Wills, Probate, Conveyancing, etc

The service has always been first class and professional, with Partners and Staff all friendly, approachable and helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Richard

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Hutchinson Thomas.

Matter Type:

Nationality, Citizenship, Registration application

Richard

June 22, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Satisfied

Happy with service, though very slow due to covid.

Was this review helpful?

David

Matter Type:

New home purchases and sales

David

May 11, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Disappointed - would not use!

I don’t like leaving negative reviews, however, I feel like I should share my story.
I hired Hutchinson Thomas to assist in the purchase of my first home. Firstly, the process was slow (around 6months from when the offer was accepted) but there were a number of factors that influenced the timeline (Covid, the sellers and the sellers solicitor). During this time, I had no face to face interactions (ok Covid could be excused for this), no telephone conversations (although I tried to speak to my solicitor a few times but was told each time he was unavailable). All communication was done via email.
The sale was completed in January 2021. Within 2 weeks of moving in, I noticed damp coming in both downstairs and upstairs. When I contacted my solicitor, they asked if I had conducted a home owners survey. I had not as no one had advised me to get one (being a first time buyer, I released a survey was needed and was told the mortgage lender would be doing one, I wrongly believed this was the survey needed). When I asked Hutchinson Thomas as to why they didn’t advise me I needed another survey that would capture the damp, their response was that they did via a 6 page letter I received. They sent me a screenshot of the paragraph and even now, it’s not as clear as saying I should have got a survey. When I stated that the letter was not very clear, they said if I didn’t understand it, I should have contacted them and they would have explained it.
They are unable to provide me with the sellers new address to I can possibly take them to small claims court. I am now left with a £8,500 bill to repair the damp.
Very unprofessional and would not recommend.

Was this review helpful?

Tash

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Hutchinson Thomas.

Matter Type:

Franchising

Tash

January 16, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Highly recommended!

Thorough and timely, knowledgeable and really easy to work with. Updated on every step and very reasonable service. Really pleased with finalised contract. Thanks again!

Was this review helpful?

Anthony

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Anthony

October 05, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Top company , Top solicitor

I would like to thank Hutchinson Thomas solicitors for everything . 5 star service throughout . Especially our solicitor Melanie Williams a real assett to your company . Melanie chased people up to get us where we needed to be . Just a 5 star all round service . Will be first solicitors to phone if needed again . Once again thankyou to you all . Mr Brown and Miss Hailstone

Was this review helpful?

AH

Matter Type:

Redundancy

AH

October 02, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Redundancy Advice

Based on internet reviews I chose Hutchison Thomas and found the service and advice given by Simon Thomas to be excellent. From my initial enquiry to the end of the advice the responses were promptly dealt with and Simon took time to ensure I was understanding of the situation. I'd recommend this firm and would use again.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Rebecca

Rebecca

April 05, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Rebecca

This is the third time we have used Hutchinson Thomas to buy and sell a house. And it's always a 5* service. We have personally always dealt with Chris and Amy and can't fault them. Fantastic team. And wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

Was this review helpful?

Mr

Mr

March 08, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

A client

Thanks Jacqui for your services..she
Helped me from A to Z ...as I was a first time buyer with many questions she replied me in seconds...thanks Jacqui from Hammad

Was this review helpful?

David

David

March 06, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

David

Friendly receptionist, as is the solicitor's good advice and easy parking outside.

Was this review helpful?

Susie

Susie

September 08, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Susie

I didn’t get further with these guys than two initial conversations because I had a very conflicting chat with different solicitors in their property department. The first time I called I had a professional and pleasant conversation where they acknowledged the timeframe to completion that I have, explained to me what was out of their control, but that they would do what they could to aim for that date.

I deliberately called before instructing them to ensure they were ok with the date I had in mind before progressing.

The second time was the complete opposite - they seemed extremely stressed, overwhelmed, and as if they didn’t even have the time to take my three minute call, let alone the capacity for my case. Not a great first impression.

For transparency, I was discussing with them a tight deadline for completion, and was understanding and respective when they obviously said to me it’s somewhat out of their control due to searches/the speed of the sellers solicitor. But I felt from the way they were talking they didn’t really want my business nor to even discuss with me a more reasonable timeline. I was fully accepting of a longer period needed than the initial date given.

By the time of the second call I had instructed them as the first call I had a good feeling. Perhaps they need to align how they approach these conversations as team - the second call was enough to completely put me off.

2/5 because I want to acknowledge my frustrations, they delayed me by two days because of the confusion they caused me. However, obviously I didn’t end up using them due to this conflicting and dismissive first impression. Perhaps if I’d gone further I’d have seen their more capable side. Hopefully they can avoid this in the future.

Was this review helpful?

NC30

NC30

July 24, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

NC30

I required the services of 3 teams to help with separate issues and had each of them dealt with in a very timely and professional manner. Many thanks - especially to Robert, Melanie, Beth and all the support staff. More than happy to recommend.

Was this review helpful?

Hutchinson Thomas are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Clinical Negligence
    • Accident and Emergency Claims
    • Amputation Negligence Claims
    • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
    • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
    • Birth Injury Claims
    • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
    • Blood Transfusion Claims
    • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
    • C. Difficile Claims
    • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
    • Cerebral Palsy Claims
    • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Clinical Negligence
    • Cochlear Implant Claims
    • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
    • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
    • Defective Medical Device Claims
    • Dental Negligence
    • Dental Negligence Claims
    • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
    • Diabetes Claims
    • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
    • Eye Surgery Claims
    • Failed Sterilisation Claims
    • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
    • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
    • Fertility Negligence Claims
    • GP Negligence Claims
    • Group B Streptococcus Claims
    • Hospital Negligence Claims
    • Knee Replacement Claims
    • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
    • Laser Treatment Claims
    • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • MRSA Claims
    • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Medical Negligence
    • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
    • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
    • Nerve Damage Claims
    • Nerve Injury Claims
    • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
    • Oral Cancer Claims
    • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
    • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Periodontal Disease Claims
    • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
    • Pressure Sore Claims
    • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Restorative Dentistry Claims
    • Sepsis Negligence Claims
    • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
    • Spinal Surgery Claims
    • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
    • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Surgery Compensation Claims
    • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
    • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Travel rights
  • Crime/ Criminal Defence
    • Assault
    • Business Crime
    • Criminal Damage
    • Criminal defence - All
    • Drugs offences
    • Fraud
    • Murder and Manslaughter
    • Professional Conduct
    • Regulatory Defence
    • Theft
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Personal Injury
    • Against The Council
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Professional Negligence
    • Barristers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional trustees
    • Valuers
  • Welfare & Benefits
    • Mental Health
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
    • Veterinary negligence
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Data Protection
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety
    • Licensing
Book an appointment