Request a callback

Book an appointment

Mobile app for your matter

Mobile app for your matter

Download the Hutchinson Thomas app to track the progress of your case.

Choose your device platform below:

Generate Conveyancing Quote

How Hutchinson Thomas Compares

Value for money

This firm - 93%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Hutchinson Thomas on ReviewSolicitors.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 88%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Hutchinson Thomas and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Hutchinson Thomas performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 87%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Hutchinson Thomas and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Hutchinson Thomas compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Hutchinson Thomas offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.6/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    94
  • Very Good

    5
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    1
  • Awful

    8

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
David

Matter Type:

New home purchases and sales

David

May 11, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Disappointed - would not use!

I don’t like leaving negative reviews, however, I feel like I should share my story.
I hired Hutchinson Thomas to assist in the purchase of my first home. Firstly, the process was slow (around 6months from when the offer was accepted) but there were a number of factors that influenced the timeline (Covid, the sellers and the sellers solicitor). During this time, I had no face to face interactions (ok Covid could be excused for this), no telephone conversations (although I tried to speak to my solicitor a few times but was told each time he was unavailable). All communication was done via email.
The sale was completed in January 2021. Within 2 weeks of moving in, I noticed damp coming in both downstairs and upstairs. When I contacted my solicitor, they asked if I had conducted a home owners survey. I had not as no one had advised me to get one (being a first time buyer, I released a survey was needed and was told the mortgage lender would be doing one, I wrongly believed this was the survey needed). When I asked Hutchinson Thomas as to why they didn’t advise me I needed another survey that would capture the damp, their response was that they did via a 6 page letter I received. They sent me a screenshot of the paragraph and even now, it’s not as clear as saying I should have got a survey. When I stated that the letter was not very clear, they said if I didn’t understand it, I should have contacted them and they would have explained it.
They are unable to provide me with the sellers new address to I can possibly take them to small claims court. I am now left with a £8,500 bill to repair the damp.
Very unprofessional and would not recommend.

Was this review helpful?

Tash

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Hutchinson Thomas.

Matter Type:

Franchising

Tash

January 16, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Highly recommended!

Thorough and timely, knowledgeable and really easy to work with. Updated on every step and very reasonable service. Really pleased with finalised contract. Thanks again!

Was this review helpful?

Anthony

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Anthony

October 05, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Top company , Top solicitor

I would like to thank Hutchinson Thomas solicitors for everything . 5 star service throughout . Especially our solicitor Melanie Williams a real assett to your company . Melanie chased people up to get us where we needed to be . Just a 5 star all round service . Will be first solicitors to phone if needed again . Once again thankyou to you all . Mr Brown and Miss Hailstone

Was this review helpful?

AH

Matter Type:

Redundancy

AH

October 02, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Redundancy Advice

Based on internet reviews I chose Hutchison Thomas and found the service and advice given by Simon Thomas to be excellent. From my initial enquiry to the end of the advice the responses were promptly dealt with and Simon took time to ensure I was understanding of the situation. I'd recommend this firm and would use again.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Anonymous

July 10, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very amenable and easy to talk to.

Pleasant and amenable.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Anonymous

July 05, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Review for Hutchinson Thomas Solicitors

I can only say everyone on the team were very professional.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Anonymous

July 03, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Yes did what I expected you to do

There were no problems that were not quickly solved.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Anonymous

July 01, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

It was a very welcoming atmosphere

Made us feel completely at ease and everything explained in every-day language.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Anonymous

June 19, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

From the initial instruction to completion, all aspects were performed faultlessly.

All communication was clear and precise.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Anonymous

June 17, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very Satisfied

Prompt and professional

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Rachael

Rachael

June 03, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Rachael

Jacqui handled my first house purchase fantastically. She was very efficient and worked quickly during a busy time. She would always get back to me asap if I had any questions. The entire process took 11 weeks which is great considering the market at the moment. An added bonus was that my mortgage provider actually paid the solicitor fees so I only had to pay for the searches. It worked out much cheaper than hiring a different solicitor and I'm really happy with how my house purchase was handled.

Was this review helpful?

Jayne

Jayne

June 02, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Jayne

Everything is taken care of for you in a very professional manner.

Was this review helpful?

Trystan

Trystan

May 21, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Trystan

We used to purchase our new home, very professional and got the job done really quick, cant fault, thankyou

5*

Was this review helpful?

Angela

Angela

May 13, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Angela

Great service!

Was this review helpful?

matthew

matthew

April 02, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

matthew

Top solicitors!!

Was this review helpful?

Hutchinson Thomas are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Clinical Negligence
    • Accident and Emergency Claims
    • Amputation Negligence Claims
    • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
    • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
    • Birth Injury Claims
    • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
    • Blood Transfusion Claims
    • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
    • C. Difficile Claims
    • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
    • Cerebral Palsy Claims
    • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Clinical Negligence
    • Cochlear Implant Claims
    • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
    • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
    • Defective Medical Device Claims
    • Dental Negligence
    • Dental Negligence Claims
    • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
    • Diabetes Claims
    • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
    • Eye Surgery Claims
    • Failed Sterilisation Claims
    • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
    • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
    • Fertility Negligence Claims
    • GP Negligence Claims
    • Group B Streptococcus Claims
    • Hospital Negligence Claims
    • Knee Replacement Claims
    • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
    • Laser Treatment Claims
    • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • MRSA Claims
    • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Medical Negligence
    • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
    • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
    • Nerve Damage Claims
    • Nerve Injury Claims
    • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
    • Oral Cancer Claims
    • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
    • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Periodontal Disease Claims
    • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
    • Pressure Sore Claims
    • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Restorative Dentistry Claims
    • Sepsis Negligence Claims
    • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
    • Spinal Surgery Claims
    • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
    • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Surgery Compensation Claims
    • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
    • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Travel rights
  • Crime/ Criminal Defence
    • Assault
    • Business Crime
    • Criminal Damage
    • Criminal defence - All
    • Drugs offences
    • Fraud
    • Murder and Manslaughter
    • Professional Conduct
    • Regulatory Defence
    • Theft
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Personal Injury
    • Against The Council
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Professional Negligence
    • Barristers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional trustees
    • Valuers
  • Welfare & Benefits
    • Mental Health
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
    • Veterinary negligence
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Data Protection
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety
    • Licensing

Opening times

  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • Closed
  • Closed
Book an appointment