Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Bates Wells & Braithwaite Compares

Value for money

This firm - 98%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Bates Wells & Braithwaite on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Bates Wells & Braithwaite. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 5%
Overpriced 0%
About Right 94%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 99%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Bates Wells & Braithwaite and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Bates Wells & Braithwaite performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 99%
No 1%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 99%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Bates Wells & Braithwaite and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Bates Wells & Braithwaite compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 99%
No 1%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Bates Wells & Braithwaite offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.9/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    180
  • Very Good

    7
  • Average

    1
  • Poor

    1
  • Awful

    1

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Faye

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Bates Wells & Braithwaite.

Matter Type:

Accident At Work

Faye

June 12, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent and regular communication

I felt confident with Hannah as my solicitor as I was always kept updated with any progression within my case, and felt I was in good, profesional hands through out. Hannah always double checked any decisions to make sure we were both always on the same page with how to go foraward and that filled me with great confidence.
I would definetly reccomend Hannah as an individual and I would be happy to use her services again in the future.

Was this review helpful?

Luke

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Bates Wells & Braithwaite.

Matter Type:

Child Law

Luke

June 07, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent!!

Quite simply excellent!

Through my entire case Scott was there, answering questions and providing advice.
Through the process we encountered numerous issues and obstacles which were promptly rectified.

Could not recommend Scott enough, if you're contemplating, don't, reach out.

Was this review helpful?

Miss Billie-Ann Weston

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Bates Wells & Braithwaite.

Matter Type:

Accident At Work

Miss Billie-Ann Weston

June 06, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Accident Claim

Hannah has been very helpful, during my whole case of 3years. If I email her she normally replies that day if not the following. Nothing was ever too much even some of the small or silly questions but I got the help I needed to win my case

Was this review helpful?

Mr Ciddor

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Bates Wells & Braithwaite.

Matter Type:

Wills

Mr Ciddor

June 04, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Will prepared by Rhian Snell

Very helpful and patient with me while i tried to complete the required paperwork.

Was this review helpful?

Christopher

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Christopher

May 31, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

11/10, Excellent

Tomasz has seamlessly completed the sale of my property. He is without a doubt the best solicitor I have ever used, and we will/are using him moving forward on every property we have. Nothing is too much trouble for him, and he is always quick to respond. Tomasz is clearly a very talented solicitor who knows exactly what he's doing- and actually does it. I would not hesitate to recommend him to anyone looking for a professional & efficient solicitor. Thank you!

Was this review helpful?

Victoria

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Victoria

May 30, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent service

Having used other solicitors before for conveyancing, I can only echo what others have said, Tom provided a great service, so quick on answering emails or calls and no chasing was needed. Pleasure to deal with Thanks again Tom.

Was this review helpful?

carol

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

carol

May 24, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

First time purchase

Excellent Service - Tom was efficient, quick to respond to emails and telephone calls. He made the whole process stressfree. I would definitely recommend his service to others and use him again.

Was this review helpful?

Nick ladbury

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Bates Wells & Braithwaite.

Matter Type:

Wills

Nick ladbury

May 22, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Will review

Very knowledgeable and helpful, pleasure to talk to

Was this review helpful?

Kevin McEwen

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Bates Wells & Braithwaite.

Matter Type:

Accident At Work

Kevin McEwen

May 22, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Confused but not for long

Having never taken anyone to court I was in well over my depth. Thankfully I had Hannah on my side who had the time and patience to explain in simple terms so I could understand. I was kept informed at every stage of the process. All appointments were arranged for me, I just had to turn up. Everything else was done for me I just had to reply to e-mails. Good advice and instructions were given to me when available and when needed. I was advised as to what Hannah said a judge would probably award me. We proceeded to give offer and counter offer and we ended up so very close to what Hannah said would be awarded if we went to court. So we achieved our goal without having to go to court. How good is that. I for one am very grateful for the help and advice I was given. I wouldn't want to be injured again, however, if I was, I would very much like Hannah to be fighting in my corner.

Was this review helpful?

Ajeet

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Bates Wells & Braithwaite.

Matter Type:

Wills

Ajeet

May 21, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Preparing a Will.

I was very impressed with the work Rhian did for me.
She is a professional, friendly and very approachable person. Also she advised me everything I needed to get the paperwork ready.
I greatly appreciate everything Rhian did for me.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Nigel

Nigel

February 17, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Nigel

Good friendly service.

Was this review helpful?

Sue

Sue

October 28, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Sue

Knowledgeable, professional and helpful

Was this review helpful?

Vic

Matter Type:

Children

Vic

August 18, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Vic

I cannot fault Scott and Rebecca for their continued support throughout a domestic abuse child custody and arrangements case , they were reassuring, understanding, extremely patient in dealing with me. They were straight to the point honest with me from day one. It was the 2nd stressful time in my life and they were there every step of the way . The barrister representing me in court for the final hearing was absolutely amazing calming reassuring and explained everything to Me. I would like to thank them for their hard work and calming nature and I would use them again in a heartbeat if needed. Thank you .

Was this review helpful?

jane

Matter Type:

Accident At Work

jane

May 11, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

jane

Brilliant confident clear advice and information extremely helpful

Was this review helpful?

Parzana

Matter Type:

Divorce

Parzana

January 31, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Parzana

I have been with BWB for many years. I can not thank Denise Head and her firm enough for their support and hardwork. They were with me every step. I just had to email or pick up the phone advise was at the other end. I highly recommend this firm for any of your issues/situations. They are simply the best, not just saying because of my case. I have had many other firms and never received any empathy or understanding from anyone other then this firm.
Thank you BWB.

Was this review helpful?

Bates Wells & Braithwaite are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Our offices are based in Ipswich town centre. We are easily accessible by car or public transport and are just a few minutes’ walk away from Ipswich bus station and Ipswich rail station. If you are unable to visit our offices in person, we can conduct meetings via video conferencing or make home visits where appropriate.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Travel rights
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Personal Injury
    • Accident Abroad
    • Accident At Work
    • Accidents In Public Places
    • Against The Council
    • Amputation
    • Asbestos Compensation
    • Asbestos Lung Cancer
    • Asbestosis
    • Back Injury At Work
    • Broken Bone Or Fracture
    • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
    • Bus and Coach Accident
    • Car Accident
    • Car Passenger
    • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
    • Children's Accident
    • Children's Serious Injury
    • Chronic Pain
    • Cycling Accident
    • Defective Work Equipment
    • Dog Bite
    • Fall From Height
    • Fatal Accident
    • Fatal Asbestos
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Head Injury At Work
    • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
    • Industrial Disease Compensation
    • Manual Handling
    • Motorbike Accident
    • No Win No Fee
    • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
    • Occupational Asthma
    • Osteoarthritis
    • Pedestrian Accident
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Repetitive Strain Injury
    • Road Traffic Accident
    • Serious Injury
    • Skiing Injury
    • Slips, Trips and Falls
    • Spinal Injury Compensation
    • Supermarket Accident
    • Tinnitus
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
    • Whiplash
    • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Charities
    • Charities
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Data Protection
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety
Book an appointment