Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Couchman Hanson Limited Compares

Value for money

This firm - 94%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Couchman Hanson Limited on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Couchman Hanson Limited. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 12%
About Right 87%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 99%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Couchman Hanson Limited and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Couchman Hanson Limited performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 99%
No 1%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 99%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Couchman Hanson Limited and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Couchman Hanson Limited compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 99%
No 1%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Couchman Hanson Limited offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.9/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    205
  • Very Good

    7
  • Average

    1
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    3

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Margaret

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Couchman Hanson Limited.

Matter Type:

Wills

Margaret

July 17, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Grateful thanks

Ambreen deal with the drawing up of my Will and was always considerate towards my senior years, I would certainly contact her again for other matters if needed.

Was this review helpful?

Vanessa and Reg

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Couchman Hanson Limited.

Matter Type:

Lasting power of attorney

Vanessa and Reg

July 09, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Professional and Informative

Jayanthie was very friendly and informative. It is great to have a modern, friendly and pro-active Solicitors in the village.

Was this review helpful?

Graham and Philippa

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Couchman Hanson Limited.

Matter Type:

Wills

Graham and Philippa

July 04, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills

Great service from the team, they were very patient and also thorough. Would highly recommend Jayanthie!

Was this review helpful?

MIKE

MIKE

June 20, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent support & a very professional team

Thank you to Emily Yeardley, Amy Sullivan and the Couchman Hanson team for their amazing assistance over these past few months. The team as a whole have been a pleasure to deal with, supportive and professional in their approach to the employment challenges I was facing. If ever I need their services once again, I know whom I can count on for dedicated support and human decency.

Was this review helpful?

Louise

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Couchman Hanson Limited.

Matter Type:

Divorce

Louise

May 28, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Professional and sensible advice

I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Julie Summers and the whole team. Julie acted for me in what was a very long and difficult divorce involving several court hearings. I was very impressed with the way in which my case was handled and I felt reassured with Julie representing me. I was always given realistic and sensible advice and Julie also knew exactly how to handle the multiple challenges and difficulties we encountered from the other side. With 3 court hearings and a case lasting over 4 years it was a very costly divorce, however I never felt that the firm was encouraging unnecessary fees, I always felt that the firm were trying to keep my costs down and I was always advised me on the most cost effective way to do things.

Response time was very good, and when there were occasions i needed a very urgent answer Julie did endeavour to contact me, which was appreciated.

The Paralegal team and office staff are also very knowledgeable and helpful which also helps a lot. Many thanks to all.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Couchman Hanson Limited.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Anonymous

May 21, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Conveyancing Service

Jane at Couchman Hansen provided us with an excellent service and made the whole process of purchasing our first property a smooth and successful one. Highly recommended

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Couchman Hanson Limited.

Matter Type:

Financial Matters

Anonymous

April 02, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Julie Summers - Outstanding service

Julie was exceptional on a number of levels, her legal knowledge and clear advice were outstanding. I would recommend Julie to anyone going through this difficult time. Julie was professional, proactive and she provided me with so much confidence every step of the way. Julie managed my expectations and was very approachable.

Ambreen was also outstanding, she was empathetic and very responsive to my requests. Ambreen was a pleasure to deal with.

Thank you to both Julie and Ambreen.

Was this review helpful?

Tom

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Couchman Hanson Limited.

Matter Type:

Divorce

Tom

March 13, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Divorce Proceedings

Having moved solicitors in June 2022 due to poor service / relationship with first company / solicitor I was very pleased with the initial response and meeting with Julie Summers regarding my Divorce, she was extremely professional and supportive with a clear communication of what the future actions and process will be. Supported by Ambreen Mehmood the communication and clear friendly active support just made the process a lot less painful than could have been. The flow of information was timely and relevant, this helped me provide the correct information, that in turn allowed the process to flow smoothly.
It was a pleasure to have had Julie represent me with all the support around

Was this review helpful?

Tom

Matter Type:

Divorce

Tom

February 28, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Divorce proceedings handled excellently

Swapped solicitors for several reasons and was recommended Julie. From the first meeting everything was explained clearly and simply with a very good feeling for the service I would be given. Throughout the whole process communication was excellent and timely when required, support was always available if needed. The overall experience was great with clarity at every stage and very good advice that kept everything on track and running smoothly. Never felt lost or left out.
Great solicitor that I would highly recommend to anyone. Every stage was made straight forward and explained well.
Would recommend both the firm as everyone was professional and friendly at all times, also Julie who was just amazing and made the stressful situation straightforward and simple

Was this review helpful?

CGP

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Couchman Hanson Limited.

Matter Type:

Family law

CGP

December 14, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Thorough, knowledgeable and invaluable

Kept a balanced position over a 3 year + period dealing with unreasonable people from the other sides team of lawyers who ran up charges over three times that of Julie and her team at Couchman Hanson. Could not recommend highly enough to anyone requiring someone to keep you focused when the going gets tough and deals with everything with such a calm honest manner with integrity and care. Great knowledge, supported by Ambreen, Iqbal and others they are all very professional and great value for money too. Thank you Julie

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Sam

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Sam

April 02, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Sam

We bought and sold four properties through Constantine & Summers and I will continue to go back to them. They are friendly, responsive, professional and reliable. I am very please with the service! Thank you Jane and Ambreen!

Was this review helpful?

Steve

Steve

September 01, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Steve

Constantine and Summers - Ombudsman ruling
To your response, The Ombudsman ruled your were in breach of "In the Solicitors Regulation Prescribed Terms Part 1.3 it states: ‘You ensure that client money is available on demand unless you agree an alternative arrangement in writing with the client, or the third party for whom the money is held’ " and that "there was no reasonable reason why the firm should have withheld". You accepted the ruling, later changing changing your stance and when you requested that the Ombudsman reopened the case, they refused.

The Legal Ombudsman ruled that "the firm's service was unreasonable as they delayed the release of Mr Smart's funds" as "there was no reasonable reason why the firm
should have withheld".

The ombudsman stated "This was a relatively significant service failing, as the firm delayed releasing a very large sum of money" and that "I expect this would have had an impact on Mr Smart's day to day life" and that "There is no dispute that the firm delayed releasing the funds".

The Ombudsman also stated "compensation does fall within our significant award category, due to the impact this has had on Mr Smart" however this took 20 months and the amount received in no way compensates for the stress of selling a house and finding yourself beholden to the one party that you should be able to trust, your solicitor?

There has been no apology from Constantine and Summers.

The ruling is available upon requested as a matter of public record from the Legal Ombudsman.

Was this review helpful?

Samantha

Samantha

November 06, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Samantha

I recommend Constantine and Summers and will always use them if I ever need anything again. Julie Summers, Ambreen and Jane were so supportive throughout my divorce. They actually cared about me and my children and when you go through such difficult times you need good advice as well as support.

Was this review helpful?

Arthur

Arthur

July 07, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Arthur

Very quick response to my queries regarding commissioner of oaths / verified copy services.
Thank you

Was this review helpful?

Neil

Neil

November 15, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Neil

Helped brilliantly with my Father's estate

Was this review helpful?

Couchman Hanson Limited are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

If you have an enquiry or would simply like to find out more about Couchman Hanson Solicitors, you can telephone us on 01276 23211, e-mail us or use our online enquiry form.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Libel and Defamation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Media and Sports
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pay Issue
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Change of name
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Maintenance
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Divorce
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Domestic Violence
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • High Net Worth Divorce
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • International Divorce
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Second charges
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Professional Negligence
    • Accountants
    • Architects
    • Barristers
    • Engineers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional Negligence
    • Professional Negligence law
    • Professional trustees
    • Surveyors
    • Tax consultants
    • Valuers
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Insurance
    • Intellectual Property
    • Litigation for Holiday and Residential Parks
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Small businesses
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
    • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
    • GDPR
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety
    • Licensing
Book an appointment