Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Richard Reed Ltd Compares

Value for money

This firm - 92%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Richard Reed Ltd on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 1%
Overpriced 7%
About Right 91%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 93%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Richard Reed Ltd and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Richard Reed Ltd performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 93%
No 7%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 93%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Richard Reed Ltd and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Richard Reed Ltd compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 93%
No 7%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Richard Reed Ltd offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.8/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    177
  • Very Good

    13
  • Average

    2
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    6

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Kevin

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Richard Reed Ltd.

Matter Type:

Investment purchases and Buy to Let

Kevin

June 30, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Review of Richard Reed

The app was great help. It enable me to se what was happening with the need for phone calls. Communication when I did need clarification was excellent with a fast response.

Was this review helpful?

Vivien

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Richard Reed Ltd.

Matter Type:

Investment purchases and Buy to Let

Vivien

June 28, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

House purchase

Very helpful. I would definitely recommend to others, and would use again myself. Thank you

Was this review helpful?

Rachel

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Richard Reed Ltd.

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Rachel

June 21, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent service

I had the pleasure of having Nicola handle my property purchase. I had changed from a previous solicitors who proved to be utterly rubbish, and she was a breath of fresh air from the start. It wasn’t an easy sale process as my lender was dragging their heels and the sellers threatened to pull out, but Nicola and the team at Richard Reed ensured everything was done as soon as possible. They were very quick to respond to any emails or calls and made the whole process very easy for this part. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?

James

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Richard Reed Ltd.

Matter Type:

International

James

June 21, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

excellent service.

very friendly and efficient .every thing was explained really well.would use your services again and would recommend to family and friends

Was this review helpful?

Kenneth

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Richard Reed Ltd.

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Kenneth

June 21, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

good professional service

very good legal advice ,well structured company

Was this review helpful?

Kevin

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Richard Reed Ltd.

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Kevin

June 21, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

House sale and purchase

Easy to deal with, kept up to date and informed.

Was this review helpful?

Byron

Byron

June 20, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Staff member really rude . poor customer service

I tried to get help about a house sale and signed up on line for the service .
Sent an email to the contact who bounces it onto another solicitor whos not available . Very difficult to get an appointment here . Admin manager real rude as well . Avoid

Was this review helpful?

Caroline

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Richard Reed Ltd.

Matter Type:

Disputed Wills

Caroline

May 26, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Will writing

Used this company for many years.. always treat in a friendly bit efficient manner. No question is deemed to stupid.

Was this review helpful?

Ryan

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Richard Reed Ltd.

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Ryan

May 26, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent Service

I used Richard Reed to help me purchase my house. Steven Douglas and the team were proactive and very professional.

I would happily use them again on any future purchases.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Peter

Peter

February 12, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Peter

Sorting out my free will.

Was this review helpful?

Anth

Anth

January 19, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Anth

After a recent visit to Richard Reed I was pleasantly greeted by the receptionist who guided me to the waiting area which was very clean and well presented. After a very professional consultation I was more than happy with the level of service I had received. I have used Richard Reed for many years for Private work and Commercial business. Of which they have never let me down and always shown a true Professional service.

So I would highly recommend Richard Reed if you require true professionalism from start to finish.

Was this review helpful?

Tom

Tom

December 29, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Tom

Very professional with empathy and care handling my issue, pleased I choose Richard Reed

Was this review helpful?

Bland

Bland

November 24, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Bland

Brilliant firm, always friendly and professional no matter who you speak to. Quality service you can trust. Every time I've called the phone gets answered immediately, a little detail but leaves a big impression!

Was this review helpful?

Lynne

Lynne

November 08, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Lynne

Family solicitors they are good, really helped us time and time again.

Was this review helpful?

Richard Reed Ltd are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

As a well-known and reputable law firm in Sunderland, Richard Reed Solicitors is recognised throughout Wearside and right across the North East for our dedication to the outstanding provision of legal services to both individual and commercial clients. We have a long and well-respected history, with Richard Reed himself establishing the business back in 1948. We are very proud of our heritage and it’s close to our hearts in everything we do. We have come a long way since 1948 and the firm has gone from strength to strength, year after year.

Practice areas

For You: Family Law Wills, Trusts & Probate Personal Disputes Residential Property Employment Law For Your Business: Corporate & Commercial Commercial Property Dispute Resolution Employment Law & HR

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Libel and Defamation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Malicious falsehood
    • Travel rights
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pay Issue
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Maintenance
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Divorce Mediation
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Domestic Violence
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Legal aid
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Immigration
    • Immigration Law
    • Tier 1 (investors, entrepreneurs and exceptional talent)
    • Tier 2 (sponsored skilled workers)
    • Tier 4 (students)
    • Tier 5 (temporary workers)
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Notary
    • Notary
  • Personal Injury
    • Personal Injury Law
  • Professional Negligence
    • Accountants
    • Architects
    • Barristers
    • Engineers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional Negligence
    • Professional Negligence law
    • Professional trustees
    • Surveyors
    • Tax consultants
    • Valuers
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • International
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
    • Veterinary negligence
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Outsourcing agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Slander
    • Small businesses
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety
Book an appointment