• SR1 1NA
  • 0191 567 0465
  • www.richardreed.co.uk

Richard Reed Ltd

0191 567 0465

Legal advice for all aspects of personal and business life We all face challenges along life’s journey and that’s why our team are on hand with a wide range of legal solutions for both individuals and businesses. Combining our expert knowledge of the law with our down to earth, friendly approach, our team will work with you to find a resolution to your legal issue and will ensure the best possible outcome. Get in touch today to find out how we can help.

4.9/5 59 Client Reviews 59 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Richard Reed Ltd compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Richard Reed Ltd on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

59 Client Reviews

4.9/5

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    56
  • Very Good
    2
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    1

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
James
James Added 3 hours ago Report to admin
May 07, 2021 20210507211015

House purchase

5

Can not fault this company at all!! They made my house purchase so fast and not stressful at all!! I Will defiantly be using them again in the future if need a solictor, thank you to Nicola and Joanne for all your hard work and getting the hob done in record time!! Thank you

Solicitor named in this review: Nicola Bennell

Was this review helpful? Yes

Paul
Paul Added 2 days ago Report to admin
May 05, 2021 20210505214528

The sale and purchase of our property

5

Matter Type: Purchase and Sale

There are no other words to discribe the experience that the Richard Reed team has in this sector, just outstanding.

Within the chain that we were involved in, it was always our solicitor that was ahead of the rest. Very well prepared and preemptive in the bumpy ride of purchasing and selling the property and onto our forever home.

Thank you very much for your guidance and successful outcome of our home.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Marie
Marie Added 1 week ago Report to admin
April 28, 2021 20210428115344

Marie Robinson

5

I would just like to thank Phil for everything he has done for us as a family.It has sometimes been stressful for us but Phil has been tremendous.I would have no qualms about recommending Richard Reed,professional from start to finish.

Solicitor named in this review: Phil Moir

A representative from Richard Reed Ltd responded to this review on 29 April, 2021

Thank you so much Marie for your kind feedback - it's been passed onto Phil. With best wishes from all at Richard Reed Solicitors.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Linda
Linda Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
April 13, 2021 20210413120222

Wills

5

Very efficient and professional. Lovely friendly solicitor who explained everything in detail

Solicitor named in this review: Annaliese Barber

A representative from Richard Reed Ltd responded to this review on 14 April, 2021

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Kieran
Kieran Added 1 month ago Report to admin
March 31, 2021 20210331115047

Transfer of Equity

5

Matter Type: Transfers of equity

Nicola Bennell was amazing to working with for a transfer of equity on my old property.

I would not hesitate to use Richard Reed again.

Solicitor named in this review: Nicola Bennell

A representative from Richard Reed Ltd responded to this review on 14 April, 2021

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Tori
Tori Added 1 month ago Report to admin
March 23, 2021 20210323112027

Great Conveyancing Experience

5

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

I used Richard Reed for my first property purchase and would highly recommend them. My purchase ended up being more complex than initially anticipated, and they took this in their stride and didn't let it affect the level of service I was receiving. Abbey was amazing throughout, totally professional, personable and reactive to the changing situation. There was a time period where Abbey was unavailable and my case was passed on and communications dropped off during the pivotal point of exchange and completion, but with the intense level of demand this firm is under at the moment it was completely understandable albeit not ideal. If anything, it highlighted to me just how on the ball Abbey was! The conveyancing fees on my completion statement were nearly £100 higher than quoted, which was a bit of a surprise but again, given the level of service I'd received I didn't protest too much. This didn't detract from my overall experience, and I wouldn't hesitate to use Richard Reed again.

Solicitor named in this review: Abbey Tyrrell-Scott

A representative from Richard Reed Ltd responded to this review on 23 March, 2021

Thank you so much Tori for your kind words regarding Abbey, I have passed your comments to her and she was delighted by them. Just with respect to the additional costs you mentioned, those were not additional Richard Reed fees but additional third party costs that were unexpected unfortunately. We will send you a private message to explain more around that. Thank you again for leaving us such a great review, it's really appreciated.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Natasha
Natasha Added 1 month ago Report to admin
March 12, 2021 20210312171826

Excellent

5

Matter Type: Extending your Lease

I used Richard Reid Solicitors for my recent Lease extension. I was very pleased with my experience. All staff were really friendly and helpful. All my enquiries were dealt with immediately. In particular Sharon Hepple. I highly recommend them to anyone needing property services.

A representative from Richard Reed Ltd responded to this review on 15 March, 2021

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Stacie
Stacie Added 2 months ago Report to admin
March 04, 2021 20210304140242

Thank you

5

I would highly recommend Richard Reed solicitors, this is the second time I have used their services from buying and selling property and couldn't fault them! My house sale was more complex than usual and they ensured that we had everything required. They kept me up to date throughout the whole process whether that be by phone or email. Considering the current circumstances they have provided a great service and would definitely recommend to friends and family in the area. Huge thanks the Abbey and the team! X

A representative from Richard Reed Ltd responded to this review on 04 March, 2021

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Stacie
Stacie Added 2 months ago Report to admin
March 04, 2021 20210304140012

Thank you

5

I would highly recommend Richard Reed solicitors, this is the second time I have used their services from buying and selling property and couldn't fault them! My house sale was more complex than usual and they ensured that we had everything required. They kept me up to date throughout the whole process whether that be by phone or email. Considering the current circumstances they have provided a great service and would definitely recommend to friends and family in the area. Huge thanks the Abbey and the team! X

A representative from Richard Reed Ltd responded to this review on 04 March, 2021

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Brian
Brian Added 2 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
February 21, 2021 20210221151737

Very disappointing

1

Matter Type: Purchase and Sale

This simple property purchase took 5 months to complete, and would have been longer if we had not regularly chased, there seemed little incentive to help us to complete quickly. The seller's solicitor made a mistake which caused the completion date to be missed which then cost us additional loan interest and bank charges but our solicitor was not interested in supporting us to recover costs. Our solicitor caused additional delays by asking the freeholder for information but as the freehold was being managed by an RTM company this was not required. Our solicitor also rejected our initial ID check as they did not accept witness from a Funeral Director and yet most institutions accept this profession. They also sent us an inaccurate contract which had to be returned for correction after we had noted errors that should have been spotted. Also as 3 solicitors were involved, there were mistakes in continuity when another took over. Overall it felt like we had solicitors who looked for ways to obstruct, rather than look to help their client.

A representative from Richard Reed Ltd responded to this review on 23 February, 2021

Dear Brian We are are sorry that you feel disappointed with our services. Please be assured that we take all feedback from our clients seriously. We will now take the time to look further into the points raised in your review and will revert soon. If you would like to speak with us directly, please do not hesitate to call us on 0191 567 0465 and ask to speak to myself. With kind regards. Amber Holt Richard Reed Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Diane
Diane Added 1 month ago Report to admin
March 13, 2021
Collected on
20210313025224

Diane

5

Very helpful when transferring my mum's will back to Sunderland with them and planning to use them for the sale and purchase of my new home

Was this review helpful? Yes

Richard Reed Ltd responded to this review on 15 March, 2021

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Denise
Denise Added 5 months ago Report to admin
November 16, 2020
Collected on
20201116162813

Denise

5

Excellent

Was this review helpful? Yes

Richard Reed Ltd responded to this review on 27 November, 2020

Thank you so much Denise - delighted we could assist.

Mandy
Mandy Added 6 months ago Report to admin
November 04, 2020
Collected on
20201104185521

Mandy

5

I cannot Praise Abbey.tyrrell Scott enough for how she handled a very frustrating house purchase. She was very amenable and kept me informed every step of the way on what was happening. I would definitely recommend and use Richard Reed Solicitors based on my experience with Abbey!
One happy Client

Was this review helpful? Yes

Richard Reed Ltd responded to this review on 27 November, 2020

Thank you so much Mandy - your feedback has been passed onto Abbey.

Ian
Ian Added 6 months ago Report to admin
October 26, 2020
Collected on
20201026160823

Ian

5

Professional. Just what it says on the tin

Was this review helpful? Yes

Richard Reed Ltd responded to this review on 27 November, 2020

Thank you Ian. Best wishes, Richard Reed Solicitors

jordon
jordon Added 9 months ago Report to admin
July 13, 2020
Collected on
20200713165139

jordon

5

Phil has helped alot over the last few months, had some great advice.
Overall excellent service.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Richard Reed Ltd responded to this review on 27 November, 2020

thank you Jordan - we've passed your feedback to Phil.

Reviews collected on

Marie Burden
Marie Burden Added 3 months ago Report to admin
January 15, 2021 20210115150523

Marie Burden

5

Reliability and dedication to the client

Was this review helpful? Yes

Richard Reed Ltd responded to this review on 18 January, 2021

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Victoria Watson
Victoria Watson Added 5 months ago Report to admin
November 26, 2020 20201126075701

Victoria Watson

5

Excellent service, very prompt and very professional.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Emma Jayne
Emma Jayne Added 9 months ago Report to admin
August 03, 2020 20200803213316

Emma Jayne

5

We have just sold our property and purchased our new home with Richard Reed Solicitors. Nicola and Joanne were fantastic throughout the entire process! The communication and efficiency were second-to-none. Nicola and Joanne answered our questions, dealt with matters extremely promptly and made the matter of selling and buying less stressful. Could not recommend Nicola & her team at Richard Reed Solicitors enough!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jordon Nelson
Jordon Nelson Added 9 months ago Report to admin
July 13, 2020 20200713175307

Jordon Nelson

5

these guys have been very helpful with a issue i had. i've had some excellent advice and they've been very helpful.

thanks again

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ted Cummings
Ted Cummings Added 1 year ago Report to admin
April 17, 2020 20200417133114

Ted Cummings

5

Been a client for years, No desire pr need to change.

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

As a well-known and reputable law firm in Sunderland, Richard Reed Solicitors is recognised throughout Wearside and right across the North East for our dedication to the outstanding provision of legal services to both individual and commercial clients. We have a long and well-respected history, with Richard Reed himself establishing the business back in 1948. We are very proud of our heritage and it’s close to our hearts in everything we do. We have come a long way since 1948 and the firm has gone from strength to strength, year after year.


Regulated By:
Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal Services

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000