Request an appointment

Request an appointment

Optima Legal Services Limited

Also known as :

  • Optima Legal
View map
Optima Legal Services Limited

How Optima Legal Services Limited Compares

Value for money

:- (
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Optima Legal Services Limited on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Optima Legal Services Limited. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 2%
Overpriced 78%
About Right 19%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Optima Legal Services Limited and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Optima Legal Services Limited performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 1%
No 99%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Optima Legal Services Limited and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Optima Legal Services Limited compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 6%
No 94%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Optima Legal Services Limited offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Become Verified

Optima Legal Services Limited has Not Been Verified by ReviewSolicitors

You may want to discover a firm with an established and proven reputation on ReviewSolicitors


Top Rated Law Firms - Highly Recommended and Recently Used By Clients Like You

Review Sources

Client Reviews

1.1/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    2
  • Very Good

    1
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    2
  • Awful

    203

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Kate

Kate

June 20, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Avoid like the plague

They have been doing our remortgage for months now. The simple matter of verifying identity has proved impossible. We have been to a court house, solicitor twice and The Halifax about 15 times. Still unresolved months later. Save your money and use other solicitors.

Was this review helpful?

josh

josh

June 11, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Do not use!

Slow and incompeten.t I would not recommend in the slightest

Was this review helpful?

Anwen

Anwen

May 30, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Dreadful

In the process of remortgaging with Barclays and this company is responsible for the legal side of things. I'm having to ring them on a daily basis so that they update the portal accordingly. I'm having to do the liaising between them and Halifax. I've been given incorrect information and am being told different things on different days by case workers. Indifferent attitude by whoever answers the phone and lack of interest in the case.

Was this review helpful?

Tharmila

Matter Type:

Remortgaging

Tharmila

May 23, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Amazing team who are efficient and friendly

I am in the process of remortgaging my house and I have to say what a lovely team they are at Optima Legal. I am working on a very tight deadline as the remortgage is funding for a new home and I am due to have a baby in July. The team and Optima Legal have been ever so efficient and the customer service team on the end of the phone are always so pleasant to speak to. I can't remember all the names but my latest conversation today was with Charlene who really helped out my mind at ease. Thank you to the whole team and Keep up the great service.

Was this review helpful?

Simon

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Simon

May 21, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Avoid at all costs

Never use these if you want a speedy efficent service. There communication is poor, they drag there heels and will not take up any initiative.Doesnt matter how many emails or calls they dont have a clue. Avoid if your mortgage company reccomends them ask for someone else. Awful company

Was this review helpful?

Simon

Simon

May 02, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

DO NOT USE - THEY ARE USELESS

Dealing with Optima Legal has been one of the most painful and worst experiences I have ever encountered. They are unhelpful, ignorant, incorrect, unprofessional and useless, quite frankly.

I would recommend, if you are thinking of dealing with them, or if you are told they are a “preferred” solicitor for your mortgage, walk away. Walk away now. Insist you do not want to use these complete morons. Even if it means paying more on your monthly payments, it will mean less heartache, stress and dealing with a company where every single thing will go wrong.

My complaint has gone to MD, CEO and their complaints division 10 days ago. Not once have they bothered to contact me or even apologise. They don’t give a monkeys about helping me, and they won’t about you either.

This has cost me days of work having to manage this, stress leave and lack of sleep.

Had I not been absolutely all over this, this would have cost me thousands of pounds for their consistent bad handling of my case. I have written to Barclays, also, to ask them to remove Optima Legal and do not allow their customers to work with them. They are THAT bad to deal with.

My experiences with them include:

* Having to send the mortgage deed 3 times to them as they lost the previous 2 mortgage deeds
* Failing to point out that they were moving offices until I had to send this for a 3rd time upon chasing
* Not telling me that they hadn’t recieved the mortgage deeds, despite the fact this was a matter of urgency and I had sent messages saying this had been done on numerous occasions
* With the above they are in breach of the Data Protection Act by not securely handling personal information, not acknowledging this once
* Refusing to update their portal once this finally been received despite eight (8) chases for them to do so, so completion date could be set
* Quoting time and time again incorrect shortfall balances to be sent
* Being told they will call you - they don’t. Don’t bother calling them, you can’t.

Their reviews are appalling for a reason. You deserve better than to have to use these cowboys - demand better. You deserve it. You will regret for every day whilst going through this process having to deal with Optima Legal. Do not do it.

Was this review helpful?

Marcus

Marcus

February 29, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

awful experience

very poor ,has taken way to long as they have dragged their feet all the way despite numerous phone calls ,even after being made a priority (twice) they still failed our deadline despite receiving our correspondence within 24 hrs every time, its been requested. these solicitors just don't care about the little guys

Was this review helpful?

mike

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

mike

February 28, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Failed in all aspects

Prior to engaging optima we asked if they could assist in transferring a help to buy loan from an ex partner to a new partner. They said that this was possible and set out a list of additional fees for varying aspects of this that would not be covered by the mortgage provider. This included deeds of postponement, and deeds if assension.
Seven weeks later and after varying issues with their online portal not accepting ID documents, they have said that they cannot provide the above as the name on the help to buy loan are not the same as those on the application and that they cannot process the case any further.

Was this review helpful?

Lisa

Lisa

February 15, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Worst customer service I've experienced in over 20 years

Poor communication, extremely poor operating portal, poor service in general

Was this review helpful?

Danielle

Matter Type:

Transfers of equity

Danielle

November 06, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Avoid.

Documents were lost when sending them in the post, it took 2 weeks calling numerous times for someone to finally ‘investigate’ the missing documents, an hour later the documents had miraculously been found.
Currently awaiting a completion date for a transfer of equity case, was promised it’d be in 48 hours, then it would be in 2-3 days and now we have been told the redemption statement has a missing ‘clause’ even though it was checked and approved last week … one person from Optima Legal told us to chase Halifax who they requested the statement from to get it quicker, we called later that day for someone else to tell us they don’t see how that would help as it is only a 2 hour turn around for Halifax to send them an updated statement??
Can never speak to a case handler as they either “don’t start until 9am” “no one is in who can help as it’s Friday” or “he has already gone home” all excuses we have had over this past week. We actually got a phone call from a case handler, picked up after 2 rings and then the phone was put down. Then a message on the portal to say ‘we have tried to contact you’ the number they call from is automated so you cannot call back.
There is a house purchase that is on the brink of falling through as the exchange of contract date has passed and we are no closer to getting a completion date for the transfer of equity to enable the exchange to take place. Really disappointing, especially as Halifax recommended.

Was this review helpful?

About this branch

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Professional Negligence
    • Barristers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional trustees
    • Valuers
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Banking
    • Banking
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Commercial Law
    • Credit Control
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Insurance
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation