Solicitor at Lockings Solicitors

Lucy Barford

Solicitor - Solicitor

SRA ID: 528372

I am a Solicitor in our Private Client Department. I deal with a wide range of private client matters including Wills, administration of Estates, Lasting Powers of Attorney and applications to the Court of Protection. As a Private Client Solicitor, I help clients put their minds at rest and plan for the future by ensuring they have essential documents in place, such as Wills and Lasting Powers of Attorney. I also assist clients following the bereavement of a loved one, dealing with the administration of an Estate. This can range from obtaining the Grant of Representation, all the way through to a complete administration of the Estate. I can also advise and assist on deputyship applications to the Court of Protection where someone has sadly lost the ability to look after their own financial affairs, without having put in place a Lasting Power of Attorney. No problem is too small and I am happy to assist on any Private Client query, providing clear and practical advice during what can often be a difficult time.

St. Marys Court, Lowgate, Hull, North Humberside, HU1 1YG

Licensed for 8 years

Practice Areas

Wills, Trusts & Probate

5.0/5 16 Client Reviews 16
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate 93%
  • Family Law 7%
16 Client Reviews

5.0/5

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    16
  • Very Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    0
Anonymous
Click to rate
Anonymous
Verified Anonymous Added 1 week ago Report to admin
Lockings Solicitors
Collected whilst working at Lockings Solicitors
June 20, 2022 20220620153819

Very professional

5

Lucy handled probate after my mum passed, and from the initial will reading to the estate being settled, everything was handled smoothly and with clear communication at every step. Highly recommended.

Solicitor named in this review: Lucy Barford

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 4 months ago Report to admin
Lockings Solicitors
Collected whilst working at Lockings Solicitors
February 24, 2022 20220224175935

Probate

5

We have been clients of Lockings since 2000, when we first bought a property in the Beverley Area. They are now “ our Family Firm”, the people we first go to for advice and practical support on legal matters, conveyancing, wills, etc.
The most recent support I required was to assist with Probate. Whilst being allocated a named Solicitor I knew that what I was actually purchasing was the support of the whole expertise of the Company/Team. No - one knows how any situation will develop but Lockings do work well as a Team. They put “You and Your Needs” first, and are not frightened to raise issues,sensitively, with you that you may find “difficult to hear”.

Solicitor named in this review: Lucy Barford

A representative from Lockings Solicitors responded to this review on 25 February, 2022

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Charlotte
Verified Charlotte Added 5 months ago Report to admin
Lockings Solicitors
Collected whilst working at Lockings Solicitors
January 07, 2022 20220107154715

Sorting our Estate following bereavement

5

Sorting out my mums estate was dealt with sympathetically and efficiently. It was very easy to navigate through with all the help offered.

Solicitor named in this review: Lucy Barford

A representative from Lockings Solicitors responded to this review on 14 January, 2022

Thank you Charlotte. We appreciate you taking the time to feedback at this very difficult time for you and your family. We look forward to working with you again in the future and hopefully happier circumstances for you all. Regards.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Joanne
Verified Joanne Added 7 months ago Report to admin
Lockings Solicitors
Collected whilst working at Lockings Solicitors
November 15, 2021 20211115154440

Great service

5

Lucy was excellent in every way. Made everything so clear and easy to understand :)

Solicitor named in this review: Lucy Barford

A representative from Lockings Solicitors responded to this review on 18 November, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to feedback Joanne. We really appreciate you taking the time at this difficult time for you and your family. Best wishes.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Charlie Richards.
Verified Charlie Richards. Added 7 months ago Report to admin
Lockings Solicitors
Collected whilst working at Lockings Solicitors
November 15, 2021 20211115150341

Lucy Barford / Probate

5

After my Mums sudden passing, I was referred to Lockings solicitors by a friend as I had no idea about probate and what was needed to deal with my Mums estate.
I dealt mainly with Lucy Barford who was understanding and explained the process and costs involved.
The whole process was handled very professionally and everything was explained along the way with updates throughout.
I would highly recommend Lockings and Lucy Barford to my friends and family in these matters.

Solicitor named in this review: Lucy Barford

A representative from Lockings Solicitors responded to this review on 18 November, 2021

Thank you Charlie. We really appreciate you feeding back at this difficult time for you and your family. We are glad to have helped. Regards.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Adrian
Verified Adrian Added 8 months ago Report to admin
Lockings Solicitors
Collected whilst working at Lockings Solicitors
October 12, 2021 20211012133846

Processing of Probate and Estate Transfer

5

Lucy Barford professionally handled the probate and transfer of estate following the death of a close family member. At all times we found Lucy to be professional, pragmatic and processed this requirement through to Grant of Probate with minimal delay and providing effective communication. In particular we appreciated Lucy's help navigating complex IHT taxation law to ensure optimal processing and liability.

Accordingly we would have no hesitation asking Lucy to act for us again if circumstances demanded.

Solicitor named in this review: Lucy Barford

A representative from Lockings Solicitors responded to this review on 21 October, 2021

Thank you Adrian. We really appreciate your comments. Thank you for taking the time to leave such detailed and positive feedback. We look forward to working with you again in the future in hopefully happier circumstances. Regards.

Was this review helpful? Yes

James
Verified James Added 9 months ago Report to admin
Lockings Solicitors
Collected whilst working at Lockings Solicitors
September 25, 2021 20210925144130

Compassionate

5

Due to a bereavement in the family we used Lockings as I've used them for years. They were compassionate and helpful through difficult circumstances

Solicitor named in this review: Lucy Barford

A representative from Lockings Solicitors responded to this review on 01 October, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review the service you received at this difficult time for you and your family James. We really appreciate your feedback. We are glad to have been able to help and look forward to working with you again in the future in hopefully happier circumstances. Regards.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Alan S
Verified Alan S Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Lockings Solicitors
Collected whilst working at Lockings Solicitors
June 22, 2021 20210622102152

Handled with care

5

Lucy was very professional and clear on work and the costs throughout our dealings and very sensitive to the loss of both our parents in quick succession. This, on top of Covid and the fact that i was in Australia and New Zealand during the duration of the work was no easy task, but Lucy made it look easy.

I would not hesitate to recommend Lucy to anyone seeking legal advice and processing.

Solicitor named in this review: Lucy Barford

A representative from Lockings Solicitors responded to this review on 30 June, 2021

Thanks for your review Alan. We are delighted you are pleased. We look full to working with you again in the future. Regards.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Graham
Verified Graham Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Lockings Solicitors
Collected whilst working at Lockings Solicitors
January 27, 2021 20210127214023

Excellent service from start to finish.

5

Absolutely first class service from Lockings dealing with Probate and Conveyance. I first spoke to Lucy Barford and explained my circumstances and the help I needed with probate & administering the estate. She was very professional, approachable, easy to talk to and she explained and discussed the process in plain English. I had already done quite a lot of the groundwork and was pleased that she acknowledged that this was helpful. There was also some 'detective' work that needed doing regarding a previous will and inheritance tax transfer. All this was carried out quickly & efficiently & ensured that satisfactory outcome was achieved.
The conveyancing of a property that had to be sold was carried out by Craig Schofield's team and again, the team were all easy to talk to, professional and all the work was carried out efficiently and as quickly as possible ensuring a very satisfactory ending to property sale.
I would like to thank Lucy, Craig and all their teams for making the entire process as pain and stress free as possible from start to finish. They are all a credit to Lockings. Well done and thank you all.

Solicitor named in this review: Lucy Barford

A representative from Lockings Solicitors responded to this review on 31 January, 2021

Thanks so much for taking the time to give us such detailed and positive feedback Graham. Thank you for your custom and we are delighted you are pleased. We look forward to working with you again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Stuart
Verified Stuart Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Lockings Solicitors
Collected whilst working at Lockings Solicitors
January 27, 2021 20210127000000

Wills, Trusts & Probate

5

Stuart recommends Lockings Solicitors

Solicitor named in this review: Lucy Barford

A representative from Lockings Solicitors responded to this review on 05 February, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review our service Stuart. We are delighted you are happy. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

About Lucy Barford

I am a Solicitor in our Private Client Department. I deal with a wide range of private client matters including Wills, administration of Estates, Lasting Powers of Attorney and applications to the Court of Protection. As a Private Client Solicitor, I help clients put their minds at rest and plan for the future by ensuring they have essential documents in place, such as Wills and Lasting Powers of Attorney. I also assist clients following the bereavement of a loved one, dealing with the administration of an Estate. This can range from obtaining the Grant of Representation, all the way through to a complete administration of the Estate. I can also advise and assist on deputyship applications to the Court of Protection where someone has sadly lost the ability to look after their own financial affairs, without having put in place a Lasting Power of Attorney. No problem is too small and I am happy to assist on any Private Client query, providing clear and practical advice during what can often be a difficult time.

Languages Spoken: English

Contact Lucy Barford

Address

Lockings Solicitors

St. Marys Court

Lowgate

Hull

North Humberside



Phone 01482 300200

Website

Resume

LICENSE

Country

Status

Acquired

Updated

United Kingdom

Currently Registered

16/09/13

15/11/21

We found no instances of professional misconduct for this solicitor

WORK EXPERIENCE

Title

Name

Duration

Assistant

QualitySolicitors Lockings

?-present