Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Lockings Solicitors Compares

Value for money

This firm - 94%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Lockings Solicitors on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 0%
About Right 100%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 95%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Lockings Solicitors and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Lockings Solicitors performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 95%
No 5%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 95%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Lockings Solicitors and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Lockings Solicitors compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 95%
No 5%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Lockings Solicitors offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.9/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    1133
  • Very Good

    74
  • Average

    11
  • Poor

    7
  • Awful

    12

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Anonymous

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Anonymous

March 17, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

House move

Moving home is a difficult and stressful time for anyone. Our move was after spending over 30 years in our previous home. If want a solicitor that is caring, understanding and professional at an affordable price then in my opinion you don't need to look any further than Lockings Solicitors. It takes a lot to impress me but they did hence my 5 star review.

Was this review helpful?

Rashpal

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Rashpal

March 10, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Solicitors for Property Purchase

They have very little understanding of people’s concern for personal financial information privacy when dealing with a purchase. Very unprofessional. Did not feel they were working on our behalf.

Was this review helpful?

Ian

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Lockings Solicitors.

Ian

February 12, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

House purchases.

The professional services provided by Lockings was excellent in both of the purchases I made recently in the UK and with me being based in Turkey, they made it easy to complete and understand the various complexities and nuances of the documentation. All of the staff were polite and explained everything step by step throughout the process and I cannot commend them enough.

Was this review helpful?

Garreth

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Lockings Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims

Garreth

December 23, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Appreciate your help

My initial experience wasn't great, as I felt the first interaction was completely overwhelming i.e sending a huge, impersonal email with numerous attachments.

However, after this my experience was positive. All my calls and questions were answered with diligence and professionalism.

Was this review helpful?

Trevor

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Lockings Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims

Trevor

December 17, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Property purchase

Lockings were excellent all the way through our dealings, professional, responsive to our questions and prompt replies to our questions and queries. I would like to mention Ben Forth who was our main point of contact, he was particularly excellent and made the whole process easy for us.

Was this review helpful?

XXX

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Lockings Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges

XXX

November 18, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Diligent and on the ball

I was looked after very professionally by Locking. Recommended.

Was this review helpful?

Michael

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Lockings Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Investment and buy to let properties

Michael

November 09, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Professional and Available

I found Lockings to be a very professional and available law firm. Very clear instructions and responds to my queries without delay. Took great care in conducting due diligence checks which, although onerous, is necessary and gave me confidence in that they follow due process.

Was this review helpful?

Matthew

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Lockings Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Lease Extensions

Matthew

October 28, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Difficult to reach

The online processes were acceptable, but not as good as the last set of solicitors I used, some 3 years ago. They were also very difficult to get hold of, and never once responded to my voicemails. I had to go through a 3rd party to get updates.

I’m being generous by awarding 3 stars, as I know this is an unprecedented busy period for solicitors. If this had happened in ‘normal’ times I would rate them as poor.

Was this review helpful?

Adam

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Lockings Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Housing Associations

Adam

October 28, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent support

I am a first time client with Lockings Solicitors. I had not heard about them before.

I have had two different projects that went through them, and the whole process was simple, clear and quick.

Was this review helpful?

Shubhranshu

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Lockings Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Possession and repossession proceedings

Shubhranshu

October 01, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Fabulous

Great Communication, clear advise, timely response

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Matty

Matty

April 20, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Matty

Really professional service. Good communication and knowledge about my complex sale which was a relief. Emma Greenwood was really helpful and put my mind at ease.

Was this review helpful?

Chris

Chris

March 31, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Chris

Very efficient service compared to other solicitors. Would recommend to other buy-to-let investors.

Was this review helpful?

Leighton

Leighton

January 04, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Leighton

Ben Forth was extremely helpful. Despite my constant emails he was always quick to respond and resolved any issues I had immediately

Was this review helpful?

Liron

Liron

December 17, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Liron

Courteous and professional service, quick answer to any question.
I will definitely continue to work with your office,
Thank you.

Was this review helpful?

Louisa

Louisa

November 28, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Louisa

I was very lucky to have Dawn Clarke support me through the FTB process. Without Dawn I think I’d have lost the plot completely. I think solicitors have a reputation for being stand off ish and cold, but Dawn was the complete opposite! She kept me calm, empathised, made me laugh all whilst doing an outstanding and efficient job. There were a few bumps with the new build process but Dawn was always one step ahead. Thank you so much.

Was this review helpful?

Lockings Solicitors are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Lockings Solicitors is a law firm with offices in York, Beverley and Hull. Our lawyers have served the local community and beyond since 1949. Our award winning team maintain the highest standards by following 6 rules: 1. We’re here to help with legal advice and support. 2. We will carry out your wishes. 3. We will always keep you in the loop. 4. We will avoid complicated legal phrases and help you understand the legal process. 5. We will keep our legal fees fair and transparent. 6. We will give a Free Initial Chat Service from 8am to 8pm, 7 days a week. Just dial 01482 300200. We specialise in Compromise Agreements for Employees, Child Care Proceedings, Conveyancing, Disputes, Powers of Attorney, Probate and Wills.

Practice areas

We specialise in Compromise Agreements for Employees, Child Care Proceedings, Conveyancing, Disputes, Powers of Attorney, Probate and Wills.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Child Abduction
    • Child Access
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Domestic Violence
    • Elderly care
    • Elderly care home fees
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Social Services
  • Housing & Property
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Personal Injury
    • Against The Council
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Professional Negligence
    • Barristers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional trustees
    • Valuers
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Commercial Law
    • Credit Control
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Tax
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
Book an appointment