Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Lockings Solicitors Compares

Value for money

This firm - 93%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Lockings Solicitors on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 2%
Overpriced 1%
About Right 95%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 94%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Lockings Solicitors and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Lockings Solicitors performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 94%
No 6%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 94%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Lockings Solicitors and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Lockings Solicitors compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 94%
No 6%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Lockings Solicitors offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.9/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    992
  • Very Good

    62
  • Average

    11
  • Poor

    6
  • Awful

    10

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
RS

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Lockings Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Consumer Disputes

RS

January 17, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent Efficient Service

Our matter was handled with the utmost speed and efficiency, Thank you very much.

Was this review helpful?

Laura

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Lockings Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Laura

January 14, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Smooth Sale

Very happy with the help I received with conveyancing from Lockings. I was kept up to date with emails every time progress was made with the sale and it was alway clear what was required from me and what the next steps were.

Was this review helpful?

Stephen

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Lockings Solicitors.

Stephen

January 14, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Feedback

Refusal to take / act on instruction
Poor communication
Mistakes with documentation

Was this review helpful?

Charlotte

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Lockings Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Probate

Charlotte

January 07, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Sorting our Estate following bereavement

Sorting out my mums estate was dealt with sympathetically and efficiently. It was very easy to navigate through with all the help offered.

Was this review helpful?

Mrs R

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Lockings Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Settlement Agreements

Mrs R

January 07, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great, reassuring service

Sarah handled my case professionally and thoroughly. She gave me confidence that all aspects of the case were being considered and her advice and recommendations were invaluable. She guided me through what could have been a very stressful situation and I would heartily recommend her.

Was this review helpful?

Peter

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Lockings Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims

Peter

January 07, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

First-rate service

It was the third time we have used Lockings and were well satisfied each time. Swift, competent and reasonably priced

Peter Goonan

Was this review helpful?

Janet

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Lockings Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims

Janet

January 06, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Dream Team EW

I am delighted to say that our experience once again, has been exceptional from start to finish!
Emily Withall and Jess are both very informed, patient and also made time, on several occasions, to listen to and respond to any enquiries/worries I had and also I welcomed their experience and advice on several occasions!
It was very refreshing to be able to contact them whenever I felt the need, regarding any issues and always receive a prompt reponse .
We had a very tight timescale of just under 6 weeks to complete our sale and purchase Emily spoke to all other solicitors involved to agree this and without any problem this was achieved !
We are forever grateful for their very professional, friendly approach and will definitely recommend Lockings to all our friends and family
Thank you so so much for an excellent job!

Was this review helpful?

Jennifer

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Lockings Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims

Jennifer

January 06, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Selling House

Lockings were fantastic in communicating letting you know about what stage of the process your sale was going through, very pleasant and helpful staff. I would recommend Lockings and I would certainly use them again. Thank you for a efficient house sale.

Was this review helpful?

Doreen

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Lockings Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims

Doreen

January 06, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Sale of 97 Meadowbank Road

My mother was the client but I dealt with parts. The house sale was held up by the buyer's mortgage application which of course was out of your control. Rachel Fawcett was very helpful and efficient during the sale and after the mortgage was agreed the sale went through smoothly with Tina.

Was this review helpful?

Arthur Biggins

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Lockings Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Settlement Agreements

Arthur Biggins

January 04, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Professional

Would recommend

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Aaron

Aaron

June 14, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Aaron

I write to recommend the excellent work by Lockings regarding a first time property purchase. I’d called around a few solicitors in Hull, and had been put off by the dusty, impatient and somewhat poor reception to a new customer, and I was initially swayed to use Lockings thanks to all their really positive reviews on Google. Lockings was a breath of fresh air - I initially spoke to the lovely Rosina Burlak, who was friendly and energetic and sent me a quote within 15 minutes. She liaised with my estate agent almost instantly to confirm my offer. I was then put under the service of Emily Withill’s team and Abbie Carlisle. Emily and Abbie replied to me within 24 hours by email, made everything incredibly easy and were kind and patient every step of the way. Thanks to their incredible and modern service, I exchanged and completed within two months. I would recommend anyone buying a property to use Lockings’ conveyancing services. 10/10

Was this review helpful?

Anna

Anna

April 13, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Anna

Lockings Solicitors were absolutely excellent during the whole process of buying my house. They kept me informed during every stage and updated me very quickly. Any queries that I had they responded to quickly and professionally. I would definitely recommend them and wouldn't hesitate to use them in the future.

Was this review helpful?

Amy

Amy

April 06, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Amy

Wow! This is the second time I have used Lockings and they are the best solicitors!! Our family have used them 8 times already and we wouldn’t use anyone else. They are so efficient, nice and helpful!! They are also so quick to complete something, if only all solicitors were like lockings.

Abbie was incredible, she dealt with my case when I was purchasing and selling and she was excellent! Couldn’t recommend them more!!!

Was this review helpful?

Hayley

Hayley

March 27, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Hayley

They've been absolutely invaluable in helping us progress through the purchase of our new property. So helpful and offer great advice.

Was this review helpful?

Ben

Ben

March 10, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Ben

We had the unfortunate experience of selling our house twice in a year as the first sale fell through, we changed solicitors second time round for several reasons to lockings and the difference was night and day. We were assigned to Brydie Chavers and she was an absolute star, I never felt like anything was any trouble and they were so responsive. Their online system worked well for us but Brydie was always available to speak to if needed. If I was doing it all over again tomorrow I wouldn't even consider using anyone else.

Was this review helpful?

Lockings Solicitors are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Lockings Solicitors is a law firm with offices in Hull, Beverley and York. Our lawyers have served the local community and beyond since 1949. Our award winning team maintain the highest standards by following 6 rules: 1. We’re here to help with legal advice and support. 2. We will carry out your wishes. 3. We will always keep you in the loop. 4. We will avoid complicated legal phrases and help you understand the legal process. 5. We will keep our legal fees fair and transparent. 6. We will give a Free Initial Chat Service from 8am to 8pm, 7 days a week. Just dial 01482 300200. We specialise in Compromise Agreements for Employees, Child Care Proceedings, Conveyancing, Disputes, Powers of Attorney, Probate and Wills.

Practice areas

We specialise in Compromise Agreements for Employees, Child Care Proceedings, Conveyancing, Disputes, Powers of Attorney, Probate and Wills.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Child Abduction
    • Child Access
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Domestic Violence
    • Elderly care
    • Elderly care home fees
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Social Services
  • Housing & Property
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Personal Injury
    • Against The Council
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Professional Negligence
    • Barristers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional trustees
    • Valuers
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Commercial Law
    • Credit Control
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Tax
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
Book an appointment