Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Lockings Solicitors Compares

Value for money

This firm - 95%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Lockings Solicitors on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Lockings Solicitors. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 3%
Overpriced 2%
About Right 94%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 98%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Lockings Solicitors and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Lockings Solicitors performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 98%
No 2%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 98%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Lockings Solicitors and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Lockings Solicitors compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 98%
No 2%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Lockings Solicitors offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.9/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    1810
  • Very Good

    122
  • Average

    17
  • Poor

    9
  • Awful

    15

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
S. Judge

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Lockings Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Probate

S. Judge

April 30, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent Service

We used Lockings to deal with an application for grant of probate.
It probably wasn't the most straightforward application but the work, which I'm pleased to say has now been successfully completed, was carried out efficiently and professionally.
Lucy kept us fully informed of progress and was always helpful and friendly.
Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?

Mrs Jenifer Simpson (Jenny)

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Lockings Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Probate

Mrs Jenifer Simpson (Jenny)

April 11, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wonderful service rom Lucy and the Team

Lucy has been a tower of strength to myself and three children since the sudden loss of my husband Bob on 29/01/2023.
Although Lockings have been our Solicitors for quite a few years,Lucy has been on hand to advise, support and has gone above and beyond and We cannot thank her for being therefor us. Thank you!

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Lockings Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Probate

Anonymous

February 26, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Application for grant of probate

I had previously used Lockings Will department for the reviewing of a family will and proceeded to the Probate Dept for the creation and submittal of the estate into the Probate system.

I have been very satisfied with Fiona's professionalism and attention to detail to all aspects of the Probate process which is now successfully completed.

Was this review helpful?

Joyce McMillan

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Lockings Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Lasting power of attorney

Joyce McMillan

February 26, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Power of attorney

Lucy provided/advised us with all the information we needed. Very easy to talk to and understand. Highly satisfied with the services given. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?

Marion

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Lockings Solicitors.

Marion

January 31, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

A smooth process

Once Lockings had agreed to act as conveyancers for us the whole process was very smooth. I was kept well informed via emails and when I had to visit the office the reception team were great.

Was this review helpful?

Ivan

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Lockings Solicitors.

Ivan

January 27, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Lockings Hull Review

Helpful, Friendly, Efficient, Professional service. Keeps client informed of proceedings and developments.

Was this review helpful?

Rich

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Lockings Solicitors.

Rich

January 25, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Straightforward, no-nonsense value for money

We used Lockings as a referral from our Estate Agents but had used many years before. Things have 'moved on' since we last sold a house and probably since COVID lockdown periods with the majority of, if not all, transactions performed, very efficiently, on an on-line portal or via e-mail/Phone. Rarely had to chase, responses were quick and the price was fixed and very competitive having looked at alternatives. Very happy with service and would use again

Was this review helpful?

Georgi

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Lockings Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Georgi

January 23, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Solicitors you could trust!

There was no hidden costs! They gave me their quote from the beginning, I paid it,and they did the job!

Was this review helpful?

Alison

Alison

January 19, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Oustanding Service

We've just completed on a sale/purchase using Lockings and we couldn't be happier with the service we received. They have surpassed all our expectations! The whole of the JC Team were fantastic but special mention to Lori who was amazing. Emails were really promptly responded to and I was always able to contact Lori by phone too. I was regularly updated with things as they progressed and they were always on hand to answer any questions. The JC Team were really patient & understanding when our first sale fell through. When we found another buyer they sprung into action straight away. We will certainly use Lockings for all future legal matters and we cannot recommend them highly enough! Thank you Lori & team!

Was this review helpful?

Lyn

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Lockings Solicitors.

Lyn

January 18, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent communication throughout

Although most of the process of selling my house was carried out by email, everything was very professional and easy to understand. Was kept informed at every stage. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Rebecca

Rebecca

May 16, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Rebecca

Extremely efficient and knowledgable

Was this review helpful?

Yvonne

Yvonne

May 15, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Yvonne

I have used this company twice for a sale and then a separate purchase and I was most impressed with their communication and I could always phone and speak to someone. William Baggaley was very professional, knowledgeable and I never felt rushed when I had questions.

Was this review helpful?

Ian

Ian

May 11, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Ian

We have used Lockings a number of times when selling and have always had excellent service. Our last sale was protracted with the initial buyer withdrawing very late in the day, by the time the subsequent sale went through the process took c12 months with no extra costs versus the initial quote charged. Thanks a lot.

Was this review helpful?

Gary

Gary

May 04, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Gary

I have used Lockings several times for conveyancing and have always found them very helpful, efficient and professional. One of the best solicitors you could choose

Was this review helpful?

Liam

Liam

May 01, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Liam

Joanna, Lucy and most of all Elise Klein was brilliant, helping me with my house buying journey. I didn’t even have to chase up for updates as I got weekly emails/calls with what was happening. I will be definitely using lockings again in the future.

Was this review helpful?

Lockings Solicitors are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Lockings Solicitors is a law firm with offices in Hull, Beverley and York. Our lawyers have served the local community and beyond since 1949. Our award winning team maintain the highest standards by following 6 rules: 1. We’re here to help with legal advice and support. 2. We will carry out your wishes. 3. We will always keep you in the loop. 4. We will avoid complicated legal phrases and help you understand the legal process. 5. We will keep our legal fees fair and transparent. 6. We will give a Free Initial Chat Service from 8am to 8pm, 7 days a week. Just dial 01482 300200. We specialise in Compromise Agreements for Employees, Child Care Proceedings, Conveyancing, Disputes, Powers of Attorney, Probate and Wills.

Practice areas

We specialise in Compromise Agreements for Employees, Child Care Proceedings, Conveyancing, Disputes, Powers of Attorney, Probate and Wills.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Child Abduction
    • Child Access
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Domestic Violence
    • Elderly care
    • Elderly care home fees
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Social Services
  • Housing & Property
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Personal Injury
    • Against The Council
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Professional Negligence
    • Barristers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional trustees
    • Valuers
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Commercial Law
    • Credit Control
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Tax
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
Book an appointment