Solicitor at Wollens

Christopher Linton

Solicitor - Partner

SRA ID: 433576

I became a partner in October 2015 and I am part of the Private Client department. I was honoured to be part of the team that won The Law Society’s Excellence Award in Private Client Practice in 2017. I specialise in dealing with obtaining probate and carry out the administration of complex estates and the arising tax issues including those with business, agricultural or foreign elements. I deal with obtaining re-seals of foreign probates in the UK and assist in obtaining foreign probates for dealing with assets overseas. I also advise on the drafting of Wills, particularly for those clients who have complex wishes and instructions. I am a Full member of the Society of Trust and Estate Practitioners. I am a trustee for the Torbay Medical Research Fund which funds research into local medical projects. I am a governor at Torquay Boys’ Grammar School and am currently the Hon. Sec. of the Torquay Old Grammarians Society.

At Harbourside, 67 The Terrace, Torquay, South Devon, TQ1 1DP

Licensed for 11 years

Practice Areas

Agriculture, Company & Commercial, Money & Tax, Wills, Trusts & Probate

4.8/5 10 Client Reviews 10
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate 100%
10 Client Reviews

4.8/5

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    8
  • Very Good
    2
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    0
Anonymous
Click to rate
Glynis
Verified Glynis Added 1 month ago Report to admin
Wollens
Collected whilst working at Wollens
March 26, 2021 20210326165241

Probate

5

Very professional service, always kept me informed.

Solicitor named in this review: Christopher Linton

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 29 March, 2021

Thank you for your feedback - we are pleased that Chris has been able to assist you. kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Frank
Verified Frank Added 2 months ago Report to admin
Wollens
Collected whilst working at Wollens
February 09, 2021 20210209171016

With a little help from my new friends.

5

Battling bereavement isn't very easy and finding new friends to soften this journey is a blessing. Thank you Wollens and Chris Linton in particular, for smoothing the way. Your skill in untangling what had been tangled unnecessarily was appreciated. Crystal clear legal advice without a single 'as I see it' or 'in my opinion' - thankfully. I am more than happy to recommend Wollens.

Solicitor named in this review: Christopher Linton

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 09 February, 2021

Thank you for your comments Frank, we are so pleased that Chris was able to help you at this difficult time. Kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Trevor
Verified Trevor Added 7 months ago Report to admin
Wollens
Collected whilst working at Wollens
October 01, 2020 20201001142007

Overall Impression

4

I had to mark you down on initial impression due to your failure to notify me, as an existing client of Lee Barber Goodrich, that the practice had changed hands. However, we are all guilty of oversights and having made my feelings known, I believe focus should be on how initial disappointments are repaired and I have certainly been satisfied with the service you have subsequently provided. I was particularly pleased to have a Partner as a dedicated point of contact, for Christopher's prompt responses and for his willingness to ensure other parties were kept fully informed of progress.

Solicitor named in this review: Christopher Linton

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 30 October, 2020

Thank you for your comments - we appreciate your feedback. kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Verified Anonymous Added 8 months ago Report to admin
Wollens
Collected whilst working at Wollens
August 18, 2020 20200818084800

I would use this firm again

4

I would use this firm again because of their friendly and professional approach to my matter.

Solicitor named in this review: Christopher Linton

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 11 September, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Barbara
Verified Barbara Added 9 months ago Report to admin
Wollens
Collected whilst working at Wollens
July 30, 2020 20200730144314

Solicitors who care

5

I have used Wollens for different things in the last few years and always been pleased with their advice and professionalism.

Solicitor named in this review: Christopher Linton

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 30 July, 2020

Thank you for your review Barbara - we are pleased to help. kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Barbara
Verified Barbara Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Wollens
Collected whilst working at Wollens
September 27, 2019 20190927151353

Thank you Wollens - a solicitor with a heart.

5

I cant thank Wollens enough for their kindness after my husband died. They couldn't take away the pain but they were able to take away the stress and uncertainty.

Solicitor named in this review: Christopher Linton

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 21 October, 2019

Thank you for your review Barbara take care kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ruth Lessar
Verified Ruth Lessar Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Wollens
Collected whilst working at Wollens
September 06, 2019 20190906080752

Will

5

Good service balanced with good secretarial support.

Solicitor named in this review: Christopher Linton

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 11 September, 2019

Thank you for your comments Ruth regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ruth Lessar
Verified Ruth Lessar Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Wollens
Collected whilst working at Wollens
August 05, 2019 20190805104609

New Will

5

Good service back with good secretarial support.

Solicitor named in this review: Christopher Linton

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 14 August, 2019

Thank you for your review. we hope to work with you again in the future Kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Verified Anonymous Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Wollens
Collected whilst working at Wollens
July 12, 2019 20190712081313

Estate of my late husband

5

Christopher Linton showed great compassion and understanding following the death of my darling husband, he helped me through the process of probate in a helpful and sympathetic way. I felt that he was always available should I need any clarification or guidance. My late husbands estate was dealt with quickly and efficiently. I would highly recommend Wollens,

Solicitor named in this review: Christopher Linton

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 12 July, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

C J Harvey
Verified C J Harvey Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Wollens
Collected whilst working at Wollens
July 03, 2019 20190703114141

Lasting Power of Attorney

5

Chris was really helpful in dealing with this for me.

Solicitor named in this review: Christopher Linton

Was this review helpful? Yes

About Christopher Linton

I became a partner in October 2015 and I am part of the Private Client department. I was honoured to be part of the team that won The Law Society’s Excellence Award in Private Client Practice in 2017. I specialise in dealing with obtaining probate and carry out the administration of complex estates and the arising tax issues including those with business, agricultural or foreign elements. I deal with obtaining re-seals of foreign probates in the UK and assist in obtaining foreign probates for dealing with assets overseas. I also advise on the drafting of Wills, particularly for those clients who have complex wishes and instructions. I am a Full member of the Society of Trust and Estate Practitioners. I am a trustee for the Torbay Medical Research Fund which funds research into local medical projects. I am a governor at Torquay Boys’ Grammar School and am currently the Hon. Sec. of the Torquay Old Grammarians Society.

Languages Spoken: English

Contact Christopher Linton

Address

Wollens

At Harbourside

67 The Terrace

Torquay

South Devon



Phone 01803 213251

Website

Resume

LICENSE

Country

Status

Acquired

Updated

United Kingdom

Currently Registered

04/01/10

04/03/21

We found no instances of professional misconduct for this solicitor

WORK EXPERIENCE

Title

Name

Duration

SRA-approved manager - Member

Wollen Michelmore

?-present