Wollens

01271 342268

Also known as - Wollens

WE THINK IN FULL COLOUR, BUT KEEP THINGS BLACK & WHITE We’re the A-Z, the ABC and 1, 2, 3 of legal advice. From our origins in the 19th century advising Devon landowners, farmers and sea traders, we’ve grown into one of the largest solicitors in the South West, with exceptional specialists across private client matters as well as company and commercial law. North, South, East or West. Wherever you are, we’ve got you covered. We’re unusual for a South West law firm, because we’re based right across Devon, which means you’re never far from one of our five locations in Barnstaple, Dartmouth, Exeter, Newton Abbot and Torquay.

4.6/5 306 Customer Reviews 306 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Wollens compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Wollens on ReviewSolicitors

306 Customer Reviews

4.6/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    254
  • Very Good
    24
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    1
  • Awful
    23

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Lyn
Verified Lyn Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
March 13, 2020 20200313103125

Friendly, efficient and professional.

5

Very impressed with Nickie - Katie's secretary, who was well up to date with progress and kept us informed.

Solicitor named in this review: Katie-Rosanna Mansell

Was this review helpful? Yes

Peter
Verified Peter Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
March 13, 2020 20200313101526

Will preparation and finalisation

5

Both my wife and I were very impressed in all aspects of the will preparation. Karen Miller and her staff were approachable, friendly and knowledgeable.
We bought our property also through Wollens. Would always us again in the future.

Solicitor named in this review: Karen Miller

Was this review helpful? Yes

Adrian Rodgers
Verified Adrian Rodgers Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
March 13, 2020 20200313100720

Excellent Support for new wills

4

Thanks to Alex for all her first class and professional advice on updating our wills.

Solicitor named in this review: Alexandra Jenkins

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sam
Verified Sam Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
March 10, 2020 20200310162203

Shared ownership - house sale

5

Katie was amazing during our house sale. we were worried that it would be a long process, being shared ownership. However Katie put us at ease and made the whole process easy to understand. She was extremely helpful and able to answer any questions we had.
We would definitely recommend her to family and friends who are thinking of buying or selling.

Solicitor named in this review: Katie-Rosanna Mansell

Was this review helpful? Yes

John
Verified John Added 1 month ago Report to admin
March 02, 2020 20200302160912

Sale of our property

5

We were very impressed with everyone at Wollens and would thoroughly recommend them in the future. Our paralegal and her secretary were very professional, approachable, efficient, always given us great advice and anything that we didnt understand was thoroughly explained to us. Nothing was too much trouble which made the whole process much easier. Absolutely brilliant - can't praise them enough.

Solicitor named in this review: Katherine Drummond

Was this review helpful? Yes

Rachel
Verified Rachel Added 1 month ago Report to admin
March 02, 2020 20200302155624

Fast, friendly & reliable

5

Whilst Wollens were not our first choice (our usual solicitor was acting on behalf of the seller), we are really happy that we chose them for our sale & purchase.
We received regular contact via email & post to keep us up to date with the entire process & despite one small additional cost (which wasn't anything to do with Wollens directly), the prices remained the same, if not less than the original quote we received. We would definitely recommend them in the future.

Solicitor named in this review: Judith Manser

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jill
Verified Jill Added 1 month ago Report to admin
March 02, 2020 20200302154347

Will Update

5

I would definitely use Wollens again. Alex was very friendly, explained everything clearly so it was very easy to understand and made the whole process as straightforward as she could.

Solicitor named in this review: Alexandra Jenkins

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sam
Verified Sam Added 1 month ago Report to admin
March 02, 2020 20200302153955

House Purchase

5

katie was amazing whilst dealing with our house purchase. she always kept us informed of what was going on, in a simple way, so we could always understand the process. She was extremely professional and we would definitely recommend her to friends and family. We are over the moon with our new home!

Solicitor named in this review: Katie-Rosanna Mansell

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Verified Anonymous Added 1 month ago Report to admin
February 20, 2020 20200220165454

Excellent service

5

Mr Dunkley has performed with such integrity and gives and oustanding level of service. I will highly recommend him to all my friends and family. During a very harrowing time he reassured me that it would be alright and he has a very trustworthy and friendly approach.

Solicitor named in this review: Jon Dunkley

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 25 February, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Verified Anonymous Added 1 month ago Report to admin
February 20, 2020 20200220162648

Sale of property

4

The sale as quite a long sale but this was not the fault of the solicitor acting on our behalf.

Solicitor named in this review: Judith Manser

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 25 February, 2020

Thanks for your feedback, we hope to be able to help you again in the future Kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Glenn
Glenn Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
March 13, 2020
Collected on
20200313170026

Glenn

5

If you need a public commissioner of oaths, then look no further, very painless service accept in the pocket

Was this review helpful? Yes

william
william Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
March 12, 2020
Collected on
20200312085102

william

5

Very satisfied with John Mousicos's performance

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sarah
Sarah Added 4 weeks ago Report to admin
March 06, 2020
Collected on
20200306182423

Sarah

5

Couldn’t recommend Deborah Baker enough, I had a very long drawn out divorce but Deborah was so fantastic through every step and always there with advice should I need it.
The receptionist ladies were very friendly too and the firm itself is excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Shaun
Shaun Added 1 month ago Report to admin
February 23, 2020
Collected on
20200223195118

Shaun

5

An excellent service from beginning to end. I received advice and guidance from an experienced solicitor who prepared mirror wills in a timely and efficient manner all with a caring and understanding approach. I would fully recommend Karen Miller for all private client matters.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 25 February, 2020

Thank you Shaun for your review - we are pleased that we have been able to help you Kind regards Wollens

Michael
Michael Added 1 month ago Report to admin
February 10, 2020
Collected on
20200210092128

Michael

5

We have dealt with this firm regularly over the last few years and found them to be very professional and efficient.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 10 February, 2020

Thank you for your comments Michael, Kind regards Wollens

About This Branch

Description

Neither too big, nor too small – we’re perfectly formed. With nearly 200 bright people, we think we’re a genuine alternative to much larger firms and with significantly more to offer than smaller, high street solicitors. Yet we never lose sight of what’s most important: to provide the best possible guidance in a no-nonsense, approachable and accessible way. Because no two clients are the same, we don’t paint by numbers. What is the secret formula for being a great lawyer? To actually listen to your client and take the time we need to get to the nub of the matter. It’s why getting to really know you is at the heart of our service philosophy. Because if we don’t try to understand you, how can we possibly give you the best, tailored advice? A diverse family united by a common goal. We’re from all walks of life, but we’re kindred spirits when it comes to our aim of being the complete opposite of a stereotypical lawyer. We always try to give you less waffle, more clarity and no grey areas in between. What’s more we’ll treat you as an equal – our relationship should be open and honest, built on trust and dialogue. Playing our part in our colourful community. When we’re not advising about law, we’re often helping or supporting local charities, good causes or community projects and events. By getting widely involved with the colourful melting pot that is our community and, hopefully, enriching the lives of others, the reward is that we’ll be enriched too. Helping our clients, gaining recognition from our peers. Doing the best for our clients will always be our driving force, but we’re also pretty proud of our haul of industry awards over the years – such as winning the top prize for Excellence in Private Client Practice at the Law Society’s Excellence Awards and Law Firm of the Year at the Devon and Somerset Law Society Legal Awards.


Legal Services
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Fixed Fee Divorce
  • Family law
  • Amputation
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Dental Negligence
  • Employment Law
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Disputed Trusts
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Child Access
  • Wills
  • Repetitive Strain Injury
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Serious Injury
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Pedestrian Accident
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Insurance brokers
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Marriage and civil partnerships
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Family Leave
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Fatal Asbestos
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Surveyors
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Pay Issue
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Car Accident
  • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Accidents In Public Places
  • Barristers
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Professional Discipline
  • Cycling Accident
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Social Services
  • Buying at auction
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Child Abduction
  • Transfer of title
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Asbestos Lung Cancer
  • Defective Work Equipment
  • Financial advisors
  • Redundancy
  • Head Injury At Work
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Extending your Lease
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Asbestos Compensation
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Elderly care home fees
  • Separation
  • Annulment
  • Domestic Abuse
  • MRSA Claims
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Slips, Trips and Falls
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
  • Domestic Violence
  • Trusts
  • Repossessions
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Dog Bite
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Probate
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • International Divorce
  • Flexible Working
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • IT professionals
  • Accountants
  • Tax consultants
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Property Disputes
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • No Win No Fee
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Pension and property advice
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Sports Injury
  • High Net Worth Divorce
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
  • Pleural Thickening
  • Tax
  • Separation Agreement
  • Fall From Height
  • Skiing Injury
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Car Passenger
  • Remortgaging
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Fatal Accident
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Stress at Work
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Pension Law
  • Gardening Leave
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Notary
  • Professional Negligence
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Family Mediation
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Lease Extensions
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Valuers
  • Head and Brain Injury
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Accident At Work
  • International
  • Leasehold properties
  • Broken Bone Or Fracture
  • Horse Riding Injury
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Civil partnerships
  • Terrorism Abroad
  • Divorce Mediation
  • Transfers of equity
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Manual Handling
  • Asbestosis
  • Child Law
  • Motor Insurance Policy
  • Whiplash
  • Collaborative Law
  • Injunctions
  • Holiday Accidents and Illness
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Right to Manage
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Back Injury At Work
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Housing Management
  • Occupational Asthma
  • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
  • Financial Matters
  • Osteoarthritis
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Second charges
  • Child Custody
  • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Part Time Workers
  • Children
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Senior Executives
  • Lasting power of attorney
  • Industrial Disease Compensation
  • Spinal Injury Compensation
  • Legal aid
  • Accident Abroad
  • TUPE
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Bus and Coach Accident
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Vibration White Finger
  • Professional Negligence law
  • Children's Serious Injury
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • Disputed Probate
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Road Traffic Accident
  • Pleural Plaques (Scotland)
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Supermarket Accident
  • Injunctions
  • Planning
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Divorce
  • Tinnitus
  • Elderly care
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Housing disputes
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Military
  • Media and Sports
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Child Maintenance
  • Housing Associations
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Chronic Pain
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Disputed Wills
  • Architects
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Motorbike Accident
  • Engineers
  • Child contact
  • Medical Negligence
  • Trusts
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Employment Contracts
  • Against The Council
  • Professional trustees
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Children's Accident
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Mesothelioma Compensation
  • Engineering contracts
  • Facility maintenance agreements
  • Farming disputes
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Veterinary negligence
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Buying and selling a farm
  • Building contracts and professional appointments
  • Commercial Leases
  • Environmental policy law
  • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
  • Guarantees and bonds
  • Development loan facilities
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Construction
  • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
  • Rights of way issues
  • Charities
  • Mediation
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Purchase of development land
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Framework agreements
  • Finance
  • Development agreements
  • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
  • Employment of farm workers
  • In-house training
  • Equestrian property
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
  • Developer disputes
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Development plot sales
  • Planning law
  • Agricultural land for sale or development
  • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000