Wollens

01271 342268

WE THINK IN FULL COLOUR, BUT KEEP THINGS BLACK & WHITE We’re the A-Z, the ABC and 1, 2, 3 of legal advice. From our origins in the 19th century advising Devon landowners, farmers and sea traders, we’ve grown into one of the largest solicitors in the South West, with exceptional specialists across private client matters as well as company and commercial law. North, South, East or West. Wherever you are, we’ve got you covered. We’re unusual for a South West law firm, because we’re based right across Devon, which means you’re never far from one of our five locations in Barnstaple, Dartmouth, Exeter, Newton Abbot and Torquay.

4.4/5 228 Customer Reviews 228
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Wollens compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Wollens on ReviewSolicitors

228 Customer Reviews

4.4/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    182
  • Very Good
    17
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    1
  • Awful
    24

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Alan Pye
Alan Pye Added 1 week ago Report to admin
November 06, 2019 20191106161808

Compensation

5

I was advised by my employer to seek legal representation regarding compensation for termination of employment. I contacted Wollens and received quick response, guidance and advice. Wollens provided an excellent service and even billed employer directly.

Solicitor named in this review: Jon Dunkley

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mrs Jacqueline Martin
Mrs Jacqueline Martin Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
October 25, 2019 20191025091134

Excellent service and care from Alex Jenkins

5

Alex has dealt with the drawing up of our wills and although it seemed complicated to us, she was so efficient, understanding and had great empathy.
Alex is so approachable and extremely thorough.

Solicitor named in this review: Alexandra Jenkins

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 29 October, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mrs A Metherell
Mrs A Metherell Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
October 21, 2019 20191021104629

Personal Service

5

Its the first time that I have brought and sold a house as my husband used to deal with those sort of things and since he has died I have been trying to do things by myself. But I was so nervous when I started this process but they were so kind and understanding, explaining everything so that I could understand and I could ring them at any time and talk about any queries. I would recommend them highly especially if you are by yourself.

Solicitor named in this review: Judith Manser

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 21 October, 2019

Dear Mrs Metherell - thank you for your review - we were very pleased that we could help you with this matter kind regards Michelle Pugh Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Geri Chapple
Geri Chapple Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
October 21, 2019 20191021102912

Will writing & property sales

5

Wollens is a first class firm to deal with. Extremely helpful and efficient. Every person I have dealt with in the company is first class including reception. Wouldn't go anywhere else.

Solicitor named in this review: Alexandra Jenkins

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 21 October, 2019

Thank you for your review Geri, we hope to help you again in the future kind regards Michelle Pugh Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Bernie Spencer
Bernie Spencer Added 4 weeks ago Report to admin
October 17, 2019 20191017114057

Confusing

5

This is very difficult as three firms of solicitors were involved with the sale of the properties which interrupted the flow and became very confusing to follow. But a very grateful thank you to Darren Heard and team for bringing it to a closure.

Solicitor named in this review: David Eastman

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 21 October, 2019

Dear Bernie thank you for your review - we were pleased to help you and work through the confusion that there might have been kind regards Michelle Pugh Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 1 month ago Report to admin
September 30, 2019 20190930144736

Great Service

5

We have had some great advice, help and guidance from them. They have also provide a great service with providing us with some excellent paperwork. They all helped and made it so easy for us. Much appreciated.

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 21 October, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Joyce Hall
Joyce Hall Added 1 month ago Report to admin
September 20, 2019 20190920160905

Sale of property

4

Quick and efficient - thank you

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 27 September, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Nic Bingley
Nic Bingley Added 1 month ago Report to admin
September 18, 2019 20190918095654

Sensible, no fuss approach to conveyancing.

4

Judith handled our sale efficiently and professionally.

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 27 September, 2019

Thank you Nic for your comments

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wendy Shuttleworth
Wendy Shuttleworth Added 2 months ago Report to admin
September 04, 2019 20190904113639

Satisfied customer

5

The solicitor appointed was pleasant, personable and responsive to queries by telephone, emailor visit. Solicitors never come cheaply but do bring convenience and the necessary skills and knowledge.. The charge was at the minimum of the range quoted.
I was sufficiently happy to ask this particular solicitor to draw up my own will.
There was a massive delay, no fault of the solicitor and the ombudsman was involved.. This does not appear to have affected costs. No complaints.

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 11 September, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wendy Joyner
Wendy Joyner Added 2 months ago Report to admin
September 04, 2019 20190904112351

Excellent Service

5

Deborah Baker handled my case with great expertise and sensitivity. She fully realised that a number of issues needed attention which she handled in a superb manner. Iwould not hesitate to recommend her and Wollens.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Samantha
Samantha Added 2 months ago Report to admin
September 07, 2019
Collected on
20190907075325

Samantha

5

Wollens were easy to contact and very good at keeping in touch with me. The staff were polite, conscientious and would readily explain anything I asked.
A trustworthy, reliable company to use for organising official business. Eddie Marsh.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 11 September, 2019

Thank you for your review Samantha - we would be pleased to help you again in the future regards Wollens

Mat
Mat Added 5 months ago Report to admin
May 28, 2019
Collected on
20190528101253

Mat

1

The worst solicitor I've ever used use anybody else seriously

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 06 June, 2019

Hello Mat - thank you for your review we’re really sorry to read your comment and it would be good to understand more about your experience, maybe we can see if we can resolve things for you ? If you want to contact me further about this please do so on michelle.pugh@wollens.co.uk Kind regards Michelle Pugh Wollens

kelly
kelly Added 1 year ago Report to admin
September 13, 2018
Collected on
20180913111209

kelly Giddyuptallyho@aol.com

5

Fantastic guys would highly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 14 September, 2018

Hello Kelly, Thank you very much for your kind review. Thanks, Rebecca Barnes Wollen Michelmore Solicitors

Julie
Julie Added 2 years ago Report to admin
October 11, 2017
Collected on
20171011205625

Julie MacManus

5

Great local solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 22 August, 2018

Hello Julie, Thank you very much for sending your kind review. We are happy to hear that you have had a good experience with us. If there is anything else we can help you with, do not hesitate to contact us. Kind Regards, Rebecca Barnes, Marketing Executive - Wollen Michelmore

Eddie
Eddie Added 2 years ago Report to admin
March 15, 2017
Collected on
20170315093539

Eddie Bent

5

I've been delighted with the level of service provided by Wollen Michelmore. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

Neither too big, nor too small – we’re perfectly formed. With nearly 200 bright people, we think we’re a genuine alternative to much larger firms and with significantly more to offer than smaller, high street solicitors. Yet we never lose sight of what’s most important: to provide the best possible guidance in a no-nonsense, approachable and accessible way. Because no two clients are the same, we don’t paint by numbers. What is the secret formula for being a great lawyer? To actually listen to your client and take the time we need to get to the nub of the matter. It’s why getting to really know you is at the heart of our service philosophy. Because if we don’t try to understand you, how can we possibly give you the best, tailored advice? A diverse family united by a common goal. We’re from all walks of life, but we’re kindred spirits when it comes to our aim of being the complete opposite of a stereotypical lawyer. We always try to give you less waffle, more clarity and no grey areas in between. What’s more we’ll treat you as an equal – our relationship should be open and honest, built on trust and dialogue. Playing our part in our colourful community. When we’re not advising about law, we’re often helping or supporting local charities, good causes or community projects and events. By getting widely involved with the colourful melting pot that is our community and, hopefully, enriching the lives of others, the reward is that we’ll be enriched too. Helping our clients, gaining recognition from our peers. Doing the best for our clients will always be our driving force, but we’re also pretty proud of our haul of industry awards over the years – such as winning the top prize for Excellence in Private Client Practice at the Law Society’s Excellence Awards and Law Firm of the Year at the Devon and Somerset Law Society Legal Awards.


Legal Services
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Family Leave
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Fall From Height
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • International Divorce
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Professional Negligence
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Child Maintenance
  • Terrorism Abroad
  • Dog Bite
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Employment Contracts
  • Against The Council
  • Children
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Extending your Lease
  • Holiday Accidents and Illness
  • Whiplash
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Marriage and civil partnerships
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • High Net Worth Divorce
  • Barristers
  • Social Services
  • Annulment
  • Industrial Disease Compensation
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • MRSA Claims
  • Car Accident
  • Civil partnerships
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Motor Insurance Policy
  • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
  • TUPE
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Buying at auction
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Disputed Wills
  • Professional Discipline
  • Flexible Working
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Fatal Accident
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Family Mediation
  • Fixed Fee Divorce
  • Lease Extensions
  • Collaborative Law
  • IT professionals
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Separation Agreement
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Pleural Thickening
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Divorce
  • Media and Sports
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Osteoarthritis
  • Separation
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Surveyors
  • Second charges
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Mesothelioma Compensation
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Disputed Trusts
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Elderly care home fees
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Probate
  • Planning
  • Accidents In Public Places
  • Insurance brokers
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Fatal Asbestos
  • Professional trustees
  • Dental Negligence
  • Head and Brain Injury
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Valuers
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Legal aid
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Family law
  • Supermarket Accident
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Child Abduction
  • Child Custody
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Trusts
  • Transfer of title
  • Repetitive Strain Injury
  • Senior Executives
  • Back Injury At Work
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Housing Management
  • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Lasting power of attorney
  • Amputation
  • Housing disputes
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Injunctions
  • Motorbike Accident
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • Chronic Pain
  • Property Disputes
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Gardening Leave
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Defective Work Equipment
  • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
  • Bus and Coach Accident
  • Pension Law
  • Financial Matters
  • Accident Abroad
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Professional Negligence law
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Spinal Injury Compensation
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Children's Accident
  • No Win No Fee
  • Divorce Mediation
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Boundary Disputes
  • International
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Accident At Work
  • Tax consultants
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Repossessions
  • Domestic Violence
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Occupational Asthma
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Leasehold properties
  • Children's Serious Injury
  • Redundancy
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Manual Handling
  • Broken Bone Or Fracture
  • Car Passenger
  • Pension and property advice
  • Pay Issue
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Skiing Injury
  • Notary
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Trusts
  • Vibration White Finger
  • Wills
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Disputed Probate
  • Right to Manage
  • Pedestrian Accident
  • Stress at Work
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • Serious Injury
  • Child contact
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Child Law
  • Sports Injury
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Asbestos Lung Cancer
  • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
  • Elderly care
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Tax
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Horse Riding Injury
  • Architects
  • Asbestos Compensation
  • Slips, Trips and Falls
  • Accountants
  • Head Injury At Work
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Tinnitus
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Medical Negligence
  • Employment Law
  • Asbestosis
  • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
  • Child Access
  • Engineers
  • Part Time Workers
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Road Traffic Accident
  • Remortgaging
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
  • Injunctions
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Cycling Accident
  • Housing Associations
  • Financial advisors
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Pleural Plaques (Scotland)
  • Military
  • Transfers of equity
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Framework agreements
  • Charities
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Guarantees and bonds
  • Planning law
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Environmental policy law
  • Finance
  • Equestrian property
  • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Building contracts and professional appointments
  • Development loan facilities
  • In-house training
  • Farming disputes
  • Rights of way issues
  • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
  • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
  • Agricultural land for sale or development
  • Veterinary negligence
  • Employment of farm workers
  • Developer disputes
  • Construction
  • Engineering contracts
  • Development agreements
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Purchase of development land
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Commercial Leases
  • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
  • Development plot sales
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
  • Facility maintenance agreements
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Mediation
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Buying and selling a farm

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000