Wollens

01392 274006

WE THINK IN FULL COLOUR, BUT KEEP THINGS BLACK & WHITE We’re the A-Z, the ABC and 1, 2, 3 of legal advice. From our origins in the 19th century advising Devon landowners, farmers and sea traders, we’ve grown into one of the largest solicitors in the South West, with exceptional specialists across private client matters as well as company and commercial law. North, South, East or West. Wherever you are, we’ve got you covered. We’re unusual for a South West law firm, because we’re based right across Devon, which means you’re never far from one of our five locations in Barnstaple, Dartmouth, Exeter, Newton Abbot and Torquay.

4.3/5 109 Customer Reviews 109
Recommended by
109 Verified Clients
like Aimee and Emma
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Wollens compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Wollens on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

109 Customer Reviews

4.3/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    84
  • Very Good
    7
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    1
  • Awful
    14

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Aimee
Aimee Added 1 month ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
May 03, 2019 20190503172237

Compassionate people to your situation.

5

We used the services of the company, specifically Charlotte, for the past 14 months after two deaths in the family. She was sympathetic and compassionate to our needs, explains what you don’t understand, and removes the legal jargon making it easier for vulnerable people to understand. You forget you're at a solicitors firm and it’s more like speaking to person who understands, who is able to progress your situation for you, in a caring, comfortable environment.
Thank you again!

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 14 May, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

emma
emma Added 1 month ago Report to admin
April 24, 2019 20190424180754

Outstanding service

5

Thank you to the team for all their help. Highly recommended

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 14 May, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Christopher
Christopher Added 2 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
March 27, 2019 20190327115755

Excellent

5

Great communication. Very fast, efficient and knowledgeable of our requirements in obtaining signed Power of Attorney for our Spanish lawyers. Would not hesitate to reccomend as we would be happy to use Emma and Wollen Michelmore LLP for future requirements if needed.

Chris and Clare Acton

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 14 May, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Katie
Katie Added 2 months ago Report to admin
March 21, 2019 20190321094210

Amazing service from Emma Mitchum

5

Amazing service from Emma Mitcham very helpful & freinedly and Extremely efficient. Emma went above and beyond for me and I can’t recommed her enough.

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 21 March, 2019

Thanks for your review Katie, we really appreciate it. I'll pass it on to Emma, she will be delighted. Let us know if we can help you in the future. Kind regards Clive Meredith Practice Director

Was this review helpful? Yes

David Rodd
David Rodd Added 1 day ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
June 17, 2019 20190617102825

Sale of one house, purchase of another

5

Very thorough and timely professional service. Would not hesitate to recommend your firm and especially Mr David Brooking who did a splendid job on my behalf.

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 17 June, 2019

Thank you David for your review - so pleased you are happy with our service Kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gillian Edes
Gillian Edes Added 1 day ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
June 17, 2019 20190617102332

Handling of review of my will and preparation of new will

5

I have used Wollens as my solicitors for many years and have never had cause to doubt the advice I have received, both recently in redoing my will, and in the past when I and my husband had our own business in Torquay. It is a relief to know that i can call on Wollens at any time I need a solicitor. I know i will get great service both now , and after i am no longer here as you are my executors!

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 17 June, 2019

Thank you Gillian Kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Nicholas Woodall
Nicholas Woodall Added 4 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
June 14, 2019 20190614090719

Advice re purchase of freehold & purchase of flat

5

Very thorough & professional advice provided explaining a very complicated subject. Efficient service regarding the flat purchase. Always quick to answer any questions.

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 17 June, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Brian Montgomery
Brian Montgomery Added 4 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
June 14, 2019 20190614085640

Satisfied client

5

Will service using Steve Bell - very satisfied

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 17 June, 2019

Thank you Brian for your review Kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Susan Brophy
Susan Brophy Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
June 10, 2019 20190610123401

Wills Instruction

5

We found Miss Faye Newcombe very helpful and professional in all that we required. We were at ease with her and she explained everything in a way so we fully understood.
Faye Newcombe is an excellent trainee.

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 17 June, 2019

Thank you Susan for your review Kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Christine Knowles
Christine Knowles Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
June 07, 2019 20190607153019

Making a will

5

Everything was done with the minimum amount of fuss. Great service.

Solicitor being reviewed: Marinella Albina Hollies

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 10 June, 2019

Thank you for your review - we hope to work with you in the future Kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Caz
Caz Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
May 31, 2019
Collected on
20190531142313

Caz

1

I did not have a good experience with my lawyer here, and I chose to switch firms part-way through my case. I was assigned Mark Shell as my lawyer, and I personally found him to be patronising and distracted. I had to chase him for updates on two occasions (which he charged me for responding to), and these delays appeared to annoy his counterpart on the 'other side' (which I don't know, may have been a tactic, but I found the delays very stressful). Mark admitted that a partner had left during the timeframe of my case, which meant that he became very busy. However I would personally have preferred him to refer me elsewhere. The firm I switched to was a similar price, but the experience was so much better and I felt my new lawyer had a much better understanding of my case, things moved quicker, and he was more responsive. I would not recommend Mark Shell based on my experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 06 June, 2019

Hello Caz - thank you for your review we’re really sorry to hear you don’t feel like you’ve had the service that we pride ourselves on as a firm. If you’d like to tell me more I can have this looked into for you to see if we can resolve it? If you want to contact me further about this please do so on michelle.pugh@wollens.co.uk

Nick
Nick Added 2 years ago Report to admin
March 20, 2017
Collected on
20170320192252

Nick Hewling

5

Great view from my solicitor's office!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 30 August, 2018

Hello Nick, Thank you very much for your kind review. We are very lucky to be situated in such a beautiful location. If there is anything we can help you with, please feel free to get in touch. Kind Regards, Rebecca Barnes Wollen Michelmore Solicitors

Robert
Robert Added 2 years ago Report to admin
March 19, 2017
Collected on
20170319160356

Robert Scott-Edwards

5

Friendly and efficient service from Megan King on the conveyancing for our house purchase. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Laura
Laura Added 3 years ago Report to admin
August 18, 2015
Collected on
20150818094558

Laura Clifford

5

A perfect solution to my enquiry. Really friendly, fast helpful advice. I don't often write reviews on services, but the team at Morgan and Pope deserve a big thank you for being there when I needed them most.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 04 March, 2019

Thank you for your review Laura. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Andy
Andy Added 5 years ago Report to admin
July 04, 2013
Collected on
20130704125016

Andy Lake

5

Excellent, prompt service in managing our commercial property move. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

Neither too big, nor too small – we’re perfectly formed. With nearly 200 bright people, we think we’re a genuine alternative to much larger firms and with significantly more to offer than smaller, high street solicitors. Yet we never lose sight of what’s most important: to provide the best possible guidance in a no-nonsense, approachable and accessible way. Because no two clients are the same, we don’t paint by numbers. What is the secret formula for being a great lawyer? To actually listen to your client and take the time we need to get to the nub of the matter. It’s why getting to really know you is at the heart of our service philosophy. Because if we don’t try to understand you, how can we possibly give you the best, tailored advice? A diverse family united by a common goal. We’re from all walks of life, but we’re kindred spirits when it comes to our aim of being the complete opposite of a stereotypical lawyer. We always try to give you less waffle, more clarity and no grey areas in between. What’s more we’ll treat you as an equal – our relationship should be open and honest, built on trust and dialogue. Playing our part in our colourful community. When we’re not advising about law, we’re often helping or supporting local charities, good causes or community projects and events. By getting widely involved with the colourful melting pot that is our community and, hopefully, enriching the lives of others, the reward is that we’ll be enriched too. Helping our clients, gaining recognition from our peers. Doing the best for our clients will always be our driving force, but we’re also pretty proud of our haul of industry awards over the years – such as winning the top prize for Excellence in Private Client Practice at the Law Society’s Excellence Awards and Law Firm of the Year at the Devon and Somerset Law Society Legal Awards.


Legal Services
  • Gardening Leave
  • Mesothelioma Compensation
  • Employment Contracts
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Planning
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Tax consultants
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Children's Accident
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Children's Serious Injury
  • Chronic Pain
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Osteoarthritis
  • Defective Work Equipment
  • No Win No Fee
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Car Accident
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Manual Handling
  • Against The Council
  • Child contact
  • Slips, Trips and Falls
  • Repetitive Strain Injury
  • Lasting power of attorney
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • New home purchases and sales
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Leasehold properties
  • Bus and Coach Accident
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Elderly care home fees
  • Housing disputes
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Whiplash
  • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
  • International Divorce
  • Remortgaging
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Fatal Accident
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Injunctions
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Fall From Height
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Lease Extensions
  • Sports Injury
  • Supermarket Accident
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Head Injury At Work
  • Divorce Mediation
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Professional Negligence law
  • Dental Negligence
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Holiday Accidents and Illness
  • Pleural Plaques (Scotland)
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Property Disputes
  • Tinnitus
  • Domestic Violence
  • Pedestrian Accident
  • Terrorism Abroad
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Annulment
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Housing Management
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Surveyors
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • TUPE
  • Pleural Thickening
  • Accountants
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Buying at auction
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Extending your Lease
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Child Access
  • Broken Bone Or Fracture
  • Social Services
  • Insurance brokers
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Vibration White Finger
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Housing Associations
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
  • Car Passenger
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Engineers
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Professional Discipline
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Child Maintenance
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Separation Agreement
  • Cycling Accident
  • Motorbike Accident
  • High Net Worth Divorce
  • Collaborative Law
  • Matrimonial finance
  • MRSA Claims
  • Right to Manage
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Professional Negligence
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Disputed Wills
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Redundancy
  • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Senior Executives
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Serious Injury
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Elderly care
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Probate
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • IT professionals
  • Wills
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Fixed Fee Divorce
  • Architects
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Second charges
  • Child Custody
  • Asbestosis
  • Trusts
  • Stress at Work
  • Legal aid
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Civil partnerships
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
  • Dog Bite
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Part Time Workers
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Child Abduction
  • Pay Issue
  • Accidents In Public Places
  • Accident Abroad
  • International
  • Media and Sports
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Motor Insurance Policy
  • Flexible Working
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Injunctions
  • Pension and property advice
  • Repossessions
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Employment Law
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Asbestos Lung Cancer
  • Valuers
  • Trusts
  • Road Traffic Accident
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Industrial Disease Compensation
  • Skiing Injury
  • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Financial Matters
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Professional trustees
  • Children
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Asbestos Compensation
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Transfer of title
  • Tax
  • Child Law
  • Financial advisors
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Notary
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Family Mediation
  • Barristers
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Medical Negligence
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Amputation
  • Marriage and civil partnerships
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Separation
  • Disputed Probate
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Back Injury At Work
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
  • Fatal Asbestos
  • Military
  • Divorce
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Family Leave
  • Disputed Trusts
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Spinal Injury Compensation
  • Occupational Asthma
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Accident At Work
  • Transfers of equity
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Pension Law
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Family law
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Head and Brain Injury
  • Horse Riding Injury
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Veterinary negligence
  • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
  • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
  • In-house training
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Development loan facilities
  • Farming disputes
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Agricultural land for sale or development
  • Facility maintenance agreements
  • Finance
  • Mediation
  • Equestrian property
  • Purchase of development land
  • Charities
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Rights of way issues
  • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
  • Employment of farm workers
  • Construction
  • Engineering contracts
  • Framework agreements
  • Developer disputes
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Development agreements
  • Commercial Leases
  • Environmental policy law
  • Buying and selling a farm
  • Planning law
  • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Development plot sales
  • Building contracts and professional appointments
  • Guarantees and bonds
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000