Wollens

01392 274006

WE THINK IN FULL COLOUR, BUT KEEP THINGS BLACK & WHITE We’re the A-Z, the ABC and 1, 2, 3 of legal advice. From our origins in the 19th century advising Devon landowners, farmers and sea traders, we’ve grown into one of the largest solicitors in the South West, with exceptional specialists across private client matters as well as company and commercial law. North, South, East or West. Wherever you are, we’ve got you covered. We’re unusual for a South West law firm, because we’re based right across Devon, which means you’re never far from one of our five locations in Barnstaple, Dartmouth, Exeter, Newton Abbot and Torquay.

4.5/5 271 Customer Reviews 271
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Wollens compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Wollens on ReviewSolicitors

271 Customer Reviews

4.5/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    220
  • Very Good
    21
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    1
  • Awful
    25

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Annabel McCabe
Verified Annabel McCabe Added 1 month ago Report to admin
January 10, 2020 20200110113912

Excellent Conveyancing service

5

From the start Jodie was a delight to deal with. She is personable and knowledgeable and more importantly communicated to me when she said she would. Our exchange proved problematic and she didn't stop working on our behalf to gain the swiftest outcome possible. Would highly recommend.

Solicitor named in this review: Jodie Everard

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 10 January, 2020

Thank you for your review Annabel - we are pleased to have been able to help you kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

J & R Coe
Verified J & R Coe Added 1 month ago Report to admin
January 10, 2020 20200110113141

Excellent

5

Excellent service

Solicitor named in this review: Daisy Otton

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 10 January, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mrs G Beaumont
Verified Mrs G Beaumont Added 1 month ago Report to admin
December 31, 2019 20191231120402

Highly professional service

5

Our recent service from Wollens was extremely attentive with attention to detail.
We felt confident in the knowledge of our solicitor at Wollens.

Solicitor named in this review: Richard Phillips

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 10 January, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gavin Preston
Verified Gavin Preston Added 1 month ago Report to admin
December 31, 2019 20191231115852

Easy and simple

5

Kept it nice and easy and simple. Would use again and would recommend to others also great work guys and the team at Wollens. Especially to Jodie Everard. :)

Solicitor named in this review: Jodie Everard

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 10 January, 2020

Thank you for your review Gavin - pleased to have been able to help you kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Helen Patrick
Verified Helen Patrick Added 2 months ago Report to admin
December 12, 2019 20191212124842

Property sale

5

Our sale of property was handled with efficiency and professionalism from start to finish, despite problems with slow responses from our purchaser our solicitor was quick to get answers to questions and kept us aware at all stages. We would highly recommend Wollens to any acquaintances.

Solicitor named in this review: Jodie Everard

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 12 December, 2019

We are pleased that your property sale was handled well and hope to hear from you in the future kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jonathon
Jonathon Added 2 months ago Report to admin
December 05, 2019 20191205132634

Well judged and pragmatic commercial advice

5

The whole experience was good. Understood the brief quickly and discussed the options available to me. This meant I could take quick and realistic decisions in a very pragmatic way.

Solicitor named in this review: Daniel Gresswell

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 12 December, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Joyce Jupp
Verified Joyce Jupp Added 2 months ago Report to admin
November 27, 2019 20191127094510

Solicitors who are friendly and approachable

5

I cant speak highly enough of Charlotte at Wollens. She solved a difficult problem for me and I shall always be grateful. The atmosphere in the office is very relaxing and their coffee is the best in Exeter.

Solicitor named in this review: Charlotte McGregor

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 12 December, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Helen Bland
Verified Helen Bland Added 3 months ago Report to admin
November 08, 2019 20191108121946

Communication and efficiency

5

From start to finish Jodie has kept us informed throughout the process, totally reliable - will be busy using Wollens in the future.

Solicitor named in this review: Jodie Everard

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 12 December, 2019

We are pleased to hear that Jodie was able to help you and look forward to hearing from you in the future kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Andrew Crewdson
Verified Andrew Crewdson Added 3 months ago Report to admin
November 07, 2019 20191107100945

House Purchase

5

Being a first time buyer I was new to the process. Daisy and Megan guided me through the process and were always quick and courteous to respond to my many questions.

Solicitor named in this review: Daisy Otton

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 12 December, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Susan Inskip
Verified Susan Inskip Added 3 months ago Report to admin
October 31, 2019 20191031124041

Professional and approachable.

5

From initial contact through to completion we were kept fully informed and given excellent guidance.

Solicitor named in this review: Daisy Otton

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 31 October, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

james
james Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
January 29, 2020
Collected on
20200129112803

james

5

Very nice cathedral

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jo
Jo Added 1 month ago Report to admin
January 16, 2020
Collected on
20200116214348

A client

5

Having used Daisy twice for property now I would highly recommend and never use anyone else, I was made to feel like the only client and I was the priority, never waiting for responses on emails more than a few hours, thanks for making purchasing our forever home so stress free

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 17 January, 2020

Thank you for your review - we are pleased to have been able to help Kind regards Wollens

Charlie
Charlie Added 3 months ago Report to admin
November 05, 2019
Collected on
20191105160450

Charlie

5

Went through the process of buying our first house with Wollens as our solicitor. Grade II listed house. Our solicitor Jodie was very approachable and friendly. Very quick to get back via phone or email with our questions.

Good clear explanations in writing (and over the phone where necessary) of all searches/enquiries and returned very quickly after becoming available.

Great value for money with no added fees.

Recommended to us by a senior property advising consultant from JLL (Jones Lang Lasalle).

All round friendly, reliable and timely service at a competitive price.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 12 December, 2019

Thank you for your review Charlie we are pleased to have been able to help you Kind regards Wollens

Martyn
Martyn Added 6 months ago Report to admin
August 21, 2019
Collected on
20190821202439

Martyn

4

Please accept my gratitude for your support and the support the family-law team over the past few years. It has been a long road. I have very much appreciated the sage and calming advice you have all provided throughout the course of a contentious probate case. You are all a credit to your organisation and profession generally.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 30 August, 2019

Thank you Martyn for your review - we hope to be able to help you again in the future Kind regards Wollens

Robin
Robin Added 7 months ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin
July 14, 2019
Collected on
20190714205951

Robin

1

It's a shame they didn't appear appear to put as much effort into protecting our interests, as they have since for trying to refute our claim for alleged professional negligence. They didn't even get my name correct on some paperwork. Diabolical, cavalier, self-preserving attitude. I would definitely NOT recommend them.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 14 August, 2019

We are very sorry to hear your response and would be happy to discuss this further with you should you wish. kind regards Wollens

About This Branch

Description

Neither too big, nor too small – we’re perfectly formed. With nearly 200 bright people, we think we’re a genuine alternative to much larger firms and with significantly more to offer than smaller, high street solicitors. Yet we never lose sight of what’s most important: to provide the best possible guidance in a no-nonsense, approachable and accessible way. Because no two clients are the same, we don’t paint by numbers. What is the secret formula for being a great lawyer? To actually listen to your client and take the time we need to get to the nub of the matter. It’s why getting to really know you is at the heart of our service philosophy. Because if we don’t try to understand you, how can we possibly give you the best, tailored advice? A diverse family united by a common goal. We’re from all walks of life, but we’re kindred spirits when it comes to our aim of being the complete opposite of a stereotypical lawyer. We always try to give you less waffle, more clarity and no grey areas in between. What’s more we’ll treat you as an equal – our relationship should be open and honest, built on trust and dialogue. Playing our part in our colourful community. When we’re not advising about law, we’re often helping or supporting local charities, good causes or community projects and events. By getting widely involved with the colourful melting pot that is our community and, hopefully, enriching the lives of others, the reward is that we’ll be enriched too. Helping our clients, gaining recognition from our peers. Doing the best for our clients will always be our driving force, but we’re also pretty proud of our haul of industry awards over the years – such as winning the top prize for Excellence in Private Client Practice at the Law Society’s Excellence Awards and Law Firm of the Year at the Devon and Somerset Law Society Legal Awards.


Legal Services
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Osteoarthritis
  • Engineers
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Collaborative Law
  • Employment Contracts
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Barristers
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Spinal Injury Compensation
  • Defective Work Equipment
  • Housing disputes
  • Planning
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Tax
  • Extending your Lease
  • Media and Sports
  • Part Time Workers
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Holiday Accidents and Illness
  • Horse Riding Injury
  • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
  • Elderly care home fees
  • Fatal Accident
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Lease Extensions
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Surveyors
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • TUPE
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Professional Negligence law
  • Car Accident
  • Legal aid
  • High Net Worth Divorce
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Elderly care
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Redundancy
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Transfer of title
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Child Access
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Injunctions
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Military
  • Fatal Asbestos
  • Marriage and civil partnerships
  • Dog Bite
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Social Services
  • Pleural Thickening
  • Trusts
  • Serious Injury
  • Family law
  • Divorce Mediation
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Pedestrian Accident
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Financial advisors
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Employment Law
  • Probate
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Senior Executives
  • Wills
  • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
  • Remortgaging
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Professional Discipline
  • Accountants
  • Notary
  • Accident At Work
  • Insurance brokers
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Child Abduction
  • Head Injury At Work
  • Occupational Asthma
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Asbestos Compensation
  • Chronic Pain
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Disputed Wills
  • Flexible Working
  • Annulment
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Asbestosis
  • Sports Injury
  • Broken Bone Or Fracture
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Children's Accident
  • Transfers of equity
  • Children
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Asbestos Lung Cancer
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Gardening Leave
  • Industrial Disease Compensation
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Injunctions
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • International
  • Professional Negligence
  • Valuers
  • Children's Serious Injury
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Supermarket Accident
  • Mesothelioma Compensation
  • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Bus and Coach Accident
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Second charges
  • Pleural Plaques (Scotland)
  • Motor Insurance Policy
  • Fixed Fee Divorce
  • Separation Agreement
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Back Injury At Work
  • Disputed Trusts
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • Road Traffic Accident
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Child Maintenance
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
  • IT professionals
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Slips, Trips and Falls
  • Manual Handling
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Cycling Accident
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Head and Brain Injury
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Fall From Height
  • Stress at Work
  • Civil partnerships
  • No Win No Fee
  • Family Mediation
  • Motorbike Accident
  • Skiing Injury
  • Tinnitus
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Divorce
  • Architects
  • Leasehold properties
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Vibration White Finger
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Car Passenger
  • Lasting power of attorney
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Whiplash
  • Family Leave
  • Accidents In Public Places
  • Professional trustees
  • MRSA Claims
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Pension Law
  • Child Law
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Domestic Violence
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Housing Management
  • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Trusts
  • Repossessions
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • International Divorce
  • Tax consultants
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Dental Negligence
  • Right to Manage
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Amputation
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Pay Issue
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Medical Negligence
  • Housing Associations
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Child contact
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Property Disputes
  • Disputed Probate
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Financial Matters
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Buying at auction
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Accident Abroad
  • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Repetitive Strain Injury
  • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Separation
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Terrorism Abroad
  • Pension and property advice
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Against The Council
  • Child Custody
  • Facility maintenance agreements
  • Employment of farm workers
  • Development loan facilities
  • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
  • Construction
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
  • Guarantees and bonds
  • Equestrian property
  • Planning law
  • Building contracts and professional appointments
  • Mediation
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Rights of way issues
  • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
  • Development plot sales
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Commercial Leases
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
  • Farming disputes
  • Buying and selling a farm
  • Charities
  • Developer disputes
  • Agricultural land for sale or development
  • Engineering contracts
  • Environmental policy law
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Development agreements
  • Finance
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Veterinary negligence
  • In-house training
  • Purchase of development land
  • Framework agreements

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000