Wollens

01392 274006

Also known as - Wollens

WE THINK IN FULL COLOUR, BUT KEEP THINGS BLACK & WHITE We’re the A-Z, the ABC and 1, 2, 3 of legal advice. From our origins in the 19th century advising Devon landowners, farmers and sea traders, we’ve grown into one of the largest solicitors in the South West, with exceptional specialists across private client matters as well as company and commercial law. North, South, East or West. Wherever you are, we’ve got you covered. We’re unusual for a South West law firm, because we’re based right across Devon, which means you’re never far from one of our five locations in Barnstaple, Dartmouth, Exeter, Newton Abbot and Torquay.

4.6/5 400 Client Reviews 400 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Wollens compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Wollens on ReviewSolicitors

400 Client Reviews

4.6/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    332
  • Very Good
    39
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    2
  • Awful
    23

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Robin
Verified Robin Added 3 days ago Report to admin
September 15, 2020 20200915162840

Our experience

5

Matter Type: Lasting power of attorney

We found the online forms easy to follow, then after completion the telephone contact with the secretary was very informative. She arranged our telephone appointment with the solicitor and that was very informative, she then arranged a visit to our home so that we could compile our power of attorney as well, very helpful.

Solicitor named in this review: Charlotte McGregor

Was this review helpful? Yes

Edward
Verified Edward Added 4 days ago Report to admin
September 14, 2020 20200914142216

Family Solicitors

5

Matter Type: Wills

Wollens (Hooper and Wollen previously) have always been our family solicitors for many years now and I am pleased that their services are top rate and we were pleased to use them again. Should we need any further legal services we shall use Wollens again.

Solicitor named in this review: Charlotte McGregor

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jemma
Jemma Added 1 month ago Report to admin
August 14, 2020 20200814195119

Excellent

5

Daisy and Megan were absolutely wonderful and I would highly recommend them to anyone. We has a few ups and downs during our sale and purchase due to circumstances beyond our control and Daisy and Megan guided us through it all with calmness, clear communication and confidence. I would recommend them to anyone.

Solicitor named in this review: Daisy Otton

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 18 August, 2020

Thank you Jemma for your comments - we are pleased to have been able to help & would be happy to assist you again in the future. Kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Matthew
Matthew Added 2 months ago Report to admin
June 26, 2020 20200626151407

Excellent service from Daisy at Wollens

5

Daisy came recommended to us by a friend who recently used woollens for a house purchase. From the initial phone call to Daisy right up to the completion, we were kept informed through excellent communication via email and telephone. Daisy kept us up to speed all the way through the transaction, and was pro active in chasing up things/people when little snags came up. Competitively priced and a personal recommendation is what lead us to Daisy at Wollens and I would 100% recommend her, an excellent and professional service,

Solicitor named in this review: Daisy Otton

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 31 July, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Matthew
Matthew Added 2 months ago Report to admin
June 26, 2020 20200626151231

Excellent service from Daisy at Wollens

5

Daisy came recommended to us by a friend who recently used woollens for a house purchase. From the initial phone call to Daisy right up to the completion, we were kept informed through excellent communication via email and telephone. Daisy kept us up to speed all the way through the transaction, and was pro active in chasing up things/people when little snags came up. Competitively priced and a personal recommendation is what lead us to Daisy at Wollens and I would 100% recommend her, an excellent and professional service,

Solicitor named in this review: Daisy Otton

Was this review helpful? Yes

Matthew
Matthew Added 3 months ago Report to admin
June 18, 2020 20200618225328

Fantastic service

5

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

Daisy's service is a credit to her firm and her industry. Daisy did not disappoint during my recent property purchase. I was kept informed throughout the transaction via very efficient email communication – in fact, I don't think it was necessary for me to speak to Daisy at all by telephone or in-person as the purchase and communication was executed so efficiently. Daisy took the pain out of the most difficult aspects of the purchase and she was able to advise confidently on the more intricate aspects of the transaction. She was pro-active too; I was particularly pleased on several occasions when I wrote to enquire about complexities or odd aspects of the purchase which I had noted, only to be advised these matters were already in hand.

Wollens offered a fixed price quote which was competitive. Unlike many of their rivals, you will have contact with a single named individual from start to finish who understands and handles all aspects of your case. I would eschew any cheap conveyancing deals offered by other parties to your transaction as the perceived "savings" are not worth the trade-offs. I recommend and rate Wollens highly.

Solicitor named in this review: Daisy Otton

Was this review helpful? Yes

Edward
Verified Edward Added 4 months ago Report to admin
April 27, 2020 20200427144957

Amendment to 2 wills

5

Matter Type: Wills

We found the service was professional, our changes were dealt with efficiently and in a friendly manner.
We were very satisfied with your service.

Solicitor named in this review: Charlotte McGregor

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 29 April, 2020

Thank you for your comments Edward, we are pleased to hellp. kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Marcus
Verified Marcus Added 6 months ago Report to admin
March 10, 2020 20200310162918

Professional, helpful and dealt with everything!

5

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

Daisy and Megan were fantastic throughout our sale and purchase which became increasingly challenging. they dealt with everything efficiently and in a clam / reassuring manner which really kept our stress levels down. Would highly recommend them - thank you !

Solicitor named in this review: Daisy Otton

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 29 April, 2020

Thank you for your comments Marcus - pleased to help kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Andy
Andy Added 6 months ago Report to admin
March 10, 2020 20200310123049

First Class

5

I used Wollens as my legal team when recently purchasing a business. Both Dan and Beth were brilliant at dealing with my many queries and questions, and it genuinely felt like they were on my team throughout. Couldn't recommend them enough and will definately use them again.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jo
Verified Jo Added 6 months ago Report to admin
March 02, 2020 20200302154844

Excellent Solicitor

5

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

Used Wollens for sale and purchase of my property. They were efficient, contactable and took the stress of moving away.

Solicitor named in this review: Daisy Otton

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Colin
Colin Added 5 months ago Report to admin
April 18, 2020
Collected on
20200418082258

Colin

5

Charlotte McGregor of Wollens Exeter, made all the difference in dealing with our problem. I would have no hesitation in recommending her services in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Chris
Chris Added 5 months ago Report to admin
April 14, 2020
Collected on
20200414072611

Chris

5

Thank you for an efficient,effective and friendly service. Your positive attitude
Towards this matter gave us confidence and we are pleased about the outcome.
We feel some justice has been achieved in this matter and are delighted it has been
Concluded. Chris Robillard

Was this review helpful? Yes

james
james Added 7 months ago Report to admin
January 29, 2020
Collected on
20200129112803

james

5

Very nice cathedral

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jo
Jo Added 8 months ago Report to admin
January 16, 2020
Collected on
20200116214348

A client

5

Having used Daisy twice for property now I would highly recommend and never use anyone else, I was made to feel like the only client and I was the priority, never waiting for responses on emails more than a few hours, thanks for making purchasing our forever home so stress free

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 17 January, 2020

Thank you for your review - we are pleased to have been able to help Kind regards Wollens

Charlie
Charlie Added 10 months ago Report to admin
November 05, 2019
Collected on
20191105160450

Charlie

5

Went through the process of buying our first house with Wollens as our solicitor. Grade II listed house. Our solicitor Jodie was very approachable and friendly. Very quick to get back via phone or email with our questions.

Good clear explanations in writing (and over the phone where necessary) of all searches/enquiries and returned very quickly after becoming available.

Great value for money with no added fees.

Recommended to us by a senior property advising consultant from JLL (Jones Lang Lasalle).

All round friendly, reliable and timely service at a competitive price.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 12 December, 2019

Thank you for your review Charlie we are pleased to have been able to help you Kind regards Wollens

About This Branch

Description

Neither too big, nor too small – we’re perfectly formed. With nearly 200 bright people, we think we’re a genuine alternative to much larger firms and with significantly more to offer than smaller, high street solicitors. Yet we never lose sight of what’s most important: to provide the best possible guidance in a no-nonsense, approachable and accessible way. Because no two clients are the same, we don’t paint by numbers. What is the secret formula for being a great lawyer? To actually listen to your client and take the time we need to get to the nub of the matter. It’s why getting to really know you is at the heart of our service philosophy. Because if we don’t try to understand you, how can we possibly give you the best, tailored advice? A diverse family united by a common goal. We’re from all walks of life, but we’re kindred spirits when it comes to our aim of being the complete opposite of a stereotypical lawyer. We always try to give you less waffle, more clarity and no grey areas in between. What’s more we’ll treat you as an equal – our relationship should be open and honest, built on trust and dialogue. Playing our part in our colourful community. When we’re not advising about law, we’re often helping or supporting local charities, good causes or community projects and events. By getting widely involved with the colourful melting pot that is our community and, hopefully, enriching the lives of others, the reward is that we’ll be enriched too. Helping our clients, gaining recognition from our peers. Doing the best for our clients will always be our driving force, but we’re also pretty proud of our haul of industry awards over the years – such as winning the top prize for Excellence in Private Client Practice at the Law Society’s Excellence Awards and Law Firm of the Year at the Devon and Somerset Law Society Legal Awards.


Legal Services

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000