Wollens

01392 274006

WE THINK IN FULL COLOUR, BUT KEEP THINGS BLACK & WHITE We’re the A-Z, the ABC and 1, 2, 3 of legal advice. From our origins in the 19th century advising Devon landowners, farmers and sea traders, we’ve grown into one of the largest solicitors in the South West, with exceptional specialists across private client matters as well as company and commercial law. North, South, East or West. Wherever you are, we’ve got you covered. We’re unusual for a South West law firm, because we’re based right across Devon, which means you’re never far from one of our five locations in Barnstaple, Dartmouth, Exeter, Newton Abbot and Torquay.

4.5/5 236 Customer Reviews 236
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Wollens compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Wollens on ReviewSolicitors

236 Customer Reviews

4.5/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    188
  • Very Good
    19
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    1
  • Awful
    24

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Jonathon
Jonathon Added 5 days ago Report to admin
December 05, 2019 20191205132634

Well judged and pragmatic commercial advice

5

The whole experience was good. Understood the brief quickly and discussed the options available to me. This meant I could take quick and realistic decisions in a very pragmatic way.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Joyce Jupp
Verified Joyce Jupp Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
November 27, 2019 20191127094510

Solicitors who are friendly and approachable

5

I cant speak highly enough of Charlotte at Wollens. She solved a difficult problem for me and I shall always be grateful. The atmosphere in the office is very relaxing and their coffee is the best in Exeter.

Solicitor named in this review: Charlotte McGregor

Was this review helpful? Yes

Helen Bland
Verified Helen Bland Added 1 month ago Report to admin
November 08, 2019 20191108121946

Communication and efficiency

5

From start to finish Jodie has kept us informed throughout the process, totally reliable - will be busy using Wollens in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Andrew Crewdson
Verified Andrew Crewdson Added 1 month ago Report to admin
November 07, 2019 20191107100945

House Purchase

5

Being a first time buyer I was new to the process. Daisy and Megan guided me through the process and were always quick and courteous to respond to my many questions.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Susan Inskip
Verified Susan Inskip Added 1 month ago Report to admin
October 31, 2019 20191031124041

Professional and approachable.

5

From initial contact through to completion we were kept fully informed and given excellent guidance.

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 31 October, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Eva Revell
Verified Eva Revell Added 1 month ago Report to admin
October 25, 2019 20191025090612

Making a will

5

Charlotte was very friendly and professional.

Solicitor named in this review: Charlotte McGregor

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 29 October, 2019

Dear Eva Many thanks for your review - we hope to be able to help you again in the future kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Charles Kopec
Verified Charles Kopec Added 1 month ago Report to admin
October 21, 2019 20191021103934

Great quality, great price

4

Since the start we felt very comfortable that the matters were taken care of. The solicitor was very transparent with us and helped to make all legalities clear to us.
Good clear information delivered in a timely fashion.

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 21 October, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Richard Hein
Verified Richard Hein Added 2 months ago Report to admin
October 10, 2019 20191010155651

Great service from start to finish

5

We used Wollens for a house purchase and sale. Communication was excellent from the start. Our solicitor was easy to get hold of and quick to respond to questions. An excellent service all round.

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 21 October, 2019

Dear Richard - many thanks for your positive comments - we hope to be able to help you in the future kind regards Michelle Pugh Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Carly Parsons
Verified Carly Parsons Added 4 months ago Report to admin
August 13, 2019 20190813091219

Complicated Will made easy.

5

Our complicated Will was made simple with Charlotte. Very knowledgeable and speedy service, would definitely recommend.

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 14 August, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Christine
Christine Added 5 months ago Report to admin
July 11, 2019 20190711133304

Conveyancing

5

Having moved multiple times in recent years, the most recent becoming a nightmare due to unnecessary obstructions, so it was a relief and a pleasure to find someone who was as good as her word in picking up our purchase and moving this through to completion. Simply said, but the manner delivered was transparent - actual and effective communication throughout, accessibility with follow without protraction or avoidance. This was someone that was onside and working in harmony with the client to deliver the objective quickly and effectively. The Paralegal in question was Daisy Otton - someone that should be seen as a local benchmark for others to attain.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Charlie
Charlie Added 1 month ago Report to admin
November 05, 2019
Collected on
20191105160450

Charlie

5

Went through the process of buying our first house with Wollens as our solicitor. Grade II listed house. Our solicitor Jodie was very approachable and friendly. Very quick to get back via phone or email with our questions.

Good clear explanations in writing (and over the phone where necessary) of all searches/enquiries and returned very quickly after becoming available.

Great value for money with no added fees.

Recommended to us by a senior property advising consultant from JLL (Jones Lang Lasalle).

All round friendly, reliable and timely service at a competitive price.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Martyn
Martyn Added 3 months ago Report to admin
August 21, 2019
Collected on
20190821202439

Martyn

4

Please accept my gratitude for your support and the support the family-law team over the past few years. It has been a long road. I have very much appreciated the sage and calming advice you have all provided throughout the course of a contentious probate case. You are all a credit to your organisation and profession generally.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 30 August, 2019

Thank you Martyn for your review - we hope to be able to help you again in the future Kind regards Wollens

Robin
Robin Added 4 months ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin
July 14, 2019
Collected on
20190714205951

Robin

1

It's a shame they didn't appear appear to put as much effort into protecting our interests, as they have since for trying to refute our claim for alleged professional negligence. They didn't even get my name correct on some paperwork. Diabolical, cavalier, self-preserving attitude. I would definitely NOT recommend them.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 14 August, 2019

We are very sorry to hear your response and would be happy to discuss this further with you should you wish. kind regards Wollens

Chris
Chris Added 5 months ago Report to admin
July 11, 2019
Collected on
20190711121925

Chris

5

Having moved multiple times in recent years, suffering the frustrations of Estate Agents and Conveyancing Solicitors, it was a pleasant surprise to find one that was not only as good to her word, but operated completely transparently - communication was full and meaningful without the need to chase, fully accessible and for once we felt as if there was someone working for you rather than against. The company was Wollens in Exeter and the Paralegal in question was Daisy Otton - highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 11 July, 2019

Thanks for your review Chris - so pleased to hear your views on Daisy. We look forward to working with you again. Kind regards Michelle Pugh Wollens

Mike
Mike Added 5 months ago Report to admin
July 04, 2019
Collected on
20190704115232

Mike

5

I cannot speak highly enough of the Team at Wollens. We dealt specifically with Mark Iddles and Jodie Everard, both whom are so friendly, polite, professional and approachable - all of which made the whole drawn out process of house sale and purchase a lot easier to deal with. They had some awkward moments in the process to deal with on our behalf and managed the whole thing brilliantly. Add to that the very competitive price as well for such transactions. If you are looking for honest and reliable then please be assured that this company will do what they say and when they say.
Mark & Jodie - THANK YOU.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 12 July, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

About This Branch

Description

Neither too big, nor too small – we’re perfectly formed. With nearly 200 bright people, we think we’re a genuine alternative to much larger firms and with significantly more to offer than smaller, high street solicitors. Yet we never lose sight of what’s most important: to provide the best possible guidance in a no-nonsense, approachable and accessible way. Because no two clients are the same, we don’t paint by numbers. What is the secret formula for being a great lawyer? To actually listen to your client and take the time we need to get to the nub of the matter. It’s why getting to really know you is at the heart of our service philosophy. Because if we don’t try to understand you, how can we possibly give you the best, tailored advice? A diverse family united by a common goal. We’re from all walks of life, but we’re kindred spirits when it comes to our aim of being the complete opposite of a stereotypical lawyer. We always try to give you less waffle, more clarity and no grey areas in between. What’s more we’ll treat you as an equal – our relationship should be open and honest, built on trust and dialogue. Playing our part in our colourful community. When we’re not advising about law, we’re often helping or supporting local charities, good causes or community projects and events. By getting widely involved with the colourful melting pot that is our community and, hopefully, enriching the lives of others, the reward is that we’ll be enriched too. Helping our clients, gaining recognition from our peers. Doing the best for our clients will always be our driving force, but we’re also pretty proud of our haul of industry awards over the years – such as winning the top prize for Excellence in Private Client Practice at the Law Society’s Excellence Awards and Law Firm of the Year at the Devon and Somerset Law Society Legal Awards.


Legal Services
  • Property Disputes
  • Horse Riding Injury
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Dog Bite
  • Tax
  • Head Injury At Work
  • Accountants
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Family Mediation
  • Terrorism Abroad
  • Separation Agreement
  • Buying at auction
  • Pension and property advice
  • Probate
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Child Access
  • Accident At Work
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Media and Sports
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Sports Injury
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Accidents In Public Places
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Right to Manage
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • International
  • Planning
  • Back Injury At Work
  • Accident Abroad
  • Extending your Lease
  • Asbestos Lung Cancer
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Disputed Trusts
  • Social Services
  • Slips, Trips and Falls
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Annulment
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Housing disputes
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Professional Negligence law
  • Medical Negligence
  • High Net Worth Divorce
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Diabetes Claims
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Asbestos Compensation
  • Fatal Accident
  • Dental Negligence
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • International Divorce
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Occupational Asthma
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Pedestrian Accident
  • TUPE
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Children's Accident
  • Trusts
  • Marriage and civil partnerships
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Car Passenger
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Child Custody
  • Part Time Workers
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Financial advisors
  • Fixed Fee Divorce
  • Asbestosis
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • No Win No Fee
  • Cycling Accident
  • Lease Extensions
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Divorce Mediation
  • Against The Council
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Disputed Probate
  • Redundancy
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • MRSA Claims
  • Professional Negligence
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Child contact
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Flexible Working
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Whiplash
  • Collaborative Law
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Housing Management
  • Transfer of title
  • Domestic Violence
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Amputation
  • Engineers
  • Road Traffic Accident
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Elderly care home fees
  • Separation
  • Transfers of equity
  • Chronic Pain
  • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Family Leave
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Stress at Work
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Financial Matters
  • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Manual Handling
  • Trusts
  • Lasting power of attorney
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Employment Law
  • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Spinal Injury Compensation
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Broken Bone Or Fracture
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Tribunal Claims
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Children
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Holiday Accidents and Illness
  • Car Accident
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Tax consultants
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Bus and Coach Accident
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Pay Issue
  • Child Abduction
  • Legal aid
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Notary
  • Family law
  • Industrial Disease Compensation
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Barristers
  • Head and Brain Injury
  • Civil partnerships
  • Architects
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Osteoarthritis
  • Fall From Height
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • Second charges
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Senior Executives
  • Pleural Thickening
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Valuers
  • Wills
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Surveyors
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Motor Insurance Policy
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Skiing Injury
  • IT professionals
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Child Maintenance
  • Repetitive Strain Injury
  • Gardening Leave
  • Insurance brokers
  • Fatal Asbestos
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Children's Serious Injury
  • Disputed Wills
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Motorbike Accident
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Defective Work Equipment
  • Divorce
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Military
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Serious Injury
  • Elderly care
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Vibration White Finger
  • Injunctions
  • Supermarket Accident
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Injunctions
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Tinnitus
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Remortgaging
  • Professional trustees
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Child Law
  • Mesothelioma Compensation
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Housing Associations
  • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Pleural Plaques (Scotland)
  • Pension Law
  • Leasehold properties
  • Professional Discipline
  • Employment Contracts
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
  • Repossessions
  • Finance
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Facility maintenance agreements
  • Guarantees and bonds
  • Mediation
  • Veterinary negligence
  • Employment of farm workers
  • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
  • Charities
  • Building contracts and professional appointments
  • In-house training
  • Commercial Leases
  • Development plot sales
  • Purchase of development land
  • Development loan facilities
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
  • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
  • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
  • Engineering contracts
  • Buying and selling a farm
  • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Rights of way issues
  • Agricultural land for sale or development
  • Equestrian property
  • Construction
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Development agreements
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Developer disputes
  • Planning law
  • Farming disputes
  • Framework agreements
  • Environmental policy law

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000