Wollens

01392 274006

WE THINK IN FULL COLOUR, BUT KEEP THINGS BLACK & WHITE We’re the A-Z, the ABC and 1, 2, 3 of legal advice. From our origins in the 19th century advising Devon landowners, farmers and sea traders, we’ve grown into one of the largest solicitors in the South West, with exceptional specialists across private client matters as well as company and commercial law. North, South, East or West. Wherever you are, we’ve got you covered. We’re unusual for a South West law firm, because we’re based right across Devon, which means you’re never far from one of our five locations in Barnstaple, Dartmouth, Exeter, Newton Abbot and Torquay.

4.4/5 175 Customer Reviews 175
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Wollens compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Wollens on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

175 Customer Reviews

4.4/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    138
  • Very Good
    12
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    1
  • Awful
    21

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Carly Parsons
Carly Parsons Added 1 week ago Report to admin
August 13, 2019 20190813091219

Complicated Will made easy.

5

Our complicated Will was made simple with Charlotte. Very knowledgeable and speedy service, would definitely recommend.

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 14 August, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Christine
Christine Added 1 month ago Report to admin
July 11, 2019 20190711133304

Conveyancing

5

Having moved multiple times in recent years, the most recent becoming a nightmare due to unnecessary obstructions, so it was a relief and a pleasure to find someone who was as good as her word in picking up our purchase and moving this through to completion. Simply said, but the manner delivered was transparent - actual and effective communication throughout, accessibility with follow without protraction or avoidance. This was someone that was onside and working in harmony with the client to deliver the objective quickly and effectively. The Paralegal in question was Daisy Otton - someone that should be seen as a local benchmark for others to attain.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Aimee
Aimee Added 3 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
May 03, 2019 20190503172237

Compassionate people to your situation.

5

We used the services of the company, specifically Charlotte, for the past 14 months after two deaths in the family. She was sympathetic and compassionate to our needs, explains what you don’t understand, and removes the legal jargon making it easier for vulnerable people to understand. You forget you're at a solicitors firm and it’s more like speaking to person who understands, who is able to progress your situation for you, in a caring, comfortable environment.
Thank you again!

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 14 May, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

emma
emma Added 3 months ago Report to admin
April 24, 2019 20190424180754

Outstanding service

5

Thank you to the team for all their help. Highly recommended

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 14 May, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Christopher
Christopher Added 4 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
March 27, 2019 20190327115755

Excellent

5

Great communication. Very fast, efficient and knowledgeable of our requirements in obtaining signed Power of Attorney for our Spanish lawyers. Would not hesitate to reccomend as we would be happy to use Emma and Wollen Michelmore LLP for future requirements if needed.

Chris and Clare Acton

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 14 May, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Katie
Katie Added 5 months ago Report to admin
March 21, 2019 20190321094210

Amazing service from Emma Mitchum

5

Amazing service from Emma Mitcham very helpful & freinedly and Extremely efficient. Emma went above and beyond for me and I can’t recommed her enough.

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 21 March, 2019

Thanks for your review Katie, we really appreciate it. I'll pass it on to Emma, she will be delighted. Let us know if we can help you in the future. Kind regards Clive Meredith Practice Director

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ann
Ann Added 1 day ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
August 21, 2019 20190821120516

Updating a Will

5

Service was good, advice given where needed. very professional.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Susan Thacker
Susan Thacker Added 1 day ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
August 21, 2019 20190821120229

Very Straight forward & painless

5

Competitive price. Good communication. Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes

Matt Wills
Matt Wills Added 1 day ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
August 21, 2019 20190821115904

Wollens for all your legal needs.

5

I have used numerous departments at Wollens for personal and business needs. they are always professional & knowledgeable but still maintain a level of personal care.

Was this review helpful? Yes

L m Bell-Copel
L m Bell-Copel Added 6 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
August 16, 2019 20190816115131

Complete Satisfaction

5

I found Hilary to be most efficient, approachable & professional in all matters.. friendly and took the time to explain when I didn't understand. Hilarys direct dial number was always answered promptly. Keep up the excellent work.

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 21 August, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Martyn
Martyn Added 17 hours ago Report to admin
August 21, 2019
Collected on
20190821202439

Martyn

4

Please accept my gratitude for your support and the support the family-law team over the past few years. It has been a long road. I have very much appreciated the sage and calming advice you have all provided throughout the course of a contentious probate case. You are all a credit to your organisation and profession generally.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Robin
Robin Added 1 month ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
July 14, 2019
Collected on
20190714205951

Robin

1

It's a shame they didn't appear appear to put as much effort into protecting our interests, as they have since for trying to refute our claim for alleged professional negligence. They didn't even get my name correct on some paperwork. Diabolical, cavalier, self-preserving attitude. I would definitely NOT recommend them.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 14 August, 2019

We are very sorry to hear your response and would be happy to discuss this further with you should you wish. kind regards Wollens

Chris
Chris Added 1 month ago Report to admin
July 11, 2019
Collected on
20190711121925

Chris

5

Having moved multiple times in recent years, suffering the frustrations of Estate Agents and Conveyancing Solicitors, it was a pleasant surprise to find one that was not only as good to her word, but operated completely transparently - communication was full and meaningful without the need to chase, fully accessible and for once we felt as if there was someone working for you rather than against. The company was Wollens in Exeter and the Paralegal in question was Daisy Otton - highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 11 July, 2019

Thanks for your review Chris - so pleased to hear your views on Daisy. We look forward to working with you again. Kind regards Michelle Pugh Wollens

Mike
Mike Added 1 month ago Report to admin
July 04, 2019
Collected on
20190704115232

Mike

5

I cannot speak highly enough of the Team at Wollens. We dealt specifically with Mark Iddles and Jodie Everard, both whom are so friendly, polite, professional and approachable - all of which made the whole drawn out process of house sale and purchase a lot easier to deal with. They had some awkward moments in the process to deal with on our behalf and managed the whole thing brilliantly. Add to that the very competitive price as well for such transactions. If you are looking for honest and reliable then please be assured that this company will do what they say and when they say.
Mark & Jodie - THANK YOU.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 12 July, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Lorraine
Lorraine Added 1 month ago Report to admin
June 26, 2019
Collected on
20190626144203

Lorraine

5

Jodie Everard was exceptional in her dealings with my house purchase and sale. I would highly recommend her and Wollens.

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

Neither too big, nor too small – we’re perfectly formed. With nearly 200 bright people, we think we’re a genuine alternative to much larger firms and with significantly more to offer than smaller, high street solicitors. Yet we never lose sight of what’s most important: to provide the best possible guidance in a no-nonsense, approachable and accessible way. Because no two clients are the same, we don’t paint by numbers. What is the secret formula for being a great lawyer? To actually listen to your client and take the time we need to get to the nub of the matter. It’s why getting to really know you is at the heart of our service philosophy. Because if we don’t try to understand you, how can we possibly give you the best, tailored advice? A diverse family united by a common goal. We’re from all walks of life, but we’re kindred spirits when it comes to our aim of being the complete opposite of a stereotypical lawyer. We always try to give you less waffle, more clarity and no grey areas in between. What’s more we’ll treat you as an equal – our relationship should be open and honest, built on trust and dialogue. Playing our part in our colourful community. When we’re not advising about law, we’re often helping or supporting local charities, good causes or community projects and events. By getting widely involved with the colourful melting pot that is our community and, hopefully, enriching the lives of others, the reward is that we’ll be enriched too. Helping our clients, gaining recognition from our peers. Doing the best for our clients will always be our driving force, but we’re also pretty proud of our haul of industry awards over the years – such as winning the top prize for Excellence in Private Client Practice at the Law Society’s Excellence Awards and Law Firm of the Year at the Devon and Somerset Law Society Legal Awards.


Legal Services
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Accident Abroad
  • Asbestos Compensation
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Child Custody
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Notary
  • Family Leave
  • Lease Extensions
  • Extending your Lease
  • Child Maintenance
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Trusts
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Mesothelioma Compensation
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Collaborative Law
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Asbestosis
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Head Injury At Work
  • Defective Work Equipment
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Social Services
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Motor Insurance Policy
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Marriage and civil partnerships
  • Injunctions
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Part Time Workers
  • Sports Injury
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Medical Negligence
  • Buying at auction
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Child Access
  • Fall From Height
  • Gardening Leave
  • Barristers
  • Property Disputes
  • Dental Negligence
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Flexible Working
  • Pension Law
  • Lasting power of attorney
  • Legal aid
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Pedestrian Accident
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Against The Council
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Whiplash
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Horse Riding Injury
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Financial advisors
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Tax consultants
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Trusts
  • Redundancy
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Elderly care home fees
  • Child Abduction
  • Bus and Coach Accident
  • Fatal Asbestos
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • MRSA Claims
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Child contact
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Supermarket Accident
  • Remortgaging
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Fatal Accident
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Elderly care
  • Vibration White Finger
  • Family Mediation
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Manual Handling
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Professional trustees
  • Road Traffic Accident
  • International Divorce
  • Tax
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Motorbike Accident
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Children's Serious Injury
  • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
  • Surveyors
  • Disputed Trusts
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Architects
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • TUPE
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • High Net Worth Divorce
  • Children's Accident
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Transfers of equity
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Separation Agreement
  • No Win No Fee
  • Disputed Probate
  • Holiday Accidents and Illness
  • Slips, Trips and Falls
  • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Second charges
  • Asbestos Lung Cancer
  • Tinnitus
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Dog Bite
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Accident At Work
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Pleural Thickening
  • Professional Discipline
  • Fixed Fee Divorce
  • Professional Negligence
  • Broken Bone Or Fracture
  • Back Injury At Work
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Planning
  • Repossessions
  • Employment Law
  • Housing Associations
  • Housing disputes
  • Pay Issue
  • Head and Brain Injury
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Terrorism Abroad
  • Cycling Accident
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Repetitive Strain Injury
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Amputation
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Car Passenger
  • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Annulment
  • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Housing Management
  • Injunctions
  • International
  • Valuers
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Professional Negligence law
  • Military
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Serious Injury
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Stress at Work
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Leasehold properties
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Divorce
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Divorce Mediation
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Transfer of title
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Insurance brokers
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • Accountants
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Spinal Injury Compensation
  • Skiing Injury
  • Pension and property advice
  • Engineers
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Car Accident
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Pleural Plaques (Scotland)
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Probate
  • Chronic Pain
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Disputed Wills
  • Right to Manage
  • Occupational Asthma
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Employment Contracts
  • Financial Matters
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Industrial Disease Compensation
  • Senior Executives
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Accidents In Public Places
  • Civil partnerships
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • IT professionals
  • Wills
  • Domestic Violence
  • Osteoarthritis
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Separation
  • Child Law
  • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
  • Media and Sports
  • Family law
  • Children
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Development agreements
  • Development plot sales
  • Veterinary negligence
  • Rights of way issues
  • Facility maintenance agreements
  • Purchase of development land
  • Finance
  • Environmental policy law
  • Mediation
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
  • Engineering contracts
  • Buying and selling a farm
  • In-house training
  • Employment of farm workers
  • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Development loan facilities
  • Planning law
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Framework agreements
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Guarantees and bonds
  • Developer disputes
  • Equestrian property
  • Charities
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Farming disputes
  • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Commercial Leases
  • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
  • Agricultural land for sale or development
  • Building contracts and professional appointments
  • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Construction

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000