Wollens

01392 274006

WE THINK IN FULL COLOUR, BUT KEEP THINGS BLACK & WHITE We’re the A-Z, the ABC and 1, 2, 3 of legal advice. From our origins in the 19th century advising Devon landowners, farmers and sea traders, we’ve grown into one of the largest solicitors in the South West, with exceptional specialists across private client matters as well as company and commercial law. North, South, East or West. Wherever you are, we’ve got you covered. We’re unusual for a South West law firm, because we’re based right across Devon, which means you’re never far from one of our five locations in Barnstaple, Dartmouth, Exeter, Newton Abbot and Torquay.

4.4/5 108 Customer Reviews 108
Recommended by
108 Verified Clients
like Aimee and Emma
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Wollens compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Wollens on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

108 Customer Reviews

4.4/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    84
  • Very Good
    7
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    1
  • Awful
    13

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Aimee
Aimee Added 1 month ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
May 03, 2019 20190503172237

Compassionate people to your situation.

5

We used the services of the company, specifically Charlotte, for the past 14 months after two deaths in the family. She was sympathetic and compassionate to our needs, explains what you don’t understand, and removes the legal jargon making it easier for vulnerable people to understand. You forget you're at a solicitors firm and it’s more like speaking to person who understands, who is able to progress your situation for you, in a caring, comfortable environment.
Thank you again!

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 14 May, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

emma
emma Added 1 month ago Report to admin
April 24, 2019 20190424180754

Outstanding service

5

Thank you to the team for all their help. Highly recommended

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 14 May, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Christopher
Christopher Added 2 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
March 27, 2019 20190327115755

Excellent

5

Great communication. Very fast, efficient and knowledgeable of our requirements in obtaining signed Power of Attorney for our Spanish lawyers. Would not hesitate to reccomend as we would be happy to use Emma and Wollen Michelmore LLP for future requirements if needed.

Chris and Clare Acton

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 14 May, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Katie
Katie Added 2 months ago Report to admin
March 21, 2019 20190321094210

Amazing service from Emma Mitchum

5

Amazing service from Emma Mitcham very helpful & freinedly and Extremely efficient. Emma went above and beyond for me and I can’t recommed her enough.

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 21 March, 2019

Thanks for your review Katie, we really appreciate it. I'll pass it on to Emma, she will be delighted. Let us know if we can help you in the future. Kind regards Clive Meredith Practice Director

Was this review helpful? Yes

David Rodd
David Rodd Added 5 hours ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
June 17, 2019 20190617102825

Sale of one house, purchase of another

5

Very thorough and timely professional service. Would not hesitate to recommend your firm and especially Mr David Brooking who did a splendid job on my behalf.

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 17 June, 2019

Thank you David for your review - so pleased you are happy with our service Kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gillian Edes
Gillian Edes Added 5 hours ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
June 17, 2019 20190617102332

Handling of review of my will and preparation of new will

5

I have used Wollens as my solicitors for many years and have never had cause to doubt the advice I have received, both recently in redoing my will, and in the past when I and my husband had our own business in Torquay. It is a relief to know that i can call on Wollens at any time I need a solicitor. I know i will get great service both now , and after i am no longer here as you are my executors!

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 17 June, 2019

Thank you Gillian Kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Nicholas Woodall
Nicholas Woodall Added 3 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
June 14, 2019 20190614090719

Advice re purchase of freehold & purchase of flat

5

Very thorough & professional advice provided explaining a very complicated subject. Efficient service regarding the flat purchase. Always quick to answer any questions.

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 17 June, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Brian Montgomery
Brian Montgomery Added 3 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
June 14, 2019 20190614085640

Satisfied client

5

Will service using Steve Bell - very satisfied

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 17 June, 2019

Thank you Brian for your review Kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Susan Brophy
Susan Brophy Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
June 10, 2019 20190610123401

Wills Instruction

5

We found Miss Faye Newcombe very helpful and professional in all that we required. We were at ease with her and she explained everything in a way so we fully understood.
Faye Newcombe is an excellent trainee.

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 17 June, 2019

Thank you Susan for your review Kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Christine Knowles
Christine Knowles Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
June 07, 2019 20190607153019

Making a will

5

Everything was done with the minimum amount of fuss. Great service.

Solicitor being reviewed: Marinella Albina Hollies

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 10 June, 2019

Thank you for your review - we hope to work with you in the future Kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Caz
Caz Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
May 31, 2019
Collected on
20190531142313

Caz

1

I did not have a good experience with my lawyer here, and I chose to switch firms part-way through my case. I was assigned Mark Shell as my lawyer, and I personally found him to be patronising and distracted. I had to chase him for updates on two occasions (which he charged me for responding to), and these delays appeared to annoy his counterpart on the 'other side' (which I don't know, may have been a tactic, but I found the delays very stressful). Mark admitted that a partner had left during the timeframe of my case, which meant that he became very busy. However I would personally have preferred him to refer me elsewhere. The firm I switched to was a similar price, but the experience was so much better and I felt my new lawyer had a much better understanding of my case, things moved quicker, and he was more responsive. I would not recommend Mark Shell based on my experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 06 June, 2019

Hello Caz - thank you for your review we’re really sorry to hear you don’t feel like you’ve had the service that we pride ourselves on as a firm. If you’d like to tell me more I can have this looked into for you to see if we can resolve it? If you want to contact me further about this please do so on michelle.pugh@wollens.co.uk

Nick
Nick Added 2 years ago Report to admin
March 20, 2017
Collected on
20170320192252

Nick Hewling

5

Great view from my solicitor's office!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 30 August, 2018

Hello Nick, Thank you very much for your kind review. We are very lucky to be situated in such a beautiful location. If there is anything we can help you with, please feel free to get in touch. Kind Regards, Rebecca Barnes Wollen Michelmore Solicitors

Robert
Robert Added 2 years ago Report to admin
March 19, 2017
Collected on
20170319160356

Robert Scott-Edwards

5

Friendly and efficient service from Megan King on the conveyancing for our house purchase. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Laura
Laura Added 3 years ago Report to admin
August 18, 2015
Collected on
20150818094558

Laura Clifford

5

A perfect solution to my enquiry. Really friendly, fast helpful advice. I don't often write reviews on services, but the team at Morgan and Pope deserve a big thank you for being there when I needed them most.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 04 March, 2019

Thank you for your review Laura. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Andy
Andy Added 5 years ago Report to admin
July 04, 2013
Collected on
20130704125016

Andy Lake

5

Excellent, prompt service in managing our commercial property move. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

Neither too big, nor too small – we’re perfectly formed. With nearly 200 bright people, we think we’re a genuine alternative to much larger firms and with significantly more to offer than smaller, high street solicitors. Yet we never lose sight of what’s most important: to provide the best possible guidance in a no-nonsense, approachable and accessible way. Because no two clients are the same, we don’t paint by numbers. What is the secret formula for being a great lawyer? To actually listen to your client and take the time we need to get to the nub of the matter. It’s why getting to really know you is at the heart of our service philosophy. Because if we don’t try to understand you, how can we possibly give you the best, tailored advice? A diverse family united by a common goal. We’re from all walks of life, but we’re kindred spirits when it comes to our aim of being the complete opposite of a stereotypical lawyer. We always try to give you less waffle, more clarity and no grey areas in between. What’s more we’ll treat you as an equal – our relationship should be open and honest, built on trust and dialogue. Playing our part in our colourful community. When we’re not advising about law, we’re often helping or supporting local charities, good causes or community projects and events. By getting widely involved with the colourful melting pot that is our community and, hopefully, enriching the lives of others, the reward is that we’ll be enriched too. Helping our clients, gaining recognition from our peers. Doing the best for our clients will always be our driving force, but we’re also pretty proud of our haul of industry awards over the years – such as winning the top prize for Excellence in Private Client Practice at the Law Society’s Excellence Awards and Law Firm of the Year at the Devon and Somerset Law Society Legal Awards.


Legal Services
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Horse Riding Injury
  • Pension and property advice
  • International
  • Fatal Accident
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Financial Matters
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Accidents In Public Places
  • Dental Negligence
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Motorbike Accident
  • Leasehold properties
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Transfer of title
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Industrial Disease Compensation
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Head Injury At Work
  • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
  • High Net Worth Divorce
  • Child Law
  • Against The Council
  • Bus and Coach Accident
  • Asbestos Compensation
  • MRSA Claims
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Asbestosis
  • Professional Negligence
  • Property Disputes
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Notary
  • Amputation
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • Employment Contracts
  • Elderly care home fees
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Trusts
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Tinnitus
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Repossessions
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Lease Extensions
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Child contact
  • Second charges
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Child Custody
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Valuers
  • Architects
  • International Divorce
  • Head and Brain Injury
  • Accountants
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Divorce Mediation
  • Probate
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Flexible Working
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Housing Management
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Child Abduction
  • Transfers of equity
  • Engineers
  • Separation
  • Sports Injury
  • Osteoarthritis
  • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
  • Barristers
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Remortgaging
  • Skiing Injury
  • Mesothelioma Compensation
  • Child Maintenance
  • Car Passenger
  • Extending your Lease
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Disputed Probate
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Road Traffic Accident
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Dog Bite
  • Serious Injury
  • Supermarket Accident
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Redundancy
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • Legal aid
  • Tax
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Marriage and civil partnerships
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
  • Pension Law
  • Lasting power of attorney
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Back Injury At Work
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Injunctions
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Children
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Employment Law
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Car Accident
  • Broken Bone Or Fracture
  • Children's Accident
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Elderly care
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Separation Agreement
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Pedestrian Accident
  • Professional Negligence law
  • Child Access
  • Defective Work Equipment
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Collaborative Law
  • Financial advisors
  • Injunctions
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Occupational Asthma
  • Repetitive Strain Injury
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Senior Executives
  • Family law
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Media and Sports
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Motor Insurance Policy
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Tax consultants
  • Fall From Height
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • IT professionals
  • Surveyors
  • Family Mediation
  • Accident At Work
  • Housing disputes
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Disputed Trusts
  • Planning
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Trusts
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Fatal Asbestos
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Chronic Pain
  • Professional Discipline
  • Professional trustees
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Stress at Work
  • TUPE
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Disputed Wills
  • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Military
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Buying at auction
  • No Win No Fee
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Asbestos Lung Cancer
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Insurance brokers
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Fixed Fee Divorce
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Social Services
  • Holiday Accidents and Illness
  • Spinal Injury Compensation
  • Pay Issue
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Gardening Leave
  • Accident Abroad
  • Terrorism Abroad
  • Manual Handling
  • Family Leave
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Pleural Plaques (Scotland)
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Cycling Accident
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
  • Pleural Thickening
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Housing Associations
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Vibration White Finger
  • Annulment
  • Medical Negligence
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Right to Manage
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Divorce
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Wills
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Part Time Workers
  • Domestic Violence
  • Slips, Trips and Falls
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Children's Serious Injury
  • Civil partnerships
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Whiplash
  • In-house training
  • Facility maintenance agreements
  • Charities
  • Veterinary negligence
  • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
  • Buying and selling a farm
  • Employment of farm workers
  • Rights of way issues
  • Building contracts and professional appointments
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Development plot sales
  • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
  • Development agreements
  • Development loan facilities
  • Planning law
  • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
  • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Equestrian property
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Farming disputes
  • Engineering contracts
  • Developer disputes
  • Environmental policy law
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
  • Guarantees and bonds
  • Commercial Leases
  • Mediation
  • Purchase of development land
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Construction
  • Finance
  • Framework agreements
  • Agricultural land for sale or development
  • Commercial mortgages

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000