Wollens

01803 213 251

Also known as - Wollens

WE THINK IN FULL COLOUR, BUT KEEP THINGS BLACK & WHITE We’re the A-Z, the ABC and 1, 2, 3 of legal advice. From our origins in the 19th century advising Devon landowners, farmers and sea traders, we’ve grown into one of the largest solicitors in the South West, with exceptional specialists across private client matters as well as company and commercial law. North, South, East or West. Wherever you are, we’ve got you covered. We’re unusual for a South West law firm, because we’re based right across Devon, which means you’re never far from one of our five locations in Barnstaple, Dartmouth, Exeter, Newton Abbot and Torquay.

4.6/5 462 Client Reviews 462 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Wollens compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Wollens on ReviewSolicitors

462 Client Reviews

4.6/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    376
  • Very Good
    54
  • Average
    6
  • Poor
    2
  • Awful
    24

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Anonymous
Verified Anonymous Added 4 days ago Report to admin
November 24, 2020 20201124140438

Review for Wollens.

5

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

Conveyancing matter.

Solicitor named in this review: Judith Manser

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Verified Anonymous Added 4 days ago Report to admin
November 24, 2020 20201124140238

Smooth process.

4

Matter Type: Purchase and Sale

Direct contact with my solicitor.

Solicitor named in this review: Mark Iddles

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Verified Anonymous Added 1 week ago Report to admin
November 18, 2020 20201118192439

First class service.

5

Matter Type: Wills

Would use again.

Solicitor named in this review: Shirley Tull

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Verified Anonymous Added 1 week ago Report to admin
November 18, 2020 20201118192157

Recommendation to friends.

5

Matter Type: Wills

Excellent, professional service.

Solicitor named in this review: Shirley Tull

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Verified Anonymous Added 1 week ago Report to admin
November 18, 2020 20201118191804

Review for Wollens.

4

Matter Type: Wills

Professional, approachable and honest about costs.

Solicitor named in this review: Jessica Wycliffe-Jones

Was this review helpful? Yes

B
Verified B Added 1 week ago Report to admin
November 16, 2020 20201116085702

Easy to understood.

5

Matter Type: Wills

Would use again.

Solicitor named in this review: Charlotte McGregor

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 18 November, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Verified Anonymous Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
November 13, 2020 20201113102930

Friendly & straightforward.

5

Matter Type: Purchase and Sale

First class service. Would use again.

Solicitor named in this review: Katherine Drummond

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 18 November, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Robert
Verified Robert Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
November 13, 2020 20201113100801

Husband and wife making of will

5

Matter Type: Wills

Very professional and friendly. Complete confidence in solicitor. Quick service.

Solicitor named in this review: Shirley Tull

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 18 November, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Verified Anonymous Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
November 11, 2020 20201111155110

Review for Wollens.

5

Matter Type: Wills

Honest about costs. Pleasure to deal with.

Solicitor named in this review: Charlotte McGregor

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 18 November, 2020

Thank you for your comments. kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Beaven
Verified Beaven Added 4 weeks ago Report to admin
October 31, 2020 20201031182603

Was kept fully aware.

4

Matter Type: Wills

Would recommend.

Solicitor named in this review: Shirley Tull

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 18 November, 2020

Thank you for your comments kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Bee
Bee Added 1 month ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
October 20, 2020
Collected on
20201020070406

Bee

1

Took to long to sort clam over a year then they tell you they can't help totally waste of time do not trust this firm never call you back when you ask them took over a week to get a call back now iv lost all chances making a clam as they let my 3 Yr slip by them and not even a sorry. For there poor service they offer shocking company. Be warned.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 20 October, 2020

We are sorry to hear your comments. If you would like to supply contact details privately we are happy to look into this matter. Please email info@wollens.co.Uk. Many thanks

Paul
Paul Added 2 months ago Report to admin
September 18, 2020
Collected on
20200918160745

Paul

5

I have used Laura D’Alessandro for my children in court I have found her helpful and very Pleasant An always Willin to help you I'm very professional I would Highly recommend Laura For any of your family situation.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 30 September, 2020

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased that Laura was able to help you. kind regards Wollens

Kevin
Kevin Added 3 months ago Report to admin
August 12, 2020
Collected on
20200812161712

Kevin

5

A Very fair professional company with quick responses and no hassle

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 18 August, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Michael
Michael Added 9 months ago Report to admin
March 03, 2020
Collected on
20200303182707

Michael

5

Mark Iddles, property solicitor in Torquay, was exceptional in expediting the sale of our Devon property. Although, expectedly, we hit a few bumps in the road, Mark did not quiver or waver. He informed us of options, explained which may be the most productive or effective and delivered 100%. EVEN WHEN WE HIT A BRICK WALL, HE OPENED UP DISCUSSIONS WITH US AND TOGETHER WE FOUND MANAGEABLE AND SUITABLE WAYS FORWARD. I cannot recommend Mark Iddles enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Fran
Fran Added 9 months ago Report to admin
February 18, 2020
Collected on
20200218190916

Fran

1

Solicitors are sought in times of difficulty, when matters are out out of you own hands and when you lack the required expertise. Wollens have done nothing but take advantage of this in my case.
I have just paid a "bill" for which I don't actually have any record of any work being done. No actual correspondence as they have described, has been received regarding outstanding payments for this apparent work, but a threatening letter was received instead. At no point has anything actually been signed by myself, nor have I even met any representative in person. Yet, I owe them for work that I actually instructed another firm to do, for little more than the amount I have just paid Wollens. I pay this fee now, purely out of fear that I would never be able to argue with a law firm that pulled the wool over my eyes from the beginning.
If you enquire, you will be billed from the start, without warning, without knowing what you are actually paying for.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 21 February, 2020

Fran, i was really sorry to hear that you've not been happy with the service provided by Wollens. I'd really like to investigate this for you to try and understand what happened. Would you mind giving me some more details? If you could tell me the solicitor you used and the area of law involved I will look into this. Kind regards Clive Meredith Practice Director

About This Branch

Description

Neither too big, nor too small – we’re perfectly formed. With nearly 200 bright people, we think we’re a genuine alternative to much larger firms and with significantly more to offer than smaller, high street solicitors. Yet we never lose sight of what’s most important: to provide the best possible guidance in a no-nonsense, approachable and accessible way. Because no two clients are the same, we don’t paint by numbers. What is the secret formula for being a great lawyer? To actually listen to your client and take the time we need to get to the nub of the matter. It’s why getting to really know you is at the heart of our service philosophy. Because if we don’t try to understand you, how can we possibly give you the best, tailored advice? A diverse family united by a common goal. We’re from all walks of life, but we’re kindred spirits when it comes to our aim of being the complete opposite of a stereotypical lawyer. We always try to give you less waffle, more clarity and no grey areas in between. What’s more we’ll treat you as an equal – our relationship should be open and honest, built on trust and dialogue. Playing our part in our colourful community. When we’re not advising about law, we’re often helping or supporting local charities, good causes or community projects and events. By getting widely involved with the colourful melting pot that is our community and, hopefully, enriching the lives of others, the reward is that we’ll be enriched too. Helping our clients, gaining recognition from our peers. Doing the best for our clients will always be our driving force, but we’re also pretty proud of our haul of industry awards over the years – such as winning the top prize for Excellence in Private Client Practice at the Law Society’s Excellence Awards and Law Firm of the Year at the Devon and Somerset Law Society Legal Awards.


Legal Services

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000