Wollens

01803 213 251

Also known as - Wollens

WE THINK IN FULL COLOUR, BUT KEEP THINGS BLACK & WHITE We’re the A-Z, the ABC and 1, 2, 3 of legal advice. From our origins in the 19th century advising Devon landowners, farmers and sea traders, we’ve grown into one of the largest solicitors in the South West, with exceptional specialists across private client matters as well as company and commercial law. North, South, East or West. Wherever you are, we’ve got you covered. We’re unusual for a South West law firm, because we’re based right across Devon, which means you’re never far from one of our five locations in Barnstaple, Dartmouth, Exeter, Newton Abbot and Torquay.

4.6/5 321 Customer Reviews 321 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Wollens compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Wollens on ReviewSolicitors

321 Customer Reviews

4.6/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    267
  • Very Good
    25
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    1
  • Awful
    24

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Charlie
Verified Charlie Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
April 27, 2020 20200427145903

Thank you Mark

4

Despite hiccups along the way due to the other parties - we got there in the end! Thank you to Mark for keeping the pressure on and getting us moved in! We were kept informed and were able to talk directly to Mark. second time using Wollens and I wouldn't go anywhere else.

Solicitor named in this review: Mark Iddles

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 29 April, 2020

Thanks for your review Charlie - we are pleased to have been able to help kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Andrew
Verified Andrew Added 1 month ago Report to admin
April 23, 2020 20200423165846

Excellent, honest and knowledgeable service.

5

Fantastic experience from start to finish, making a complicated matter far more simple to navigate. I was provided with honest, knowledgeable advice that kept me firmly in control of what was happening and what option I had. I would highly recommend Wollens based on my experience.

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 23 April, 2020

Thank you Andrew for your review - we are pleased that we have been able to help you at this time. Kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mrs Ngar Dip Lee
Verified Mrs Ngar Dip Lee Added 1 month ago Report to admin
April 22, 2020 20200422111838

Will

5

Would recommend this firm to somebody else.

Solicitor named in this review: Stephen Bell

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 29 April, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Caroline
Verified Caroline Added 1 month ago Report to admin
April 22, 2020 20200422111554

New House

5

Excellent in every way - would recommend Reuben Barnett 100 per cent.

Solicitor named in this review: Reuben Barnett

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 29 April, 2020

Thanks for your comments Caroline Kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ian & Heather
Verified Ian & Heather Added 1 month ago Report to admin
April 22, 2020 20200422111309

Update of Wills

5

We were guided through the process of the updating of our wills by a very friendly, efficient and professional member of staff. We very much appreciate the way in which the whole subject matter was dealt with.

Solicitor named in this review: Faye Newcombe

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 29 April, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Norris
Verified Norris Added 2 months ago Report to admin
March 13, 2020 20200313104833

More than satisfied

4

More than satisfied

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 22 April, 2020

Thank you for your comments - we hope to be able to help you in the future. kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Trevor
Verified Trevor Added 2 months ago Report to admin
March 13, 2020 20200313103544

First Class service

5

I have used the services of Wollens for well over twenty years in a variety of contents and have been entirely happy with the way in which they have dealt with my affairs.
I would not hesitate to recommend them.

Solicitor named in this review: Carol Wycliffe-Jones

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 22 April, 2020

Thanks Trevor for your feedback. we look forward to helping you again in the future. kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Margaret
Verified Margaret Added 2 months ago Report to admin
March 13, 2020 20200313101927

Excellent Family Solicitor

5

Sympathetic and understanding after death of my husband. Prompt and efficient service & replies to queries, inspired trust. Made widowhood less daunting.

Solicitor named in this review: Judith Manser

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 29 April, 2020

Thank you for your review Margaret Kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Beryl
Verified Beryl Added 2 months ago Report to admin
March 13, 2020 20200313101014

Making my will

5

Well explained and easy to understand.

Solicitor named in this review: Faye Newcombe

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 29 April, 2020

Thank you for your comments kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Linda Bulles
Verified Linda Bulles Added 3 months ago Report to admin
February 20, 2020 20200220165819

Purchase of a shared ownership home

5

This seems to be quite a complicated process as there are three parties involved. Wollens made it very easy and effcient. My solicitor was always available on email which is my preferred method of contact.

Solicitor named in this review: Judith Manser

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 25 February, 2020

Thank you Linda - we are pleased that we have been able to help you. Kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Dawn
Dawn Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
April 28, 2020
Collected on
20200428172815

Dawn

1

DO NOT USE, YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!!! Paid £492 in February for a lease renewal on my flat as part of a sale. Sent umpteen emails telling Richard Phillips and Judith manser how urgent this was. 7 weeks ago Richard Phillips had an accident so his work was passed over to Judith manser. Clearly she’s way out of her depth for lease renewals as this was done in draft then sent to Richard Phillips for signing off even though he’s off sick!!! Why are the directors of this company not employing a competent solicitor while Richard is off sick is beyond me! The sale of my flat has now gone into abeyance and I have now got to find a further £500 to fund another solicitor to do this work that Wollens have failed to do! Disgusted doesn’t even come close! Law society will be informed as this is fraudulent activity to take money upfront and not do the work paid for!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Michael
Michael Added 2 months ago Report to admin
March 03, 2020
Collected on
20200303182707

Michael

5

Mark Iddles, property solicitor in Torquay, was exceptional in expediting the sale of our Devon property. Although, expectedly, we hit a few bumps in the road, Mark did not quiver or waver. He informed us of options, explained which may be the most productive or effective and delivered 100%. EVEN WHEN WE HIT A BRICK WALL, HE OPENED UP DISCUSSIONS WITH US AND TOGETHER WE FOUND MANAGEABLE AND SUITABLE WAYS FORWARD. I cannot recommend Mark Iddles enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Fran
Fran Added 3 months ago Report to admin
February 18, 2020
Collected on
20200218190916

Fran

1

Solicitors are sought in times of difficulty, when matters are out out of you own hands and when you lack the required expertise. Wollens have done nothing but take advantage of this in my case.
I have just paid a "bill" for which I don't actually have any record of any work being done. No actual correspondence as they have described, has been received regarding outstanding payments for this apparent work, but a threatening letter was received instead. At no point has anything actually been signed by myself, nor have I even met any representative in person. Yet, I owe them for work that I actually instructed another firm to do, for little more than the amount I have just paid Wollens. I pay this fee now, purely out of fear that I would never be able to argue with a law firm that pulled the wool over my eyes from the beginning.
If you enquire, you will be billed from the start, without warning, without knowing what you are actually paying for.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 21 February, 2020

Fran, i was really sorry to hear that you've not been happy with the service provided by Wollens. I'd really like to investigate this for you to try and understand what happened. Would you mind giving me some more details? If you could tell me the solicitor you used and the area of law involved I will look into this. Kind regards Clive Meredith Practice Director

Hannah
Hannah Added 3 months ago Report to admin
February 09, 2020
Collected on
20200209120542

Hannah

5

We were lucky enough to have Liz at Wollens work on our son’s medical negligence claim. I would not hesitate to recommend her. Liz was both friendly and professional and ensured we understood every part of the process. Their professional services meant we successfully settled.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 25 February, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Alexandra
Alexandra Added 3 months ago Report to admin
January 28, 2020
Collected on
20200128134606

Alexandra

5

Always used Toller Beattie, and now they're part of Woollens I would not go anywhere else

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 31 January, 2020

Thanks for your review Alexandra - we are happy to help you regards Wollens

About This Branch

Description

Neither too big, nor too small – we’re perfectly formed. With nearly 200 bright people, we think we’re a genuine alternative to much larger firms and with significantly more to offer than smaller, high street solicitors. Yet we never lose sight of what’s most important: to provide the best possible guidance in a no-nonsense, approachable and accessible way. Because no two clients are the same, we don’t paint by numbers. What is the secret formula for being a great lawyer? To actually listen to your client and take the time we need to get to the nub of the matter. It’s why getting to really know you is at the heart of our service philosophy. Because if we don’t try to understand you, how can we possibly give you the best, tailored advice? A diverse family united by a common goal. We’re from all walks of life, but we’re kindred spirits when it comes to our aim of being the complete opposite of a stereotypical lawyer. We always try to give you less waffle, more clarity and no grey areas in between. What’s more we’ll treat you as an equal – our relationship should be open and honest, built on trust and dialogue. Playing our part in our colourful community. When we’re not advising about law, we’re often helping or supporting local charities, good causes or community projects and events. By getting widely involved with the colourful melting pot that is our community and, hopefully, enriching the lives of others, the reward is that we’ll be enriched too. Helping our clients, gaining recognition from our peers. Doing the best for our clients will always be our driving force, but we’re also pretty proud of our haul of industry awards over the years – such as winning the top prize for Excellence in Private Client Practice at the Law Society’s Excellence Awards and Law Firm of the Year at the Devon and Somerset Law Society Legal Awards.


Legal Services
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Gardening Leave
  • Chronic Pain
  • Elderly care home fees
  • Serious Injury
  • Planning
  • Lasting power of attorney
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Horse Riding Injury
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Defective Work Equipment
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
  • Family Mediation
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Second charges
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Industrial Disease Compensation
  • Insurance brokers
  • Collaborative Law
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Vibration White Finger
  • Terrorism Abroad
  • Separation Agreement
  • Sports Injury
  • Financial advisors
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Housing Associations
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Social Services
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Accountants
  • Stress at Work
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Motor Insurance Policy
  • Transfers of equity
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Marriage and civil partnerships
  • Tax
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Surveyors
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Pleural Plaques (Scotland)
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Annulment
  • Domestic Violence
  • Pension Law
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Media and Sports
  • Whiplash
  • No Win No Fee
  • Injunctions
  • Extending your Lease
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Fall From Height
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Manual Handling
  • Financial Matters
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Employment Contracts
  • High Net Worth Divorce
  • Road Traffic Accident
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Pleural Thickening
  • Part Time Workers
  • Notary
  • Asbestosis
  • Children's Accident
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Fatal Asbestos
  • Divorce
  • Child Maintenance
  • Pedestrian Accident
  • Family Leave
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Child Access
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Child contact
  • Child Law
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Skiing Injury
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Cycling Accident
  • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Bus and Coach Accident
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Accidents In Public Places
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Child Custody
  • Mesothelioma Compensation
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Dental Negligence
  • IT professionals
  • Remortgaging
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Professional Discipline
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Supermarket Accident
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Osteoarthritis
  • Disputed Wills
  • Asbestos Lung Cancer
  • Divorce Mediation
  • Flexible Working
  • Injunctions
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Accident At Work
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Spinal Injury Compensation
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
  • Car Passenger
  • Pension and property advice
  • Military
  • Barristers
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Right to Manage
  • Amputation
  • Pay Issue
  • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Legal aid
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Occupational Asthma
  • Engineers
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Holiday Accidents and Illness
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Car Accident
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
  • Disputed Probate
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Repossessions
  • Elderly care
  • Housing Management
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Property Disputes
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Dog Bite
  • Buying at auction
  • International
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Slips, Trips and Falls
  • Tax consultants
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Family law
  • Trusts
  • Employment Law
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Children
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Disputed Trusts
  • Head Injury At Work
  • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Asbestos Compensation
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Trusts
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • TUPE
  • Separation
  • Professional Negligence law
  • International Divorce
  • Lease Extensions
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Redundancy
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Transfer of title
  • Professional trustees
  • Fixed Fee Divorce
  • Valuers
  • Architects
  • Motorbike Accident
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Wills
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Back Injury At Work
  • Probate
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Tenant Eviction
  • MRSA Claims
  • Child Abduction
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Children's Serious Injury
  • Head and Brain Injury
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Accident Abroad
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Repetitive Strain Injury
  • Tinnitus
  • Housing disputes
  • Senior Executives
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Civil partnerships
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Leasehold properties
  • Broken Bone Or Fracture
  • Professional Negligence
  • Against The Council
  • Fatal Accident
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Medical Negligence
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Buying and selling a farm
  • Building contracts and professional appointments
  • Development agreements
  • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
  • Agricultural land for sale or development
  • Veterinary negligence
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Development plot sales
  • In-house training
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Mediation
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Employment of farm workers
  • Engineering contracts
  • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
  • Developer disputes
  • Rights of way issues
  • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
  • Framework agreements
  • Finance
  • Equestrian property
  • Construction
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Farming disputes
  • Charities
  • Planning law
  • Purchase of development land
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Development loan facilities
  • Environmental policy law
  • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Commercial Leases
  • Facility maintenance agreements
  • Guarantees and bonds

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000