Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Wollens Compares

Value for money

This firm - 89%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Wollens on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 3%
About Right 95%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 100%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Wollens and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Wollens performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 100%
No 0%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 98%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Wollens and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Wollens compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 98%
No 2%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Wollens offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.7/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    736
  • Very Good

    99
  • Average

    10
  • Poor

    2
  • Awful

    25

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Wollens.

Anonymous

June 29, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wollens - the Best in the West - and beyond!

"Moving is high on life's stress list" - we al know that - the key, however, is to get the best Property Solicitor (and Assistant!) possible!. Not the first time I have used Wollens - it won't be the last - the entire list of positive adjectives (in following question) is totally appropriate!
Due to Covid there was a general backlog in various regions (for solicitors as Councils alike) - indeed, some restrictions were still in place and I know both David Eastman and Assistant Liz Rigden were juggling numerous cases. For me, there was a property to sell and one to buy amounting to a most daunting prospect - especially falling at a most sensitive time in my life. David and Liz guided me through both transactions, guiding me through the maize of paperwork, challenges and stress-inducing hold-ups with expertise and diligence. With the patience of Job, Liz answered my numerous queries, explained no end of tricky detail, was always approachable, sensitive and understanding, remaining highly professional throughout. Furthermore, she kept everyone fully informed with admirable efficiency working with David - who did all the legal matters. Without a doubt, my whole experience was as straightforward as possible. Perhaps, most importantly, despite all and throughout, Liz and David kept a sense of humour, which I appreciated more than I can say!. I cannot praise them both highly enough - thank you so much!

Was this review helpful?

Erika Farwell

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Wollens.

Erika Farwell

June 25, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wollens - the best in the South West - and beyond!

Having 'Legal Power of Attorney' is so very important - and ensuring it is actually legal, not necessarily easy, especially in a sensitive personal situation. Iain Douglas is certainly the perfect choice to make the pathway as trouble-free as possible. He guided me through the maze of officialdom and paperwork with extreme sensitivity, patience and understanding. I appreciated, too, his ready and refreshing sense of humour!
His contact with my LPA (s) was equally efficient, professional and helpful. Thank you so very much.
I would highly recommend him - and, indeed, Wollens.

Was this review helpful?

Julie

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Wollens.

Matter Type:

Wills

Julie

June 21, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills service

The solicitor put me at ease straight away and explained all the options to me in terminology that I could relate to. It was a straightforward process and the advice given was reassuring. Don't know why I didn't have my will sorted years ago !

Was this review helpful?

Caroline Donald

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Wollens.

Caroline Donald

June 21, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Enforcement of Maintenance

Felt l was extremely well supported.
I was professionably helped to a very high standard.

Was this review helpful?

Alison Upton

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Wollens.

Alison Upton

June 20, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent and friendly service

After years of planning to make a will, my husband and I finally took the plunge and met with Jessica. She was so friendly, explaining all the questions so we could make informed decisions. She was really professional and well informed and it was a pleasure to work with her. Something we had put off for years actually was a pleasant experience and it is so good to know that we have our plans in place for the future now.

Was this review helpful?

Kevin Dudley

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Wollens.

Kevin Dudley

June 17, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Divorce and property

From at first shock and fright to contact then absolute bliss of service!

Was this review helpful?

Carla

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Wollens.

Matter Type:

Children Act proceedings

Carla

June 16, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Exceptional service! Cannot recommend highly enough!

Rachel and her team in the family department at Wollens put me at ease from the moment I contacted them, instructing solicitors is never nice or easy but Rachel was professional and friendly from the word go!
Rachel and her Paralegal Amelia explained everything clearly, were very knowledgeable and although their work was strictly remote I never felt as though I was missing out on anything, I was kept well informed at each step during our case and everything was explained fully and my thoughts and feelings taken in to consideration at every point. I really felt they pulled out all the stops!
Our case over-ran by 6 months and ended with a fact finding hearing, we were extremely nervous, but Rachel and her chosen Barrister made us feel calm and in control, making sure we understood everything fully throughout. Thankfully our case ended positively and that in part was due to the outstanding work and knowledge of Rachel and her team.
Thank you so much Rachel & Wollens :)

Was this review helpful?

Liz Crawford

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Wollens.

Matter Type:

Probate

Liz Crawford

June 15, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Probate required for deceased relation

From the very first phone call to enquire about services to the completion of Probate, the service,communication,expertise absolutely perfect,
A special mention to Liz Crawford,who made the entire procedure such a smooth operation.
I can not recommend highly enough,every email,phone call,visit was so very efficient and professional.

Was this review helpful?

Tony C

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Wollens.

Matter Type:

Probate

Tony C

May 27, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent Service

Friendly, approachable and Flexible. Kept me informed of progress at all times. Couldn't have done this Estate Executor admin by myself.
Thank you :)

Was this review helpful?

Ian

Matter Type:

Disputed Probate

Ian

May 20, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

A very professional and reassuring service

Mark Shell provided me with both the good and bad news, and explained what was happening, and ensured I understood any options.
I would have no hesitation in recommending Mark as a result (even though the outcome was beyond our control).

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Victoria

Victoria

April 11, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Victoria

Rachel Carter is very professional and has a high level of expertise within family law. Highly recommended to anyone who is needing a family lawyer

Was this review helpful?

Arun

Arun

March 12, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Arun

I would like to say a big thank you to Mark Iddles and the conveyancing team at Wollens for handling my house purchase last August, during the SDLT holiday. I was kept updated, and despite emailing a fair number of questions, they were all addressed. The time taken was comparatively quick given the number of restrictions on title, which included a management company and a buy-to-let mortgage. The firm also seemed to have a great relationship with the seller's solicitors based in Brixham, so issues were ironed out promptly and smoothly. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful?

Lawrence

Lawrence

November 01, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Lawrence

I was mainly dealing with Edward and I cannot thank him enough for his help and professionalism. Will certainly recommend and use them going forward. Thanks again Edward

Was this review helpful?

Mel

Mel

October 09, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Mel

Fast response to my online questions
Sent the forms for me to fill out
I haven't yet but plan to and hire them as long as it's not crazy money

Was this review helpful?

Ryan

Ryan

September 13, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Ryan

I would like to thank Cate Jewell and her amazing team for helping me and my family through the hardest time of our lifes.
Great professionals we cannot thank you anuff.
Thank you all.

Was this review helpful?

Wollens are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Neither too big, nor too small – we’re perfectly formed. With nearly over 140 bright people, we think we’re a genuine alternative to much larger firms and with significantly more to offer than smaller, high street solicitors. Yet we never lose sight of what’s most important: to provide the best possible guidance in a no-nonsense, approachable and accessible way. Because no two clients are the same, we don’t paint by numbers. What is the secret formula for being a great lawyer? To actually listen to your client and take the time we need to get to the nub of the matter. It’s why getting to really know you is at the heart of our service philosophy. Because if we don’t try to understand you, how can we possibly give you the best, tailored advice? A diverse family united by a common goal. We’re from all walks of life, but we’re kindred spirits when it comes to our aim of being the complete opposite of a stereotypical lawyer. We always try to give you less waffle, more clarity and no grey areas in between. What’s more we’ll treat you as an equal – our relationship should be open and honest, built on trust and dialogue. Playing our part in our colourful community. When we’re not advising about law, we’re often helping or supporting local charities, good causes or community projects and events. By getting widely involved with the colourful melting pot that is our community and, hopefully, enriching the lives of others, the reward is that we’ll be enriched too. Helping our clients, gaining recognition from our peers. Doing the best for our clients will always be our driving force, but we’re also pretty proud of our haul of industry awards over the years – such as winning the top prize for Excellence in Private Client Practice at the Law Society’s Excellence Awards and Law Firm of the Year at the Devon and Somerset Law Society Legal Awards.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Clinical Negligence
    • Accident and Emergency Claims
    • Amputation Negligence Claims
    • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
    • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
    • Birth Injury Claims
    • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
    • Blood Transfusion Claims
    • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
    • C. Difficile Claims
    • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
    • Cerebral Palsy Claims
    • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Clinical Negligence
    • Cochlear Implant Claims
    • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
    • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
    • Defective Medical Device Claims
    • Dental Negligence
    • Dental Negligence Claims
    • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
    • Diabetes Claims
    • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
    • Eye Surgery Claims
    • Failed Sterilisation Claims
    • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
    • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
    • Fertility Negligence Claims
    • GP Negligence Claims
    • Group B Streptococcus Claims
    • Hospital Negligence Claims
    • Knee Replacement Claims
    • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
    • Laser Treatment Claims
    • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • MRSA Claims
    • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Medical Negligence
    • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
    • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
    • Nerve Damage Claims
    • Nerve Injury Claims
    • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
    • Oral Cancer Claims
    • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
    • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Periodontal Disease Claims
    • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
    • Pressure Sore Claims
    • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Restorative Dentistry Claims
    • Sepsis Negligence Claims
    • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
    • Spinal Surgery Claims
    • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
    • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Surgery Compensation Claims
    • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
    • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Media and Sports
    • Military
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pay Issue
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Annulment
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Abduction
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Maintenance
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Divorce Mediation
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Domestic Violence
    • Elderly care
    • Elderly care home fees
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Fixed Fee Divorce
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • High Net Worth Divorce
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • International Divorce
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Legal aid
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Second charges
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Notary
    • Notary
  • Personal Injury
    • Accident Abroad
    • Accident At Work
    • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
    • Accidents In Public Places
    • Against The Council
    • Amputation
    • Asbestos Compensation
    • Asbestos Lung Cancer
    • Asbestosis
    • Back Injury At Work
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Broken Bone Or Fracture
    • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
    • Bus and Coach Accident
    • Car Accident
    • Car Passenger
    • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
    • Children's Accident
    • Children's Serious Injury
    • Chronic Pain
    • Cycling Accident
    • Defective Work Equipment
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Dog Bite
    • Fall From Height
    • Fatal Accident
    • Fatal Asbestos
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Head Injury At Work
    • Head and Brain Injury
    • Holiday Accidents and Illness
    • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
    • Horse Riding Injury
    • Industrial Disease Compensation
    • Manual Handling
    • Mesothelioma Compensation
    • Motor Insurance Policy
    • Motorbike Accident
    • No Win No Fee
    • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
    • Occupational Asthma
    • Osteoarthritis
    • Pedestrian Accident
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Pleural Plaques (Scotland)
    • Pleural Thickening
    • Repetitive Strain Injury
    • Road Traffic Accident
    • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
    • Serious Injury
    • Skiing Injury
    • Slips, Trips and Falls
    • Spinal Injury Compensation
    • Sports Injury
    • Supermarket Accident
    • Terrorism Abroad
    • Tinnitus
    • Vibration White Finger
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
    • Whiplash
    • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Professional Negligence
    • Accountants
    • Architects
    • Barristers
    • Engineers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional Negligence
    • Professional Negligence law
    • Professional trustees
    • Surveyors
    • Tax consultants
    • Valuers
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • International
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
    • Veterinary negligence
  • Charities
    • Charities
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Construction
    • Building contracts and professional appointments
    • Construction
    • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
    • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
    • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
    • Development agreements
    • Development loan facilities
    • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
    • Engineering contracts
    • Facility maintenance agreements
    • Framework agreements
    • Guarantees and bonds
    • In-house training
    • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
Book an appointment