Solicitor at Tozers LLP

James Evans

Solicitor - Partner and Solicitor

SRA ID: 20873

James is a partner and heads the charities, and academies/ schools team. He is a leading charity and social enterprise law specialist, with over 20 years’ experience of supporting a wide range of sector organisations across the South West and beyond, including many national and international organisations. He advises sector organisations on a broad range of issues including formation and getting the right legal structure, governance and constitutional issues, mergers, collaborations and other corporate transactions, charity law compliance and regulatory issues, fundraising, and trading issues.

Broadwalk House, Southernhay West, Exeter, Devon, EX1 1UA

Licensed for 23 years

Practice Areas

Charities

  • Charities 100%
6 Client Reviews

4.8/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    6
  • Very Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    0
Anonymous
Click to rate
Joanna
Verified Joanna Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
October 30, 2019 20191030000000

Charities

5

Joanna recommends Tozers LLP

Solicitor named in this review: James Evans

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jazz Hands CIC
Verified Jazz Hands CIC Added 1 month ago Report to admin
September 25, 2019 20190925173258

Licence Drafting for a CIC

5

On the recommendation of our accountants, we contacted James Evans at Tozers Solicitors as he is recognised as a leading practitoners in the sector of Charities and Community Interest Companies. The exchange of information was easy to facilitate, communication fluent and regular and the end work undretaken was in keeping with our expectation and satisfaction.

Solicitor named in this review: James Evans

A representative from Tozers LLP responded to this review on 30 September, 2019

Thank you so much for your positive feedback and for taking the time to post this review. Our client's view are important to us and help us constantly improve the way we do business. Thanks again for your review James Evans

Was this review helpful? Yes

Heathercombe Brake Trust
Verified Heathercombe Brake Trust Added 2 months ago Report to admin
September 03, 2019 20190903105835

Charity Advice

5

Advice received was timely, thorough and proactive as well as answering specific questions.

Solicitor named in this review: James Evans

A representative from Tozers LLP responded to this review on 09 September, 2019

Thank you so much for your positive feedback and for taking the time to post this review. Our client's view are important to us and help us constantly improve the way we do business. Thanks again for your review James Evans

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mark
Verified Mark Added 4 months ago Report to admin
June 27, 2019 20190627121531

Excellent specialist service on charity law

5

The firm has an excellent specialism in this field of law. The service we received was fast, accurate and professional.

Solicitor named in this review: James Evans

A representative from Tozers LLP responded to this review on 01 July, 2019

Good afternoon Mark Thank you so much for your positive feedback and for taking the time to post this review. Our client's view are important to us and help us constantly improve the way we do business. Thanks again for your review James Evans

Was this review helpful? Yes

New Road Area Community Association
Verified New Road Area Community Association Added 6 months ago Report to admin
May 02, 2019 20190502210440

New Road Area Community Association

5

The advice from James Evans was relevant to our question and took account of the information supplied about thr Assocation.

Solicitor named in this review: James Evans

A representative from Tozers LLP responded to this review on 13 May, 2019

Good morning Thank you so much for your positive feedback and for taking the time to post this review. Our client's view are important to us and help us constantly improve the way we do business. Thanks again for your review James Evans

Was this review helpful? Yes

Russell
Verified Russell Added 1 year ago Report to admin
November 14, 2018 20181114123831

legal structure for not for profit

5

we were recommended Tozers as local not for profit experts after numerous local firms advised they could not provide expertise in this area. We were not disappointed. Partner James Evans was user friendly and approachable and guided us through the legislation in a comfortable yet professional style. He called upon experience to raise the issues we needed to consider and provided practical solutions to all. His services were excellent value for money and we would highly recommend the firm to any not for profit organisation needing specialist legal advice on all matters.

Solicitor named in this review: James Evans

A representative from Tozers LLP responded to this review on 14 November, 2018

Hello Russell, Thank you so much for your positive feedback and for taking the time to post this review. Our client's views are important to us and help us constantly improve the way we do business. Thanks again for your review. James Evans

Was this review helpful? Yes

About James Evans

James is a partner and heads the charities, and academies/ schools team. He is a leading charity and social enterprise law specialist, with over 20 years’ experience of supporting a wide range of sector organisations across the South West and beyond, including many national and international organisations. He advises sector organisations on a broad range of issues including formation and getting the right legal structure, governance and constitutional issues, mergers, collaborations and other corporate transactions, charity law compliance and regulatory issues, fundraising, and trading issues.

Languages Spoken: English

Contact James Evans

Address

Tozers LLP

Broadwalk House

Southernhay West

Exeter

Devon



Phone 01392 207896

Website

Resume

LICENSE

Country

Status

Acquired

Updated

United Kingdom

Currently Registered

16/09/96

05/08/19

We found no instances of professional misconduct for this solicitor

WORK EXPERIENCE

Title

Name

Duration

SRA-approved manager - Member

Tozers

?-present