Solicitor at Tozers LLP

Tozers LLP

James Evans

Solicitor - Partner and Solicitor

SRA ID: 20873

James leads our nationally-recognised team of specialist charity and social enterprise sector lawyers and acts as the key relationship contact for many of our sector clients. James is highly motivated by working with organisations supporting a huge variety of good causes, and all doing fantastic work. He takes pride in helping them achieve their social objectives and to increase the impact of what they do for the communities they serve. Advising sector organisations on a broad range of matters, James can help with the formation of new organisations, getting the right legal structure, governance and constitutional considerations, incorporations, mergers, collaborations and other corporate transactions, charity law compliance and regulatory factors, fundraising and trading challenges, finance and social investment, and commercial agreements. James, who qualified in 1996, is a solicitor and partner, an active member of the Charity Law Association, and a member of the certification panel which adjudicates on awards of the Social Enterprise Mark. He is recognised nationally for the great work he does with charities and social enterprises of all sizes, schools and other educational institutions, clubs, societies and other not-for-private-profit organisations. James is a ranked lawyer for Charities UK-wide in the legal directory Chambers UK 2020, in which Tozers’ charities team is also nationally recognised. The 2020 edition says: "He is always pragmatic in his response to a situation," remarks one client, while another adds that he is "very good at explaining legal jargon in layman's terms." James has also been recognised in The Legal 500 legal directory in which they describe James as “experienced in assisting organisations with the obtainment of charitable status and advising charities on regulatory compliance”. In addition to working with charities and social enterprises, he also helps private sector businesses and private individuals where they are engaging with the charity sector, for example in helping them set up new charities or corporate foundations. Recent examples of work: Advising on the charity merger between the Marine Biological Association and the Sir Alister Hardy Foundation of Ocean Science (CPR survey) Advising the British Accounting and Finance Association (BAFA) on membership and governance arrangements Assisting national charity Libraries Connected (formerly Society of Chief Librarians) in successfully achieving charitable status.

Broadwalk House, Southernhay West, Exeter, Devon, EX1 1UA

Licensed for 24 years

Practice Areas

Charities

4.9/5 0 Client Reviews 0
  • Charities 96%
  • Company & Commercial 4%
0 Client Reviews

4.9/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    23
  • Very Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    0
Anonymous
Click to rate
Louise
Verified Louise Added 1 month ago Report to admin
Tozers LLP
Collected whilst working at Tozers LLP
November 26, 2020 20201126201518

Thank you James

5

Really helpful, swift, excellent and insightful advice.

Solicitor named in this review: James Evans

A representative from Tozers LLP responded to this review on 27 November, 2020

Thank you Louise! We look forward to working with you again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Paul
Verified Paul Added 2 months ago Report to admin
Tozers LLP
Collected whilst working at Tozers LLP
November 09, 2020 20201109120306

Charity Deed - alteration to provisions

5

We wanted to make changes to the terms of the Trust Deed. A colleague recommended approaching Mr James Evans of Tozers because of his knowledge and experience of the subject. Their quote was competitive and I was impressed by James Knowledge and ease of communication and had no hesitation in appointing him to act on behalf of the Trustees.
The speed of response and action was very impressive - just as we would like it to be - and everything was done to meet the deadlines requested. The documents to enable the changes to be made have been submitted to the Charity Commissioners and we await their approval.

Having had a lot of experience of working with solicitors in the past, he has been the best of all! Why can't all solicitors act so quickly and competently. I would certainly use Tozers again and would recommend them to other colleagues in future.

Solicitor named in this review: James Evans

A representative from Tozers LLP responded to this review on 09 November, 2020

Dear Paul Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a detailed review. Your kind words will be shared with James and his team. We are really pleased that you had such a good experience and we look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anthony
Verified Anthony Added 4 months ago Report to admin
Tozers LLP
Collected whilst working at Tozers LLP
August 28, 2020 20200828205210

Other

5

I have not, in forty years, encountered such first class service. James Evans and his team are exceptional. I am a Tozers client for life. Thank you for such awe inspiring service

Solicitor named in this review: James Evans

A representative from Tozers LLP responded to this review on 01 September, 2020

Thank you for your very positive feedback Anthony, we appreciate you taking the time to write this review. We are glad that we could help and support you in such a positive way. Many thanks James Evans

Was this review helpful? Yes

Devon Association of Local Councils
Verified Devon Association of Local Councils Added 5 months ago Report to admin
Tozers LLP
Collected whilst working at Tozers LLP
August 27, 2020 20200827103331

Great professional service

5

The service we have received advising our new company about our company articles has been excellent. Responses to queries were prompt, clear expectations were set regarding costs up front, and we were provided clear and practical advice which will assist us in the long term.

Solicitor named in this review: James Evans

A representative from Tozers LLP responded to this review on 28 August, 2020

Thank you very much for taking the team to write this review. We are glad we could help you and your new company. Many thanks James Evans

Was this review helpful? Yes

Chris
Verified Chris Added 5 months ago Report to admin
Tozers LLP
Collected whilst working at Tozers LLP
August 27, 2020 20200827100504

CIO Formation support

5

Great support from James - provided great advice and fast turnaround. Many thanks.

Solicitor named in this review: James Evans

A representative from Tozers LLP responded to this review on 28 August, 2020

Thank you very much for taking the team to write this review Chris. Client feedback is very important to us. Many thanks James Evans

Was this review helpful? Yes

Andrew
Verified Andrew Added 6 months ago Report to admin
Tozers LLP
Collected whilst working at Tozers LLP
July 14, 2020 20200714010000

Charities

5

Andrew recommends Tozers LLP

Solicitor named in this review: James Evans

Was this review helpful? Yes

Par Track Limited
Verified Par Track Limited Added 6 months ago Report to admin
Tozers LLP
Collected whilst working at Tozers LLP
July 02, 2020 20200702155242

Excellent service

5

Very positive experience in every way. Access to several solicitors, great range of expertise, all very professional and helpful.

Solicitor named in this review: James Evans

A representative from Tozers LLP responded to this review on 03 July, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to post this review and for your positive feedback. Our clients' views are important to us and help us constantly improve the way we do business. Thank you again for your review, James Evans

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anthony
Verified Anthony Added 7 months ago Report to admin
Tozers LLP
Collected whilst working at Tozers LLP
June 10, 2020 20200610221919

EXCELLENT SERVICE

5

I initially contacted Tozers as a friend had spoken very highly of the firm. I wanted advice regarding registering a charity. From my initial contact with James Evans I was thoroughly impressed with the conscientiousness of James and his in depth knowledge really impressed me.

Solicitor named in this review: James Evans

A representative from Tozers LLP responded to this review on 12 June, 2020

Good afternoon Anthony, Thank you so much for your positive feedback and for taking the time to post this review. Our clients' views are important to us and help us constantly improve the way we do business. Thanks again for your review, James Evans

Was this review helpful? Yes

Exeter Dispensary and Aid-In-Sickness Fund
Verified Exeter Dispensary and Aid-In-Sickness Fund Added 8 months ago Report to admin
Tozers LLP
Collected whilst working at Tozers LLP
May 01, 2020 20200501010000

Charities

5

Exeter Dispensary and Aid-In-Sickness Fund recommends Tozers LLP

Solicitor named in this review: James Evans

Was this review helpful? Yes

Peter
Verified Peter Added 8 months ago Report to admin
Tozers LLP
Collected whilst working at Tozers LLP
May 01, 2020 20200501010000

Charities

5

Peter recommends Tozers LLP

Solicitor named in this review: James Evans

Was this review helpful? Yes

About James Evans

James leads our nationally-recognised team of specialist charity and social enterprise sector lawyers and acts as the key relationship contact for many of our sector clients. James is highly motivated by working with organisations supporting a huge variety of good causes, and all doing fantastic work. He takes pride in helping them achieve their social objectives and to increase the impact of what they do for the communities they serve. Advising sector organisations on a broad range of matters, James can help with the formation of new organisations, getting the right legal structure, governance and constitutional considerations, incorporations, mergers, collaborations and other corporate transactions, charity law compliance and regulatory factors, fundraising and trading challenges, finance and social investment, and commercial agreements. James, who qualified in 1996, is a solicitor and partner, an active member of the Charity Law Association, and a member of the certification panel which adjudicates on awards of the Social Enterprise Mark. He is recognised nationally for the great work he does with charities and social enterprises of all sizes, schools and other educational institutions, clubs, societies and other not-for-private-profit organisations. James is a ranked lawyer for Charities UK-wide in the legal directory Chambers UK 2020, in which Tozers’ charities team is also nationally recognised. The 2020 edition says: "He is always pragmatic in his response to a situation," remarks one client, while another adds that he is "very good at explaining legal jargon in layman's terms." James has also been recognised in The Legal 500 legal directory in which they describe James as “experienced in assisting organisations with the obtainment of charitable status and advising charities on regulatory compliance”. In addition to working with charities and social enterprises, he also helps private sector businesses and private individuals where they are engaging with the charity sector, for example in helping them set up new charities or corporate foundations. Recent examples of work: Advising on the charity merger between the Marine Biological Association and the Sir Alister Hardy Foundation of Ocean Science (CPR survey) Advising the British Accounting and Finance Association (BAFA) on membership and governance arrangements Assisting national charity Libraries Connected (formerly Society of Chief Librarians) in successfully achieving charitable status.

Languages Spoken: English

Contact James Evans

Address

Tozers LLP

Broadwalk House

Southernhay West

Exeter

Devon



Phone 01392 207896

Website

Resume

LICENSE

Country

Status

Acquired

Updated

United Kingdom

Currently Registered

16/09/96

09/03/20

We found no instances of professional misconduct for this solicitor

WORK EXPERIENCE

Title

Name

Duration

SRA-approved manager - Member

Tozers

?-present