Harper Macleod LLP

0131 247 2500

Harper Macleod is a leading independent Scottish law firm with offices in Glasgow, Edinburgh, Inverness, Lerwick and Thurso, offering a full range of commercial and personal legal services across Scotland, the UK and further afield. At Harper Macleod, it's all about you, not us. We put your needs at the heart of everything we do. We believe that your success determines our success and because no two clients are the same to us, we'll work harder than anyone else to understand your needs and objectives. You need problem solvers and advisers, not just lawyers.

4.6/5 137 Customer Reviews 137 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Harper Macleod LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Harper Macleod LLP on ReviewSolicitors

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Harper Macleod LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Show more

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

137 Customer Reviews

4.6/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    111
  • Very Good
    18
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    8

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
James
Verified James Added 7 months ago Report to admin
July 10, 2019 20190710112531

Excellent, friendly and efficient service.

5

Excellent, friendly and efficient service.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Verified Anonymous Added 7 months ago Report to admin
July 09, 2019 20190709150812

Was very satisfied with the financial outcome

5

I was very reluctant to take part in financial mediation for lots of reasons but was very glad I was ‘persuaded’ by my other half to go through the process . I wasn’t expecting it to be on such a personal level , rather thinking it was more of a box ticking exercise re pensions etc . I was resistant at first to sharing feelings with Karen and her colleague , Amanda but by the end of the sessions I felt a weight lifted and was very satisfied with the financial outcome . Thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jason
Verified Jason Added 8 months ago Report to admin
June 24, 2019 20190624140416

Unbelievably supportive and helpful

5

Lynsey Brown and team have been unbelievably supportive and helpful during my adoption case. I would definitely recommend her to anyone looking for legal help.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 1 year ago Report to admin
October 17, 2018 20181017010000

Really appreciated the help and advice at a difficult time.

5

The discussions helped in my negotiations and put my mind at ease, for which I’m very grateful.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 1 year ago Report to admin
October 16, 2018 20181016010000

Frequently kept us up-to-date with the progress on the sale.

5

Astrid was very helpful throughout the process of selling our late father's home.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gary
Gary Added 1 year ago Report to admin
October 15, 2018 20181015010000

In my dealings with Harper Macleod I recieved first class service, thanks to Sharon Nisbet

5

In my dealings with Harper Macleod I recieved first class service, thanks to Sharon Nisbet

Was this review helpful? Yes

Patricia
Patricia Added 1 year ago Report to admin
October 02, 2018 20181002010000

The caring professional attitude made a difficult time more bearable.

5

I've used Harper Macleod for both selling and and purchasing of property. They have provided an excellent service on all occassions. I also had the pleasure to deal with the firm on the administration of my late fathers estate.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 1 year ago Report to admin
September 19, 2018 20180919010000

The level of professionalism by all was of the highest standard.

5

So glad I decided to ask Harper Macleod to deal with my case.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 1 year ago Report to admin
August 30, 2018 20180830010000

I can just say you were brilliant.

5

There was always somebody there to welcome me and communicate with me

Was this review helpful? Yes

Martin
Martin Added 1 year ago Report to admin
August 23, 2018 20180823010000

Harpers is an excellent company to deal with - nothing seems a problem

5

Harpers is an excellent company to deal with - nothing seems a problem

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Lesley
Lesley Added 2 years ago Report to admin
October 16, 2017
Collected on
20171016084631

Lesley Lawson

5

Very efficient, friendly , and are there to support whenever needed .

Was this review helpful? Yes

Appel
Appel Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
February 08, 2020
Collected on
20200208153011

Appel

5

Most of my life I have followed the advice of my late father (and the advice to him before, by my grandfather) ... that when you walk along the road and see a brass plaque saying -'solicitor' - keep walking .... or you'll regret it.

Moreton Fraser, who I discovered with a casual internet search for 'employment issue specialists' have a style, level of service along with common sense, that has proven that they are indeed exceptions in a sector that sometimes is not too popular.
An initial enquiry was answered personally by one of the partners at 7am one day, along with an upfront quotation for initial work needed.
A satisfactory end result was obtained following weeks of careful and well-executed dealings.
Highly recommended - and their eventual bill which I was delighted to pay immediately - wouldn't buy them a very big brass plaque!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Neville
Neville Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
January 11, 2020
Collected on
20200111153420

Neville

5

If you need the best of the best you have found them. They really go the extra mile and have proved to be my light at the end of the tunnel

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ian
Ian Added 3 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
November 19, 2019
Collected on
20191119164711

Ian

5

We have been dealing with HM for many years and always get first rate advice at reasonable costs to us, I would recommend without hesitation.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Harper Macleod LLP responded to this review on 19 November, 2019

Thank you Ian for taking the time out to share your experience with us and we are delighted you have been satisfied with our service and are happy to recommend us. If you, or any of your friends or family, require any of our services in the future please get in touch. We're always here to help.

Helen
Helen Added 3 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
November 17, 2019
Collected on
20191117094546

Helen

5

Really excellent service when selling our property, would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

In 1988, Lorne Crerar and another young partner in a Glasgow court firm took a couple of support staff and converted its business division, which had recently started, into a separate commercial practice. The new start was Harpers, which subsequently took over a niche corporate firm called Macleods, to become Harper Macleod. In 2002, Martin Darroch joined the firm as Finance Director and was appointed Chief Executive in 2006 - Harper Macleod was the first firm in Scotland to appoint a non-lawyer chief executive - with the now Professor Crerar as Chairman. Over the years the firm went from strength to strength, expanding its footprint all over Scotland. In 2014, the firm took over niche private client practice, Bird Semple, to significantly extend its offering in personal legal services. Today, Harper Macleod is one of the largest professional partnerships in Scotland, serving clients and their interests in Scotland, the UK and beyond and generating in excess of £26 million in turnover - a figure that has consistently grown regardless of the economic backdrop.


Legal Services
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Disputed Trusts
  • Architects
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Wills
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Annulment
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Stress at Work
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Chronic Pain
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Libel and Defamation
  • Transfers of equity
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Lasting power of attorney
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Consumer Rights
  • Planning
  • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
  • Valuers
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Divorce
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Family Leave
  • Pension Law
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Insurance brokers
  • Disputed Wills
  • Child Law
  • Accountants
  • Lease Extensions
  • Children
  • Family law
  • Injunctions
  • Divorce Mediation
  • Child Abduction
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Serious Injury
  • Head Injury At Work
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Fall From Height
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Financial advisors
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Manual Handling
  • Part Time Workers
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Employment Law
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Professional trustees
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Fixed Fee Divorce
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Trusts
  • Accident At Work
  • Media and Sports
  • Professional Negligence
  • Whiplash
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Barristers
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Pension and property advice
  • Child Custody
  • Dental Negligence
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Financial Matters
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Elderly care home fees
  • Second charges
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • TUPE
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Pedestrian Accident
  • Accident Abroad
  • Domestic Violence
  • Housing disputes
  • Back Injury At Work
  • Housing Management
  • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
  • Disputed Probate
  • Trusts
  • Osteoarthritis
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Child Access
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Head and Brain Injury
  • Supermarket Accident
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Transfer of title
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Slips, Trips and Falls
  • Accidents In Public Places
  • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Surveyors
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Tinnitus
  • Against The Council
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Occupational Asthma
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Children's Accident
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Litigation Law
  • Housing Associations
  • Asbestos Compensation
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Gardening Leave
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Car Accident
  • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • IT professionals
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Child Maintenance
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Injunctions
  • Tax consultants
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Horse Riding Injury
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Civil partnerships
  • Car Passenger
  • Bus and Coach Accident
  • Pay Issue
  • Collaborative Law
  • Road Traffic Accident
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Flexible Working
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Engineers
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Fatal Accident
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Sports Injury
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • No Win No Fee
  • Right to Manage
  • Fatal Asbestos
  • Senior Executives
  • Broken Bone Or Fracture
  • Separation Agreement
  • Professional Discipline
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Industrial Disease Compensation
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Asbestosis
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Repossessions
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Vibration White Finger
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Probate
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Marriage and civil partnerships
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Medical Negligence
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Employment Contracts
  • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
  • Repetitive Strain Injury
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Elderly care
  • Child contact
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • Redundancy
  • High Net Worth Divorce
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Defective Work Equipment
  • Pleural Thickening
  • Remortgaging
  • Amputation
  • Motorbike Accident
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Tax
  • Extending your Lease
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Pleural Plaques (Scotland)
  • Notary
  • MRSA Claims
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Spinal Injury Compensation
  • Property Disputes
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Asbestos Lung Cancer
  • Children's Serious Injury
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Family Mediation
  • Separation
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • Social Services
  • Skiing Injury
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Professional Negligence law
  • Military
  • Mesothelioma Compensation
  • Motor Insurance Policy
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Leasehold properties
  • Cycling Accident
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • GDPR
  • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
  • Agricultural land for sale or development
  • Copyright
  • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
  • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
  • Insurance
  • Competition law
  • Contract law
  • Licensing
  • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Finance
  • Summary Judgment
  • Intellectual Property
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Development loan facilities
  • Guarantees and bonds
  • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
  • Credit Control
  • Equestrian property
  • Commercial Law
  • Patents
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Corporate finance
  • Developer disputes
  • Environment
  • Energy
  • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
  • Engineering contracts
  • Commercial Leases
  • Rights of way issues
  • Maritime and Shipping
  • Employment of farm workers
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Development agreements
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Tax
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Slander
  • Aviation
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Construction
  • Agency agreements
  • Building contracts and professional appointments
  • Management buyouts
  • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
  • Personality and Image Rights
  • Corporate Law
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Domain Names
  • Health and Safety
  • Veterinary negligence
  • Facility maintenance agreements
  • Banking
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Franchising
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Debt Recovery
  • Farming disputes
  • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Purchase of development land
  • Outsourcing agreements
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • In-house training
  • Development plot sales
  • Design rights and product designs
  • Asset Tracing
  • Share option schemes
  • Planning law
  • Statutory Demands
  • Data Protection
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Charities
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Employment - business
  • Environmental policy law
  • Small businesses
  • Computer and IT Law
  • Framework agreements
  • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
  • Setting up a business
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Mediation
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
  • Buying and selling a farm
  • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000