Harper Macleod LLP

0141 221 8888

Harper Macleod is a leading independent Scottish law firm with offices in Glasgow, Edinburgh, Inverness, Lerwick and Thurso, offering a full range of commercial and personal legal services across Scotland, the UK and further afield. At Harper Macleod, it's all about you, not us. We put your needs at the heart of everything we do. We believe that your success determines our success and because no two clients are the same to us, we'll work harder than anyone else to understand your needs and objectives. You need problem solvers and advisers, not just lawyers.

4.6/5 145 Client Reviews 145 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Harper Macleod LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Harper Macleod LLP on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

145 Client Reviews

4.6/5

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    116
  • Very Good
    18
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    11

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Shawn
Shawn Added 4 months ago Report to admin
December 09, 2020 20201209233807

Law firm with a golden soul

5

Matter Type: Family law

I had called around for weeks all over Scotland and even England and had no luck. I was scared, I was involved in a case that nobody wanted to take until I recieved a call from Clare.
She was so kind and understanding and just wonderful. Then also had Graham help bring the end of the case about. They're fighting your corner and they really do go beyond and above for their clients.
Recommended with huge stars. Brilliant, professional, understanding, the best going.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mary
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Harper Macleod LLP. Mary Added 1 year ago Report to admin
July 10, 2019 20190710103848

Always been very satisfied with the service provided

5

Matter Type: Wills

I have been a customer over many years for business and personal matters. I have always been very satisfied with the service provided and have found everyone I have dealt with to be both friendly yet always professional.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Kenneth
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Harper Macleod LLP. Kenneth Added 1 year ago Report to admin
July 10, 2019 20190710103540

Extremely impressed and satisfied with the professionalism and service

5

Matter Type: Wills

We have been extremely impressed and satisfied with the professionalism and service we have recieved from Harper Macleod LLP in their Inverness and Glasgow office and would happily recommend to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Harper Macleod LLP. Anonymous Added 1 year ago Report to admin
July 10, 2019 20190710103242

Delighted to be a client of the firm

5

Matter Type: Wills

I was extremely pleased at how I was looked after at Harper Macleod, and I'm delighted to be a client of the firm.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mr and Mrs Grains
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Harper Macleod LLP. Mr and Mrs Grains Added 1 year ago Report to admin
July 10, 2019 20190710102952

Would recommend Harper Macleod to anyone

5

Matter Type: Wills

Quick, efficient, professional and friendly. Would recommend Harper Macleod to anyone. thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anna
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Harper Macleod LLP. Anna Added 1 year ago Report to admin
July 10, 2019 20190710102344

Brilliant, friendly service

5

Matter Type: Wills

Brilliant, friendly service - always helpful and happy.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Zena
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Harper Macleod LLP. Zena Added 1 year ago Report to admin
July 10, 2019 20190710102130

Very satisfied with the service

5

Matter Type: Wills

Very satisfied with the service. I was kept up to date with progress on a regular basis.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Robin & Celia
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Harper Macleod LLP. Robin & Celia Added 1 year ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
July 10, 2019 20190710101728

A very efficient service

5

Matter Type: Wills

A very efficient service and personalised.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Michael & Gillian
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Harper Macleod LLP. Michael & Gillian Added 1 year ago Report to admin
July 10, 2019 20190710101351

Service was friendly and efficient

5

Matter Type: Wills

Continue as you are. We were able to make an appointment at short notice. Service was friendly and efficient.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Harper Macleod LLP. Anonymous Added 1 year ago Report to admin
July 10, 2019 20190710101118

Fantastic service

5

Matter Type: Wills

Fantastic service from Karyn - worth every penny!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

L
L Added 1 month ago Report to admin
February 19, 2021
Collected on
20210219133309

A client

5

I would definitely recommend this company. Megan Dunbar has been absolutely fantastic helping me and making a difficult situation for me so much easier. I cannot praise her enough!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Rowan
Rowan Added 2 months ago Report to admin
February 11, 2021
Collected on
20210211112724

Rowan

5

Our Start Up Company approached Harper Macleod to help set up company books and receive legal guidance regarding IP.

We received guidance from Jo Nisbet and Gemma Sicci who are part of the entrepreneurship team. Their advice has been absolutely fantastic. I cannot recommend their service enough. They were completely transparent throughout the entire process and ensured that the legal documents were explained in full. This is especially impressive given that the entire process was carried out remotely.

Looking forward to working with Harper Macleod in the future!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Boris
Boris Added 2 months ago 4 found this helpful Report to admin
February 05, 2021
Collected on
20210205083652

Boris

1

This company is a scam man's paradise; they charged me an unreasonable sum of 11,000 pounds just for a letter and their lawyer attended a 30 minutes of meeting, nothing else and gave me an 11, 000 pounds bill that I already paid. I therefore recommend that all of you don't deal with the scam business

Was this review helpful? Yes

Robert
Robert Added 6 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
October 15, 2020
Collected on
20201015131138

Robert

5

I have been dealing with Jamie Watt from Harper Macleod who has been great with all the advice I was needing to help me. Very professional and listened to my case and always got back to me. Also during a zoom call Jamie introduced me to Graham Horsman who was equally as friendly with amazing knowledge in his chosen field which I was very grateful for so I would have no hesitation in recommending Harper MacLeod after dealing with both of the guys mentioned above. Thanks again.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Harper Macleod LLP responded to this review on 15 October, 2020

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us Robert and we are delighted you have been satisfied with the level of service. If you, or any of your friends or family, require any of our services in the future please get in touch. We're always here to help.

Appel
Appel Added 1 year ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
February 08, 2020
Collected on
20200208153011

Appel

5

Most of my life I have followed the advice of my late father (and the advice to him before, by my grandfather) ... that when you walk along the road and see a brass plaque saying -'solicitor' - keep walking .... or you'll regret it.

Moreton Fraser, who I discovered with a casual internet search for 'employment issue specialists' have a style, level of service along with common sense, that has proven that they are indeed exceptions in a sector that sometimes is not too popular.
An initial enquiry was answered personally by one of the partners at 7am one day, along with an upfront quotation for initial work needed.
A satisfactory end result was obtained following weeks of careful and well-executed dealings.
Highly recommended - and their eventual bill which I was delighted to pay immediately - wouldn't buy them a very big brass plaque!

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

In 1988, Lorne Crerar and another young partner in a Glasgow court firm took a couple of support staff and converted its business division, which had recently started, into a separate commercial practice. The new start was Harpers, which subsequently took over a niche corporate firm called Macleods, to become Harper Macleod. In 2002, Martin Darroch joined the firm as Finance Director and was appointed Chief Executive in 2006 - Harper Macleod was the first firm in Scotland to appoint a non-lawyer chief executive - with the now Professor Crerar as Chairman. Over the years the firm went from strength to strength, expanding its footprint all over Scotland. In 2014, the firm took over niche private client practice, Bird Semple, to significantly extend its offering in personal legal services. Today, Harper Macleod is one of the largest professional partnerships in Scotland, serving clients and their interests in Scotland, the UK and beyond and generating in excess of £26 million in turnover - a figure that has consistently grown regardless of the economic backdrop.


Regulated By:
Law Society of Scotland

Legal Services

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000