Harper Macleod LLP

0141 221 8888

Harper Macleod is a leading independent Scottish law firm with offices in Glasgow, Edinburgh, Inverness, Lerwick and Thurso, offering a full range of commercial and personal legal services across Scotland, the UK and further afield. At Harper Macleod, it's all about you, not us. We put your needs at the heart of everything we do. We believe that your success determines our success and because no two clients are the same to us, we'll work harder than anyone else to understand your needs and objectives. You need problem solvers and advisers, not just lawyers.

4.6/5 138 Client Reviews 138 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Harper Macleod LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Harper Macleod LLP on ReviewSolicitors

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Harper Macleod LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Show more

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

138 Client Reviews

4.6/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    111
  • Very Good
    18
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    9

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Mary
Verified Mary Added 1 year ago Report to admin
July 10, 2019 20190710113848

Always been very satisfied with the service provided

5

Matter Type: Wills

I have been a customer over many years for business and personal matters. I have always been very satisfied with the service provided and have found everyone I have dealt with to be both friendly yet always professional.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Kenneth
Verified Kenneth Added 1 year ago Report to admin
July 10, 2019 20190710113540

Extremely impressed and satisfied with the professionalism and service

5

Matter Type: Wills

We have been extremely impressed and satisfied with the professionalism and service we have recieved from Harper Macleod LLP in their Inverness and Glasgow office and would happily recommend to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Verified Anonymous Added 1 year ago Report to admin
July 10, 2019 20190710113242

Delighted to be a client of the firm

5

Matter Type: Wills

I was extremely pleased at how I was looked after at Harper Macleod, and I'm delighted to be a client of the firm.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mr and Mrs Grains
Verified Mr and Mrs Grains Added 1 year ago Report to admin
July 10, 2019 20190710112952

Would recommend Harper Macleod to anyone

5

Matter Type: Wills

Quick, efficient, professional and friendly. Would recommend Harper Macleod to anyone. thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anna
Verified Anna Added 1 year ago Report to admin
July 10, 2019 20190710112344

Brilliant, friendly service

5

Matter Type: Wills

Brilliant, friendly service - always helpful and happy.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Zena
Verified Zena Added 1 year ago Report to admin
July 10, 2019 20190710112130

Very satisfied with the service

5

Matter Type: Wills

Very satisfied with the service. I was kept up to date with progress on a regular basis.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Robin & Celia
Verified Robin & Celia Added 1 year ago Report to admin
July 10, 2019 20190710111728

A very efficient service

5

Matter Type: Wills

A very efficient service and personalised.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Michael & Gillian
Verified Michael & Gillian Added 1 year ago Report to admin
July 10, 2019 20190710111351

Service was friendly and efficient

5

Matter Type: Wills

Continue as you are. We were able to make an appointment at short notice. Service was friendly and efficient.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Verified Anonymous Added 1 year ago Report to admin
July 10, 2019 20190710111118

Fantastic service

5

Matter Type: Wills

Fantastic service from Karyn - worth every penny!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Verified Anonymous Added 1 year ago Report to admin
July 10, 2019 20190710110923

Very helpful and quick to sort my affairs out.

5

Matter Type: Wills

I found Karyn Richmond very helpful and quick to sort my affairs out.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Appel
Appel Added 7 months ago Report to admin
February 08, 2020
Collected on
20200208153011

Appel

5

Most of my life I have followed the advice of my late father (and the advice to him before, by my grandfather) ... that when you walk along the road and see a brass plaque saying -'solicitor' - keep walking .... or you'll regret it.

Moreton Fraser, who I discovered with a casual internet search for 'employment issue specialists' have a style, level of service along with common sense, that has proven that they are indeed exceptions in a sector that sometimes is not too popular.
An initial enquiry was answered personally by one of the partners at 7am one day, along with an upfront quotation for initial work needed.
A satisfactory end result was obtained following weeks of careful and well-executed dealings.
Highly recommended - and their eventual bill which I was delighted to pay immediately - wouldn't buy them a very big brass plaque!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ian
Ian Added 10 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
November 19, 2019
Collected on
20191119164711

Ian

5

We have been dealing with HM for many years and always get first rate advice at reasonable costs to us, I would recommend without hesitation.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Harper Macleod LLP responded to this review on 19 November, 2019

Thank you Ian for taking the time out to share your experience with us and we are delighted you have been satisfied with our service and are happy to recommend us. If you, or any of your friends or family, require any of our services in the future please get in touch. We're always here to help.

Ian
Ian Added 11 months ago Report to admin
October 17, 2019
Collected on
20191017134246

Ian

4

Have used on several occasions

Was this review helpful? Yes

Harper Macleod LLP responded to this review on 17 October, 2019

Thank you Ian for taking the time out to share your experience with us. We are delighted you continue to be satisfied with our services. If you, or any of your friends or family, require any of our services in the future please get in touch. We're always here to help.

Jack
Jack Added 1 year ago Report to admin
September 14, 2019
Collected on
20190914090244

Jack

5

Over the last 7 years I have used Harper and MacLeod services including dealings with my elderly mother. During each consultation I have found them to be professional, tine giving and empathetic towards each of the challenges discussed. I have qualms in recommending their services to family and friends.

I would personally like to extend a special thank you to Jacqueline Meikle, Julie Steel and Pamela Niven for their time, patience and expertise during each individual consultation.

Many thanks Jack Craig

Was this review helpful? Yes

Raymond
Raymond Added 1 year ago 6 found this helpful Report to admin
November 16, 2018
Collected on
20181116120601

Raymond Strathearn

1

After reading the reviews I am delighted I will not be pursuing my losses with this company. Victoria came on the phone didn't know the facts of the matter at all. The only fact she did know was her fee, then at the end of the call saying "bye-bye" in a sarcastic high voice...like she had won the conversation...Anyone reading this please use Digby Brown they care more about the clients losses, rather than money-making.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Harper Macleod LLP responded to this review on 16 November, 2018

Hi Raymond, Thank you for getting in touch to let us know you were not satisfied with the service you received. We have passed your message onto our team for review and if you would like to discuss the matter further please get in touch at marketing@harpermacleod.co.uk. Thank you.

About This Branch

Description

In 1988, Lorne Crerar and another young partner in a Glasgow court firm took a couple of support staff and converted its business division, which had recently started, into a separate commercial practice. The new start was Harpers, which subsequently took over a niche corporate firm called Macleods, to become Harper Macleod. In 2002, Martin Darroch joined the firm as Finance Director and was appointed Chief Executive in 2006 - Harper Macleod was the first firm in Scotland to appoint a non-lawyer chief executive - with the now Professor Crerar as Chairman. Over the years the firm went from strength to strength, expanding its footprint all over Scotland. In 2014, the firm took over niche private client practice, Bird Semple, to significantly extend its offering in personal legal services. Today, Harper Macleod is one of the largest professional partnerships in Scotland, serving clients and their interests in Scotland, the UK and beyond and generating in excess of £26 million in turnover - a figure that has consistently grown regardless of the economic backdrop.


Legal Services

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000