• The Plaza
  • L3 9QJ
  • 03454020001
  • www.jmw.co.uk

JMW Solicitors

03454020001

JMW is a full-service law firm providing legal services and advice for both businesses and individuals. For more than 40 years, we have been fighting to achieve a positive outcome for our clients to get them the results they deserve. With three offices in the UK, our head office in Manchester, a full-service office in London and one of our specialist family law teams in Liverpool, we can help clients across the country no matter who you are and what you require. We build close working relationships with our clients and in your time of need we are the legal experts to have in your corner.

4.1/5 177 Customer Reviews 177
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How JMW Solicitors compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of JMW Solicitors on ReviewSolicitors

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that JMW Solicitors offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Show more

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

177 Customer Reviews

4.1/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    133
  • Very Good
    5
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    2
  • Awful
    36

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Rue
Rue Added 9 months ago Report to admin
February 12, 2019 20190212000000

MADE IT LOOK EASY

5

Very impressed with all that jmw solicitors have done to get my house move and all legal work across the line, the work rate has been immense and without any hassle or me having to chase. definitely made the process stress free.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ewa
Ewa Added 9 months ago Report to admin
February 12, 2019 20190212000000

I would like to recommend this company

5

I would like to recommend this company to anyone. They are professional and very helpful. I'm very grateful to Mrs Kris Pye for all hard work.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mark
Mark Added 9 months ago Report to admin
February 11, 2019 20190211000000

Excellent service

5

Excellent service and kept me well informed during the house selling process. Would not hesitate to recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gul
Gul Added 1 year ago Report to admin
November 12, 2018 20181112000000

Friendly hard worker outstanding people

5

Friendly hard worker outstanding people and here for you any time as you need them very happy from there job.

Was this review helpful? Yes

John
John Added 1 year ago Report to admin
November 09, 2018 20181109000000

Excellent Customer Service, outstanding legal representation.

5

I have dealt with this company twice now in the last 2 years. First of all with Mike Rainford a partner at the firm, Mike was professional and approachable throughout this difficult period for myself and for my wife. He told us exactly what he was going to do and then.....more importantly he did exactly as he said he would , every single time. I would recommend Mike and this company to anyone who is looking for top notch representation while still maintaining a level of contact that fills you with confidence. Secondly and more recently I was represented in a motoring case by Hojol Uddin from JMW Solitors. Right from the very first meeting and conversation with Mr Uddin I had a confidence in his ability to represent me and his understanding of the needs of my case. He kept I constant contact with me , even out of hours, advised me of my options, allowed me time to make important decisions and then formulated a plan. His courtroom skills were outstanding in my case and I really felt like I was being represented wholeheartedly from the very start of my case right through to the conclusion in court. I would recommend either one of these men for legal advice, legal representation and just to talk to you in a language you can understand. Cannot speak highly enough of the firm, the firms partner Mike Rainford and the motoring expert Hojol Uddin.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Peter
Peter Added 1 year ago Report to admin
October 12, 2018 20181012010000

Hojol Uddin and the d v l a licence revocation

5

I have dealt with Hojol Uddin now over a period of 3/4 years and found him extraordinarily helpful with advice on the telephone and face to face with consultations - my problems as a 70 + year old driver have related to the d v l a and visual field and acuity issues raised by them after principally being sent to specsavers and previously following Hojol's advice initially got a 1 year group 1 licence and just very recently after a further revocation by the d v l a taking Hojol's advice have just had 3 year licence issued after a reapplication supported by Hojol He has at all times been very approachable and supportive and I would have no hesitation in reccomending him

Was this review helpful? Yes

Helen
Helen Added 1 year ago Report to admin
August 30, 2018 20180830010000

Excellent turnaround on our remortgage…

5

Excellent turnaround on our remortgage - kept us informed of progress by email, text messages and phone. And got the cashback same week as completion.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Becky
Becky Added 1 year ago Report to admin
August 29, 2018 20180829010000

5 star service all the way through!

5

Irene was our appointed solicitor and dealt with our sale and our purchase. Our sale went through in just over 5 weeks due to her being on top of everything. Our purchase took slightly longer due to the incompetent solicitor our vendor was using. Irene, Tom and Liam all worked really hard to push our purchase through and had to deal with this incompetency on our behalf which tested their patience to say the least but they persevered and did everything they could to make sure things weren’t being delayed more than they already had been. Absolute pleasure to speak with and if we weren’t sure on anything it was explained thoroughly. We have already recommended JMW to a few people and now wouldn’t use anyone else. Thank you for everything from the McManus family!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Karen
Karen Added 1 year ago Report to admin
August 29, 2018 20180829010000

We would recommend JMW

5

Our experience with JMW was very positive and there was a particular conveyancer, Joe Calado, who was extremely efficient in his dealings with us and other professionals. As there were two different legal companies dealing with our sale and purchase Joe’s prompt responses to all parties involved provided us as clients with confidence and helped expediate what could have been very protracted process. His efficiency was also commented on by the estate agent handling our purchase. We would recommend JMW as a result of this experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Emily
Emily Added 1 year ago Report to admin
August 27, 2018 20180827010000

Excellent conveyancing firm

5

Sarah Hill my conveyancer was always swift to reply by email (and if she was on annual leave her emails were re-directed to a colleague who also responded quickly). She liased well with the vendors solicitors and helped me complete in a timely manner. She explained legal jargon clearly. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Mike
Mike Added 8 months ago Report to admin
March 18, 2019
Collected on
20190318190011

Mike

5

I've worked with this firm for many years great to see them setting up a Liverpool office.

Was this review helpful? Yes

James
James Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
November 25, 2019
Collected on
20191125064206

James

1

During the transaction I was told verbally without any written evidence that the lender for the bridge / mortgage, made it a requirement that our party needed to get ILA from another solicitor. Christopher pointed me to the JMW London Office where I meet with Thiara Malik. I spent 52 minutes inside the London office and in this time read the contracts that required signing, signed contracts and then left, for this service I was overly charged £780.

I have used JMW multiple times for conveyance and previously, ILA was conducted without charge / cost from another member of JMW staff not actively working on the case or I was able to get ILA from a family solicitor and charged a reasonable fee of £50.

Upon signing documents, I was told by Thiara, that she would ensure a copy of the documents I reviewed and signed would be scanned and copies issued to me via email for me to check more in-depth the following day, with the understanding that if there were any other points requiring clarity / amendment, I would have Wednesday 11th September, to bring those matters to Christopher Bradburn, for him to deal with those points prior to 13th September completion. I had not received a scanned copy or email from Thiara within the time scales promised and the opportunity to double check the documents signed more closely lapsed.

There are 3 area’s of dissatisfaction from JMW which seek readdress:

1. Overcharging of ILA by £780. Given a family solicitor has done this for £50 and I would spend 30 minutes to 1 hour of their time, charging £780 for this service is exhortation. I understand that there are tight time scales but I believe I have been taken advantage of and forced to pay this amount. I think any where from £50 - £200 is fair value but £780 is unacceptable. I request a partial refund. If JMW believe with is acceptable then you will need to let me know how this figure was calculated and derived.

2. I feel JMW may have forced me into using JMW London for ILA so I can be overcharged and you can increase income from this case. When Christopher Bradburn told me ILA was needed, I suggested using my family solicitor, he told me verbally that the lender said it would speed up the process if I used JMW. I asked and requested Christopher for him to confirm the lenders requirement in writing. To date he has been unable too. I requested a copy of written evidence from the lender, that they have requested ILA from JMW and not from any other solicitor.

3. It’s disappointing to be over charged but then not have the service I have over paid for delivered in it’s entirety on time. Following my visit to JMW London, I was told by Thiara I would receive a copy of the documents the next day, so I could review them and have the opportunity to discuss further points with Christopher. The signed documents where not sent to me by Thiara on Wednesday 11th September but by Christopher on Thursday 12th September after requesting this from him. As I received the documents on 12th instead of 11th September, I lost the ability to check signed documents before completion on 13th September. I over out of office all day on 12th September.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Lucas
Lucas Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
November 24, 2019
Collected on
20191124160644

Lucas

5

The go to place for conveyancing. Professional, helpful and quick to reply.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Christopher
Christopher Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
November 22, 2019
Collected on
20191122135641

Christopher

1

Absolute disgrace of a company. Lies, poor communication and dealing with inexperienced professionals.

Was this review helpful? Yes

jay
jay Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
November 21, 2019
Collected on
20191121050038

jay

5

Fantastic solicitor's, very professional, caring and hard working. As they say, you get what you pay for, JMW Solicitors, worked hard, and got a great result.

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

Since 1978, we have been helping people and organisations in all kinds of legal matters, meaning we have a great and deep understanding of the law. All of our specialist departments are Partner-led with the aim of working for clients with clarity and determination. We recognise that when you instruct a solicitor or lawyer you are making a very important decision, so it’s important that you are assured that your choice of firm can not only do their job, but can do it efficiently, keeping you informed and giving you the best advice available.


Legal Services
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Fatal Accident
  • Part Time Workers
  • Special Reasons
  • Transfers of equity
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Drink driving
  • Tax
  • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
  • Convicted in absence
  • Taxi offences - licensing investigations
  • Car Passenger
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Dangerous vehicle conditions
  • Driving Without Due Care
  • Social Services
  • Housing Associations
  • Drunk in charge
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Murder and Manslaughter
  • Litigation Law
  • Actions against the police
  • No Win No Fee
  • TUPE
  • Lease Extensions
  • Industrial Disease Compensation
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Careless driving
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Financial advisors
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Leasehold properties
  • Asbestos Compensation
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Flexible Working
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Broken Bone Or Fracture
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Children
  • Probate
  • Driving without a licence
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Notice of intended prosecution
  • Housing Management
  • Redundancy
  • Slips, Trips and Falls
  • Early return of driving licence
  • Financial Matters
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Whiplash
  • Family Mediation
  • Remortgaging
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Valuers
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Supermarket Accident
  • Failure to furnish identification
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Appeal driving conviction
  • Separation Agreement
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Family law
  • Speeding offences
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Death By Careless Driving
  • Disputed Wills
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Goods vehicles - tachograph offences
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Professional Negligence
  • Right to Manage
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Civil partnerships
  • Stress at Work
  • Sports Injury
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Senior Executives
  • Criminal defence - All
  • Head and Brain Injury
  • Wills
  • Trusts
  • Drugs offences
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Defective Work Equipment
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Car Accident
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • MRSA Claims
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Totting Up Driving Ban
  • Insurance brokers
  • Criminal Damage
  • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Disputed Trusts
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Benefits
  • Failing to notify DVLA
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Business Crime
  • Road rage incidents
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • EEA Registration Cards
  • Exceptional Hardship
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Discretionary disqualification
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • EEA Residence Permits
  • Injunctions
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
  • Accidents In Public Places
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Injunctions
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Road Traffic Accident
  • EEA Family Permits
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Disputed Probate
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Transfer of title
  • Recognition of disqualification
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Death by dangerous driving
  • Regulatory Defence
  • Bus and Coach Accident
  • Property Disputes
  • IT professionals
  • Human Rights
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • Gardening Leave
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Failure to provide a specimen
  • Mobile phone offences
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Children's Accident
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Chronic Pain
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
  • Asbestosis
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Skiing Injury
  • Libel and Defamation
  • Housing
  • Separation
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Child Law
  • Dangerous driving
  • Repossessions
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Driving Whilst Unfit
  • Spinal Injury Compensation
  • Taxi offences
  • Extending your Lease
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Surveyors
  • Terrorism Abroad
  • Holiday Accidents and Illness
  • Fatal Asbestos
  • Theft
  • Fraud
  • Disqualification removal
  • Applications for British citizenship
  • Pleural Thickening
  • Professional Conduct
  • New Driver Provisions
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Motorbike Accident
  • Employment Contracts
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Failure to provide a blood sample
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Accident Abroad
  • Pension and property advice
  • Dental Negligence
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Driving whilst disqualified
  • Collaborative Law
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Stopping and reporting
  • Mental Health
  • Travel rights
  • Drug driving
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Pension Law
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Fall From Height
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Medical Negligence
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Asbestos Lung Cancer
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Head Injury At Work
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Police negligence
  • Citizenship
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Pre-publication advice
  • Taxi offences - illegally plying for hire
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Asylum applications and appeals
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
  • Professional trustees
  • Consumer Rights
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Serious Injury
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Assault
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Mesothelioma Compensation
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • International
  • Professional Discipline
  • Family Leave
  • Horse Riding Injury
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Serious injury by dangerous driving
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Manual Handling
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Housing disputes
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Trusts
  • Amputation
  • Cycling Accident
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Restoration of licence
  • Children's Serious Injury
  • Goods vehicles - operators licence
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Buying at auction
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Barristers
  • Notary
  • Accident At Work
  • Pedestrian Accident
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Driving without insurance
  • Taxi offences - points and disqualification
  • Against The Council
  • Malicious falsehood
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Media and Sports
  • Dog Bite
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Signs and signal offences
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Child contact
  • Development plot sales
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Insurance
  • Development loan facilities
  • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
  • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Copyright
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Energy
  • Competition law
  • Franchising
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Construction
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Engineering contracts
  • Purchase of development land
  • Corporate finance
  • Asset Tracing
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Developer disputes
  • Framework agreements
  • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
  • Health and Safety
  • Licensing
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Environment
  • Building contracts and professional appointments
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Tax
  • Charities
  • Credit Control
  • Summary Judgment
  • Commercial Law
  • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
  • Employment - business
  • Banking
  • Setting up a business
  • Development agreements
  • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
  • Finance
  • Rights of way issues
  • Guarantees and bonds
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
  • Data Protection
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Facility maintenance agreements
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Veterinary negligence
  • Management buyouts
  • Mediation
  • Domain Names
  • Debt Recovery
  • Computer and IT Law
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Buying and selling a farm
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Slander
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Statutory Demands
  • Intellectual Property
  • Employment of farm workers
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Corporate Law
  • Personality and Image Rights
  • GDPR
  • Share option schemes
  • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
  • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Equestrian property
  • In-house training
  • Environmental policy law
  • Commercial Leases
  • Farming disputes
  • Agency agreements
  • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
  • Agricultural land for sale or development

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0830 - 1800
  • 0830 - 1800
  • 0830 - 1800
  • 0830 - 1800
  • 0830 - 1800
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000