• 1 Byrom Place
  • M3 3HG
  • 0345 241 0868
  • www.jmw.co.uk

JMW Solicitors

0345 241 0868

JMW is a full-service law firm providing legal services and advice for both businesses and individuals. For more than 40 years, we have been fighting to achieve a positive outcome for our clients to get them the results they deserve. With three offices in the UK, our head office in Manchester, a full-service office in London and one of our specialist family law teams in Liverpool, we can help clients across the country no matter who you are and what you require. We build close working relationships with our clients and in your time of need we are the legal experts to have in your corner.

4.0/5 260 Customer Reviews 260 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How JMW Solicitors compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of JMW Solicitors on ReviewSolicitors

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that JMW Solicitors offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Show more

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

260 Customer Reviews

4.0/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    192
  • Very Good
    6
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    2
  • Awful
    59

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Neil
Neil Added 6 days ago Report to admin
July 29, 2020 20200729020158

Terrible experience

1

My company buys 20 properties a year and we used JMW for the last 4 purchase but never again. Please do not use this firm - they are the worst Solicitor I have ever used. Lots of mistakes and you have to constantly chase them to get them to do anything. There App is terrible and does not work properly. They take longer than any other Solicitor to do anything. AVOID AT ALL COSTS

Was this review helpful? Yes

Norman
Norman Added 1 week ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
July 25, 2020 20200725151711

JMW RUDE and DEFENSIVE

1

Solicitor I was dealing with was nothing short of being rude and defensive. Purchased a property in December with no onward chain and it didn't complete until July. When I questioned solicitor on where we were at and what needed to happen she was extremely defensive and argumentative. At thEvAtUpon completion she was adamant I had to pay more money and I queries it and was correct, no apology. Stay well clear, pay a few hundred pounds more for proper solicitors.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Thornton
Thornton Added 1 week ago 3 found this helpful Report to admin
July 24, 2020 20200724205323

Jmw truly awful law firm! Do Not fall for There Publicity trick

1

Plush office, all singing and dancing website DOES NOT MAKE JMW a decent law firm, in fact my experience of them a year ago was terrible. Ignorant lawyers, rubbish service. I would advice anyone with a conveyancing matter or any legal matter to stay away they are only after your money and nothing else- they are purely interested in making profit. There are so many good law firms in Manchester and JMW are right at the bottom of the list of law firms you should even consider approaching!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Abi
Abi Added 1 month ago Report to admin
June 11, 2020 20200611171614

Thank you JMW!!!

5

Very happy with my experience with JMW solicitors thanks to Laura Wilkinson. Great advice and each step was explained in depth from start to finish. I would definitely use again in the future and will be recommending to other people. Thanks again Laura. X

Solicitor named in this review: Laura Wilkinson

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mrs
Mrs Added 1 month ago Report to admin
June 11, 2020 20200611122441

Handled the stress on my behalf - thank you

5

I went in to a local solicitors to ask advice regarding a data protection breech and they recommended that I contact JMW.
From my very first telephone contact through to a successful conclusion, JMW and in particular Laura Wilkinson, were helpful, professional and reassuring. Laura handled everything on my behalf.
I am so thankful and would not hesitate to recommend.

Solicitor named in this review: Laura Wilkinson

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sandy
Sandy Added 1 month ago 6 found this helpful Report to admin
June 08, 2020 20200608192943

Unprofessional and incompetent

1

If you're looking for an unprofessional firm who don't keep you updated, commit to doing things without the intention of following through, pass your case on to someone else without letting anyone know, mention contract changes at the 11th hour and mix you up with other clients then this is the firm for you. I am horrified by my experience with JMW. Whilst working with them, I have dealt with 4 separate conveyancers (the first one left the company, the second was furloughed and the third went on holiday until after our completion). I was told to use an app, then not to use it because it wasn't practical but then updates we're still coming through the app. I constantly had to chase for an update despite being told that I would be given one. I had to prompt them about missing information in searches when I would've expected them to notice the missing information. An exchange was promised and then not acted on which meant our buyers were going to incur an additional fee from their own solicitor (for exchanging/ completing within 7 days). Contract changes were brought up on the day of exchange, weeks after we had received the original contract and I was also mistakenly called on completion day about someone else's case. JMW is not worth the pain. Avoid at all cost.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Caroline
Caroline Added 2 months ago 5 found this helpful Report to admin
May 18, 2020 20200518111923

It would be less stressful to qualify with a law degree than use JMW.

1

Buying your first home is stressful enough, do NOT add to your stress by using JMW for your conveyancing. I had to chase them at every step, triple check everything due to mistakes in documents, cc senior staff, and call/email approximately 3-4 times before receiving a response. Seven months after closing I am still waiting on final documentation.

It would be less stressful and probably quicker to complete a degree in law and do your own conveyancing than using JMW.

A representative from JMW Solicitors responded to this review on 18 May, 2020

Hi Caroline, we are very sorry to hear about your experience with our service. May we ask that you provide us with your case reference and contact details to feedback@jmw.co.uk and we shall look into this for you. Kind regards, JMW.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Omoye
Omoye Added 2 months ago 5 found this helpful Report to admin
May 12, 2020 20200512134225

Aviod, Aviod, Aviod

1

Aviod, Aviod, Aviod
I tried to use them to buy a home using this company. They just kept prolonging the whole process until they frustrated the seller to pull out.
The seller had no chain but the whole process took over 5 months all to no avail - the seller had to pull out.
Very awful company, with inexperience lawyers and very poor communication skills.
I have now lost the home I loved so much.
Avoid like a plague, they will frustrate you.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Joanne
Joanne Added 4 months ago Report to admin
March 27, 2020 20200327155623

Brilliant service

5

Cannot recommend this firm enough. We have just brought our first home and Nikki Vinson dealt with the sale for us from start to finish everything went so smooth and perfect Nikki was absolutely fantastic and did everything she could to help and keep things smooth for us. Thank you so much and if looking for a solicitor for your house move defo go to JMW!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Dylan
Verified Dylan Added 4 months ago Report to admin
March 19, 2020 20200319145442

Excellent

5

Very professional looked after all the way through.kept in the know when needed and always got time to talk.could not be more pleased.regards D HAMER

Solicitor named in this review: Joanne Brine

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Stanley
Stanley Added 6 days ago Report to admin
July 28, 2020
Collected on
20200728201852

Stanley

5

Very friendly staff

Was this review helpful? Yes

David
David Added 1 week ago Report to admin
July 25, 2020
Collected on
20200725181319

David

1

Stay away from them if you have a conveyancing mattter. They made a mess of our commercial property purchase which my business partner was dealing with last year. It just shows stick with who you know and not fall for the marketing and publicity - we always use Wrigley Claydon Solicitors in Oldham but my business partner wanted to try a new firm! what an absolute mistake- the solicitor didnt know what he was talking about, never returned calls etc whereas with Wrigley Claydon Solcitors they are attentive, thorough and provide a very personal touch. We are back to using Wrigley Claydon Solicitors.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Norman
Norman Added 1 week ago Report to admin
July 25, 2020
Collected on
20200725141227

Norman

1

Solicitor I was dealing with was nothing short of being rude and defensive. Purchased a property in December with no onward chain and it didn't complete until July. When I questioned solicitor on where we were at and what needed to happen she was extremely defensive and argumentative. At the completion she was adamant I had to pay more money and I queries it and was correct, no apology. Stay well clear, pay a few hundred pounds more for proper solicitors.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Bradley
Bradley Added 1 week ago Report to admin
July 25, 2020
Collected on
20200725110737

Bradley

1

I would prefer to give no stars as that more accurately represents how awful this firm is. The firm is posting 5 star to push negative reviews down. It’s important for consumers to be aware how dreadful this firm is and hides behind publicity and good marketing.

After speaking to a member of staff at this firm her preliminary review of my case is and I quote " not something I would want to take. .. Not something I could confidently take on."

So as its not something she wants to do she then began to tell me the reason and again I quote "it would cost to much to investigate for what we would get in return."

So not only is this firm lazy but also bone idle proving that by what I've quoted. They are only bothered about quick, easy pay day results. Rather than helping the people that contact them.

It wasn't all bad the woman I spoke to had a friendly telephone voice but that's just to hide the are just money grabbing and lazy.

I can't stress enough not to use this firm.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mr
Mr Added 1 week ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
July 24, 2020
Collected on
20200724194431

A client

1

Plush office, all singing and dancing website DOES NOT MAKE JMW a decent law firm, in fact my experience of them a year ago was terrible. Ignorant lawyers, rubbish service. I would advice anyone with a conveyancing matter or any legal matter to stay away they are only after your money and nothing else- they are purely interested in making profit. There are so many good law firms in Manchester and JMW are right at the bottom of the list of law firms you should even consider approaching!

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

Since 1978, we have been helping people and organisations in all kinds of legal matters, meaning we have a great and deep understanding of the law. All of our specialist departments are Partner-led with the aim of working for clients with clarity and determination. We recognise that when you instruct a solicitor or lawyer you are making a very important decision, so it’s important that you are assured that your choice of firm can not only do their job, but can do it efficiently, keeping you informed and giving you the best advice available.


Legal Services

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0830 - 1800
  • 0830 - 1800
  • 0830 - 1800
  • 0830 - 1800
  • 0830 - 1800
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000