Request a callback

Book an appointment

How JMW Solicitors Compares

Value for money

This firm - 92%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of JMW Solicitors on ReviewSolicitors.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 93%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used JMW Solicitors and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how JMW Solicitors performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 89%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used JMW Solicitors and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how JMW Solicitors compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that JMW Solicitors offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.7/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    401
  • Very Good

    13
  • Average

    4
  • Poor

    7
  • Awful

    29

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
David

Matter Type:

Landlord and Tenant

David

July 16, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Repossession case for landlord

JMW represented our company with a rent arrears and repossession case all subject to very restrictive extensions to repossession notice periods introduced by UK government. We gained vacant possession without going to court and far quicker than we could have hoped when the action stated. Neli Borisova and David Smith did a great job and were quick to respond to our requests for help.

Was this review helpful?

Greg

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Greg

April 07, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Successful completion

We had few initial communication issues with JMW however after raising the issue it was rectified and lead us to successful completion a week later.

Was this review helpful?

Stephanie

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Stephanie

March 18, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Layla and Jordanne fantastic

Very pleased with these solicitors - Layla is amazing kept me up to date throughout my purchase, listened to me when I was stressing out and was always available I’m so pleased that I inherited a second home and have instructed them to sell this as well. Really easy app process that keeps me up to date and I can enter information and send back forms from my phone 📲?

Was this review helpful?

Jaeyeon

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used JMW Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Tier 2 (sponsored skilled workers)

Jaeyeon

February 25, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Big Thanks to JMW


I am a Korean artist. I was very lucky to meet Loretta Weber-Pang at JMW Solicitors who was my solicitor looking after me while I was preparing for LTR application. She is very prompt to respond, always kindly explains everything I need, and her work ability is brilliant. Also, she was very patient all the time. I really enjoyed working with her. Thank you so much for your support. I will never forget this.

Was this review helpful?

Teresa

Teresa

February 09, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

absolutely avoid

I don't even know where to start from! Poor service, unprofessional, abusive, overcharging for the services,
AWFUL!!!
Poor service
Overcharging
Unprofessional
Frustrating to deal with

Was this review helpful?

Andrew

Matter Type:

New home purchases and sales

Andrew

February 04, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Sale and Purchase of a home - faliure

Very poor service.
Unresponsive to my requirements and very slow to respond to the transactions.
They failed in selling and subsequent purchasing of property for me.

Was this review helpful?

Sooty

Matter Type:

New home purchases and sales

Sooty

January 28, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent

Owen and his team are first rate excellent service could not recommended more, Rachel Houghton

Was this review helpful?

Louis

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used JMW Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Tier 2 (sponsored skilled workers)

Louis

January 27, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Outstanding!

A musician could not have better representation. Nothing about working with Loretta feels contrived or awkward because: she is highly qualified and knows everything about her field of work inside-out, backwards and in every other conceivable permutation, and is happy to patiently explain these things to us in perfectly understandable layman's terms. She is with us every step of the way, establishing with everyone involved a very human and inclusive connection that nurtures indubitable success - her track record is, therefore (and unsurprisingly), nothing short of stellar, with a striking diversity of clientele that reflects her wide yet very relevant interests.

Was this review helpful?

Elisabeth Sharp

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used JMW Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Visas

Elisabeth Sharp

January 12, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Global Talent - grateful for service

Loretta was patient, knowledgeable, communicative, kind, and a good guide.

I am an author who teaches online at Harvard University. My family and I hired Loretta to handle our Global Talent applications. When we hit hiccups along the way, Loretta worked diligently to resolve them as best she could, and she was successful. She kept all of our paperwork organized and clear, and made herself available to us for all of our questions. We are very grateful for our experience working with her.

Was this review helpful?

Helen

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Helen

January 12, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great service for conveyancing

I would thoroughly recommend JMW for all conveyancing services. We were kept informed during the whole process and even during these difficult times our calls and emails were dealt with promptly and professionally. Irene really helped us understand the process and was great and efficient to deal with.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Kaysara

Kaysara

July 15, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Kaysara

JMW was simply amazing. Good value and great communication. I have dealt with a few conveyancers and JMW was by far the best experience I have had. I had a tight deadline after a different property fell through, and they did everything possible to ensure that my purchase went through in time. Would highly recommend!

Was this review helpful?

makaveli

makaveli

July 14, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

makaveli

Can't keep to deadlines and takes longer than expected to get a response.

Was this review helpful?

Susan

Susan

July 02, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Susan

Don’t use this company for conveyancing. I was purchasing and the estate agent’s recommended them but it was all a very frustrating experience. It took an inordinate amount of time to buy this flat, far longer than it should have done as my vendor and her solicitor were efficient, as was I, and I was a cash buyer. The main problem was that my solicitor, though polite and nice when I actually got hold of her, was lax at communicating and was not open to discussing any of the questions I had. COVID home working probably didn’t help but I found all the call handlers detached and dismissive - indeed, I felt totally adrift which was very stressful. My advice: keep clear.

Was this review helpful?

Ceri

Ceri

June 30, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Ceri

I appointed JMW to assist with the sale of my property. I could not fault their service. They were very responsive and everything was handled promptly and professionally. The Buyer wanted to make the stamp duty holiday and gave us very little warning, but JMW pushed everything through to ensure it was completed on time. The whole process took less than 2 month.
Would thoroughly recommend and definitely use JMW again, should I require solicitors in the future.

Was this review helpful?

Adam

Adam

June 29, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Adam

Really good conveyancing service. Helen led my case and was friendly and responsive throughout, ensuring everything was completed before the stamp duty deadline. The app was also helpful for getting started.

Was this review helpful?

JMW Solicitors are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Since 1978, we have been helping people and organisations in all kinds of legal matters, meaning we have a great and deep understanding of the law. All of our specialist departments are Partner-led with the aim of working for clients with clarity and determination. We recognise that when you instruct a solicitor or lawyer you are making a very important decision, so it’s important that you are assured that your choice of firm can not only do their job, but can do it efficiently, keeping you informed and giving you the best advice available.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Clinical Negligence
    • Accident and Emergency Claims
    • Amputation Negligence Claims
    • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
    • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
    • Birth Injury Claims
    • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
    • Blood Transfusion Claims
    • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
    • C. Difficile Claims
    • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
    • Cerebral Palsy Claims
    • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Clinical Negligence
    • Cochlear Implant Claims
    • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
    • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
    • Defective Medical Device Claims
    • Dental Negligence
    • Dental Negligence Claims
    • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
    • Diabetes Claims
    • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
    • Eye Surgery Claims
    • Failed Sterilisation Claims
    • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
    • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
    • Fertility Negligence Claims
    • GP Negligence Claims
    • Group B Streptococcus Claims
    • Hospital Negligence Claims
    • Knee Replacement Claims
    • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
    • Laser Treatment Claims
    • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • MRSA Claims
    • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Medical Negligence
    • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
    • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
    • Nerve Damage Claims
    • Nerve Injury Claims
    • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
    • Oral Cancer Claims
    • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
    • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Periodontal Disease Claims
    • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
    • Pressure Sore Claims
    • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Restorative Dentistry Claims
    • Sepsis Negligence Claims
    • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
    • Spinal Surgery Claims
    • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
    • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Surgery Compensation Claims
    • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
    • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Libel and Defamation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Malicious falsehood
    • Pre-publication advice
    • Travel rights
  • Crime/ Criminal Defence
    • Assault
    • Business Crime
    • Criminal Damage
    • Criminal defence - All
    • Drugs offences
    • Fraud
    • Murder and Manslaughter
    • Professional Conduct
    • Regulatory Defence
    • Theft
  • Driving offences
    • Appeal driving conviction
    • Careless driving
    • Convicted in absence
    • Dangerous driving
    • Dangerous vehicle conditions
    • Death By Careless Driving
    • Death by dangerous driving
    • Discretionary disqualification
    • Disqualification removal
    • Drink driving
    • Driving Whilst Unfit
    • Driving Without Due Care
    • Driving whilst disqualified
    • Driving without a licence
    • Driving without insurance
    • Drug driving
    • Drunk in charge
    • Early return of driving licence
    • Exceptional Hardship
    • Failing to notify DVLA
    • Failure to furnish identification
    • Failure to provide a blood sample
    • Failure to provide a specimen
    • Goods vehicles - operators licence
    • Goods vehicles - tachograph offences
    • Mobile phone offences
    • New Driver Provisions
    • Notice of intended prosecution
    • Recognition of disqualification
    • Restoration of licence
    • Road rage incidents
    • Serious injury by dangerous driving
    • Signs and signal offences
    • Special Reasons
    • Speeding offences
    • Stopping and reporting
    • Taxi offences
    • Taxi offences - illegally plying for hire
    • Taxi offences - licensing investigations
    • Taxi offences - points and disqualification
    • Totting Up Driving Ban
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Media and Sports
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Immigration
    • Administrative reviews, appeals and judicial reviews
    • Applications for British citizenship
    • Asylum applications and appeals
    • Citizenship
    • EEA Family Permits
    • EEA Registration Cards
    • EEA Residence Permits
    • Human Rights
    • Immigration Law
    • Tier 1 (investors, entrepreneurs and exceptional talent)
    • Tier 2 (sponsored skilled workers)
    • Tier 4 (students)
    • Tier 5 (temporary workers)
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Notary
    • Notary
  • Personal Injury
    • Accident Abroad
    • Accident At Work
    • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
    • Accidents In Public Places
    • Against The Council
    • Amputation
    • Asbestos Compensation
    • Asbestos Lung Cancer
    • Asbestosis
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Broken Bone Or Fracture
    • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
    • Bus and Coach Accident
    • Car Accident
    • Car Passenger
    • Children's Accident
    • Children's Serious Injury
    • Chronic Pain
    • Cycling Accident
    • Defective Work Equipment
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Dog Bite
    • Fall From Height
    • Fatal Accident
    • Fatal Asbestos
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Head Injury At Work
    • Head and Brain Injury
    • Holiday Accidents and Illness
    • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
    • Horse Riding Injury
    • Industrial Disease Compensation
    • Manual Handling
    • Mesothelioma Compensation
    • Motorbike Accident
    • No Win No Fee
    • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
    • Pedestrian Accident
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Pleural Thickening
    • Road Traffic Accident
    • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
    • Serious Injury
    • Skiing Injury
    • Slips, Trips and Falls
    • Spinal Injury Compensation
    • Sports Injury
    • Supermarket Accident
    • Terrorism Abroad
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
    • Whiplash
    • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Professional Negligence
    • Barristers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional Negligence
    • Professional trustees
    • Surveyors
    • Valuers
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • International
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
    • Veterinary negligence
  • Banking
    • Banking
  • Charities
    • Charities
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Insurance
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Slander
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Construction
    • Building contracts and professional appointments
    • Construction
    • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
    • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
    • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
    • Development agreements
    • Development loan facilities
    • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
    • Engineering contracts
    • Facility maintenance agreements
    • Framework agreements
    • Guarantees and bonds
    • In-house training
    • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
    • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
    • Computer and IT Law
    • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
    • Copyright
    • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
    • Domain Names
    • GDPR
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
    • Personality and Image Rights
  • Regulations
    • Environment
    • Health and Safety
    • Licensing

Opening times

  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0830 - 1800
  • 0830 - 1800
  • 0830 - 1800
  • 0830 - 1800
  • 0830 - 1800
  • Closed
  • Closed
Book an appointment