Request a callback

Book an appointment

Generate Conveyancing Quote

How Nelsons Solicitors Limited Compares

Value for money

This firm - 96%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Nelsons Solicitors Limited on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Nelsons Solicitors Limited. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 16%
About Right 83%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 96%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Nelsons Solicitors Limited and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Nelsons Solicitors Limited performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 96%
No 4%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 96%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Nelsons Solicitors Limited and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Nelsons Solicitors Limited compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 96%
No 4%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Nelsons Solicitors Limited offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.8/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    577
  • Very Good

    17
  • Average

    4
  • Poor

    3
  • Awful

    20

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Stewart

Matter Type:

Road Traffic Accident

Stewart

May 14, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Motor Traffic injury claim

The advice and handling of our case was professional and we reached a satisfactory result after we had experienced a less than good service with a previous solicitor. Our solicitor was courteous, gave good advice and progressed our claim well.
We would recommend this firm again.

Was this review helpful?

Robert

Robert

May 09, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Thorough and professional

As you'd hope for from a property specialist, Matthew is very thorough and detailed in his client's interests.

Was this review helpful?

Priya

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Nelsons Solicitors Limited.

Matter Type:

Child Arrangements Following Divorce

Priya

May 09, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Forever Grateful!!

I cannot put into words what this amazing woman has done for me as a mother and for us as a family.

From the minute I met you to the very last of my case you have been immaculate.

Everyone's journey with Family Law is very personal and extremely difficult at times but you never once made us feel like just a case number. The care, attention to detail, understanding and your very personal touch absolutely won me over as we were always every step of the way provided with comfort and support to ease the very upsetting times.

You have given us positive outcomes for a brighter future which my daughters and I are now living to the fullest. I cannot thank you enough for your support and compassion.

Lots of love and luck for the future, you really are the best.

Many thanks once again. 🙏

Was this review helpful?

Brigita

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Brigita

April 23, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Property sale and purchase

Professionalism, efficiency and client care! Our experience with Nelsons was brilliant from start to finish. We especially would like to thank and highly recommend Sanche Tutter. Sanche dealt with our matters professionally and efficiently. He was attentive, responsive and very patient when things were being made more complicated by the other parties within the chain. Once again, thanks to Sanche and Nelsons for their hard work. Would most definitely use the services again in the future.

Was this review helpful?

Anne-Marie whittaker

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Nelsons Solicitors Limited.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Anne-Marie whittaker

March 27, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very impressed with the service

I had an excellent experience, with Nishi looking after, the sale of my property.
She was helpful, professional, always easy to get hold of and very quick to respond to email queries. I highly recommend Nelson's and in particular Nishi.

Was this review helpful?

C.Gilbert

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Nelsons Solicitors Limited.

Matter Type:

Litigation Law

C.Gilbert

March 20, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Dispute Resolution

Excellent service from Stuart always kept me informed and won my case.
Listened patiently, balanced the facts and produced a winning outcome for me.

Was this review helpful?

Liberty

Matter Type:

Children

Liberty

March 04, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Review

Katy Swinbourne. Where do I start? Well. Katy and I became involved with me professionally in the middle of what was a challenging and triumphant period of my life, more than three years ago. Having Katy as my solicitor has meant so much to me because she has shown me compassion and understanding while maintaining a high level of professionalism throughout the course of our communications . This woman has moved mountains for me and kept me upright in order that I could win my battle. I’ll forever be thankful for her dedication . Thank you Katy <3

Was this review helpful?

julia

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

julia

February 15, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very efficient conveyancing experience

Used many solicitors for conveyancing however on this occasion the experience was far better. Ms C Griffiths communicated extremely efficiently with us/ and the estate agent . She always called back in very good time and kept us updated on the selling situation this made the sale far smoother and less stressful. Thank you - would use again particularly Ms Griffiths.

Was this review helpful?

Larissa

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Nelsons Solicitors Limited.

Matter Type:

Hospital Negligence Claims

Larissa

February 01, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Outstanding

Julie handled my case for several years, and was outstanding throughout it all. I can't thank her enough for the dedication she showed my case, and would thoroughly recommend her as a solicitor!

Was this review helpful?

Sophie

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Sophie

January 23, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Simply the best!

Myself and my family have relied on Jane Burton’s efficiency and experience for many years now. She is knowledgeable, trustworthy, helpful and very supportive. Excellent service every time and always our “go-to”!

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Kate

Kate

May 08, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Kate

I had an excellent solicitor in Dianne Collins who guided me through the several difficult years she acted for me. I felt in very safe hands. I thoroughly recommend Nelsons.

Was this review helpful?

Sixshot

Sixshot

May 07, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Sixshot

1 year ago and more sort advice from them was told they would get in touch with me my father called twice was told by secretary that solicitors would get back to us
New year 2024 called in February got through to solicitors she said she would find out 2 months later nothing their head of department Mr Richard Hammond emailed me asked questions and asked what is the financial cost as parents are old.

Was told in a long wind email etc and here is £50 pounds for you or charity's you would like ?

Keep the £50 pound go to shop buy what ever you want

To be mocked like this and passed on how do you know if we could afford you or not ?

Here is £50 pound

Disgusting behaviour even when told by their own lady solicitors in 2023 it is a very high percentage win case. Took our paperwork documentation.

Then why take it if not to ring us or email with what and path and advice and strategies you would take to take the company to court. ?

Don't use them your be better off only for the high mighty who ever they think they are 1%

This is how we were treated.

Was this review helpful?

Paul

Matter Type:

Personal Injury Law

Paul

March 21, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Paul

Used the Nottingham Office to pursue an injury at work claim . I was very pleased with the high standard of the process. Emma Howard fought hard for a satisfactory settlement and kept me informed throughout. Therefore I recommend Nelson’s especially Emma Howard . Thank you

Was this review helpful?

Neville

Matter Type:

Personal Injury Law

Neville

March 13, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Neville

Nelsons took over my case as my appointed solicitors in an Accident At Work Case.

Their outstanding commitment, knowledge of my case and dedication to providing a good customer service was second to none.

My solicitor, Hannah Manewell was extremely professional and kept me updated all the time working to strict deadlines helping me to pursue my case to a successful outcome

I would thoroughly recommend Nelsons for any legal work you need completing.

Many thanks

Was this review helpful?

Thomas

Thomas

January 29, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Thomas

A very helpful and professional service.

Was this review helpful?

Nelsons Solicitors Limited are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Nelsons is a leading law firm with offices in Derby, Leicester and Nottingham, providing support and advice to businesses, individuals and families with their legal and investment needs. Recognised by independently researched publications, we feature in The Lawyer’s UK 200 Annual Report of the UK’s largest 200 law firms.

Practice areas

For Businesses - banking and finance; business agreements and contracts; business disputes; charity services; commercial property; commercial landlord and tenant disputes; corporate services; debt recovery; employment law advice; intellectual property; professional negligence; restructuring and insolvency; and sector-specific advice – construction and engineering, education, charities, dentists and dental practices, manufacturing and family businesses. For Individuals - accident and injury claims; children law; Court of Protection; divorce and separation; employee rights; house sales and purchases; independent financial advice and wealth management; inheritance disputes; landlord and tenant disputes; medical negligence claims; property disputes; and Wills, probate, and trusts.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Clinical Negligence
    • Accident and Emergency Claims
    • Amputation Negligence Claims
    • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
    • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
    • Birth Injury Claims
    • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
    • Blood Transfusion Claims
    • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
    • C. Difficile Claims
    • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
    • Cerebral Palsy Claims
    • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Clinical Negligence
    • Cochlear Implant Claims
    • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
    • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
    • Defective Medical Device Claims
    • Dental Negligence
    • Dental Negligence Claims
    • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
    • Diabetes Claims
    • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
    • Eye Surgery Claims
    • Failed Sterilisation Claims
    • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
    • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
    • Fertility Negligence Claims
    • GP Negligence Claims
    • Group B Streptococcus Claims
    • Hospital Negligence Claims
    • Knee Replacement Claims
    • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
    • Laser Treatment Claims
    • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • MRSA Claims
    • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Medical Negligence
    • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
    • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
    • Nerve Damage Claims
    • Nerve Injury Claims
    • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
    • Oral Cancer Claims
    • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
    • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Periodontal Disease Claims
    • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
    • Pressure Sore Claims
    • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Restorative Dentistry Claims
    • Sepsis Negligence Claims
    • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
    • Spinal Surgery Claims
    • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
    • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Surgery Compensation Claims
    • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
    • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Libel and Defamation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Malicious falsehood
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pay Issue
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Change of name
    • Child Abduction
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Maintenance
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Divorce Mediation
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Domestic Violence
    • Elderly care
    • Elderly care home fees
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • High Net Worth Divorce
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • International Divorce
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Legal aid
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Human rights
    • Judicial review
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Tax
    • Trusts
  • Notary
    • Notary
  • Personal Injury
    • Accident Abroad
    • Accident At Work
    • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
    • Accidents In Public Places
    • Against The Council
    • Amputation
    • Asbestos Compensation
    • Asbestos Lung Cancer
    • Asbestosis
    • Back Injury At Work
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Broken Bone Or Fracture
    • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
    • Bus and Coach Accident
    • Car Accident
    • Car Passenger
    • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
    • Children's Accident
    • Children's Serious Injury
    • Chronic Pain
    • Cycling Accident
    • Defective Work Equipment
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Dog Bite
    • Fall From Height
    • Fatal Accident
    • Fatal Asbestos
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Head Injury At Work
    • Head and Brain Injury
    • Holiday Accidents and Illness
    • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
    • Horse Riding Injury
    • Industrial Disease Compensation
    • Manual Handling
    • Mesothelioma Compensation
    • Military Accident Claim
    • Military Hearing Loss
    • Motor Insurance Policy
    • Motorbike Accident
    • No Win No Fee
    • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
    • Non Freezing Cold Injury
    • Occupational Asthma
    • Osteoarthritis
    • Pedestrian Accident
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Pleural Thickening
    • Repetitive Strain Injury
    • Road Traffic Accident
    • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
    • Serious Injury
    • Skiing Injury
    • Slips, Trips and Falls
    • Spinal Injury Compensation
    • Sports Injury
    • Supermarket Accident
    • Terrorism Abroad
    • Tinnitus
    • Vibration White Finger
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
    • Whiplash
    • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Professional Negligence
    • Accountants
    • Architects
    • Barristers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional Negligence
    • Professional Negligence law
    • Professional trustees
    • Surveyors
    • Valuers
  • Welfare & Benefits
    • Mental Health - Court of protection
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • International
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
  • Banking
    • Banking
  • Charities
    • Charities
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Outsourcing agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Slander
    • Small businesses
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Construction
    • Construction
    • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
    • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
    • Development loan facilities
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • Energy & Transport
    • Energy
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
    • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
    • Computer and IT Law
    • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
    • Copyright
    • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
    • Design rights and product designs
    • Domain Names
    • GDPR
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
    • Patents
    • Personality and Image Rights
    • Trade Marks and Designs