Mogers Drewett Solicitors

01749 342323

At Mogers Drewett we are proud to have our roots planted firmly here in the South West. It’s this rich history of serving the community that sets us apart from other law firms. We understand the importance of offering forward-thinking legal expertise at a very local level. We know the region, the people and their values, making us more in tune with the needs of our clients. From buying a business to employment issues, writing a will to buying a home, we have the breadth of knowledge to deliver the support you need in a personal way – with no baffling legal jargon.

4.8/5 17 Customer Reviews 17
Recommended by
16 Verified Clients
like Jason and Tony
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Mogers Drewett Solicitors compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Mogers Drewett Solicitors on ReviewSolicitors

17 Customer Reviews

4.8/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    15
  • Very Good
    1
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    0
Anonymous
Click to rate
Tony
Tony Added 9 months ago Report to admin
May 29, 2018 20180529171946

Great value and help

5

I used Mogers and Drewett to help with buying a house, mortgage, processes etc. There were a number of complications and yet the total cost stayed the same despite several letters, phone calls and meetings. I felt very confident having their advice and totally trusted them. Others amy offer a cheaper service, but I doubt that you get th eservice and support that you get from Mogers Drewett (Sharon). Very knowledgeable, timely and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jason
Jason Added 1 year ago Report to admin
November 28, 2017 20171128104824

5 STAR SERVICE

5

Had the very good fortune of finding a solicitors that are human, approachable, effective and knowledgeable. I dealt with Jenna, who was completely professional, and went above and beyond. Thanks again Jenna

Was this review helpful? Yes

Paul Knatchbull
Verified Paul Knatchbull Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
March 08, 2019 20190308114158

Family

4

Had excellent service. The only down side was the cost, this was to be expected.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anthony
Anthony Added 3 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
December 16, 2018 20181216151700

Very basic service and poor communication

3

Very inpersonable service. Struggled to get responses to emails on several occasions and had to chase several times. Felt like I received very little advice or guidance - they simply did the paperwork and not much else. Poor communication for the partner dealing. Received a much better service for a much smaller law firm for half the price. Would not recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Neil
Verified Neil Added 9 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
June 20, 2018 20180620211502

To sum up.

5

With my limited experience of solicitors and their work. I felt quite comfortable in using MOGERS again. I had neither time or capacity to trawl through the mire of TV advertisements etc. So I just used a firm that had performed so well int the past. While I detest cliches and soundbites, I heard about the rest and went for the best I knew.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Neil
Verified Neil Added 9 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
June 16, 2018 20180616211502

Family

5

With my limited experience of solicitors and their work. I felt quite comfortable in using MOGERS again. I had neither time or capacity to trawl through the mire of TV advertisements etc. So I just used a firm that had performed so well in the past. While I detest cliches and soundbites, I heard about the rest so went for the best I knew.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Lisa
Verified Lisa Added 1 year ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
March 24, 2018 20180324201502

Family Law

5

I cannot recommend Mogers Drewett enough. I was able to make an initial appointment within days of contacting the firm. And the meeting itself was fantastic. I felt all my worries were calmed and i left feeling well informed of my rights and what I could do next. The solicitor was extremely understanding, knowledgeable and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Nicki
Verified Nicki Added 1 year ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
March 13, 2018 20180313201502

Family

5

I came into contact with Mogers and Drewett at a difficult time- when my husband had just left. Getting divorced is an unsettling and difficult process at the best of times. Every time I met with my solicitor I came away reassured that things would be ok and that my life would continue. My solicitor was efficient, calm and listened to what I wanted. She gave good legal advice and I pleased with the settlement I now have. Three years down the line, I am divorced and have a good life. Thank you Mogers and Drewett for your support.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 1 year ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
October 23, 2017 20171023211502

Other

5

Very satisfied with everything.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 1 year ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
October 22, 2017 20171022211502

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

Efficient as always. Rebecca, good to see you have not aged!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Solicitors who work at Mogers Drewett Solicitors

  • Cara Burr

    I specialise in will, estate administration and elderly client work. As you might expect, it’s a job that requires a lot of delicacy and diplomacy as I’m dealing with families during some pretty difficult times. It’s a really rewarding job and I’m proud to be a member of Solicitors for the Elderly. I was born and bred in the South West, and have two children. In my down time I enjoy cycling and, as if I wasn’t busy enough, running the local Brownie Pack (which I have done for over 20 years!).

  • Jonathan Cheal

    I'm an agricultural solicitor with over 30 years' experience of advising farmers and landowners on a broad range of legal and property issues. My particular specialism is in public and private rights of way and access to land. This is an area of practice rarely encountered in solicitors’ firms.

  • Jenna Larcombe

    I qualified in May 2014 and specialise in leasehold and freehold commercial property transactions. I joined the commercial property team at Mogers Drewett in May 2016. I specialise in leasehold and freehold commercial property transactions with particular experience in landlord and tenant transactions. I believe in working with my clients with the aim of achieving practical and commercial results ensuring that I advise and guide my clients through every step of the process. I am also a qualified civil and commercial mediator and am a member of the ADR Group international panel of mediators. In my free time I enjoy reading, exercising, travelling and cooking. I also volunteer at Julian House in Bath helping to cook and serve meals to the homeless.

  • Frank Collins

    I'm a partner at Mogers Drewett and lead the agricultural team. I've spent the last 30 years dealing with farms, land and farming businesses. My experience spans commercial and agricultural matters from sales purchase and finance of farms, business structures for rural businesses, diversification, renewable energy and rural developments, to diversification projects and succession planning. This places me in a key position to help manage client relationships and, through taking a step back to review the bigger picture, offering strategy advice and consultancy across more complicated projects.

  • Rory Mcfarlane

    I head up the firm's private client team, a core strength of the practice. I specialise in estate planning and wealth protection, focusing on complex wills, estate administrations and inheritance tax issues. I like to think I offer an innovative approach and I’m really passionate about creating a strong client service culture across the team. I want us to be the "John Lewis" of law firms, recognised for providing a level of service that is second to none. I live in a small village outside Sherborne. Away from the office I enjoy sailing, cycling and trying to keep fit.

  • Simon Walker

    I am a solicitor in the family team based in Sherborne and Bath. I trained with a Bath firm, before qualifying in 2004. Following qualification I joined Stone King LLP Family Department. I was with Stone King LLP for 11 years and was made Associate with the firm in 2009. I left Stone King in February 2016 and have since worked for BPE Solicitors in Cheltenham and Crallan Family & Divorce Solicitors in Bath. Prior to obtaining my legal qualification I was qualified as an ODA, working in operating theatres both in the UK and abroad. 

My current case load includes privately funded work in all areas of Family Law, dealing with separating couples whether married or cohabitating. Whilst I am able to deal with all family issues, I have a particular interest in Private Law children cases, involving either international elements and or complex medical issues. I have dealt with numerous cases in the High Court and Court of Appeal. 



  • Rebecca Beresford

    I am a partner in our specialist trust team. I advise on the creation, administration and winding up of trusts, both from the tax-planning angle but also the use of trusts for succession planning and protection of assets. I also advise on Wills and estate planning, and powers of attorney and regularly deal with agricultural estates, in terms of drafting tax-efficient wills and succession planning for our farming clients. What I love most about my job is being the trusted adviser across the different generations of a family.

  • Michael Blowers

    I joined the firm as an articled clerk in 1981, before qualifying as a solicitor in 1984. I became a Partner a few years later, and have been with the firm ever since, specialising in residential property. I’m passionate about both providing a high-level personalised service to clients, and in seeing the team at Mogers Drewett grow in their reputation as being among the best in their field. Outside work I love spending time with my wife and two grown-up boys, and have a great interest in many sports including football, rugby, cricket and golf. In good weather I can often be seen cycling to and from work!

  • Annie James

    I specialise in tax and trusts having trained for two years at a firm in Dorset. I have spent a great deal of my training contract in the private client field and have discovered a passion and flare for the area. I pride myself on assisting clients with lifetime planning by making the difficult and emotional decisions more manageable and straightforward. The majority of my spare time is taken up with horses, taking my horse of the same name, Annie, out exploring the countryside and to local competitions. When I'm not riding I enjoy being outdoors, surfing or walking, having recently climbed Ben Nevis for the first time. I also enjoy spending time with my friends and family, watching live music, going to the cinema and reading.

  • Maeve England

    I am a partner and head the dispute resolution and construction teams. In my day-to-day work I specialise in real estate and construction disputes, and have extensive experience of litigation, adjudication and mediation, where I try and secure great results for everyone before any court involvement. I work with clients ranging from local individuals and companies to national and global organisations. What I love most of all is giving practical, commercially-focused advice and getting to know a client’s business well so that I can be more effective. I live in Somerset with my husband and two boys. Outside work I am interested in books, music, theatre, socialising and football.

  • Elizabeth Dowler

    I have worked with the family team at Mogers Drewett since I graduated from university in 2012. I began my training as a solicitor in September 2015. I assist on a wide variety of matters including divorce, pre-nuptial and post-nuptial agreements as well as resolving problems in relation to children. I enjoy helping clients reach amicable and pragmatic solutions, especially when there are children involved. In my free time, I love to travel and particularly like visiting European cities and enjoying the local food.

About This Branch

Description

At Mogers Drewett our law firm is proud to have our roots planted firmly here in the South West, as law solicitors in Bath, Wells, Sherborne and Frome. Our rich history of serving the local community sets us apart from other law firms in Bath and surrounding areas. We understand the importance of offering forward-thinking legal advice at a very local level. We know the region, the people and their values, making us more in tune to the needs of our clients and always keeping them informed. Whether you’re looking for family law expertise, business commercial legal advice or have disputes surrounding property, we offer a variety of legal services. From divorce advice, employment issues, selling a business, will writing to home buying, we have the breadth of legal knowledge to deliver the support you need in a personal way – with no baffling legal jargon.


Legal Services
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Housing disputes
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Repossessions
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Pension and property advice
  • Second charges
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Child Custody
  • Separation Agreement
  • Elderly care
  • Lasting power of attorney
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Collaborative Law
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Probate
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Pension Law
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Professional Discipline
  • Social Services
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Right to Manage
  • International
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Stress at Work
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Domestic Violence
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Transfers of equity
  • Children
  • Trusts
  • Employment Contracts
  • Media and Sports
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Gardening Leave
  • Tax
  • Annulment
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Fixed Fee Divorce
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Injunctions
  • Divorce Mediation
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Lease Extensions
  • Remortgaging
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Child Access
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Divorce
  • Injunctions
  • High Net Worth Divorce
  • Mental Health
  • TUPE
  • Separation
  • Housing
  • Family Leave
  • Transfer of title
  • Marriage and civil partnerships
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Wills
  • Flexible Working
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Redundancy
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Child Abduction
  • Property Disputes
  • Senior Executives
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Pay Issue
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Disputed Trusts
  • Part Time Workers
  • Planning
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Civil partnerships
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Child Law
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Elderly care home fees
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Benefits
  • Trusts
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Family Mediation
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Child contact
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Tribunal Claims
  • International Divorce
  • Family law
  • Leasehold properties
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Disputed Probate
  • Military
  • Legal aid
  • Buying at auction
  • Employment Law
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Extending your Lease
  • Disputed Wills
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Housing Management
  • Housing Associations
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Financial Matters
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Child Maintenance
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Facility maintenance agreements
  • Outsourcing agreements
  • Rights of way issues
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Contract law
  • Tax
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Data Protection
  • In-house training
  • Developer disputes
  • Buying and selling a farm
  • Management buyouts
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Setting up a business
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Purchase of development land
  • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
  • Agricultural land for sale or development
  • Employment - business
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Finance
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Building contracts and professional appointments
  • Insurance
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Share option schemes
  • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
  • Construction
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
  • Competition law
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Development plot sales
  • Guarantees and bonds
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Asset Tracing
  • Franchising
  • Commercial Law
  • Small businesses
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Debt Recovery
  • Development agreements
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Engineering contracts
  • Slander
  • Intellectual Property
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Statutory Demands
  • Credit Control
  • Framework agreements
  • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Farming disputes
  • Employment of farm workers
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Planning law
  • Environmental policy law
  • Equestrian property
  • Commercial Leases
  • Summary Judgment
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Corporate finance
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Agency agreements
  • Development loan facilities
  • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
  • Veterinary negligence
  • Mediation
  • Corporate Law

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000