Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Carter Bells LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 97%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Carter Bells LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 99%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Carter Bells LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Carter Bells LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 100%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Carter Bells LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Carter Bells LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Carter Bells LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.9/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    146
  • Very Good

    14
  • Average

    1
  • Poor

    1
  • Awful

    0

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Linda Watson

Linda Watson

June 11, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Other

This is the second time I have used Carter Bells, on this occasion in connection with the lease extension and sale of my flat. This was dealt with in a pro-active and prompt manner, advice given was understandable and communication first rate. I genuinely feel in safe hands with the firm.

Was this review helpful?

Sandrine

Sandrine

May 26, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Family

I took advice from two different solicitors for my divorce and I am glad I chose Carter Bells. Both Elaine and Emily were friendly and I felt comfortable to talk to them. I am happy with how they dealt with my case.

Was this review helpful?

Andrew Barrowman

Andrew Barrowman

May 11, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Family

Elaine Guy was very helpful and knowledgeable in our case and obtained a satisfactory outcome in somewhat difficult circumstances.

Was this review helpful?

Rebecca

Rebecca

April 01, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Best solicitor

Jeanine supported us through our sale and purchase. She was a pleasure to work with throughout. Extremely responsive, worked hard to ensure we were always ahead of the curve in terms of paperwork / requests from our vendors and buyers. Thank you Jeanine! Highly recommended, we’ll be back!

Was this review helpful?

Ms JJS

Ms JJS

March 15, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Other

Richard Bland gave an outstanding service from start to finish on what was a far from straightforward matter. He responded quickly, was great at explaining things and very personable. I felt I was in very capable hands. I would highly recommend him.

Was this review helpful?

Verified Client

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Carter Bells LLP.

Verified Client

March 05, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills, Trusts and Probate

We would like to be notified if Jag leaves the firm.

Was this review helpful?

Verified Client

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Carter Bells LLP.

Verified Client

February 26, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills, Trusts and Probate

Very satisfied with the help and advice given to me.

Was this review helpful?

Verified Client

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Carter Bells LLP.

Verified Client

February 26, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills, Trusts and Probate

We were impressed by the friendly and helpful attitude displayed by all the members of staff with whom we came into contact with.

Was this review helpful?

Verified Client

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Carter Bells LLP.

Verified Client

February 26, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills, Trusts and Probate

Carter Bells have looked after us with regard to our Wills and Property dealings. We would recommend them unreservedly.

Was this review helpful?

Carter Bells LLP are accredited by

accreditation

About this branch

Description

Carter Bells was created on 1st May 1999 when Bells and George Carter & Co merged to become Carter Bells Solicitors. Our offices have always been been based in Kingston upon Thames. Bells was founded in November 1858 when Mr James Bell, the son of a Scottish Doctor, became Clerk to the Kingston County Magistrate Bench and opened an office at 13 High Street, Kingston, practising under the style of ‘James Bell Solicitor’. He was joined by his two sons, Francis James and John Sackville in 1890, and the practice became known as Bells Solicitors.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Professional Negligence
    • Barristers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional trustees
    • Valuers
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Data Protection
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety

Opening times

  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • Closed
  • Closed
Book an appointment