Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Samuel Phillips Law Firm Compares

Value for money

This firm - 94%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Samuel Phillips Law Firm on ReviewSolicitors.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 97%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Samuel Phillips Law Firm and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Samuel Phillips Law Firm performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 96%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Samuel Phillips Law Firm and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Samuel Phillips Law Firm compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Samuel Phillips Law Firm offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.9/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    141
  • Very Good

    4
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    1
  • Awful

    3

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Very Satisifed Client

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Samuel Phillips Law Firm.

Matter Type:

Employment Contracts

Very Satisifed Client

September 13, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Extremely Professional Service - Very Satisifed

I was lucky enough to retain the services of Samuel Phillips in a matter involving a complex employment contractual issue. I dealt with Mr. Robert Gibson, aided by Alison Whitfield.

The level of professionalism, knowledge, availability and communication exceeded all expectation. I approached Samuel Philips following a recommendation and I am glad I did.

I would recommend Samuel Phillips, Robert and Alison to anyone in need of their support.



Was this review helpful?

David

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Samuel Phillips Law Firm.

Matter Type:

Wills

David

September 02, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Efficient and Personable

What you expect from a good law firm is efficiency and professionalism. Felicity and her colleagues certainly provided these in abundance. What you don't always experience is a personable approach with clients to match those qualities. However, with Samuel Phillips - and especially Felicity! - you can be assured of a friendly, helpful service, whilst, at the same time, being provided with clear advice and excellent results.

Was this review helpful?

Joan

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Samuel Phillips Law Firm.

Matter Type:

Wills

Joan

August 31, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

My Will re-write

My current Will was well out of date and required a major overhaul.
This was undertaken effectively and without any time delays.
Even my late addition to the document was handled immediately to my full satisfaction.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Matter Type:

Child Custody

Anonymous

August 29, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Custody Battle

The bitter ex would hardly let me see our 3 kids. She used them as financial pawns. If I paid her extra money she’d let me see them. Without even having to go to court Sarah and Hannah got me a proper formal court order which sets out the times and days the kids are with me. The court order even has in it all the arrangements for the kids for all the school holidays and they’re birthdays and Christmas and so on. No more bargaining with the ex !!! This process did not cost me a fortune. Hannah kept me up to date on costs all the way throughout. Paying Sarah and Hannah to sort this will save me money as I won’t have to pay child maintenance or pay the ex to let me see my own kids. Best bit is now I get to spend loads and loads of time with my kids. Thank you Sarah and Hannah. Phenomenal from start to finish. I would definatley recommend this duo.

Was this review helpful?

Mrs

Matter Type:

Divorce

Mrs

August 26, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Sarah Ward

I was blessed to have connected with Sarah. Her youthfulness is not to be underestimated. She is highly knowledgeable and very experienced. Having been divorced herself she could really relate to how I was feeling. She was invested in making sure I got the best possible outcome. A very intimidating negotiator and feisty. But also very sensitive and thoughtful. She cared so much about me and my kids as she helped transition us to a new life. I never felt alone. She was always on hand. In lockdown a surprise delivery arrived - it was a pamper kit for me and some treats for the kids from Sarah herself. When we all got COVID she kept checking in on us everyday and offering to do our shopping. I trusted her to transition me to a new life. My trust was not misplaced. She is a credit to her profession. The most compassionate, kindest, cleverest, funniest and hardest working person I have ever had the pleasure to meet. I cannot recommend her highly enough.

Was this review helpful?

Peter

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Samuel Phillips Law Firm.

Matter Type:

Employment Law

Peter

August 26, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Directly to the point.

A very good experience working with Robert and the team. Highly professional with an extraordinary depth of experience across the practice.

Great customer focus in a performance based culture- dedicated to cutting through.

Was this review helpful?

Stephanie

Matter Type:

New home purchases and sales

Stephanie

August 24, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Outstanding Service

My partner and I recently purchased our first home and Tom Small was an amazing support throughout the entire process. We never had to chase for anything and he was always willing to answer any questions we had. All information was given to us in terms that were clear and easy to understand and we feel so fortunate to have had his guidance. We will definately be using him again, as well as recommending Tom to all our family and friends. Thank you so much!

Was this review helpful?

Brian

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Samuel Phillips Law Firm.

Brian

August 24, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent Service

I’ve recently used Samuel Phillips Law when purchasing my first home. Despite issues with seller’s solicitors, no complaints my side. Great customer service and speed in pushing transaction through.

Was this review helpful?

Fred

Matter Type:

Divorce

Fred

August 20, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Outstanding Service


Sarah Ward is brilliant. I was told by other local solicitors that my wife would get more than half of everything we had. That might be fair for some couples who are divorcing but there were special circumstances here which Sarah took the time to properly understand and research. She then argued my case professionally and robustly. The Judge even praised her for the way she had approached my case to ensure a fair outcome for everyone. I ended up with more than my ex wife and she had to pay my costs but as I said it was fair. If you are going through a divorce, make sure you have Sarah on your side. You don’t want her on the other side. Brilliant lawyer and cracking lass too.

Was this review helpful?

Warren

Matter Type:

Social Services

Warren

August 19, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Honest, Empathic and Supportive

Jenny Goldstein took great care and attention to my case, working very hard to secure the best possible outcome.

Jenny Goldstein is highly commendable, with in-depth knowledge and experience. Combined with her incredibly professional, passionate, intelligence and humanity,

Jenny Goldstein’s team are more than dedicated but empathic and supportive. Without a doubt, they work more cordially than a well-oiled machine and having the pleasure to work with her and her staff is a fantastic experience.

The experience with Jenny only builds confidence that I can trust Samual Philips with any legal matter. Jenny is valid credit to the organisation.

Thank you.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Callum

Callum

August 27, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Callum

After a poor experience with an estate agents recommended solicitor, we sought out legal help from Samuel Phillips Law based upon their previous reviews.

The process of moving our sale/purchase over to SPL was thankfully very straightforward and we were left in the capable hands of Tom Small.

Tom's attentiveness and professionalism really shone through and really put our minds at ease after what was becoming a bit of a nightmare of a move.

Based on my experience of the company, and my direct dealings with Tom I would recommend anyone who wants a near stress-free house move to enquire with SPL today.

Thank you for your service!

Was this review helpful?

MX

MX

August 20, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

A client

An excellent law firm. I was in a very difficult and complex financial situation after my divorce. Jenny Goldstein was my lawyer. She is extremely experienced and professional. Jenny was incredibly supportive and took the time to listen to what I truly wanted. I could not have asked for more. Jenny's PA Erin is also a fantastic asset to the team. I can't thank them enough for the difference that they have made to my life.

I have also used Samuel Phillips to sell my property and Will services, which were also excellent. I would not hesitate to recommend their services. Thank you!

Was this review helpful?

Andrew

Andrew

October 29, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Andrew

Samuel Phillips helped me over the last 2 years. I do not have one negative thing to say about the way they work and handle situations they are very professional in the way that they work. Not only did they help me with my case they also took the time to help me emotionally and mentally which Really helped me. I had one solicitor who left half way during my case and the transition to a new solicitor was smooth. Anytime I sent a email or called with questions or updates the response time was always fast or if they had to follow anything up it was always fast. I would recommend Samuel Phillips for any of my friends or family in future with out hesitation. Very helpful and kind team.

Was this review helpful?

Natalie

Natalie

October 02, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Natalie

Fantastic experience in every single way. Jennifer Goldstein dealt with my case and I could not have asked for better, very thorough, friendly, professional and just overall excellent at what she does! Will forever be recommending to anyone on the look out for a great Lawyer. Thanks again Jenny!!

Was this review helpful?

Nikki

Nikki

September 11, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Nikki

We have worked with a few solicitors over the years trying to resolve family issues concerning child arrangements, but none quite like Sarah Ward. Sarah is a fantastic no-nonsense solicitor who is professional, courteous, and friendly. The service she has provided has been exceptional and I would recommend her to anyone, especially those, such as us, who have struggled with proceedings for years without resolution. Her guidance and advice have been immeasurable.

Was this review helpful?

Samuel Phillips Law Firm are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Founded in 1919, by Samuel Phillips Law, the firm has a reputation for service excellence and providing solutions which are bespoke to each client’s specific needs. A century since the firm was founded, Samuel Phillips Law provides services across a range of specialisms including Family, Employment, Litigation & Dispute Resolution, Agriculture, Residential Property, Commercial Property and Wills Probate & Trusts. A cornerstone of Samuel Phillips Law success is its ability to recruit and retain some of the most able and talented lawyers in the region. Whether you are seeking services as an individual, a business or the public sector, at Samuel Phillips Law you know that your affairs will be handled in a pragmatic and professional approach from the very start.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Travel rights
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Professional Negligence
    • Barristers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional trustees
    • Valuers
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
    • Veterinary negligence
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Commercial Law
    • Employment - business
    • Intellectual Property
  • Regulations
    • Licensing
Book an appointment