Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Hedleys & Co Compares

Value for money

This firm - 89%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Hedleys & Co on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 6%
Overpriced 18%
About Right 75%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 82%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Hedleys & Co and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Hedleys & Co performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 82%
No 18%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 83%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Hedleys & Co and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Hedleys & Co compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 83%
No 17%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Hedleys & Co offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.5/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    83
  • Very Good

    3
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    1
  • Awful

    11

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Lorna

Matter Type:

New home purchases and sales

Lorna

April 29, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very poor service and aftercare

Fail to communicate and acknowledge the error made with my legal handling. How they get business with such poor unprofessional service is beyond me! They even ignored my mortgage company with regards to their error and another solicitor had to be appointed yet Headley were paid to do a job. Highly disappointed!

Was this review helpful?

Kim

Kim

April 26, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

House sale

Very poor service and next to no communication at all. Wouldn’t recommend and wouldn’t use the firm again.

Was this review helpful?

Robyn

Robyn

March 10, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Not sure how they are still open

The worst solicitors I have ever dealt with not sure how they are still open. Feel very sorry for the front desk staff left to deal with unsatisfied customers whilst the other staff hide in their rooms. Their inability has potentially cost me £100k which could have been avoided had they had basic solicitor knowledge.

Was this review helpful?

Leslie

Leslie

January 31, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very understanding

Very helpful, professional and guidance offered, taking into account the situation with my parents. Will definitely be using services again.

Was this review helpful?

Paul

Matter Type:

Probate

Paul

January 07, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Do not use Hedleys if you want any form of communication

Extremely poor level of service, lack of communication, constant change of staff. Very rude and unapproachable. Having to swap solicitors and resulting in having to take legal action against Leo Johnston the owner of the business for numerous breaches of contract.

Was this review helpful?

George

George

January 07, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Punctual and courteous

Would recommend them to others

Was this review helpful?

Raymond

Raymond

December 21, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Would use their services again

Courteous. Found their conveyancing service convenient.

Was this review helpful?

Rachel

Rachel

December 03, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Would recommend to others

Punctual. Would recommend to others.

Was this review helpful?

Evelyn

Evelyn

November 23, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

House sale

Thank you for providing information in a friendly professional way which helped me through the selling process.

Was this review helpful?

Fromme

Fromme

November 11, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Review for Hedleys & Co

My wife and I were quite stressed has we have never been involoved in anything like this before, but once we met Mr L. Johnston we were completey at ease and we took his advice & help

Was this review helpful?

Hedleys & Co are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Hedleys & Co have provided legal services to clients in Sunderland and the surrounding area for over 100 years. In recent years we have expanded our delivery boundaries and now provide our legal services in locations throughout the UK, satisfying growing customer demands. The practice has been trusted for generations to provide an efficient service giving clear advice and practical legal solutions at a fair price to both private and business clients. Hedleys and Co. also advises on buying and selling properties and on wills and planning family finances. The practice has been trusted for generations to provide an efficient service giving clear advice and affordable practical legal solutions to both private and business clients. We are a full-service Law Firm. Over the years, investment in technology has meant that we are able to offer up-to-date legal services whilst maintaining our reputation as a friendly and approachable High Street practice, with a solid base focused on service to the community. Our staff has an extensive range of expertise and experience and are passionate about the delivery of a quality legal service, specifically in relation to the following areas: - Property Law, Business Law, Private Client Work, Family Law, Personal Injury & Accident Claims, Civil Litigation and Harassment & Domestic Violence. *NEW* DEDICATED CUSTOMER SERVICES DEPARTMENT Hedleys Solicitors is undergoing massive changes in its operation. Our customer feedback indicates that a centralised, dedicated customer services department that can handle your day-to-day case queries either by telephone or email would be a welcome addition to the practice. Until we have the new telephony system fully in place, we have a temporary number to contact customer care and a dedicated email where you can raise your queries. The system is being refined, but early tests report a massive improvement in customer relations and we know that this will be a welcome addition to our practice. The contact details are: telephone: 07516905476 Monday to Friday, 10.00 until 16.00; email: customercare@hedleyssolicitors.com We hope that this will make your customer experience with us a smoother journey.

Practice areas

Hedleys and Co. serve customers nationwide, but with a particular focus on the North East region covering Tyne and Wear, North and South Tyneside and Northumberland.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Clinical Negligence
    • Clinical Negligence
  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Litigation Law
    • Travel rights
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Media and Sports
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Children
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Personal Injury
    • Personal Injury Law
  • Welfare & Benefits
    • Benefits
    • Housing
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Data Protection
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety
Book an appointment