Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Hedleys & Co Compares

Value for money

This firm - 90%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Hedleys & Co on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Hedleys & Co. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 3%
Overpriced 6%
About Right 89%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 90%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Hedleys & Co and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Hedleys & Co performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 90%
No 10%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 93%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Hedleys & Co and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Hedleys & Co compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 93%
No 7%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Hedleys & Co offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.6/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    199
  • Very Good

    18
  • Average

    7
  • Poor

    3
  • Awful

    17

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Hedleys & Co.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Anonymous

April 18, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Purchase Property

I was drawn to the firm by their compelling advertising. Leo's punctuality and concise communication style greatly enhanced my experience, and I appreciated the convenience of the conveyancing service they provided.

Was this review helpful?

Timothy Graham

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Hedleys & Co.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Timothy Graham

April 18, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent Job Thank you for everything

Excellent Job Thank you for everything

Was this review helpful?

Andrew

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Hedleys & Co.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Andrew

March 20, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

My Dealings with Kieron Bromiley & Leo Johnston were excellent

Both were available to answer questions by phone and email, always with a prompt response, saving both time and effort and speeding up the whole process - excellent communication and less stress with the selling process - Thank you.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Hedleys & Co.

Matter Type:

Probate

Anonymous

March 15, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Dealing With Loss

Having used Hedlrys in 2016 to deal with our wills we hold no hesitation in going back to the practice.

The efficient way they handled our 2016 visit, had not changed. The same efficiency applied to any needs in 2023.

I would use Hedleys again without a second thought.

Was this review helpful?

Ms Osagie

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Hedleys & Co.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Ms Osagie

March 06, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Home Owner

It was a long process but it ended well, and I appreciate the entire conveyancing team for their hard work

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Hedleys & Co.

Matter Type:

Lasting power of attorney

Anonymous

February 20, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Efficient Service

I was made to feel at ease, everything was explained in everyday language. I will use this solicitor again if needed.

Was this review helpful?

Norma

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Hedleys & Co.

Matter Type:

Lasting power of attorney

Norma

February 20, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Power Of Attorney

Progress was explained simply at home as my husband is disabled and a visit to our home was great. Process completed very easily and satisfactorily.

Was this review helpful?

Kathleen

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Hedleys & Co.

Matter Type:

Probate

Kathleen

February 19, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Highly Reccomended

I was anxious about approaching solicitors after the death of my husband. However, at Hedleys I was greeted with professionalism, warmth, patience and understanding. I'm so thankful that my late husband's affairs are now taken care of. I can confidently highly recommend Hedleys Solicitors.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Hedleys & Co.

Anonymous

December 14, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Flat sale

Dealt with sale of flat. Communication was a little difficult at times. Impossible to contact by telephone, everything via email. However, emails were responded to quickly. There were some issues with the leasehold which were not picked up on until quite far on in the sale.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Patrick

Patrick

June 14, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Patrick

From start to finish Hedleys provided a faultless and courteous service almost making moving house fun!

Was this review helpful?

Jilly

Jilly

May 09, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Jilly

The staff at Hedley's solicitors, are former Prosecution staff, detectives and general 'reapers' of society, they concentrate mainly on single women and those less fortunate. Stewart Hay, did not submit my defense statements to the Judges at Court. In fact, he never actually gave any defense advice, how could he, he's a detective and not a defence solicitor. Mr Hay, only ever chatted me up and attempted to get intimate favours from me. I'm going to prison for quite some time owing to his representation and all for petty crimes that a fine would suffice. The solicitors at Hedley's are charlatans but I can do time now, knowing I've written this review.

Was this review helpful?

Chris

Chris

March 15, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Chris

Don't call you back and slow to get stuff done but eventually things get signed off

Was this review helpful?

Deboarh

Deboarh

March 04, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Deboarh

Would recommend and use Hedleys
Again was happy from begining to end

Was this review helpful?

Azhar

Matter Type:

Buying at auction

Azhar

December 18, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Azhar

I appreciate the commitment shown by Leo, Christine and his team as they were able to demonstrate their swiftness by consistently meeting agreed deadlines as done before. Hedleys has proven to be a reliable choice for auction sales, evident in their dedication to completing a sale within the 2 week timeframe.

Was this review helpful?

Hedleys & Co are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Hedleys & Co have provided legal services to clients in Sunderland and the surrounding area for over 100 years. In recent years we have expanded our delivery boundaries and now provide our legal services in locations throughout the UK, satisfying growing customer demands. The practice has been trusted for generations to provide an efficient service giving clear advice and practical legal solutions at a fair price to both private and business clients. Hedleys and Co. also advises on buying and selling properties and on wills and planning family finances. The practice has been trusted for generations to provide an efficient service giving clear advice and affordable practical legal solutions to both private and business clients. We are a full-service Law Firm. Over the years, investment in technology has meant that we are able to offer up-to-date legal services whilst maintaining our reputation as a friendly and approachable High Street practice, with a solid base focused on service to the community. Our staff has an extensive range of expertise and experience and are passionate about the delivery of a quality legal service, specifically in relation to the following areas: - Property Law, Business Law, Private Client Work, Family Law, Personal Injury & Accident Claims, Civil Litigation and Harassment & Domestic Violence. *NEW* DEDICATED CUSTOMER SERVICES DEPARTMENT Hedleys Solicitors is undergoing massive changes in its operation. Our customer feedback indicates that a centralised, dedicated customer services department that can handle your day-to-day case queries either by telephone or email would be a welcome addition to the practice. Until we have the new telephony system fully in place, we have a temporary number to contact customer care and a dedicated email where you can raise your queries. The system is being refined, but early tests report a massive improvement in customer relations and we know that this will be a welcome addition to our practice. The contact details are: telephone: 07516905476 Monday to Friday, 10.00 until 16.00; email: customercare@hedleyssolicitors.com We hope that this will make your customer experience with us a smoother journey.

Practice areas

Hedleys and Co. serve customers nationwide, but with a particular focus on the North East region covering Tyne and Wear, North and South Tyneside and Northumberland.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Clinical Negligence
    • Clinical Negligence
  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Litigation Law
    • Travel rights
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Media and Sports
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Children
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Personal Injury
    • Personal Injury Law
  • Welfare & Benefits
    • Benefits
    • Housing
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Data Protection
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety
Book an appointment