Hedleys & Co

0191 567 0101

Hedleys and Co. staff have an extensive range of expertise and experience and are passionate about the delivery of a quality legal service, specifically in relation to the following areas: - Property Law Business Law Private Client Work Family Law Personal Injury & Accident Claims Civil Litigation Harassment & Domestic Violence.

4.7/5 63 Client Reviews 63 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation

How Hedleys & Co compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Hedleys & Co on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

63 Client Reviews

4.7/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    56
  • Very Good
    2
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    5
Anonymous
Click to rate
Danielle.lincoln@hotmail.co.uk
Danielle.lincoln@hotmail.co.uk Added 3 months ago 12 found this helpful Report to admin
July 27, 2020 20200727185256

Avoid at all costs.

1

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

Terrible. They accepted instruction on the sale and purchase of 2 properties knowing all along that theyre are banned from dealing with my mortgage lender due to fraudulent activity and theft. They have wasted my time and money and possibly cost me the sale of our house. Its almost impossible to speak to anyone in a timely manner about any concerns or complaints.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Verified Anonymous Added 7 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
March 27, 2020 20200327160946

Very Professional Services

5

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

Very professional services and the solicitor dealing with my purchase, Richard Walls was very helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mary M
Verified Mary M Added 8 months ago Report to admin
February 27, 2020 20200227162226

Friendly Approachable Staff

5

Matter Type: Wills

The reception staff made me feel welcome and at ease before I had even dealt with the solicitor.

The solicitor who was helping me, Meaghan, was very friendly and approachable throughout the process of making my will.

A representative from Hedleys & Co responded to this review on 10 March, 2020

Thank you for your lovely comments. Our reception team and Meaghan are thrilled that they have been mentioned in such a positive way! We look forward to working with you again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Kenneth
Kenneth Added 8 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
February 11, 2020 20200211000000

I couldn't be happier with the service I received.

5

Quick and professional, I was updated on the progress regularly. I would happily recommend Hedleys & Co and use them again in the future.

A representative from Hedleys & Co responded to this review on 10 March, 2020

Thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Colin
Colin Added 9 months ago Report to admin
January 31, 2020 20200131000000

Punctual and courteous

5

Our paperwork was held up and Mr Leo Johnston works very hard to get our deal through. For which we are eternally grateful.

A representative from Hedleys & Co responded to this review on 10 March, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review. It's heartening to hear that Mr Johnston was able to help in a difficult situation. We look forward to working with you again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Maureen
Maureen Added 9 months ago Report to admin
January 29, 2020 20200129000000

Review for Hedleys & Co

5

I would use your services again.

A representative from Hedleys & Co responded to this review on 10 March, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Toni
Toni Added 9 months ago 8 found this helpful Report to admin
January 17, 2020 20200117132423

Cowboys - Don't use!

1

I purchased a taylor wimpey new build and was advised to use Hedleys.
They are absolutely awful.
They totally drag their feet - you have to constantly chase them - you can NEVER speak to the person who's supposed to be managing your case.
I'm now fighting to get my reservation fee back as they retained it in the final figures and haven't bothered to refund me the money back from the sale of my old property (I part exchanged).

They never have the time to explain figures (especially when demanding money from you).
They also don't take card payment over the phone - had to drive over 40 minutes to make a 2 minute payment as they demanded payment 2 days before completion.

They've charged me over £2k in fees and to be honest I've done most the work my self liaising between taylor wimpey and the solicitors.
Not worth the stress - I would advise to look elsewhere even if Taylor Wimpey bully you into it.

A representative from Hedleys & Co responded to this review on 10 March, 2020

We are so sorry to hear of your experience with us and would be most grateful if you were able to email a detailed letter to us outlining all of your concerns. We would like to have a meeting with you to discuss these issues but appreciate that you live at a distance from our office. However, once we receive your email we can then ring you and talk through matters generally. Our email address is: customerservice@hedleyssolicitors.com

Was this review helpful? Yes

Richard
Richard Added 10 months ago Report to admin
December 18, 2019 20191218000000

Professional service

5

Making the process of selling our house very easy and quick.

A representative from Hedleys & Co responded to this review on 10 March, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 10 months ago Report to admin
December 08, 2019 20191208000000

Review for Hedleys Solicitors

5

Thank you Meghan for all your help and thoughtfulness

Solicitor named in this review: Meaghan Redmond

A representative from Hedleys & Co responded to this review on 10 March, 2020

Thank you for your lovely review. Its heartening to hear such positive comments.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 11 months ago Report to admin
November 09, 2019 20191109000000

We really appreciate the work you have put in to make it happen.

5

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

A huge than you Leo to you and your team for all your advice and guidance over the year it's taken to buy our new house!

Solicitor named in this review: Leo Johnston

A representative from Hedleys & Co responded to this review on 10 March, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

Hedleys & Co have provided legal services to clients in Sunderland and the surrounding area for over 100 years. In recent years we have expanded our delivery boundaries and now provide our legal services in locations throughout the UK, satisfying growing customer demands. The practice has been trusted for generations to provide an efficient service giving clear advice and practical legal solutions at a fair price to both private and business clients. Hedleys and Co. also advises on buying and selling properties and on wills and planning family finances. The practice has been trusted for generations to provide an efficient service giving clear advice and affordable practical legal solutions to both private and business clients. We are a full-service Law Firm. Over the years, investment in technology has meant that we are able to offer up-to-date legal services whilst maintaining our reputation as a friendly and approachable High Street practice, with a solid base focused on service to the community. Our staff has an extensive range of expertise and experience and are passionate about the delivery of a quality legal service, specifically in relation to the following areas: - Property Law, Business Law, Private Client Work, Family Law, Personal Injury & Accident Claims, Civil Litigation and Harassment & Domestic Violence. *NEW* DEDICATED CUSTOMER SERVICES DEPARTMENT Hedleys Solicitors is undergoing massive changes in its operation. Our customer feedback indicates that a centralised, dedicated customer services department that can handle your day-to-day case queries either by telephone or email would be a welcome addition to the practice. Until we have the new telephony system fully in place, we have a temporary number to contact customer care and a dedicated email where you can raise your queries. The system is being refined, but early tests report a massive improvement in customer relations and we know that this will be a welcome addition to our practice. The contact details are: telephone: 07516905476 Monday to Friday, 10.00 until 16.00; email: customercare@hedleyssolicitors.com We hope that this will make your customer experience with us a smoother journey.


Practice Area

Hedleys and Co. serve customers nationwide, but with a particular focus on the North East region covering Tyne and Wear, North and South Tyneside and Northumberland.


Legal Services

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000