Solicitor at Tozers LLP

Tozers LLP

Vernon Clarke

Solicitor - Partner and Solicitor

SRA ID: 134655

Vernon works with a wide range of clients including country landowners, farmers, property developers, pension funds and charities. He acts regularly in sales, purchases and leases of high value London properties, historic houses and large rural estates. He also has a wealth of experience in a range of other property matters such as development land deals, holiday letting businesses, solar parks, buy-to-let portfolios, woodlands, fisheries and sporting rights. An Oxford graduate who trained with Tozers, Vernon qualified as a solicitor in 1986 and has been a partner since 1989. He is highly responsive and aims to provide clients with a fast, friendly and efficient service. His role internally is to provide leadership and strategic direction for the Property Team. Vernon is a member of the Agricultural Law Association, the Charity Law Association, the Society of Trust and Estate Practitioners and the Country Land & Business Association. He is active in the voluntary sector, having served for many years as a trustee of Devon Wildlife Trust, and of a charity providing therapeutic learning and sheltered employment for people with disabilities. He is a past Chair of Exeter Historic Buildings Trust and has been appointed recently as a trustee of a North Devon almshouse charity. He also serves as a school governor. Outside of work he enjoys country pursuits and is a keen sportsman.

Broadwalk House, Southernhay West, Exeter, Devon, EX1 1UA

Licensed for 33 years

Practice Areas

Housing & Property, Commercial Property, Charities, Wills, Trusts & Probate

4.9/5 44 Customer Reviews 44
  • Commercial Property 2%
  • Housing & Property 98%
44 Client Reviews

4.9/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    44
  • Very Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    0
Anonymous
Click to rate
Gabrielle Marie
Verified Gabrielle Marie Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
Tozers LLP
Collected whilst working at Tozers LLP
July 14, 2020 20200714010000

Housing & Property

5

Gabrielle Marie recommends Tozers LLP

Solicitor named in this review: Vernon Clarke

Was this review helpful? Yes

Victoria Louise
Verified Victoria Louise Added 1 month ago Report to admin
Tozers LLP
Collected whilst working at Tozers LLP
June 24, 2020 20200624010000

Housing & Property

5

Victoria Louise recommends Tozers LLP

Solicitor named in this review: Vernon Clarke

Was this review helpful? Yes

Michael Robert
Verified Michael Robert Added 1 month ago Report to admin
Tozers LLP
Collected whilst working at Tozers LLP
June 18, 2020 20200618103231

Great remote support during Covid 19

5

Given the obvious challenges we have all faced with a pandemic, we managed to progress our purchase with Vernon and his teams support. Very professional quick and responsive reply's to all requests.

Solicitor named in this review: Vernon Clarke

A representative from Tozers LLP responded to this review on 18 June, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to post this review and for your positive feedback, we are glad we could help you progress with your purchase, especially through these challenging times. Our clients' views are important to us and help us constantly improve the way we do business. Thank you again for your review, Vernon Clarke

Was this review helpful? Yes

Rachel Louise
Verified Rachel Louise Added 2 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
Tozers LLP
Collected whilst working at Tozers LLP
May 18, 2020 20200518112601

Fantastic service

5

Vernon at Tozers provided me with an outstanding service and exceeded all of my expectations. All emails were answered promptly and I was kept updated at all times. He was aware that I needed a quick turn around and he certainly didn't disappoint. I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending him, and I will not hesitate myself to contact Vernon with any legal requirements I have in the future

Solicitor named in this review: Vernon Clarke

A representative from Tozers LLP responded to this review on 18 May, 2020

Good afternoon Rachel Louise, Thank you so much for your positive feedback and for taking the time to post this review. Our clients' views are important to us and help us constantly improve the way we do business. Thanks again for your review, Vernon Clarke

Was this review helpful? Yes

Dorothy Ann
Verified Dorothy Ann Added 3 months ago Report to admin
Tozers LLP
Collected whilst working at Tozers LLP
May 06, 2020 20200506083510

Land at Oakwood Close, Dartmouth

5

Vernon Clarke gave advice and dealt with the purchase of land at Oakwood Close super fast and efficiently, thank you very much....we wouldn't use anyone else!

Solicitor named in this review: Vernon Clarke

A representative from Tozers LLP responded to this review on 07 May, 2020

Good morning Dorothy Ann, Thank you so much for your positive feedback and for taking the time to post this review. Our clients' views are important to us and help us constantly improve the way we do business. Thanks again for your review, Vernon Clarke

Was this review helpful? Yes

Angela
Verified Angela Added 4 months ago Report to admin
Tozers LLP
Collected whilst working at Tozers LLP
April 02, 2020 20200402210554

Efficient and courteous

5

We found Vernon Clarke and his team very efficient and courteous. Vernon always answered emails promptly, as we hadn’t moved in 40 years he guided us through the process.

Solicitor named in this review: Vernon Clarke

A representative from Tozers LLP responded to this review on 03 April, 2020

Good afternoon Angela Thank you so much for your positive feedback and for taking the time to post this review. Our clients' views are important to us and help us constantly improve the way we do business. Thanks again for your review Vernon Clarke

Was this review helpful? Yes

Margaret
Verified Margaret Added 4 months ago Report to admin
Tozers LLP
Collected whilst working at Tozers LLP
March 31, 2020 20200331081815

Faultless

5

Responsive, knowledgeable, professional, speedy, humane, witty and imaginative.

Solicitor named in this review: Vernon Clarke

A representative from Tozers LLP responded to this review on 31 March, 2020

Good afternoon Margaret Thank you so much for your positive feedback and for taking the time to post this review. Our clients' views are important to us and help us constantly improve the way we do business. Thanks again for your review Vernon Clarke

Was this review helpful? Yes

Andrew
Verified Andrew Added 4 months ago Report to admin
Tozers LLP
Collected whilst working at Tozers LLP
March 30, 2020 20200330010000

Housing & Property

5

Andrew recommends Tozers LLP

Solicitor named in this review: Vernon Clarke

A representative from Tozers LLP responded to this review on 17 April, 2020

Good afternoon Andrew, Thank you so much for your positive feedback and for taking the time to post this review. Our clients' views are important to us and help us constantly improve the way we do business. Thanks again for your review, Vernon Clarke

Was this review helpful? Yes

Elizabeth
Verified Elizabeth Added 4 months ago Report to admin
Tozers LLP
Collected whilst working at Tozers LLP
March 17, 2020 20200317101933

Auction conveyance

5

This was the first time I had sold a property at auction. I was unaware of the legalities and process. I did not need to know as Tozers handled everything efficiently and without fuss. All staff responded quickly and pleasantly.

Excellent service throughout. Highly recommended

Solicitor named in this review: Vernon Clarke

A representative from Tozers LLP responded to this review on 30 March, 2020

Good afternoon Elizabeth Thank you so much for your positive feedback and for taking the time to post this review. Our clients' views are important to us and help us constantly improve the way we do business. Thanks again for your review Vernon Clarke

Was this review helpful? Yes

Nicola
Verified Nicola Added 5 months ago Report to admin
Tozers LLP
Collected whilst working at Tozers LLP
March 10, 2020 20200310185151

House sale

5

Extremely satisfies with handling of Property sale

Solicitor named in this review: Vernon Clarke

A representative from Tozers LLP responded to this review on 30 March, 2020

Good afternoon Nicola Thank you so much for your positive feedback and for taking the time to post this review. Our clients' views are important to us and help us constantly improve the way we do business. Thanks again for your review Vernon Clarke

Was this review helpful? Yes

About Vernon Clarke

Vernon works with a wide range of clients including country landowners, farmers, property developers, pension funds and charities. He acts regularly in sales, purchases and leases of high value London properties, historic houses and large rural estates. He also has a wealth of experience in a range of other property matters such as development land deals, holiday letting businesses, solar parks, buy-to-let portfolios, woodlands, fisheries and sporting rights. An Oxford graduate who trained with Tozers, Vernon qualified as a solicitor in 1986 and has been a partner since 1989. He is highly responsive and aims to provide clients with a fast, friendly and efficient service. His role internally is to provide leadership and strategic direction for the Property Team. Vernon is a member of the Agricultural Law Association, the Charity Law Association, the Society of Trust and Estate Practitioners and the Country Land & Business Association. He is active in the voluntary sector, having served for many years as a trustee of Devon Wildlife Trust, and of a charity providing therapeutic learning and sheltered employment for people with disabilities. He is a past Chair of Exeter Historic Buildings Trust and has been appointed recently as a trustee of a North Devon almshouse charity. He also serves as a school governor. Outside of work he enjoys country pursuits and is a keen sportsman.

Languages Spoken: English, French

Contact Vernon Clarke

Address

Tozers LLP

Broadwalk House

Southernhay West

Exeter

Devon



Phone 01392 667672

Website

Resume

LICENSE

Country

Status

Acquired

Updated

United Kingdom

Currently Registered

01/11/86

09/03/20

We found no instances of professional misconduct for this solicitor

WORK EXPERIENCE

Title

Name

Duration

SRA-approved manager - Member

Tozers

?-present