Solicitor at Tozers LLP

Tozers LLP

Vernon Clarke

Solicitor - Partner and Solicitor

SRA ID: 134655

Vernon works with a wide range of clients including country landowners, farmers, property developers, pension funds and charities. He acts regularly in sales, purchases and leases of high value London properties, historic houses and large rural estates. He also has a wealth of experience in a range of other property matters such as development land deals, holiday letting businesses, solar parks, buy-to-let portfolios, woodlands, fisheries and sporting rights. An Oxford graduate who trained with Tozers, Vernon qualified as a solicitor in 1986 and has been a partner since 1989. He is highly responsive and aims to provide clients with a fast, friendly and efficient service. His role internally is to provide leadership and strategic direction for the Property Team. Vernon is a member of the Agricultural Law Association, the Charity Law Association, the Society of Trust and Estate Practitioners and the Country Land & Business Association. He is active in the voluntary sector, having served for many years as a trustee of Devon Wildlife Trust, and of a charity providing therapeutic learning and sheltered employment for people with disabilities. He is a past Chair of Exeter Historic Buildings Trust and has been appointed recently as a trustee of a North Devon almshouse charity. He also serves as a school governor. Outside of work he enjoys country pursuits and is a keen sportsman.

Broadwalk House, Southernhay West, Exeter, Devon, EX1 1UA

Licensed for 34 years

Practice Areas

Housing & Property, Commercial Property, Charities, Wills, Trusts & Probate

5.0/5 90 Client Reviews 90
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate 1%
  • Commercial Property 4%
  • Housing & Property 95%
90 Client Reviews

5.0/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    90
  • Very Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    0
Anonymous
Click to rate
Victoria Natasha Eliot
Verified Victoria Natasha Eliot Added 1 week ago Report to admin
Tozers LLP
Collected whilst working at Tozers LLP
January 07, 2021 20210107115016

Smooth house purchase

5

We were under time pressure, as always with house moves, and this was exacerbated by some Covid pressures. All in all we completed by our deadline, so we were very happy with that.

Solicitor named in this review: Vernon Clarke

A representative from Tozers LLP responded to this review on 07 January, 2021

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Alice
Verified Alice Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
Tozers LLP
Collected whilst working at Tozers LLP
January 03, 2021 20210103205206

Business / Commercial

5

We will be using Tozers again, right from the start Vernon was interested and looking to gain more knowledge on our circumstances before we had instructed him. This gave a confidence that he was the right person to go with and he was. Prompt responses and always helpful with any question, he has been helpful every step of the way. Made a stressful process a lot easy to deal with . Thank you!

Solicitor named in this review: Vernon Clarke

A representative from Tozers LLP responded to this review on 05 January, 2021

Dear Alice, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback of the service you received from Vernon. We are thrilled you had such a positive experience and look forward to working with you again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Stephen
Verified Stephen Added 1 month ago Report to admin
Tozers LLP
Collected whilst working at Tozers LLP
December 19, 2020 20201219090724

House Purchase - Conveyancing Support

5

We used Tozers LLP for the sale of our first home, and subsequent purchase of our second. The support we received was excellent, and we will be looking to use Tozers in the future should the need arise.

Solicitor named in this review: Vernon Clarke

A representative from Tozers LLP responded to this review on 05 January, 2021

Dear Stephen, thank you for your kind review of the service you received from Vernon Clarke. We look forward to working with you again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sarah Alice
Verified Sarah Alice Added 1 month ago Report to admin
Tozers LLP
Collected whilst working at Tozers LLP
December 09, 2020 20201209000000

Housing & Property

5

Sarah Alice recommends Tozers LLP

Solicitor named in this review: Vernon Clarke

Was this review helpful? Yes

Tracey Ann
Verified Tracey Ann Added 1 month ago Report to admin
Tozers LLP
Collected whilst working at Tozers LLP
December 06, 2020 20201206205211

Residential Property

5

Efficient, thorough, prompt service. Sage and credible advice. Reliable and effective input. Highly experienced with a valuable skills set. Attentive, approachable, friendly and responsive. High degree of pride in aiming to offer best possible practice. Supremely organised and exceptionally hard working.

Solicitor named in this review: Vernon Clarke

A representative from Tozers LLP responded to this review on 09 December, 2020

Dear Tracey Ann, thank you for leaving such positive feedback. We are thrilled to hear you experienced a smooth and efficient service from Vernon with your transaction. The staff at Tozers pride themselves on the service we offer and your feedback is so important to ensure we continue to offer a first class experience for all of our Clients. We look forward to working with you again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Tracey Ann
Verified Tracey Ann Added 1 month ago Report to admin
Tozers LLP
Collected whilst working at Tozers LLP
December 04, 2020 20201204215417

Tozers LLP

5

Ever prompt, attentive conveyancing service. Accurate, wise, incisive advice. Competent, conscientious guidance. Experienced and authoritative representation. Passionate, proud and driven to deliver best practice.

Solicitor named in this review: Vernon Clarke

A representative from Tozers LLP responded to this review on 09 December, 2020

Dear Tracey Ann, thank you for your fantastic feedback of the service you received from Vernon! We are so happy you had such a smooth and efficient transaction and very much look forward to working with you again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Thomas
Verified Thomas Added 1 month ago Report to admin
Tozers LLP
Collected whilst working at Tozers LLP
December 02, 2020 20201202222443

Outstanding professionalism and support

5

From the outset, Vernon Clarke and his team provided a first class, attentive and detailed service. They have been on hand to provide immediate advice - often outside standard hours - and have provided a steady drum beat of pressure on the external agents involved in house sale & purchase. We’ve found the whole experience both professional and highly personable and can recommend the entire team to any prospective vendor/buyer.

Solicitor named in this review: Vernon Clarke

A representative from Tozers LLP responded to this review on 10 December, 2020

Dear Thomas, thank you for the fantastic feedback of your experience with Vernon. We really appreciate you taking the time to leave a review as Client feedback is vital to ensure that we, as a firm, continue to offer our Clients a first class service. We look forward to working with you again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sarah Jane
Verified Sarah Jane Added 1 month ago Report to admin
Tozers LLP
Collected whilst working at Tozers LLP
December 02, 2020 20201202103900

Excellent!

5

Really impressed with the service, once again. I’ve used Tozers on a number of occasions, and have never had any complaints. Very efficient, great communication, and attention to detail is second to none. Thank you ever so much Vernon!

Solicitor named in this review: Vernon Clarke

A representative from Tozers LLP responded to this review on 02 December, 2020

Thank you Sarah. Nothing is better than hearing about experiences such as yours. We are really pleased that you continue to come back to us and we look forward to working with you again.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Theresa Mary
Verified Theresa Mary Added 1 month ago Report to admin
Tozers LLP
Collected whilst working at Tozers LLP
November 30, 2020 20201130141314

Moving house

5

Moving house for the first time in 30 years and on my own was always going to be hard. Tozers were efficient and worked very hard to ensure that things went as smoothly as possible.

Solicitor named in this review: Vernon Clarke

A representative from Tozers LLP responded to this review on 30 November, 2020

Hi Theresa, thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We hope your move went smoothly and that you enjoy your new home!

Was this review helpful? Yes

David
Verified David Added 1 month ago Report to admin
Tozers LLP
Collected whilst working at Tozers LLP
November 26, 2020 20201126142316

Westbury House

5

Professional conveyancing from Vernon Clarke. Excellent communication and experienced counseling. A good experience.

Solicitor named in this review: Vernon Clarke

A representative from Tozers LLP responded to this review on 27 November, 2020

Thank you David, we look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

About Vernon Clarke

Vernon works with a wide range of clients including country landowners, farmers, property developers, pension funds and charities. He acts regularly in sales, purchases and leases of high value London properties, historic houses and large rural estates. He also has a wealth of experience in a range of other property matters such as development land deals, holiday letting businesses, solar parks, buy-to-let portfolios, woodlands, fisheries and sporting rights. An Oxford graduate who trained with Tozers, Vernon qualified as a solicitor in 1986 and has been a partner since 1989. He is highly responsive and aims to provide clients with a fast, friendly and efficient service. His role internally is to provide leadership and strategic direction for the Property Team. Vernon is a member of the Agricultural Law Association, the Charity Law Association, the Society of Trust and Estate Practitioners and the Country Land & Business Association. He is active in the voluntary sector, having served for many years as a trustee of Devon Wildlife Trust, and of a charity providing therapeutic learning and sheltered employment for people with disabilities. He is a past Chair of Exeter Historic Buildings Trust and has been appointed recently as a trustee of a North Devon almshouse charity. He also serves as a school governor. Outside of work he enjoys country pursuits and is a keen sportsman.

Languages Spoken: English, French

Contact Vernon Clarke

Address

Tozers LLP

Broadwalk House

Southernhay West

Exeter

Devon



Phone 01392 667672

Website

Resume

LICENSE

Country

Status

Acquired

Updated

United Kingdom

Currently Registered

01/11/86

09/03/20

We found no instances of professional misconduct for this solicitor

WORK EXPERIENCE

Title

Name

Duration

SRA-approved manager - Member

Tozers

?-present