Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Gateley Plc Compares

Value for money

!

Limited data.

This firm - 98%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Gateley Plc on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Gateley Plc. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 0%
About Right 100%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 98%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Gateley Plc and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Gateley Plc performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 98%
No 2%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 98%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Gateley Plc and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Gateley Plc compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 98%
No 2%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Gateley Plc offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Locally

Nationally

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.9/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    169
  • Very Good

    4
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    3

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
AA

AA

August 21, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Removal of Daily Mail article

Contacted Gateley regarding an article in the Daily Mail, Rory Lynch took on the case and the article was removed within the week. Rory and his team answered emails promptly and gave an amazing service.

Was this review helpful?

Rupinder

Rupinder

May 28, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Will and Dispute

Initially the solicitor was helpful and made promises. As time went on this was never fulfilled and in fact charged excessive fee's. I made it extremely clear 'not to carry out any work unless I agree' However, the solicitor took upon herself to continue and now I have a bill. I DO NOT recommend anyone to use Gately solicitors. The fee's charged are not clear with accurate details.

Was this review helpful?

EAA

Matter Type:

Probate

EAA

December 11, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Escalated Complaint to Solicitor Regulator - unprofessional

Unprofessional with exorbitant charges - no follow up; significant delays and no breakdown of charges provided. No response from solicitors or responses to complaints, no acknowledgment from senior partners. Unfair dealings causing financial losses. They were supposed to be managing probate and settlement of my mothers estate - it’s been over 6months and they are still holding onto funds from sale despite telling me twice they’re going to make interim settlements - that was more than a month ago after chasing them repeatedly. Now they’ve gone completely silent. The solicitor and partner don’t even answer or return calls; no customer service e at all! They’re disinterested and treat clients unfairly.
I’ve been left with no choice but to escalate to the solicitors regulator now. Hoping SRA sort it out, of course that’s even more delays and financial losses in the meantime.

Was this review helpful?

Andy

Matter Type:

Commercial Law

Andy

November 03, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Sporting guidance

Over the last few years, more so in the last few months, within a recent role i held I had the priviledge of working with Gateley Legal and being able to share knowledge across a multitude of areas. I met Claire Herbert through the Nottingham Panthers, in Slovakia, and then met again at a networking event.
Gateley have been a significant driver in sports over recent years and were recently the main support for the Common Wealth games. Gateley helped me and the team I have had keep one step ahead in some areas like with Safe Guarding, sporting governance, employment law and a multitude of other areas where I needed assistance.
I would definately recommend Gateley legal for anyone, not just sport, that needs a good sound judgement from a fabulous team that will support you through thick and thin.

Was this review helpful?

Lucy

Matter Type:

Litigation Law

Lucy

November 30, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Tenacious litigators you want on your side!

James Baird - Partner at Gateley Legal
James, and his team, are the perfect mix of experience and tenacity, with exceptional market knowledge and a keen eye for detail. James is the lawyer you want on your side – his steady nerves, strong strategic approach and client expectation management are the best in the industry.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Matter Type:

Commercial Law

Anonymous

June 22, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Highly recommend

I highly recommend Paul’s expertise, pragmatism and strategic approach. He is careful to understand exactly what you need and provide flexible and thoughtful solutions to achieve your goal whilst minimising risk and stress. I found Paul very approachable, open and warm, and his advice was always clear, practical and wise.

Was this review helpful?

Emily

Matter Type:

Commercial Law

Emily

June 20, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great to work with

Mailin was great to work with. She quickly understood the project brief, exceeded the project delivery requirements by thinking creatively and flexibly, and was a pleasure to work with. I highly recommend her.

Was this review helpful?

Gigs

Matter Type:

Commercial Law

Gigs

June 17, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Incredible professional approach

Mailin was instrumental in meeting a crucial deadline. This was underlined not only by her incredible professional approach to the task but also by a clear understanding of effective client engagement.

Was this review helpful?

Counsel

Matter Type:

Commercial Law

Counsel

June 16, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

The best

Paul is without question the best commercial lawyer in the world.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Matter Type:

Commercial Law

Anonymous

June 15, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Expert, quick and practical/commercial advice

Ruth and her team have advised us over a great many years providing expert, quick and practical/commercial advice. A key asset of using Ruth is not only her very strong experience and expertise but her ability to forge relationships not only internally at all levels but also with the enforcement and regulatory agencies which can be particularly helpful and is a real asset.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Anthony

Anthony

April 19, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Anthony

Nice place 😁

Was this review helpful?

Spencer

Spencer

January 04, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Spencer

Never acknowledge correspondence, try to enforce bully boy tactics on vulnerable people

Was this review helpful?

r

r

December 14, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

A client

Very friendly and competent company. My family has been using them for years.

Was this review helpful?

Spencer

Spencer

November 10, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Spencer

Working with Lesley Brentnall on a conveyancing matter. Very impressed with the communication and efficiency. Everything has been smooth sailing. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?

Stephen

Stephen

July 22, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Stephen

Great company providing professional, proactive and good value services.

Was this review helpful?

Gateley Plc are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Birmingham is the head office location for the Gateley Group , with more than 400 professionals based there. Founded in Victorian Birmingham, Gateley has changed a lot over the intervening years. Our address list has grown and we have welcomed new offices and teams to the Gateley family. Our clients have changed and we have moved with them. We work with clients from start-ups and SMEs through to large corporates and public sector organisations. What has stayed the same has been our focus on helping our clients to thrive and prosper. That commercial, entrepreneurial spirit goes to the heart of our business and shapes our story.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Libel and Defamation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Malicious falsehood
    • Pre-publication advice
  • Crime/ Criminal Defence
    • Business Crime
    • Fraud
    • Professional Conduct
    • Regulatory Defence
  • Education
    • Education
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Media and Sports
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pay Issue
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Annulment
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Maintenance
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Divorce Mediation
    • Elderly care
    • Elderly care home fees
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • High Net Worth Divorce
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • International Divorce
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Leasehold properties
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
  • Immigration
    • Administrative reviews, appeals and judicial reviews
    • Ancestry visas
    • Applications for British citizenship
    • Applications for discretionary leave
    • Applications to extend leave to remain or for settlement
    • Citizenship
    • Deportation appeals
    • EEA Family Permits
    • EEA Registration Cards
    • EEA Residence Permits
    • Entry clearance applications and appeals
    • Family Based Visas
    • Family Reunion Applications / Appeals
    • Family Visit Visa Applications /Appeals
    • Further leave to remain applications
    • General Visit Visa Applications / Appeals
    • Immigration Law
    • Indefinite leave to remain applications
    • Marriage Applications/Appeals
    • Nationality, Citizenship, Registration application
    • Partner and family visas
    • Re-entry bans
    • Settlement Applications and indefinite leave to remain appeals
    • Tier 1 (investors, entrepreneurs and exceptional talent)
    • Tier 2 (sponsored skilled workers)
    • Tier 4 (students)
    • Tier 5 (temporary workers)
    • UK ancestry
    • Visas
  • Money & Tax
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Professional Negligence
    • Accountants
    • Architects
    • Barristers
    • Engineers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional Negligence
    • Professional Negligence law
    • Professional trustees
    • Surveyors
    • Tax consultants
    • Valuers
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • International
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Banking
    • Banking
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Data Protection
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Insurance
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Outsourcing agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Slander
    • Small businesses
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
  • Construction
    • Building contracts and professional appointments
    • Construction
    • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
    • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
    • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
    • Development agreements
    • Development loan facilities
    • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
    • Engineering contracts
    • Facility maintenance agreements
    • Framework agreements
    • Guarantees and bonds
    • In-house training
    • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • Energy & Transport
    • Energy
    • Maritime and Shipping
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
    • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
    • Computer and IT Law
    • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
    • Copyright
    • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
    • Design rights and product designs
    • Domain Names
    • GDPR
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
    • Patents
    • Personality and Image Rights
    • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Regulations
    • Environment
    • Health and Safety
    • Licensing
Book an appointment