Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Gateley Plc Compares

Value for money

!

Limited data.

This firm - 98%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Gateley Plc on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Gateley Plc. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 98%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Gateley Plc and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Gateley Plc performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 98%
No 2%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 98%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Gateley Plc and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Gateley Plc compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 98%
No 2%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Gateley Plc offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.9/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    169
  • Very Good

    4
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    3

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Emily

Matter Type:

Commercial Law

Emily

June 20, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great to work with

Mailin was great to work with. She quickly understood the project brief, exceeded the project delivery requirements by thinking creatively and flexibly, and was a pleasure to work with. I highly recommend her.

Was this review helpful?

Nicki

Nicki

May 24, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Recommend without hesitation

I have worked with Vicky on several cross border and UK based transactions including corporate disposals, refinancing with existing investors and the introduction of new investors. On each occasion Vicky has been professional yet personable and provides practical, timely advice bringing in other Gateley experts as required. I would recommend her without hesitation.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Anonymous

April 22, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Diligent and tenacious

Diligent, tenacious, reliable and drives cases forward leaving no stone unturned.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Anonymous

March 28, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

A pleasure to work with

Always displays a high degree of professionalism in providing effective and timely legal advice in all matters and a pleasure to work with.

Was this review helpful?

Samuel

Samuel

March 20, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

trusted partner

Leanne is a trusted BDW partner who can be relied upon to work diligently and enthusiastically towards achieving her clients’ aims.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Anonymous

February 22, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Practical and concrete advice

He is an excellent professional, providing practical and concrete advice. I also note that he was available on a Friday night, late UK time and I appreciated his flexibility a great deal.

Was this review helpful?

Richard

Richard

February 18, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Thank you

We would like to thank Gateley Legal for their hard work and straight-talking advice which helped guide us through the process as smoothly as possible.

Was this review helpful?

Steve

Steve

January 22, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

A safe pair of hands

Gemma is a safe pair of hands. She keeps a level head when under pressure and can always be called on to give practical and commercial advice in a timely manner.

Was this review helpful?

Paul

Paul

January 19, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Legal adviser of choice and a trusted business partner

Gateley have for many years advised us on our fund raising and M&A activity. The support provided by the team at Gateley has been superb – commercial and pragmatic, whilst always technically sound and solutions-driven. They remain our legal adviser of choice and a trusted business partner.

Was this review helpful?

James

James

December 20, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Verging on superhuman

Mark’s abilities to solve even the most complex of client matters sometimes feels like it is verging on superhuman.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Anthony

Anthony

April 19, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Anthony

Nice place 😁

Was this review helpful?

Spencer

Spencer

January 04, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Spencer

Never acknowledge correspondence, try to enforce bully boy tactics on vulnerable people

Was this review helpful?

r

r

December 14, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

A client

Very friendly and competent company. My family has been using them for years.

Was this review helpful?

Spencer

Spencer

November 10, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Spencer

Working with Lesley Brentnall on a conveyancing matter. Very impressed with the communication and efficiency. Everything has been smooth sailing. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?

Stephen

Stephen

July 22, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Stephen

Great company providing professional, proactive and good value services.

Was this review helpful?

Gateley Plc are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Our Guildford office was created when we acquired GCL Solicitors in 2018. Today, we have a team of more than 100 legal professionals based in our office in Cathedral Hill. The team in Guildford includes one of our largest residential development teams, working with housebuilders and property developer clients right across the South East. Founded in Victorian Birmingham, Gateley has changed a lot over the intervening years. Our address list has grown and we have welcomed new offices and teams to the Gateley family. Our clients have changed and we have moved with them. We work with clients from start-ups and SMEs through to large corporates and public sector organisations. What has stayed the same has been our focus on helping our clients to thrive and prosper. That commercial, entrepreneurial spirit goes to the heart of our business and shapes our story.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Libel and Defamation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Malicious falsehood
    • Pre-publication advice
  • Crime/ Criminal Defence
    • Business Crime
    • Fraud
    • Professional Conduct
    • Regulatory Defence
  • Education
    • Education
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Media and Sports
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pay Issue
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Annulment
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Maintenance
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Divorce Mediation
    • Elderly care
    • Elderly care home fees
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • High Net Worth Divorce
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • International Divorce
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Leasehold properties
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
  • Immigration
    • Administrative reviews, appeals and judicial reviews
    • Ancestry visas
    • Applications for British citizenship
    • Applications for discretionary leave
    • Applications to extend leave to remain or for settlement
    • Citizenship
    • Deportation appeals
    • EEA Family Permits
    • EEA Registration Cards
    • EEA Residence Permits
    • Entry clearance applications and appeals
    • Family Based Visas
    • Family Reunion Applications / Appeals
    • Family Visit Visa Applications /Appeals
    • Further leave to remain applications
    • General Visit Visa Applications / Appeals
    • Immigration Law
    • Indefinite leave to remain applications
    • Marriage Applications/Appeals
    • Nationality, Citizenship, Registration application
    • Partner and family visas
    • Re-entry bans
    • Settlement Applications and indefinite leave to remain appeals
    • Tier 1 (investors, entrepreneurs and exceptional talent)
    • Tier 2 (sponsored skilled workers)
    • Tier 4 (students)
    • Tier 5 (temporary workers)
    • UK ancestry
    • Visas
  • Money & Tax
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Professional Negligence
    • Accountants
    • Architects
    • Barristers
    • Engineers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional Negligence
    • Professional Negligence law
    • Professional trustees
    • Surveyors
    • Tax consultants
    • Valuers
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • International
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Banking
    • Banking
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Data Protection
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Insurance
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Outsourcing agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Slander
    • Small businesses
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
  • Construction
    • Building contracts and professional appointments
    • Construction
    • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
    • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
    • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
    • Development agreements
    • Development loan facilities
    • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
    • Engineering contracts
    • Facility maintenance agreements
    • Framework agreements
    • Guarantees and bonds
    • In-house training
    • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • Energy & Transport
    • Energy
    • Maritime and Shipping
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
    • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
    • Computer and IT Law
    • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
    • Copyright
    • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
    • Design rights and product designs
    • Domain Names
    • GDPR
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
    • Patents
    • Personality and Image Rights
    • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Regulations
    • Environment
    • Health and Safety
    • Licensing
Book an appointment