Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Heringtons Solicitors Compares

Value for money

This firm - 93%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Heringtons Solicitors on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Heringtons Solicitors. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 12%
About Right 87%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 100%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Heringtons Solicitors and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Heringtons Solicitors performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 100%
No 0%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 98%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Heringtons Solicitors and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Heringtons Solicitors compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 98%
No 2%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Heringtons Solicitors offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.9/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    587
  • Very Good

    33
  • Average

    5
  • Poor

    1
  • Awful

    9

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Kish

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Heringtons LLP.

Matter Type:

Divorce

Kish

April 29, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Divorce negotiations for Financial Order

Thank you to Natalie who I would recommend, she treated my case with empathy and understanding, was professional and I trusted her with her opinion and suggestion on how to proceed.

Was this review helpful?

Gill

Gill

March 13, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Settlement Agreed!

Nikki Coward did a very good job in bringing my dispute to a successful conclusion. She was assisted in the latter stages by Beth Reid, also a very good solicitor.
In my experience I found Nikki friendly, helpful but above all very professional, who has a profound knowledge of her subject. I was confident throughout the whole process that I was in good hands.

Was this review helpful?

Mark Tweddle

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Heringtons LLP.

Matter Type:

Divorce

Mark Tweddle

February 29, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

A great experience at a difficult time.

I needed help to review & reply to communication received from my ex wife’s solicitors. I called Herringtons LLP who assigned Lola Goodwin as my family solicitor. Throughout the time Lola was looking after my case I received great advice and help in doing what was best for me. I was always informed of everything that was going on throughout this time by either Lola or her assistant Stella, both are a credit to Herringtons & I would have no problem recommending her.

Was this review helpful?

Ingrid

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Heringtons LLP.

Ingrid

February 08, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Invaluable help

Heringtons Solicitors helped me during a long process of solving a freehold issue. They were extremely helpful, friendly and professional. They also have been very good during a lengthy process of creating new leases. I can only highly recommend Heringtons Solicitors - they are very efficient and knowledgeable.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Heringtons LLP.

Anonymous

January 18, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Harrington solicitor

Harrington solicitors are really great they was very good with my court case

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Heringtons LLP.

Matter Type:

Possession and repossession proceedings

Anonymous

November 21, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Rental repossession

Beth and her team supported us through the process from start to finish. We found her advice clear and considered enabling us to make decisions confidently during this difficult time.
Beth was responsive to email and contacted us to advise when she would respond by in the event she couldn't reply in full immediately. We really appreciated this.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Heringtons LLP.

Anonymous

October 16, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Nuptial Agreement

I approached Heringtons for advice on renewal of a pre/post-nuptial agreement - or conceivably separation if agreement could not be reached. This was potentially a pretty stressful and emotional period - with the relationship at home getting fairly fraught at times. Natalie's advice was calm, supportive, constructive and good-humoured. This, and friendly dealings with her colleague, made the whole process more bearable and resulted in what my partner and I feel to be a fair and amicable outcome - and a happier home life restored...

Was this review helpful?

Peter

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Heringtons LLP.

Matter Type:

Litigation - Property litigation claims

Peter

July 14, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Property Damage Reparations

My co-freeholder caused extensive damage to my flat as a result of building work carried out to improve his share of the jointly owned property. He proved difficult and unwilling to accept responsibility for the damage caused. I sought reparations and compensation and Heringtons took on my case and achieved success in all aspects of the dispute. Despite becoming both complex and protracted the case was professionally handled throughout by Nikki Coward and eventually concluded most satisfactorily.

Was this review helpful?

Vivien

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Heringtons LLP.

Matter Type:

Litigation for Holiday and Residential Parks

Vivien

July 13, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Legal assistance

Very helpful and professional help receivd

Was this review helpful?

Louise Tillett

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Heringtons LLP.

Matter Type:

Divorce

Louise Tillett

June 06, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Service and advice was first-class, simply cannot fault!

Tia recently assisted me with a particularly complicated and onerous legal situation. Time was of the essence, Tia's approach was professional, pragmatic and robust, always prompt and absolutely reliable with regard responding to myself and other parties involved. As previously stated we had little time however Tia's knowledge and expertise became very evident very quickly. The case was successful and I have no doubt that this was due not only to Tia's experience and capabilities but also down to her sincere approach, ability to listen and take the time to understand. I would engage again without a moment's hesitation and I cannot recommend to others more highly.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Ruby

Ruby

January 05, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Ruby

I used Heringtons solicitors for divorce, children’s matters financial and to purchase a property. I found them no less than outstanding. I would not hesitate to use these again.

Was this review helpful?

Chris

Chris

October 10, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Chris

Beth Reid was honest and frank, helpful at every turn, she provided a discreet "arms length" between us and our tenant, negotiating a simple and effective closure to a situation that had dragged on for several months. As she said at the outset, we could have done it ourselves, but she carried the emotional baggage for us, which is what we needed at the time.

Was this review helpful?

Peter

Peter

August 17, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Peter

Nikki Coward and her team were professional and on top of their game throughout. The satisfactory outcome was entirely due to their expert and dedicated handling of the dispute

Was this review helpful?

E

E

January 19, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

A client

Overpriced, understaffed & under-delivered. If you're looking for efficient, swift, professional service AVOID Heringtons at Hastings. I never leave reviews but felt so disappointed and strongly about my inefficient experience! I would NOT recommend and will be avoiding Heringtons.

Was this review helpful?

Robin

Robin

October 01, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Robin

Went to the hastings branch friday morning told someone will ring me from rye branchlatter that day,but eventually rang Tuesday late after noon,not unacceptable.

Was this review helpful?

Heringtons Solicitors are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

We’ve been serving the people of East Sussex for around 250 years and can trace our history back to the firms of Raper & Fovargue in Battle and Dawes Son & Prentice in Rye in the mid 18th Century. There has been a lot of change and growth since then but we are still firmly rooted in the local community, combining legal excellence with a highly personalised service – for local people and businesses. Although constantly improving our use of technology to provide the most effective legal service, we still take the time and care to build one-to-one relationships with clients - a traditional way of working that’s fast disappearing in many law firms. As a client, you will usually work with the same lawyer and legal secretary throughout each engagement. There are some exceptions, such as in matters where you may need more than one specialist but, in most cases, you will have the dedicated support of the same well-qualified and experienced lawyer. We are accredited with the Law Society Conveyancing Quality Scheme (CQS) so you know that when you instruct us on a residential conveyancing matter, you are in safe hands. Whatever your legal need, whether personal or business, we look forward to helping you.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Travel rights
  • Employment
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Settlement Agreements
  • Family Law
    • Change of name
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation Agreement
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Trusts
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Data Protection
    • Franchising
    • Management buyouts
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation