Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Birkett Long LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 95%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Birkett Long LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Birkett Long LLP. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 23%
About Right 76%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 99%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Birkett Long LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Birkett Long LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 99%
No 1%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 98%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Birkett Long LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Birkett Long LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 98%
No 2%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Birkett Long LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.9/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    443
  • Very Good

    8
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    5

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Birkett Long LLP.

Matter Type:

Wills

Anonymous

May 20, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Professional and friendly help when needed most

Answered all my questions and queries quickly and thoroughly, showed empathy and reassurance when you most needed it. Would recommend Birkett Long to anyone especially Leah Woodlee.

Was this review helpful?

Allan G Crisp

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Birkett Long LLP.

Matter Type:

Wills

Allan G Crisp

April 18, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Write up a new will

Excellent,Chloe Walker was the solicitor my solicitor,first I needed to retrieve my late wife’s will which was very hard to do, Chloe was very kind and empathetic and understanding,this helped me so much,even though it may have been very hard for her too. Next I had to update my will again much help and advice,very helpful,and efficient,great coffee from Francis too. Many thanks to you both.

Was this review helpful?

Michelle Gray

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Birkett Long LLP.

Matter Type:

Disputed Probate

Michelle Gray

April 12, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Extremely helpful

Chloe was absolutely wonderful. She sorted out the mess I managed to get the probate in and I would thoroughly recommend her

Was this review helpful?

Avis Alexander

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Birkett Long LLP.

Avis Alexander

February 28, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Writing my will

When I attended the appointment, I was nervous, feeling emotional and had little or no idea where to start in making my will. My solicitor Chloe was very understanding of my situation she treated me with kindness, respect and was very professional in her approach. I could not have expected better.

Was this review helpful?

Adam

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Birkett Long LLP.

Matter Type:

Wills

Adam

February 27, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Helpful and great advice

Very helpful organising my will. I didn't feel rushed and found Chloe to be very knowledgeable.

Was this review helpful?

Sarah

Sarah

February 27, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent support throughout

We use Birkett Long for our wills and the experience we have had with Chloe Walker has been very positive. Chloe gave us the time and patience that we needed for such a sensitive occasion and we are very happy with how thorough she has been, leaving us assured that things will be dealt with properly if and when necessary.

Was this review helpful?

Philip & Catherine Carter

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Birkett Long LLP.

Matter Type:

Probate

Philip & Catherine Carter

November 16, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Review of Chloe Walker dealing with Probate

Very nice to deal with, quick to action / respond, & always helpful. Francis in Basildon office was also a pleasure to deal with when Chloe not available.

Was this review helpful?

denise hill

Matter Type:

Probate

denise hill

November 09, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Probate for late mums estate

Chloe was amazing such a helpful person , nothing was to much trouble she kept us updated all the way . If emailed or phoned came back to us straight away would highly recommend her all day long . Thank you

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Birkett Long LLP.

Anonymous

November 08, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Probate for my mothers estate

Chloe walker was very professional and helpful through out the whole time , would highly recommend her kept in contact the whole time always answered emails and questions quickly .

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Birkett Long LLP.

Anonymous

November 08, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Probate for my mums estate

Chloe has been brilliant sorting out my mums estate , can’t rate her enough would highly recommend .

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Jackie

Jackie

January 27, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Jackie

Excellent service, professional and efficient. Would definitely recommend

Was this review helpful?

carol

carol

February 08, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

carol

made appointment to make a new will. Helpful efficient service. Would recommend services to family and friends.

Was this review helpful?

Tom

Tom

March 22, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Tom

We have used Alison Bear at Birkett Long for all of our conveyancing and have always been extremely happy with her work. In our most recent sale / purchase which was at no point straight forward she was nothing short of brilliant, she kept us updated, responded to various third parties extremely quickly at what must have been an incredibly busy time for solicitors with the stamp duty holiday deadline. We would certainly recommend Alison and Birkett Long for any conveyancing.

Was this review helpful?

patrick

patrick

February 25, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

patrick

Friendly, efficient and knowledgeable!

Was this review helpful?

Spencer

Spencer

January 28, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Spencer

A few months ago I was contacted by Birkett Long asking me if I wished to review our joint wills. I put it off, hoping we could have a normal Christmas first. That didn't happen! I then went back to them and was invited to talk to David Feakins, a solicitor in the practice. As instructed by Boris the office was closed but David made all the arrangements to have Microsoft Teams meeting for my wife and I.
I think we all worry about how much it will cost to go to law but David made it quite clear up front how much the various options would cost and the fact that he wasn't charging by the minute for his time on line.
We now have two wills which I think will give the best deal for our beneficiaries and hopefully avoid swallowing up the whole estate in care home costs.
Incidentally he also gave me some free advice about LPAs which will save me a few bob!

Thanks David, and well done

Was this review helpful?

Birkett Long LLP are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Birkett Long is here for good. It’s not just about knowing the law. It’s also about the impact we have on businesses and our communities. Based in Essex, we are focused on people – our clients, employees, business partners and those in our local communities. Our specialist lawyers, patent attorneys, independent financial advisers and HR specialists work in dedicated teams to offer clients the full range of advice, whether it’s in business or at home. In business: At Birkett Long, we understand that every business is different. It doesn’t matter if you are an international enterprise, a local firm or a new company just setting up, we know you need the best possible advice so that important decisions are straightforward and cost-effective. We want to help you achieve your objectives. We will invest time to work through every step as you build your business, advising on day to day legal issues, structure, business protection and property transactions, or simply being there when things don’t go the way you anticipated. Our aim is to maximise our contribution to the financial success of your business! At home: We’ll guide you through what can be a complex maze of procedures and rules without using legal jargon, allowing you to rest assured that your legal matter has been dealt with by experts. You will be kept informed every step of the way. We are upfront and honest about both progress and fees, so that there are no surprises.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Travel rights
  • Crime/ Criminal Defence
    • Regulatory Defence
  • Education
    • Education
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Media and Sports
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Immigration
    • Asylum and Deportation
    • Citizenship
    • Immigration Law
    • Visas
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Professional Negligence
    • Barristers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional Negligence
    • Professional trustees
    • Valuers
  • Welfare & Benefits
    • Mental Health
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
    • Veterinary negligence
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Small businesses
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Construction
    • Building contracts and professional appointments
    • Construction
    • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
    • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
    • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
    • Development agreements
    • Development loan facilities
    • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
    • Engineering contracts
    • Facility maintenance agreements
    • Framework agreements
    • Guarantees and bonds
    • In-house training
    • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Computer and IT Law
    • GDPR
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
  • Regulations
    • Environment
    • Health and Safety
    • Licensing
Book an appointment