Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Birkett Long LLP Compares

Value for money

!

Limited data.

This firm - 98%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Birkett Long LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 99%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Birkett Long LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Birkett Long LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 99%
No 1%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 99%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Birkett Long LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Birkett Long LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 99%
No 1%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Birkett Long LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.9/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    56
  • Very Good

    1
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    1

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Anonymous

Anonymous

February 23, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Birkett Long dealt with all the matters that arose in a timely manner

Were patient with the points I raised, with a final very satisfactory outcome. This all despite the problems that coronavirus created.

Was this review helpful?

Mr

Mr

February 22, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

All my enquiries have been efficiently dealt with and all communications carried out in a friendly and helpful manner.

On the basis of the excellent service I received in the sale of one property, I have instructed Birkett Long to act for me on the purchase of three others.

Was this review helpful?

Ian

Ian

February 21, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Tim provided clear advice on what were some complicated contract clauses.

Moreover, he understood our concerns, the mitigations and our preference to find a workable solution which would allow us to continue dealing with the service provider.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Anonymous

February 20, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Birkett Long have assisted with a number of matters.

These have all been dealt with very efficiently and in a timely manner. It has always been very easy to contact the team members.

Was this review helpful?

John

John

February 18, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

All done at a sensible price.

We had reached an age when we thought it safer to get our wills updated and managed through a professional executor. Emma at Birkett Long made the whole process very straight-forward even during lockdown. She offered some very sensible and practical thoughts to help us manage our affairs in avoiding a tax trap. We are now well set with powers of attorney in place too.

Was this review helpful?

P

P

February 16, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Thank you for your close attention and advice throughout.

I am eminently pleased and satisfied with the legal work carried out on my behalf for a codicil for my old will and the new will, which had many detailed provisions included in it.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Anonymous

February 15, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Birkett Long have been amazing

I am very grateful for all their help and support.

Was this review helpful?

Roberta

Roberta

February 14, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

I have dealt with Mr Feakins on two occasions and I have always felt like I was his only client. I have never been dis-satisfied with the service.

On the two occasions I have dealt with David Feakins, I have been afforded the very best in advice and service and good manners and I felt like I was the only client he had. A very rare quality in this day of age. My daughter also is a client of the practice. Keep up the good work. Thank you, I feel settled in myself now my business has been sorted and put away until needed.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Anonymous

February 13, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Review for Birkett Long

The solicitor who worked on our behalf was prompt, professional and also importantly, at times, kind.

Was this review helpful?

Stuart

Stuart

February 12, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Karen handled the family dispute issues with understanding, empathy and resolve which our daughter needed at that time.

She was always contactable and if away her team stood in well for her. She trod the fine line between too much pressure and not enough so that in the end an equitable solution was agreed. We were very happy with her service. Kurt Goddard handled two house transactions, a sale and a purchase and carried out this work with speed and accuracy and was always contactable. His team also handled an additional problematic 'Declaration of Trust' transfer with understanding and accuracy. In both cases we were extremely happy with the service we received and would be happy to recommend them.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Tom

Tom

March 22, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Tom

We have used Alison Bear at Birkett Long for all of our conveyancing and have always been extremely happy with her work. In our most recent sale / purchase which was at no point straight forward she was nothing short of brilliant, she kept us updated, responded to various third parties extremely quickly at what must have been an incredibly busy time for solicitors with the stamp duty holiday deadline. We would certainly recommend Alison and Birkett Long for any conveyancing.

Was this review helpful?

patrick

patrick

February 25, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

patrick

Friendly, efficient and knowledgeable!

Was this review helpful?

Spencer

Spencer

January 28, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Spencer

A few months ago I was contacted by Birkett Long asking me if I wished to review our joint wills. I put it off, hoping we could have a normal Christmas first. That didn't happen! I then went back to them and was invited to talk to David Feakins, a solicitor in the practice. As instructed by Boris the office was closed but David made all the arrangements to have Microsoft Teams meeting for my wife and I.
I think we all worry about how much it will cost to go to law but David made it quite clear up front how much the various options would cost and the fact that he wasn't charging by the minute for his time on line.
We now have two wills which I think will give the best deal for our beneficiaries and hopefully avoid swallowing up the whole estate in care home costs.
Incidentally he also gave me some free advice about LPAs which will save me a few bob!

Thanks David, and well done

Was this review helpful?

Nicola

Nicola

September 19, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Nicola

We used Birkett Long’s conveyancing department for our recent house sale and purchase. The service was excellent - professional and thorough. Communication was great, Jemma and her team were always responsive and quick to deal with any queries.

Was this review helpful?

David

David

September 09, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

David

We experienced a brilliant service from Birkett Long. Holly dealt with our debt collection issue so well. We were always well informed with the perfect amount of guidance and a great result at the end of the process. I always assumed these things would drag on for some time but the issue was resolved so quickly.

Was this review helpful?

Birkett Long LLP are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Birkett Long is here for good. It’s not just about knowing the law. It’s also about the impact we have on businesses and our communities. Based in Essex, we are focused on people – our clients, employees, business partners and those in our local communities. Our specialist lawyers, patent attorneys, independent financial advisers and HR specialists work in dedicated teams to offer clients the full range of advice, whether it’s in business or at home. In business: At Birkett Long, we understand that every business is different. It doesn’t matter if you are an international enterprise, a local firm or a new company just setting up, we know you need the best possible advice so that important decisions are straightforward and cost-effective. We want to help you achieve your objectives. We will invest time to work through every step as you build your business, advising on day to day legal issues, structure, business protection and property transactions, or simply being there when things don’t go the way you anticipated. Our aim is to maximise our contribution to the financial success of your business! At home: We’ll guide you through what can be a complex maze of procedures and rules without using legal jargon, allowing you to rest assured that your legal matter has been dealt with by experts. You will be kept informed every step of the way. We are upfront and honest about both progress and fees, so that there are no surprises.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Travel rights
  • Education
    • Education
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Media and Sports
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Immigration
    • Asylum and Deportation
    • Citizenship
    • Immigration Law
    • Visas
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Professional Negligence
    • Barristers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional Negligence
    • Professional trustees
    • Valuers
  • Welfare & Benefits
    • Mental Health
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
    • Veterinary negligence
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Small businesses
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Construction
    • Building contracts and professional appointments
    • Construction
    • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
    • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
    • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
    • Development agreements
    • Development loan facilities
    • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
    • Engineering contracts
    • Facility maintenance agreements
    • Framework agreements
    • Guarantees and bonds
    • In-house training
    • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Computer and IT Law
    • GDPR
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
  • Regulations
    • Environment
    • Health and Safety
    • Licensing
Book an appointment