Request a callback

Book an appointment

How WSP Solicitors Limited Compares

Value for money

This firm - 92%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of WSP Solicitors Limited on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 8%
About Right 91%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 91%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used WSP Solicitors Limited and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how WSP Solicitors Limited performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 91%
No 9%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 91%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used WSP Solicitors Limited and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how WSP Solicitors Limited compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 91%
No 9%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that WSP Solicitors Limited offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.7/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    147
  • Very Good

    18
  • Average

    2
  • Poor

    1
  • Awful

    9

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
PeterSydneyThomas

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used WSP Solicitors Limited.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

PeterSydneyThomas

February 09, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

House conveyance

Excellent service a difficult situation dealt with utmost efficiency

Was this review helpful?

ElizabethLouise

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used WSP Solicitors Limited.

Matter Type:

Employment Contracts

ElizabethLouise

February 02, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Really helpful swift service

Helped with an employment issue. Good clear advice.

Was this review helpful?

JamesAndrew

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used WSP Solicitors Limited.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

JamesAndrew

February 01, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Recommended

I have now used WSP solicitors for two conveyancing jobs and find them to be both communicative and receptive. I shall have no hesitation in using them if required in the future.

Was this review helpful?

Leigh

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used WSP Solicitors Limited.

Matter Type:

Hospital Negligence Claims

Leigh

January 26, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Claim

Found it straight forward and professional at every stage even when I lost my case it was explained why to me

Was this review helpful?

Varese

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Varese

January 25, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Sue Taylor and Team

All the WSP team were polite & efficient and Sue was great, and answered enquiries very quickly. Despite all the pressures they were under, they got the job done

Was this review helpful?

Simon

Simon

January 16, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Simon

Sue Taylor and her conveyancing team dealt with the sale of our family home and I cannot fault WSP since they acted professionally and efficiently throughout the sale process. Despite losing two buyers early on, WSP were able to complete the sale within our timescales. WSP are certainly worthy of the The Law Society's Conveyancing Quality Scheme mark of accreditation. Thank you!

Was this review helpful?

JohnMark

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used WSP Solicitors Limited.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

JohnMark

December 29, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Sue

Fantastic service, would definitely recommend. Will be contacting regarding Will writing in the near future

Was this review helpful?

JohnMark

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used WSP Solicitors Limited.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

JohnMark

December 29, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Sue

Fantastic service, would definitely recommend. Will be contacting regarding Will writing in the near future

Was this review helpful?

Kate

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used WSP Solicitors Limited.

Matter Type:

Finance

Kate

December 29, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

House sale

My house sale went through smoothly and my experience with WSP was delightful.
I think there could have been slightly more communication at times as I had to ask for updates (but that is a normal complaint with house sales I am told) but I always got a response straightaway and thank Jessica for that.
I would recommend WSP in the future.

Was this review helpful?

Lauren

Matter Type:

Road Traffic Accident

Lauren

December 17, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Injury claim

Demelza Pallant and all her team who have worked hard absolutely deserve this outstanding review. I was unfortunately ran over by a reckless driver and was left with life changing injures to my right leg. Through out my claim this team have been absolutely Brilliant, caring to all my needs and reassuring to any of my questions I asked. Such a quick, outstanding service from the beginning till the end. Always provided updates when there was any. Lovely, friendly caring service/team! So so glad I went with WSP solicitors, would highly highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Guy

Guy

April 08, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Guy

Sue was very effective at getting the conveyancing sorted for my new home.

Was this review helpful?

Martina

Martina

December 15, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Martina

Absolutely shocking customer service from Reception staff!! Truly did not expect this at WSP….took our business elsewhere.

Was this review helpful?

Sally

Sally

December 13, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Sally

2 weeks after informing WSP of a death and they still haven't released the original Will to the Solicitor dealing with probate. The reason given is that they're running with a skeleton staff due to Covid. Repeatedly spent ages on hold trying to speak to someone, staff not easily contactable as working from home and if you leave a message they're slow to return calls. Would not recommend.

Was this review helpful?

owen

owen

November 02, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

owen

We have just completed on a lengthy and complicated house purchase ( at no fault of WSP ) Gemma was fantastic and we cannot thank her enough! Will always recommend WSP!

Was this review helpful?

Katherine

Katherine

September 18, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Katherine

Thank-you for the excellent work that you conducted on my behalf, throughout the period of the Pandemic. Many thanks, again.

Was this review helpful?

WSP Solicitors Limited are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

WSP Solicitors was established following the merger of three local firms that had been providing legal advice in Gloucestershire for more than two centuries: Winterbothams, A E Smith & Son and Penleys. Indeed, Penleys LLP was one of the oldest legal firms in the South West, having been established in Dursley by John Vizard in 1758. Family member William Vizard even acted for Queen Caroline when George IV tried to divorce her. Our heritage is important to us; one of our present solicitors is the great-grandson of Reginald Herbert Penley who retired from the firm in 1905. We still operate in the Cotswold towns of Stroud and Dursley. We also have a city office in the centre of Gloucester to allow us to support even more people across the county. Today, we pride ourselves on using our uncomplicated approach to help people from all walks of life with their personal and business legal affairs. Our ethos of making life less complicated applies to everything we do – including our fees. We’ll always be honest and upfront about our legal costs and give you a fixed estimate before we act on your behalf. We’ll provide regular fee updates and never incur additional charges without your authority. And if your transaction goes particularly smoothly (and less time is spent on it than we initially envisaged) we’ll even lower your bill. What could be simpler than that?

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Maintenance
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Divorce Mediation
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Domestic Violence
    • Elderly care home fees
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • High Net Worth Divorce
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Legal aid
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Personal Injury
    • Accident At Work
    • Accidents In Public Places
    • Back Injury At Work
    • Broken Bone Or Fracture
    • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
    • Bus and Coach Accident
    • Car Accident
    • Car Passenger
    • Children's Accident
    • Children's Serious Injury
    • Cycling Accident
    • Dog Bite
    • Fall From Height
    • Fatal Accident
    • Head Injury At Work
    • Head and Brain Injury
    • Holiday Accidents and Illness
    • Motorbike Accident
    • No Win No Fee
    • Pedestrian Accident
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Road Traffic Accident
    • Serious Injury
    • Slips, Trips and Falls
    • Supermarket Accident
    • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Wills
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Data Protection
    • Franchising
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety
    • Licensing
Book an appointment