Request a callback

Book an appointment

How WSP Solicitors Limited Compares

Value for money

This firm - 91%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of WSP Solicitors Limited on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using WSP Solicitors Limited. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 16%
About Right 83%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 93%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used WSP Solicitors Limited and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how WSP Solicitors Limited performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 93%
No 7%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 93%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used WSP Solicitors Limited and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how WSP Solicitors Limited compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 93%
No 7%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that WSP Solicitors Limited offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.6/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    252
  • Very Good

    26
  • Average

    5
  • Poor

    6
  • Awful

    16

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
KathrynAmanda

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used WSP Solicitors Limited.

KathrynAmanda

April 22, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very slow and unprepared for meetings

Came to meeting with wrong names on forms we had to sign Very disappointing and then to be presented for bill at same meeting. Shoddy work.
Needed lots of chasing for work to be done. Slow to reply to e mails.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used WSP Solicitors Limited.

Anonymous

April 18, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Could not have asked for better

Lydia was exceptional. She has excellent knowledge and her advice was always very thorough but also easy to understand. I would highly recommend Lydia to anyone.

Was this review helpful?

Richard Moore

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used WSP Solicitors Limited.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Richard Moore

April 09, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

First class service during house sale

WSP, and more specifically Leanne Cooper, handled my rather complicated house sale from start to finish.
From the start, Leanne took the sale in hand from start to finish. I was able to meet Leanne in person to discuss a number of difficulties that I had with the co-owner and to hand over ID docs. From there, Leanne acted with total professionalism, handling all difficulties and allowing me to concentrate on other matters.
Leanne was also kind, considerate and empathetic to other things that I had going on and has no doubt contributed to a great deal of stress relief for me. She offers a personal touch that few other Solicitors do, whilst also being incredibly efficient and knowledgeable. Even during a short period of leave, Leanne ensured that her colleague Lucy, covered my work. Lucy was also brilliant.
Leanne came highly recommended by my Sales Agent, Hunter French, Tetbury, and I will also highly recommend Leanne and WSP for Conveyancing...In fact, I have already asked Leanne to personally deal with my next purchase as I have total confidence in her skills and I am incredibly particular about such things.
Thank you Leanne and Lucy and to all of the staff at WSP including those on Reception who are also to be commended.

Was this review helpful?

steve

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

steve

April 02, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Sue Taylor and team

I have just used Sue who was ably assisted by Sam for a third conveyancing job, this last one was not straightforward as there were a few peculiar Land Registry issues. As in the previous jobs, they were very efficient and effective, and communicated very promptly and clearly to all involved parties. I have no hesitation in recommending them to take care of your legal property issues. A very satisfied customer!

Was this review helpful?

Kenneth

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used WSP Solicitors Limited.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Kenneth

February 27, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Conveyancing

Good straight forward service completed within preferred timescale. Always responded to my emails and calls on a timely basis. would recommend.

Was this review helpful?

Julie

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used WSP Solicitors Limited.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Julie

February 22, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Selling my home

As always professional. Been with them for years. Always good advice and professional approach

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used WSP Solicitors Limited.

Anonymous

February 17, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Slow

Slow service, bad communication,
Overly priced for service they provided.

Was this review helpful?

AmandaLouise

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used WSP Solicitors Limited.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

AmandaLouise

February 13, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent

Excellent, efficient service for home buyers

Was this review helpful?

Linda

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used WSP Solicitors Limited.

Matter Type:

Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements

Linda

February 06, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

family law

Beth was very professional, gave great advice , kept me informed at all times, very helpful, would use again if needed

Was this review helpful?

JudeAnne

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used WSP Solicitors Limited.

Matter Type:

Employment Law

JudeAnne

January 30, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Settlement payment

Simon was excellent and gave me great advice and was extremely thorough and professional and sorted my agreement quickly.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Manon

Manon

April 24, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Manon

Terrible attitude and terrible at drafting wills or probate . Vague, greedy and apathetic

Was this review helpful?

Cathy

Cathy

April 11, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Cathy

Exceptional service. Always replied promptly, kept me updated throughout and strived to achieve time frame. Very courtious profesional and reassuring. Highly reccomended.

Was this review helpful?

Craig

Matter Type:

Remortgaging

Craig

March 07, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Craig

We remortgaged our existing house and used WSP to help speed up the process. They did exactly that and I would hesitate to use them again in the future or recommend to others.

Was this review helpful?

Stuart

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Stuart

March 04, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Stuart

I've had a very good experience selling my house through WSP Solicitors in Gloucester. The team was incredibly friendly, easy to deal with, and kept me informed throughout the sale process. Despite a buyer withdrawing halfway through the sale, Emma and her colleagues were incredibly understanding and a pleasure to work with.

I also required legal advice for a conveyancing deal involving a limited company sale, and Shelley's guidance was clear, concise, and delivered with patience and kindness, particularly considering my lack of expertise in legal matters.

I wholeheartedly recommend WSP Solicitors for any legal issues you may encounter or need assistance with.

Was this review helpful?

Bronwynne

Bronwynne

March 02, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Bronwynne

Great professional service

Was this review helpful?

WSP Solicitors Limited are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

WSP Solicitors was established following the merger of three local firms that had been providing legal advice in Gloucestershire for more than two centuries: Winterbothams, A E Smith & Son and Penleys. Indeed, Penleys LLP was one of the oldest legal firms in the South West, having been established in Dursley by John Vizard in 1758. Family member William Vizard even acted for Queen Caroline when George IV tried to divorce her. Our heritage is important to us; one of our present solicitors is the great-grandson of Reginald Herbert Penley who retired from the firm in 1905. We still operate in the Cotswold towns of Stroud and Dursley. We also have a city office in the centre of Gloucester to allow us to support even more people across the county. Today, we pride ourselves on using our uncomplicated approach to help people from all walks of life with their personal and business legal affairs. Our ethos of making life less complicated applies to everything we do – including our fees. We’ll always be honest and upfront about our legal costs and give you a fixed estimate before we act on your behalf. We’ll provide regular fee updates and never incur additional charges without your authority. And if your transaction goes particularly smoothly (and less time is spent on it than we initially envisaged) we’ll even lower your bill. What could be simpler than that?

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Maintenance
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Divorce Mediation
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Domestic Violence
    • Elderly care home fees
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • High Net Worth Divorce
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Legal aid
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Personal Injury
    • Accident At Work
    • Accidents In Public Places
    • Back Injury At Work
    • Broken Bone Or Fracture
    • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
    • Bus and Coach Accident
    • Car Accident
    • Car Passenger
    • Children's Accident
    • Children's Serious Injury
    • Cycling Accident
    • Dog Bite
    • Fall From Height
    • Fatal Accident
    • Head Injury At Work
    • Head and Brain Injury
    • Holiday Accidents and Illness
    • Motorbike Accident
    • No Win No Fee
    • Pedestrian Accident
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Road Traffic Accident
    • Serious Injury
    • Slips, Trips and Falls
    • Supermarket Accident
    • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Wills
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Data Protection
    • Franchising
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety
    • Licensing
Book an appointment