Biscoes Solicitors

02392 512030

Also known as - Biscoes Solicitors

Biscoes, your local lawyers, are located in offices close to you. Emergency and home appointments are available. We are here to help you with all your legal requirements and offer a comprehensive range of legal services. We pride ourselves in providing a professional approach in a friendly environment.

4.7/5 284 Customer Reviews 284 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Biscoes Solicitors compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Biscoes Solicitors on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

284 Customer Reviews

4.7/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    253
  • Very Good
    13
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    6
  • Awful
    10
Anonymous
Click to rate
Christine
Verified Christine Added 1 month ago Report to admin
April 27, 2020 20200427150617

BISCOES SOLICITORS - PARTICULARLY MR A MANNING

5

I would highly recommend Biscoe's Law Limited. From the minute my initial enquiry was answered on the telephone I was impressed with their efficiency. A rather complex issue was very quickly analysed and I was provided with a consultation with a Senior Solicitor. It was a pleasure to meet with Mr Manning. I was provided with so much clear and practical advice. I was pleased that I was offered an urgent appointment, as in my particular case time was not on my side. Fortunately for me the great legal knowledge and professional way Mr Manning acted in my case, enabled me to go on and reach a positive outcome to my predicament. I most certainly would highly recommend Biscoe's Solicitors. To this day, I am still astounded and extremely grateful how Mr Manning manged to grasp and process so much information in the small amount of time available to us. Thank you Biscoe's.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Steven
Verified Steven Added 1 month ago Report to admin
April 22, 2020 20200422010000

Immigration

5

Steven recommends Biscoes Law Limited

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anna
Verified Anna Added 1 month ago Report to admin
April 22, 2020 20200422010000

Immigration

5

Anna recommends Biscoes Law Limited

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sebastiampillai
Verified Sebastiampillai Added 1 month ago Report to admin
April 22, 2020 20200422010000

Immigration

5

Sebastiampillai recommends Biscoes Law Limited

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ryan
Ryan Added 4 months ago Report to admin
January 06, 2020 20200106202948

Average at best.

3

My first property purchase was not a pain free and easy experience using Biscoes. As a young first time buyer things were not explained to me very well, it was hard to get hold of my solicitor at times and mainly, important information in my lease which ultimately lead to me paying for things I had no idea I would be paying were not made clear or highlighted.

Although they were not the worse I certainly would not use them again due to my first experience .
My initial quote was accurate though which is a plus.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Abigail
Abigail Added 1 year ago Report to admin
August 11, 2018 20180811201415

Review for the litigation team.

5

Charlotte Ware was a real delight to work with. She kept us informed of the progress of our case and was always helpful and informative when we contacted her. We felt that she really cared about our case and had a good working knowledge of it. She was friendly and professional and we would not hesitate to recommend her to other clients. The litigation team are, in our opinion, just brilliant.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anna
Anna Added 1 year ago Report to admin
August 11, 2018 20180811184524

Very professional and courteous

5

I would like to thank you very much, and all involved at Biscoes who have helped me achieve the outcome I so desperately needed. I cam through the toughest experience of my life and you have played a major part in getting me through it. You explained everything very well regarding my case and did it in a very professional and courteous manner; I thank you all once again.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Maxine
Maxine Added 1 day ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
June 01, 2020 20200601203702

Top Notarial service during Covid lockdown

5

Biscoes came to the rescue when I needed urgent notarising of legal documents for dealing with a property settlement overseas. With many legal staff working remotely during the lockdown I was apprehensive of finding a Notary who would not only certify my signature but also arrange for the documents to be apostilled by the Foreign Office. Sam Willett seamlessly organised my meeting with Robin in the office car park to witness my signature. Robin had already checked the documentation and established the signing requirements from the overseas solicitors. The documents were forwarded to London for the apostillation and returned duly executed within a fortnight. Both Sam and Robin were a pleasure to deal with. I would recommend Biscoes Notary services without hesitation and would definitely consider them for other legal work

Was this review helpful? Yes

A
A Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
May 08, 2020 20200508112856

Sale & Purchase of Property - Excellent Service from Laura Brett

5

We were recommended to use Laura Brett at Biscoes in Ryde and what a great recommendation it was!  Laura’s attention to detail was excellent and nothing was too much trouble.  As our sale and purchase was taking place during Covid-19, we obviously had concerns about being able to complete but even though we had a number of problems (in particular with the seller solicitor) etc, these were all dealt with very professionally and promptly (by responding to emails and phone calls quickly). Most importantly, we were kept fully up to date with what was happening during such an extremely stressful time, this made the whole experience that much easier; something that is difficult to find these days!  We would happily recommend others to instruct Laura at Biscoes if selling a property!  Thanks so much Laura! 

Was this review helpful? Yes

steve
steve Added 4 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
May 05, 2020 20200505103110

excellent, professional service received from Laura Brett

5

I had the pleasure of dealing with Laura Brett with a property sale and have to say that she was very professional, communication was excellent, and was very easy to work with and I had no problems at all with the work she has done for me and everything she did was in a very timely manner, unlike the other side ( buyers solicitor) she had to engage with who must have been very frustrating for her to deal with. I would not hesitate to recommend Laura to anyone who is looking for a solicitor to deal with a property sale or purchase and at a very reasonable cost. Thank you Laura.

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

Historically, the longserving Portsmouth based firms of Biscoe Smith, Heather and Bellinger, Cousins Burbidge & Connor and Lyndhurst Groves merged in 1994 to form Biscoes Cousins Groves. In 2004 in the Firm's 150th year, Biscoes absorbed Wilkinson & Co and merged with King and Franckeiss, both well respected local firms. Subsequently in 2005 a merger with Covers added a Petersfield office to an already impressive list of locations, which was closely followed by the opening of an office in Gosport. In 2006 a Portchester branch was created following the link up with the long established practice of Barry Swanton & Co. In 2018 Biscoes merged with Gurney Champion & Co & Heyes Saumuel in Ryde, Isle of Wight. Biscoes continues to move confidently into the 21st Century, whilst remaining steadfastly committed to the provision of a traditional and locally based legal service. Located in offices close to you. Emergency and home appointments are available in certain cases. We are here to help you with all your legal requirements and offer a comprehensive range of legal services. We pride ourselves in providing a professional approach in a friendly environment.


Legal Services
  • Applications for discretionary leave
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Criminal Damage
  • Child Law
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Transfers of equity
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Business Crime
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Nationality, Citizenship, Registration application
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Consumer Disputes
  • UK ancestry
  • Injunctions
  • Media and Sports
  • Tier 1 (investors, entrepreneurs and exceptional talent)
  • Applications to extend leave to remain or for settlement
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Tax
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Ancestry visas
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Applications for British citizenship
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Social Services
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Remortgaging
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Re-entry bans
  • Stress at Work
  • Tier 2 (sponsored skilled workers)
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Employment Contracts
  • EEA Residence Permits
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Asylum applications and appeals
  • Litigation Law
  • Family law
  • Settlement Applications and indefinite leave to remain appeals
  • Wills
  • Planning
  • Separation
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • EEA Family Permits
  • Family Visit Visa Applications /Appeals
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Against The Council
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Probate
  • Libel and Defamation
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Civil partnerships
  • Flexible Working
  • Drugs offences
  • Child contact
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Buying at auction
  • Trusts
  • Collaborative Law
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Notary
  • Entry clearance applications and appeals
  • Travel rights
  • Professional Negligence
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Financial Matters
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Pension Law
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Transfer of title
  • Repossessions
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Consumer Rights
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Right to Manage
  • Trusts
  • Pension and property advice
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Family Reunion Applications / Appeals
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Leasehold properties
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Separation Agreement
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Theft
  • Senior Executives
  • Deportation appeals
  • Murder and Manslaughter
  • Gardening Leave
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Family Leave
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • EEA Registration Cards
  • Professional Conduct
  • Marriage Applications/Appeals
  • Property Disputes
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Indefinite leave to remain applications
  • Tier 5 (temporary workers)
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Family Mediation
  • TUPE
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Assault
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Citizenship
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Extending your Lease
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Injunctions
  • Road Traffic Accident
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Part Time Workers
  • Lease Extensions
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Redundancy
  • Tier 4 (students)
  • Professional Discipline
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Partner and family visas
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Illegal Workers and Civil Penalties
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Administrative reviews, appeals and judicial reviews
  • Immigration Law
  • Visas
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Criminal defence - All
  • Children
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • General Visit Visa Applications / Appeals
  • Housing Management
  • Housing disputes
  • Housing Associations
  • Regulatory Defence
  • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Human Rights
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Family Based Visas
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Tax
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Facility maintenance agreements
  • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
  • Competition law
  • Personality and Image Rights
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Guarantees and bonds
  • Engineering contracts
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • In-house training
  • Intellectual Property
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Licensing
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Finance
  • Data Protection
  • Share option schemes
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Management buyouts
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Development plot sales
  • Environment
  • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
  • Environmental policy law
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Patents
  • Summary Judgment
  • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
  • Domain Names
  • Setting up a business
  • Employment - business
  • Construction
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
  • Planning law
  • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
  • Rights of way issues
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Corporate finance
  • Developer disputes
  • Statutory Demands
  • Copyright
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Framework agreements
  • Commercial Law
  • Health and Safety
  • Mediation
  • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Corporate Law
  • Franchising
  • Design rights and product designs
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Purchase of development land
  • Asset Tracing
  • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Development loan facilities
  • Agency agreements
  • Development agreements
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
  • Commercial Leases
  • Building contracts and professional appointments
  • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
  • Credit Control

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000