Biscoes Solicitors

01730 244799

Biscoes, your local lawyers, are located in offices close to you. Emergency and home appointments are available. We are here to help you with all your legal requirements and offer a comprehensive range of legal services. We pride ourselves in providing a professional approach in a friendly environment.

4.8/5 28 Customer Reviews 28
Recommended by
28 Verified Clients
like Jamie and Kate
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Biscoes Solicitors compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Biscoes Solicitors on ReviewSolicitors

28 Customer Reviews

4.8/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    27
  • Very Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    1
Anonymous
Click to rate
Jamie
Jamie Added 4 months ago Report to admin
August 11, 2018 20180811172624

Review from me and my wife.

5

Couldn’t have done it with out you. Me and my wife are very grateful.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Kate
Kate Added 4 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
August 07, 2018 20180807210616

Biscoes

5

Many thanks for your help, positivity and pragmatic approach throughout our move.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Pete
Pete Added 4 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
August 07, 2018 20180807205020

Fantastic Law Firm!

5

I really appreciate the way in which you have always responded to my enquiries so quickly and ensured that I’ve always been kept up to date. I will have absolutely no hesitation in recommending you to others in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 1 month ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
November 01, 2018 20181101000000

Sophie has excellent communication skills and is extremely efficient.

5

I would like to formally acknowledge the excellent work Sophie Burns has carried out on the sale of my property. Sophie was recommended to me by Franca Webb who informed me that Sophie was a highly effective person in property sales. All of what Franca had said about Sophie has materialised to be true. Sophie has excellent communication skills and is extremely efficient. Her knowledge and reassurance right from the start up until exchanging was fantastic. She always delivered on what she said she would do and that helped build up complete confidence in her abilities. I would have no reservations in using Sophie again and in fact it is my intention to use her when I buy my next property. I have also recommended Sophie to a number of friends and family as she has made a potentially stressful period bearable. She is as asset to Biscoes and if she reflects the calibre of the rest of staff in the company then that is highly impressive.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
November 01, 2018 20181101000000

Successful result on our case.

5

Thanks for coming in to London and for your support through this process. You were a good find on our part.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
October 30, 2018 20181030000000

I have complete trust in your judgement at all times!

5

I just wanted to let you know that I am very grateful for all your help. I have complete trust in your judgement at all times! Also I would like to thank Jill for her friendly and helpful manner when I spoke to her

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
October 28, 2018 20181028010000

Thank you so much Courtney!

5

Courtney I can’t thank you enough for the last couple of years, you have carried us through dark times with your wisdom and knowledge and always maintaining focus, when I was off on a tangent.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ron
Ron Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
October 28, 2018 20181028010000

Biscoes helped me so much.

5

I just want to thank you and Courtney for all your help and advice through a very difficult time for both Ron and myself. 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
October 24, 2018 20181024010000

I had complete trust in your judgment at all times!

5

Dear Courtney I just wanted to let you know that I’m very grateful for all your help. I had complete trust in your judgment at all times! Also, I like to thank Jill for her friendly & helpful manner when I spoke to her.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jane
Jane Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
October 19, 2018 20181019114522

Huge mistake

1

I regret having ever known about this firm. Franks Webb was my solicitor. She was rude, unsympethic and totally out for what she could gain from me. I spent over £30,000 on my divorce using Ms Webb and when the going got tough she dumbed me. I could go on for
Ever about the poor service. I would not recommend her to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Solicitors who work at Biscoes Solicitors

  • Tim Gamester

    Tim originally joined Biscoes as a paralegal in 2004 and shortly went on to train and qualify as a solicitor through the firm, subsequently joining the partnership in 2010. Tim specialises in Private Client law, and has expertise in the following areas: Advising on Wills & Lasting Powers of Attorney The Administration of deceased estates Estate Planning - including Inheritance Tax and care home fee advice Court of Protection applications Management of affairs for incapacitated clients Tim is a trustee of Age Concern Portsmouth and outside of work he has a passion for Cinema and wine tasting.

  • Sarra Gravestock

    Sarra qualified as a solicitor in 2004. She has worked for 11 years for the Local Authority advising and representing Children’s Services. Sarra is a member of the Children Panel. The Law Society has recognised her as a children law specialist who has demonstrated awareness, knowledge and expertise in this area of law. Sarra represented the Local Authority in all levels of Court and was the West Sussex County Council Adoption Panel Legal Adviser for several years, she was described by Ofsted in an inspection as “an invaluable asset.” During her time working for the Local Authority Sarra has gained valuable insight into the procedures and processes that Children’s Services have to comply with when they become involved with families. Sarra’s expertise is within all aspects of law relating to children, in particular care proceedings, adoption proceedings, and dealing with Emergency Protection Orders, Special Guardianship Orders and Secure Accommodation Orders. Sarra has dealt with cases of considerable complexity, including shaken babies and other non accidental injuries, abuse and also Factitious Illness, formerly known as Munchausen’s Syndrome. Sarra was the first solicitor in Hampshire to apply for a Female Genital Mutilation Protection Order. Sarra understands the very sensitive, and often distressing, nature of this area of law and the importance of it for her clients. Equally Sarra understands the sometimes urgent nature of this work and is willing and able to react accordingly.

  • Alistair Burnett

    Alistair qualified over 30 years ago, and has worked for several local firms, in particular Chidlow and Co where he was a partner for some 8 years before the firm closed. He now specialises in Wills and Probate, having spent many years as a family lawyer.

  • Alison Goldring

    Ali is a Solicitor based at our North End office but frequently travels to all parts of Hampshire and the Isle of Wight to represent her clients. Ali specialises in children law matters including care proceedings and adoption. She has considerable experience in representing children of all ages, parents, grandparents and other family members. Ali undertakes all levels of advocacy and has represented children in family court and the high court. She is well known in the local area having practised in Hampshire since 2012 and prior to that, she trained as a solicitor, qualified and represented clients in Brighton for many years. Ali has a passionate and positive outlook, whilst remaining sensitive to important family issues and prides herself on her competent and sound advice. She has been qualified as a solicitor since 2007 and a member of the Children Panel since 2014. Ali frequently receives instructions from CAFCASS.

  • John Stephens

    As a Residential Conveyancer, John brings extensive experience of freehold, leasehold and shared ownership titles to all legal aspects of buying, selling and re-mortgaging of residential properties. To that experience he adds local knowledge and working relationships with local and regional conveyancers, solicitors and estate agents. With a passion for professional integrity and client care

  • Alex Brannigan

    Alex joined our Conveyancing department back in 2005, before moving into the Probate department in 2007. During this time Alex completed all her CILEX exams, is currently a Graduate Member of CILEX, and progressed within the firm to her current role as Probate Paralegal. Alex will shortly qualify as Legal Executive. Alex specialises in Private Client work including: Wills, Lasting Powers of Attorney, Management of Affairs of incapacitated Clients and Administration of Estates. Alex enjoys the regular contact with Clients that the role brings and in particular enjoys assisting elderly Clients.

  • Kate Knight

    Kate has worked in a solicitors’ office since 1982, qualifying as a Legal Executive in 1989, she was admitted as a solicitor in 1992. She has spent over 30 years working in the field of Family Law more recently specialising in children. She has particular expertise in private law disputes over children and in care proceedings where she represents both child and adult parties. Kate has been a member of Resolution (formerly the SFLA) for many years and is also a member of the Law Society Children Panel. Outside work Kate is kept busy by her 3 teenage children and a dog! When time allows she enjoys seeing family and friends, music, theatre, cinema and reading.

  • Nicola Cleverly

    As part of the Conveyancing Team located in Wickham near Fareham, Nicky deals with both residential and commercial property transactions. Residential matters range from high value country residences, quay side havens and substantial sized town houses to Council and affordable Housing sectors. Commercial work has included factory units, post offices, Public Houses, restaurants, bakeries and petrol stations. The commercial aspects span from commercial leases, acquisition and sale of a going concern, transfer of freeholds properties and approval of deeds of covenant and easement as the need arises. Nicky is also involved in applications for alcohol licences from the Local Authority and dealing with planning issues on behalf of individuals. She acts for numerous charity organisations and large and small scale property developers within the locality.

  • Jane Hansford

    Jane has over 30 years experience in family law and specialises in cases relating to children, including care proceedings, Special Guardianship orders and adoptions, particularly those involving Social Services, representing both parents and children. She also acts on behalf of parents, other family members and children involved in private family law proceedings.

  • Alice Summers

    Alice joined Biscoes at the beginning of September 2015 as a Trainee Solicitor. She has undertaken Training Seats in Private Client, Residential Conveyancing and Immigration. Alice has now qualified as a Solicitor and is currently working in the Private Client Department at Wickham where she is able to assist you with all of the following: Will drafting to include simple single or mirror Wills, Life Interest trust Wills and Discretionary Trust Wills Lasting Powers of Attorney Administration of Estates to include obtaining Grants of Probate or Letters of Administration for taxable or non-taxable Estates

  • Franca Webb

    Although originally from North Yorkshire Franca has worked in the South since 1984. She qualified as a solicitor in 1986 Franca specialises in family law. She can help with divorce and finances on divorce, children matters for example who a child should live with or spend time with (previously known as residence and contact), non-molestation and occupation applications. Franca is always available to deal with emergency matters at very short notice to include out of office hours if necessary. Franca’s particular interest is representing teachers and members of the Armed Forces in respect of divorce, finances and children matters. She very much appreciates the particular issues these two groups experience and will work tirelessly to pursue such cases. She is happy to tailor her work to a client’s specific needs. For many years Franca has been actively involved in issues around domestic abuse including delivering training on domestic abuse awareness and related matters. She has sat on management committees for various local refuges. She is currently a non executive Director of a charity supporting victims and survivors of domestic abuse and is actively involved with the Citizens Advice Bureaux. Franca heads Biscoes specialist Domestic Abuse Team which was formed in 2006 and remains committed to raising awareness in whatever ways she can. She is happy to give talks and presentations to interested groups. Franca is very pleased to see that Biscoes continue to use a quote from a client of hers in connection with child contact on the firm’s website. Specialist expertise: Divorce Finances Children matters Domestic abuse (including non-molestation and occupation applications) Teachers and members of Armed Forces Civil partnership breakdown and finances Specialist qualifications/memberships: Member of Resolution Resolution accredited specialist - Children law-Private Resolution accredited specialist - Domestic Abuse Resolution accredited specialist – Advanced Financial Provision Law Society Family Law advanced accreditation scheme (Children Law Private, Violence in the Home)

  • Karen Coffin

    Karen joined Biscoe-Smith Heather & Bellinger in 1982 and has remained with the firm as it has expanded over the years. Karen has been working from our Waterlooville office since 1999 and qualified as a Legal Executive in 2000. She has been dealing with domestic property transactions since that time and is familiar with all aspects of freehold and leasehold conveyancing matters and issues arising with both registered and unregistered titles. These include the usual sale and purchase transaction together with Transfer of Equity, Shared Ownership Leases and re-mortgages. In recent years Karen has also been assisting local developers in their acquisition of development land and dealing with the sale of the individual plots on completion of the building project.

  • Sophie Burns

    Sophie joined Biscoes in May 2015 working in the Conveyancing Department. Sophie has worked within Conveyancing for 4 years and has gained valuable experience and knowledge of various types of freehold and leasehold transactions.

  • Richard Barnett

    Richard Barnett has been with the firm for more than 18 years, having trained and qualified with us. He specialises in litigation and dispute resolution, including partnership and franchise disputes, forfeiture and repossession work for commercial properties, and dilapidations and repair issues. He helps clients use mediation to avoid lengthy and expensive legal proceedings, and also advises commercial clients in insolvency cases.

  • Gabor Kovacs

    As a solicitor advising business owners, I aim to help them achieve their objectives. I advise and assist across a range of areas of business law, non-contentious and contentious. Non contentious advice on: business purchases/sales, contracts; regulation; corporate transactions; business structures; employment; dispute avoidance/risk management - and more. If the matter is contentious, my approach wherever possible is to try to achieve a good and cost effective result - out of court. - as quickly as possible. I encourage mediation and other out-of-court ways of resolving disputes. I advise on nipping problems in the bud. If that doesn't work, and the case has to be fought, I will fight for my clients.

About This Branch

Description

Historically, the longserving Portsmouth based firms of Biscoe Smith, Heather and Bellinger, Cousins Burbidge & Connor and Lyndhurst Groves merged in 1994 to form Biscoes Cousins Groves. In 2004 in the Firm's 150th year, Biscoes absorbed Wilkinson & Co and merged with King and Franckeiss, both well respected local firms. Subsequently in 2005 a merger with Covers added a Petersfield office to an already impressive list of locations, which was closely followed by the opening of an office in Gosport. In 2006 a Portchester branch was created following the link up with the long established practice of Barry Swanton & Co. In 2018 Biscoes merged with Gurney Champion & Co & Heyes Saumuel in Ryde, Isle of Wight. Biscoes continues to move confidently into the 21st Century, whilst remaining steadfastly committed to the provision of a traditional and locally based legal service. Located in offices close to you. Emergency and home appointments are available in certain cases. We are here to help you with all your legal requirements and offer a comprehensive range of legal services. We pride ourselves in providing a professional approach in a friendly environment.


Legal Services
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Applications to extend leave to remain or for settlement
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Buying at auction
  • Libel and Defamation
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Gardening Leave
  • Family Reunion Applications / Appeals
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Professional Conduct
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Ancestry visas
  • Separation
  • Civil partnerships
  • Assault
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Against The Council
  • Consumer Rights
  • Family Mediation
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • EEA Family Permits
  • Settlement Applications and indefinite leave to remain appeals
  • General Visit Visa Applications / Appeals
  • Planning
  • Family Leave
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Financial Matters
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Re-entry bans
  • Stress at Work
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Injunctions
  • Extending your Lease
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Marriage Applications/Appeals
  • Immigration Law
  • Professional Discipline
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Litigation Law
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Housing Associations
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Drugs offences
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Illegal Workers and Civil Penalties
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Media and Sports
  • Part Time Workers
  • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
  • EEA Registration Cards
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Criminal defence - All
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Repossessions
  • Nationality, Citizenship, Registration application
  • Applications for discretionary leave
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Professional Negligence
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Injunctions
  • Collaborative Law
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Boundary Disputes
  • EEA Residence Permits
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Entry clearance applications and appeals
  • Children
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Tier 4 (students)
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Criminal Damage
  • Tier 1 (investors, entrepreneurs and exceptional talent)
  • Tax
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Family law
  • Trusts
  • Asylum applications and appeals
  • Pension and property advice
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Separation Agreement
  • Flexible Working
  • Housing disputes
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Employment Contracts
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Social Services
  • Wills
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Child Law
  • Leasehold properties
  • Murder and Manslaughter
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Theft
  • Probate
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Redundancy
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Housing Management
  • Trusts
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Transfer of title
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Senior Executives
  • UK ancestry
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Pension Law
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Transfers of equity
  • Partner and family visas
  • Child contact
  • Business Crime
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Tier 5 (temporary workers)
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Regulatory Defence
  • Indefinite leave to remain applications
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Tier 2 (sponsored skilled workers)
  • Remortgaging
  • Applications for British citizenship
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Lease Extensions
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Family Visit Visa Applications /Appeals
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Deportation appeals
  • Travel rights
  • Administrative reviews, appeals and judicial reviews
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Right to Manage
  • Citizenship
  • Property Disputes
  • Visas
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Family Based Visas
  • Human Rights
  • TUPE
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Environment
  • Guarantees and bonds
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
  • Engineering contracts
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Licensing
  • Health and Safety
  • Environmental policy law
  • Summary Judgment
  • Management buyouts
  • Mediation
  • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Finance
  • Facility maintenance agreements
  • Agency agreements
  • Corporate finance
  • Development plot sales
  • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
  • Setting up a business
  • Framework agreements
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Franchising
  • Developer disputes
  • Design rights and product designs
  • Intellectual Property
  • Statutory Demands
  • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Copyright
  • Corporate Law
  • In-house training
  • Commercial Leases
  • Domain Names
  • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
  • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Construction
  • Commercial Law
  • Share option schemes
  • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Development agreements
  • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Development loan facilities
  • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Asset Tracing
  • Credit Control
  • Competition law
  • Personality and Image Rights
  • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Patents
  • Planning law
  • Rights of way issues
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Tax
  • Building contracts and professional appointments
  • Purchase of development land
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Data Protection
  • Employment - business
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Construction and engineering dispute resolution

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000