Biscoes Solicitors

01730 244799

Biscoes, your local lawyers, are located in offices close to you. Emergency and home appointments are available. We are here to help you with all your legal requirements and offer a comprehensive range of legal services. We pride ourselves in providing a professional approach in a friendly environment.

4.7/5 43 Customer Reviews 43
Recommended by
39 Verified Clients
like Jamie and Kate
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Biscoes Solicitors compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Biscoes Solicitors on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

43 Customer Reviews

4.7/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    39
  • Very Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    2
  • Awful
    2
Anonymous
Click to rate
Jamie
Jamie Added 11 months ago Report to admin
August 11, 2018 20180811172624

Review from me and my wife.

5

Couldn’t have done it with out you. Me and my wife are very grateful.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Kate
Kate Added 11 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
August 07, 2018 20180807210616

Biscoes

5

Many thanks for your help, positivity and pragmatic approach throughout our move.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Pete
Pete Added 11 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
August 07, 2018 20180807205020

Fantastic Law Firm!

5

I really appreciate the way in which you have always responded to my enquiries so quickly and ensured that I’ve always been kept up to date. I will have absolutely no hesitation in recommending you to others in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Rob
Rob Added 1 month ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
May 31, 2019 20190531160813

With limited notary options in Portsmouth, you may be forced to used Biscoes

2

I've used Biscoes twice for notarial services. My first experience was rather positive but, let's face it, the whole concept of a notary seems rather old fashioned in this day and age and just money for old rope. And a lot of money at that. My second experience, with John Cobbett this time, was altogether less impressive. I found him to be extremely condescending, arrogant even, and dismissive of the international solicitor I needed him to talk with on the phone. Cobbett is certainly a man set in his ways and he won't be hurried. To then charge nearly £500 for signing 4 documents is just daylight robbery. To add insult to injury, I then found that Biscoes was incapable/unwilling to arrange courier delivery of the notarised documents overseas. The excuse was that they couldn't be trusted with delivery (held liable). In which case, what business have they being trusted to notarise anything and to arrange UK courier services. Ultimately, I think they just couldn't be bothered going the extra mile for a one-off client. Perhaps you get better services if you are just doing 'local law' for 'local people' but good luck if you want to achieve anything remotely complex. I would shop around as best you can before turning to Biscoes and certainly try to avoid doing business with John Cobbett.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Abigail
Verified Abigail Added 2 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
May 09, 2019 20190509095226

First time buyer

5

Gillian was exceptional very clear and easy to contact. Excellent experience I couldn’t recommend Gillian enough. Thankyou

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jeremy
Verified Jeremy Added 2 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
May 09, 2019 20190509084022

Local and efficient

5

Our company has used the services of Gabor Kovacs at Biscoes and previously and we have always been very happy with both the advice we have recieved and the timeliness with which it has been delivered. We would wholeheartedly recommend his services to anyone in the commercial sphere.

Solicitor being reviewed: Gabor Tamas Kovacs

Was this review helpful? Yes

Kamil
Verified Kamil Added 2 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
May 09, 2019 20190509045233

Great

5

Professional company. Everything as it should be. I am happy to cooperate with this company. I recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Linda
Verified Linda Added 2 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
May 08, 2019 20190508221738

Thank you

5

Thank you Biscoes for taking the stress out of the complicated process of applying for deputyship for my late mother. It would have been daunting to have tackled this on our own.

Solicitor being reviewed: Alison Patricia Lee

Was this review helpful? Yes

Eithen Adrian
Verified Eithen Adrian Added 2 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
April 30, 2019 20190430064847

Well represented

5

A safe legal pair of hands, who listens to what the client has to say and then follows the direction as stated.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Dilys
Verified Dilys Added 2 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
April 30, 2019 20190430062101

managment company advice

5

I was given excellent advice from the solicitor concerned.
the solicitor was knowledgeable and efficient.

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

Historically, the longserving Portsmouth based firms of Biscoe Smith, Heather and Bellinger, Cousins Burbidge & Connor and Lyndhurst Groves merged in 1994 to form Biscoes Cousins Groves. In 2004 in the Firm's 150th year, Biscoes absorbed Wilkinson & Co and merged with King and Franckeiss, both well respected local firms. Subsequently in 2005 a merger with Covers added a Petersfield office to an already impressive list of locations, which was closely followed by the opening of an office in Gosport. In 2006 a Portchester branch was created following the link up with the long established practice of Barry Swanton & Co. In 2018 Biscoes merged with Gurney Champion & Co & Heyes Saumuel in Ryde, Isle of Wight. Biscoes continues to move confidently into the 21st Century, whilst remaining steadfastly committed to the provision of a traditional and locally based legal service. Located in offices close to you. Emergency and home appointments are available in certain cases. We are here to help you with all your legal requirements and offer a comprehensive range of legal services. We pride ourselves in providing a professional approach in a friendly environment.


Legal Services
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • EEA Family Permits
  • Travel rights
  • Visas
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Employment Contracts
  • Trusts
  • Flexible Working
  • Nationality, Citizenship, Registration application
  • Tier 2 (sponsored skilled workers)
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Drugs offences
  • Notary
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Criminal defence - All
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Property Disputes
  • Applications to extend leave to remain or for settlement
  • Family Visit Visa Applications /Appeals
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Regulatory Defence
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Senior Executives
  • General Visit Visa Applications / Appeals
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Libel and Defamation
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Boundary Disputes
  • TUPE
  • Indefinite leave to remain applications
  • Against The Council
  • Wills
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Collaborative Law
  • Litigation Law
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Gardening Leave
  • Children
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • UK ancestry
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Media and Sports
  • Pension Law
  • Transfer of title
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Part Time Workers
  • Marriage Applications/Appeals
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Partner and family visas
  • Entry clearance applications and appeals
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Housing Associations
  • Deportation appeals
  • Child Law
  • Financial Matters
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Planning
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Right to Manage
  • Family Based Visas
  • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
  • Road Traffic Accident
  • Theft
  • Criminal Damage
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Separation
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Consumer Rights
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Pension and property advice
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Child contact
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Family Leave
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Injunctions
  • Professional Conduct
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Assault
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Stress at Work
  • Redundancy
  • Leasehold properties
  • Tier 5 (temporary workers)
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Extending your Lease
  • Applications for discretionary leave
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Repossessions
  • Injunctions
  • Immigration Law
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Re-entry bans
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Settlement Applications and indefinite leave to remain appeals
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Lease Extensions
  • Professional Negligence
  • Human Rights
  • Tier 4 (students)
  • Remortgaging
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Tax
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Trusts
  • Separation Agreement
  • Tenant Eviction
  • EEA Residence Permits
  • EEA Registration Cards
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Tier 1 (investors, entrepreneurs and exceptional talent)
  • Housing Management
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Transfers of equity
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Citizenship
  • Murder and Manslaughter
  • Applications for British citizenship
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Family law
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Illegal Workers and Civil Penalties
  • Civil partnerships
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Social Services
  • Asylum applications and appeals
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Ancestry visas
  • Administrative reviews, appeals and judicial reviews
  • Family Mediation
  • Buying at auction
  • Business Crime
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Probate
  • Housing disputes
  • Family Reunion Applications / Appeals
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Professional Discipline
  • Franchising
  • Design rights and product designs
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Health and Safety
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Development agreements
  • Domain Names
  • Engineering contracts
  • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
  • Commercial Law
  • Environment
  • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Copyright
  • Personality and Image Rights
  • Development plot sales
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
  • Mediation
  • Corporate finance
  • Competition law
  • Data Protection
  • Employment - business
  • Construction
  • Framework agreements
  • Rights of way issues
  • Developer disputes
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Environmental policy law
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Building contracts and professional appointments
  • Planning law
  • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
  • Statutory Demands
  • Licensing
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Credit Control
  • Tax
  • Summary Judgment
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
  • Purchase of development land
  • Agency agreements
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Patents
  • Finance
  • Development loan facilities
  • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
  • Asset Tracing
  • Guarantees and bonds
  • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
  • Management buyouts
  • In-house training
  • Share option schemes
  • Commercial Leases
  • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Intellectual Property
  • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Setting up a business
  • Facility maintenance agreements
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Corporate Law

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000