Biscoes Solicitors

01730 244799

Biscoes, your local lawyers, are located in offices close to you. Emergency and home appointments are available. We are here to help you with all your legal requirements and offer a comprehensive range of legal services. We pride ourselves in providing a professional approach in a friendly environment.

5/5 16 Customer Reviews 16
Recommended by
17 Verified Clients
like Jamie and Kate
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
16 Customer Reviews

5/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    16
  • Very Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    0
Anonymous
Click to rate
Jamie
Jamie Added 2 months ago Report to admin
August 11, 2018 20180811172624

Review from me and my wife.

5

Couldn’t have done it with out you. Me and my wife are very grateful.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Kate
Kate Added 2 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
August 07, 2018 20180807210616

Biscoes

5

Many thanks for your help, positivity and pragmatic approach throughout our move.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Pete
Pete Added 2 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
August 07, 2018 20180807205020

Fantastic Law Firm!

5

I really appreciate the way in which you have always responded to my enquiries so quickly and ensured that I’ve always been kept up to date. I will have absolutely no hesitation in recommending you to others in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Natasha
Natasha Added 2 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
August 11, 2018 20180811201718

Much appreciated

5

Sophie, Thanks so much for your helpful manner, good humour and efficiency in effecting my will. Much appreciated

Was this review helpful? Yes

Abigail
Abigail Added 2 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
August 11, 2018 20180811201415

Review for the litigation team.

5

Charlotte Ware was a real delight to work with. She kept us informed of the progress of our case and was always helpful and informative when we contacted her. We felt that she really cared about our case and had a good working knowledge of it. She was friendly and professional and we would not hesitate to recommend her to other clients. The litigation team are, in our opinion, just brilliant.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sue
Sue Added 2 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
August 11, 2018 20180811192601

Highly impressed with the service I received from Kevin Richardson

5

We were extremely happy with the service provided to us by Kevin Richardson at Biscoes. He helped us to recover a significant business debt which had been outstanding for over 2 years and which was causing us a great deal of stress and angst. Kevin was vey skilled in his work and we felt very safe with him working on our behalf. He had an excellent knowledge of litigation and was very professional in his approach. He was also a great communicator and kept us informed at all times of progress with the case. He worked very hard on our case and seemed to really care about us getting a good result. He offered us options at various stages and was always clear when discussing implications of these with us. We were delighted when the case was resolved in our favour, through Kevin's hard work, and would highly recommend him to other prospective clients. We have been very happy with Kevin and all the team at Biscoes and would not hesitate to use them again should we need to.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anna
Anna Added 2 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
August 11, 2018 20180811184524

Very professional and courteous

5

I would like to thank you very much, and all involved at Biscoes who have helped me achieve the outcome I so desperately needed. I cam through the toughest experience of my life and you have played a major part in getting me through it. You explained everything very well regarding my case and did it in a very professional and courteous manner; I thank you all once again.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sara
Sara Added 2 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
August 11, 2018 20180811184134

My review is below. I cant thank you enough! You helped me stand up for myself!

5

I Just wanted to say a heartfelt thank you for all that you have done for me, over the past few months I think I said to you early on that I needed someone strong to help me stand up to my husband and get though the coming months and you absolutely proved to be that person. No matter how low or disheartened I felt, I always left your office confident in the knowledge all would be well.
Thank you so much!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Monica
Monica Added 2 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
August 11, 2018 20180811183600

Very approachable member's of staff. Especially Nicki.

5

I would appreciate it if you would kindly let her know of our gratitude!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sophie
Sophie Added 2 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
August 11, 2018 20180811182915

Biscoes - So grateful to Nicki!

5

Were it no for Nicki, Andy would be looking at another few weeks before he could finally move out of our tiny bungalow with his 3 year old con and into his own place. Nicki has gone above and beyond what we could have expected of her and we are so grateful to her.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Solicitors who work at Biscoes Solicitors

  • Tim Gamester

    Tim originally joined Biscoes as a paralegal in 2004 and shortly went on to train and qualify as a solicitor through the firm, subsequently joining the partnership in 2010. Tim specialises in Private Client law, and has expertise in the following areas: Advising on Wills & Lasting Powers of Attorney The Administration of deceased estates Estate Planning - including Inheritance Tax and care home fee advice Court of Protection applications Management of affairs for incapacitated clients Tim is a trustee of Age Concern Portsmouth and outside of work he has a passion for Cinema and wine tasting.

  • Sarra Gravestock

    Sarra qualified as a solicitor in 2004. She has worked for 11 years for the Local Authority advising and representing Children’s Services. Sarra is a member of the Children Panel. The Law Society has recognised her as a children law specialist who has demonstrated awareness, knowledge and expertise in this area of law. Sarra represented the Local Authority in all levels of Court and was the West Sussex County Council Adoption Panel Legal Adviser for several years, she was described by Ofsted in an inspection as “an invaluable asset.” During her time working for the Local Authority Sarra has gained valuable insight into the procedures and processes that Children’s Services have to comply with when they become involved with families. Sarra’s expertise is within all aspects of law relating to children, in particular care proceedings, adoption proceedings, and dealing with Emergency Protection Orders, Special Guardianship Orders and Secure Accommodation Orders. Sarra has dealt with cases of considerable complexity, including shaken babies and other non accidental injuries, abuse and also Factitious Illness, formerly known as Munchausen’s Syndrome. Sarra was the first solicitor in Hampshire to apply for a Female Genital Mutilation Protection Order. Sarra understands the very sensitive, and often distressing, nature of this area of law and the importance of it for her clients. Equally Sarra understands the sometimes urgent nature of this work and is willing and able to react accordingly.

  • Alistair Burnett

    Alistair qualified over 30 years ago, and has worked for several local firms, in particular Chidlow and Co where he was a partner for some 8 years before the firm closed. He now specialises in Wills and Probate, having spent many years as a family lawyer.

  • Alison Goldring

    Ali is a Solicitor based at our North End office but frequently travels to all parts of Hampshire and the Isle of Wight to represent her clients. Ali specialises in children law matters including care proceedings and adoption. She has considerable experience in representing children of all ages, parents, grandparents and other family members. Ali undertakes all levels of advocacy and has represented children in family court and the high court. She is well known in the local area having practised in Hampshire since 2012 and prior to that, she trained as a solicitor, qualified and represented clients in Brighton for many years. Ali has a passionate and positive outlook, whilst remaining sensitive to important family issues and prides herself on her competent and sound advice. She has been qualified as a solicitor since 2007 and a member of the Children Panel since 2014. Ali frequently receives instructions from CAFCASS.

  • John Stephens

    As a Residential Conveyancer, John brings extensive experience of freehold, leasehold and shared ownership titles to all legal aspects of buying, selling and re-mortgaging of residential properties. To that experience he adds local knowledge and working relationships with local and regional conveyancers, solicitors and estate agents. With a passion for professional integrity and client care

  • Alex Brannigan

    Alex joined our Conveyancing department back in 2005, before moving into the Probate department in 2007. During this time Alex completed all her CILEX exams, is currently a Graduate Member of CILEX, and progressed within the firm to her current role as Probate Paralegal. Alex will shortly qualify as Legal Executive. Alex specialises in Private Client work including: Wills, Lasting Powers of Attorney, Management of Affairs of incapacitated Clients and Administration of Estates. Alex enjoys the regular contact with Clients that the role brings and in particular enjoys assisting elderly Clients.

  • Kate Knight

    Kate has worked in a solicitors’ office since 1982, qualifying as a Legal Executive in 1989, she was admitted as a solicitor in 1992. She has spent over 30 years working in the field of Family Law more recently specialising in children. She has particular expertise in private law disputes over children and in care proceedings where she represents both child and adult parties. Kate has been a member of Resolution (formerly the SFLA) for many years and is also a member of the Law Society Children Panel. Outside work Kate is kept busy by her 3 teenage children and a dog! When time allows she enjoys seeing family and friends, music, theatre, cinema and reading.

  • Nicola Cleverly

    As part of the Conveyancing Team located in Wickham near Fareham, Nicky deals with both residential and commercial property transactions. Residential matters range from high value country residences, quay side havens and substantial sized town houses to Council and affordable Housing sectors. Commercial work has included factory units, post offices, Public Houses, restaurants, bakeries and petrol stations. The commercial aspects span from commercial leases, acquisition and sale of a going concern, transfer of freeholds properties and approval of deeds of covenant and easement as the need arises. Nicky is also involved in applications for alcohol licences from the Local Authority and dealing with planning issues on behalf of individuals. She acts for numerous charity organisations and large and small scale property developers within the locality.

  • Jane Hansford

    Jane has over 30 years experience in family law and specialises in cases relating to children, including care proceedings, Special Guardianship orders and adoptions, particularly those involving Social Services, representing both parents and children. She also acts on behalf of parents, other family members and children involved in private family law proceedings.

  • Alice Summers

    Alice joined Biscoes at the beginning of September 2015 as a Trainee Solicitor. She has undertaken Training Seats in Private Client, Residential Conveyancing and Immigration. Alice has now qualified as a Solicitor and is currently working in the Private Client Department at Wickham where she is able to assist you with all of the following: Will drafting to include simple single or mirror Wills, Life Interest trust Wills and Discretionary Trust Wills Lasting Powers of Attorney Administration of Estates to include obtaining Grants of Probate or Letters of Administration for taxable or non-taxable Estates

  • Franca Webb

    Although originally from North Yorkshire Franca has worked in the South since 1984. She qualified as a solicitor in 1986 Franca specialises in family law. She can help with divorce and finances on divorce, children matters for example who a child should live with or spend time with (previously known as residence and contact), non-molestation and occupation applications. Franca is always available to deal with emergency matters at very short notice to include out of office hours if necessary. Franca’s particular interest is representing teachers and members of the Armed Forces in respect of divorce, finances and children matters. She very much appreciates the particular issues these two groups experience and will work tirelessly to pursue such cases. She is happy to tailor her work to a client’s specific needs. For many years Franca has been actively involved in issues around domestic abuse including delivering training on domestic abuse awareness and related matters. She has sat on management committees for various local refuges. She is currently a non executive Director of a charity supporting victims and survivors of domestic abuse and is actively involved with the Citizens Advice Bureaux. Franca heads Biscoes specialist Domestic Abuse Team which was formed in 2006 and remains committed to raising awareness in whatever ways she can. She is happy to give talks and presentations to interested groups. Franca is very pleased to see that Biscoes continue to use a quote from a client of hers in connection with child contact on the firm’s website. Specialist expertise: Divorce Finances Children matters Domestic abuse (including non-molestation and occupation applications) Teachers and members of Armed Forces Civil partnership breakdown and finances Specialist qualifications/memberships: Member of Resolution Resolution accredited specialist - Children law-Private Resolution accredited specialist - Domestic Abuse Resolution accredited specialist – Advanced Financial Provision Law Society Family Law advanced accreditation scheme (Children Law Private, Violence in the Home)

  • Karen Coffin

    Karen joined Biscoe-Smith Heather & Bellinger in 1982 and has remained with the firm as it has expanded over the years. Karen has been working from our Waterlooville office since 1999 and qualified as a Legal Executive in 2000. She has been dealing with domestic property transactions since that time and is familiar with all aspects of freehold and leasehold conveyancing matters and issues arising with both registered and unregistered titles. These include the usual sale and purchase transaction together with Transfer of Equity, Shared Ownership Leases and re-mortgages. In recent years Karen has also been assisting local developers in their acquisition of development land and dealing with the sale of the individual plots on completion of the building project.

  • Sophie Burns

    Sophie joined Biscoes in May 2015 working in the Conveyancing Department. Sophie has worked within Conveyancing for 4 years and has gained valuable experience and knowledge of various types of freehold and leasehold transactions.

  • Richard Barnett

    Richard Barnett has been with the firm for more than 18 years, having trained and qualified with us. He specialises in litigation and dispute resolution, including partnership and franchise disputes, forfeiture and repossession work for commercial properties, and dilapidations and repair issues. He helps clients use mediation to avoid lengthy and expensive legal proceedings, and also advises commercial clients in insolvency cases.

  • Gabor Kovacs

    As a solicitor advising business owners, I aim to help them achieve their objectives. I advise and assist across a range of areas of business law, non-contentious and contentious. Non contentious advice on: business purchases/sales, contracts; regulation; corporate transactions; business structures; employment; dispute avoidance/risk management - and more. If the matter is contentious, my approach wherever possible is to try to achieve a good and cost effective result - out of court. - as quickly as possible. I encourage mediation and other out-of-court ways of resolving disputes. I advise on nipping problems in the bud. If that doesn't work, and the case has to be fought, I will fight for my clients.

About This Branch

Description

Historically, the longserving Portsmouth based firms of Biscoe Smith, Heather and Bellinger, Cousins Burbidge & Connor and Lyndhurst Groves merged in 1994 to form Biscoes Cousins Groves. In 2004 in the Firm's 150th year, Biscoes absorbed Wilkinson & Co and merged with King and Franckeiss, both well respected local firms. Subsequently in 2005 a merger with Covers added a Petersfield office to an already impressive list of locations, which was closely followed by the opening of an office in Gosport. In 2006 a Portchester branch was created following the link up with the long established practice of Barry Swanton & Co. In 2018 Biscoes merged with Gurney Champion & Co & Heyes Saumuel in Ryde, Isle of Wight. Biscoes continues to move confidently into the 21st Century, whilst remaining steadfastly committed to the provision of a traditional and locally based legal service. Located in offices close to you. Emergency and home appointments are available in certain cases. We are here to help you with all your legal requirements and offer a comprehensive range of legal services. We pride ourselves in providing a professional approach in a friendly environment.


Legal Services
  • Professional Negligence
  • Employment - General
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Purchase & Sale
  • Tax
  • Wills & Probate
  • Personal Injury
  • Repossessions
  • Tax
  • Travel
  • Children
  • Media & Sports
  • Divorce & Separation
  • Debt & Bankruptcy
  • Renting & Tenancy Agreements
  • Libel & Defamation
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
  • Remortgages
  • Litigation
  • Family Mediation
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Consumer - General
  • Health & Safety
  • Insolvency & Bankruptcy
  • Commercial Leases
  • Business Affairs
  • Corporate Law
  • Intellectual Property
  • Mergers & Acquisitions
  • Debt Recovery
  • Mediation
  • Licensing
  • Commercial Law
  • Employment
  • Purchase & Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Partnership & Shareholder Disputes

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000