Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Penman Sedgwick LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 93%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Penman Sedgwick LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Penman Sedgwick LLP. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 50%
About Right 50%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 93%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Penman Sedgwick LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Penman Sedgwick LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 93%
No 7%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 93%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Penman Sedgwick LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Penman Sedgwick LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 93%
No 7%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Penman Sedgwick LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.7/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    60
  • Very Good

    3
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    1
  • Awful

    4

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Anonymous

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Anonymous

January 03, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Professional and efficient

Karabo works in a professional / efficient way and has been personally helpful to me. She has been supportive in what I would otherwise have found stressful. I was kept informed at all stages.

Was this review helpful?

Maria

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Maria

November 30, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Good communication

Karabo was the best solicitor in our chain! She demonstrated problem solving skills and good communication skills.

Was this review helpful?

Lynn

Lynn

November 19, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Exellence exists

excellent supportive, supportive and explanatory service. Excellence exists.

Was this review helpful?

Paula

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Paula

October 23, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very pleased

Very, very pleased with the service and attention from Karabo.

Was this review helpful?

Geoff

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Geoff

October 02, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Could not have asked for more

Karabo: I just want to express my thanks for the manner in which you dealt with this sale. Your professionalism, empathy and cheerfulness did, without doubt, give me the feeling that despite all the uncertainties that exist in selling a property, the legal administration of this sale was in the best hands. I could not have asked for more.

Was this review helpful?

Sydney

Sydney

September 29, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Extremely satisfied

I have been extremely satisfied with all aspects of your service and have dealt with helpful and friendly staff. Requests have always been dealt with promptly. Many thanks for all your help.

Was this review helpful?

Anthony

Anthony

August 01, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very reliable

Quick and reliable service, very professional. I have used many solicitors, you are very reliable. I was very happy with the service.

Was this review helpful?

Lee

Matter Type:

Financial Matters

Lee

June 14, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Would recommend

Stuart, thanks again for all your support, your level head approach is very commendable. I will have no hesitation in recommending you in the future.

Was this review helpful?

Peter

Peter

June 01, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Polite and friendly

The staff we dealt with were efficient, polite and friendly.

Was this review helpful?

David

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

David

July 14, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very pleased

Sale of my deceased mothers property, there were a few problems from the purchasers side which were all dealt with professionally and in short time by James. Very good at providing updates always acting in a professional manner. Would have no hesitation in recommending or using again if needed.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Jide

Matter Type:

Family law

Jide

March 11, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Jide

An outstanding law firm, and a massive thank you to Stuart Mercer, my solicitor. Throughout the process, he provided knowledge and guidance through the Law, as well as understanding, reassurance, and support. I am incredibly grateful and would recommend Stuart to anyone who needs a family lawyer.

Was this review helpful?

David

David

November 21, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

David

Friendly approachable staff,very professional service

Was this review helpful?

Gentle

Gentle

August 07, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Gentle

Amazing feeling!

Was this review helpful?

Christine

Christine

August 07, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Christine

Excellent professional and very helpful

Was this review helpful?

Bridget

Bridget

July 17, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Bridget

Very helpful at very short notice.

Was this review helpful?

Penman Sedgwick LLP are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Penman Sedgwick provides a wide range of bespoke legal services and are proud to be able to meet our clients' needs by offering a high level of expertise with an equally high standard of client care. We have specialist lawyers who take real pride in their work, so you will receive the benefit of our dedicated legal practice. Penman Sedgwick is one of the leading solicitors’ practices in Hertfordshire. Based in Watford, the practice has a long history of providing expert legal services to businesses and individuals, dating back as far as 1836.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Clinical Negligence
    • Accident and Emergency Claims
    • Amputation Negligence Claims
    • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
    • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
    • Birth Injury Claims
    • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
    • Blood Transfusion Claims
    • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
    • C. Difficile Claims
    • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
    • Cerebral Palsy Claims
    • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Clinical Negligence
    • Cochlear Implant Claims
    • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
    • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
    • Defective Medical Device Claims
    • Dental Negligence
    • Dental Negligence Claims
    • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
    • Diabetes Claims
    • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
    • Eye Surgery Claims
    • Failed Sterilisation Claims
    • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
    • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
    • Fertility Negligence Claims
    • GP Negligence Claims
    • Group B Streptococcus Claims
    • Hospital Negligence Claims
    • Knee Replacement Claims
    • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
    • Laser Treatment Claims
    • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • MRSA Claims
    • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Medical Negligence
    • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
    • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
    • Nerve Damage Claims
    • Nerve Injury Claims
    • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
    • Oral Cancer Claims
    • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
    • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Periodontal Disease Claims
    • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
    • Pressure Sore Claims
    • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Restorative Dentistry Claims
    • Sepsis Negligence Claims
    • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
    • Spinal Surgery Claims
    • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
    • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Surgery Compensation Claims
    • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
    • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Travel rights
  • Crime/ Criminal Defence
    • Assault
    • Business Crime
    • Criminal Damage
    • Criminal defence - All
    • Drugs offences
    • Fraud
    • Murder and Manslaughter
    • Professional Conduct
    • Regulatory Defence
    • Theft
  • Education
    • Education
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Professional Negligence
    • Accountants
    • Architects
    • Barristers
    • Engineers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional Negligence
    • Professional Negligence law
    • Professional trustees
    • Surveyors
    • Tax consultants
    • Valuers
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • International
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Data Protection
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety
    • Licensing
Book an appointment