Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Knocker & Foskett Compares

Value for money

This firm - 96%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Knocker & Foskett on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 30%
Overpriced 0%
About Right 70%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 99%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Knocker & Foskett and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Knocker & Foskett performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 99%
No 1%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 99%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Knocker & Foskett and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Knocker & Foskett compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 99%
No 1%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Knocker & Foskett offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.9/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    83
  • Very Good

    1
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    2

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Knocker & Foskett.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Anonymous

May 16, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Professional and approachable

Very happy with the service received from Elizabeth and the team

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Knocker & Foskett.

Anonymous

May 13, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Brilliant service

Having been impressed with using Knocker & Foskett when we sold our house a year ago, we chose to use them again with the purchase of a property and were not disappointed. Professional, responsive and speedy, and excellent at chasing up queries and making the buying process as painless as possible. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Knocker & Foskett.

Anonymous

May 04, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

House selling

We had excellent service throughout the selling of our home. Whenever we called Gurmak we always got a reply and if he was not available Angela was always there to help us. We were given excellent help and advice and nothing was ever too much trouble. It is so reassuring to make a telephone call and actually get to speak to someone, I would certainly recommend Gurmak and Knocker and Foskett to family and friends.

Was this review helpful?

sandra

sandra

April 11, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Impeccable Service

From start to finish the service was excellent. Help was given and queries explained clearly. Some very personal details were dealt with very professionally. We would strongly recommend these Solicitors to family and friends.

Was this review helpful?

Frederick

Matter Type:

New home purchases and sales

Frederick

March 25, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Terrible experience

solicitor Gurmak Sighn did not conduct proper due diligence. The entire exchange process was completely rushed and sloppy by the careless works of solicitor Gurmak Singh.
As a result, I’m now faced with a whole host of liabilities for this property. After purchasing a flat in October 2020 I was served a Section 20 just 5 weeks after completing in the region of £9k.

To add insult to injury, I also discovered shortly after moving in, that planning permission had been approved a few years prior to build 4 flats directly overlooking my flat on the same freehold land. None of this was ever brought up before exchange and when I raised a complaint into this matter, James Pearson responded with misinformation. He stated that they raised the matter in relation to the planning permission and that I didn’t ask for them to investigate it further!?

Had this been flagged to me, I clearly would have asked for it to be investigated further and it’s unlikely I would have even purchased the property. It is clear that they did not conduct sufficient due diligence and I will be looking to take this matter further through the courts and update my review accordingly with the final resolution.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Anonymous

March 21, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Efficient and professional

Knocker & Foskett handled our recent sale and purchase with professionalism and efficiency. We were kept updated throughout and they responded to numerous enquiries from the various agents in the chain quickly and without fuss. I would have no hesitation in recommending this firm.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Anonymous

March 18, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Employment matters

Chris Hugo was a pleasure to work with. Very thorough going through my employment matters and provided detail every part of the way. I would highly recommend his services for those that need any assistance during employment matters. I will be back to Knocker and Foskett….

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Matter Type:

Settlement Agreements

Anonymous

March 10, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Employment settlement

Chris Hugo was extremely helpful and thorough in the advice he provided. His communication was prompt and professional at all times. He certainly alleviated a lot of my concerns about my rights as an employee and extremely respectful at all times. Thank you Chris

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Anonymous

March 06, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Knocker & Foskett Chris Hugo

Urgent expert advice was sought to a tight timescale. This was delivered swiftly and with a high degree of expertise enabling quick decision making.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Anonymous

March 01, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Conveyancing

Felicity Williams and team handled my sale extremely efficiently as they have done for previous sales and purchases over a number of years.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Frederick

Frederick

March 25, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Frederick

DO NOT USE Knocker and Foskett

Incompetent and negligent solicitor Gurmak Sighn who did not conduct proper due diligence. The entire exchange process was completely rushed and sloppy by the careless works of solicitor Gurmak Singh.
As a result, I’m now faced with a whole host of liabilities for this property. After purchasing a flat in October 2020 I was served a Section 20 just 5 weeks after completing in the region of £9k.

To add insult to injury, I also discovered shortly after moving in, that planning permission had been approved a few years prior to build 4 flats directly overlooking my flat on the same freehold land. None of this was ever brought up before exchange and when I raised a complaint into this matter, James Pearson responded with unsubstantiated lies ! He stated that they raised the matter in relation to the planning permission and that I didn’t ask for them to investigate it further!?

Had this been flagged to me, I clearly would have asked for it to be investigated further and it’s unlikely I would have even purchased the property. It is clear that they did not conduct sufficient due diligence and I will be looking to take this matter further through the courts and update my review accordingly with the final resolution.

Was this review helpful?

Emily

Emily

January 17, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Emily

Excellent and professional service received from Felicity and Daniella at K&F when I bought and sold our properties. Would definitely use again and recommend. Thank-you.

Was this review helpful?

Michael

Michael

December 04, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Michael

Chris Hugo was a great beacon of light in advising us with legal help.
His prompt, informative, transparent service gave us much assurance.
I highly recommend his services.

Was this review helpful?

Patricia

Patricia

November 21, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Patricia

We are extremely grateful for Damien Jones’ professionalism in helping us to understand what was required for our Wills as we needed to include a Trust, set up for our son who is Autistic with learning difficulties. It is a huge relief to know we have safely prepared the future for both our daughter and our son when we can no longer be there for them. The whole procedure was organised swiftly and safely by the receptionist and Damien’s Secretary, to ensure we were able to complete our Wills during the Covid restrictions. All phone calls and signing of the Wills were carried out with great professionalism, care and helpful manner.
We were also in awe of the building when safely sitting in the room to sign our Wills. The whole procedure was a pleasure. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts Damien.

Was this review helpful?

Jane

Jane

July 18, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Jane

We had Elizabeth appointed to us for the conveyancing for our house purchase and sale (completed July 2020). Elizabeth was extremely thorough in her work, clear and concise in her communication, readily available on phone and email and friendly and helpful throughout. There was not one single mistake or typo made anywhere throughout the process and we feel our case was in the best possible hands with her. We would highly recommend Elizabeth for your conveyancing or other legal needs.
The only thing that would have improved the service would be to have online documentation signing capabilities as I know some other firms have, since there is a lot of form filling & scanning involved, at least in the house purchase process (not so great if you have an unreliable printer as we do!).

Was this review helpful?

Knocker & Foskett are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Based in Sevenoaks, Kent we provide a comprehensive range of legal services to clients, combining the highest standards of professionalism and efficiency with a friendly, personal service. The firm's practice is large enough to provide advice in all areas of the law undertaken in a provincial practice, but small enough to ensure that the quality of personal attention remains the most important aspect of our service to clients. All of our staff appreciate that good "plain English" communication is essential to the smooth running of our practice. We work as a co-ordinated team, keeping our clients fully informed at all stages. Sound legal advice depends on listening to the needs of our clients. Only by spending time with our clients, and getting to know their specific situation, can we recommend the most appropriate way forward. This is particularly important at the outset of the client-lawyer relationship. We appreciate that deadlines are critical and we are used to working to tight schedules and timescales. We are a highly skilled and dedicated team of lawyers who can draw collectively upon many years of experience. Our knowledge of the law is extensive, and is complemented by our experience of dealing with a broad range of legal matters. Fee-earners work independently, or in partner-led teams as appropriate. We are also able to draw upon the services of a wide range of other professional contacts including accountants, surveyors and specialist counsel where necessary. The firm is strengthened by its traditions and yet also committed to making full use of new management techniques and office technology. This website gives an outline of our services. If you require more information or advice on a particular matter please do not hesitate to contact us.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Clinical Negligence
    • Accident and Emergency Claims
    • Amputation Negligence Claims
    • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
    • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
    • Birth Injury Claims
    • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
    • Blood Transfusion Claims
    • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
    • C. Difficile Claims
    • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
    • Cerebral Palsy Claims
    • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Clinical Negligence
    • Cochlear Implant Claims
    • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
    • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
    • Defective Medical Device Claims
    • Dental Negligence
    • Dental Negligence Claims
    • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
    • Diabetes Claims
    • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
    • Eye Surgery Claims
    • Failed Sterilisation Claims
    • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
    • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
    • Fertility Negligence Claims
    • GP Negligence Claims
    • Group B Streptococcus Claims
    • Hospital Negligence Claims
    • Knee Replacement Claims
    • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
    • Laser Treatment Claims
    • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • MRSA Claims
    • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Medical Negligence
    • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
    • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
    • Nerve Damage Claims
    • Nerve Injury Claims
    • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
    • Oral Cancer Claims
    • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
    • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Periodontal Disease Claims
    • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
    • Pressure Sore Claims
    • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Restorative Dentistry Claims
    • Sepsis Negligence Claims
    • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
    • Spinal Surgery Claims
    • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
    • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Surgery Compensation Claims
    • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
    • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Consumer
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Personal Injury
    • Against The Council
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Charities
    • Charities
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety
Book an appointment