Book an appointment

Book an appointment

Ackroyd Legal

Also known as :

  • Ackroyd Legal
View map
Ackroyd Legal

How Ackroyd Legal Compares

Value for money

This firm - 61%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Ackroyd Legal on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 2%
Overpriced 45%
About Right 52%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 50%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Ackroyd Legal and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Ackroyd Legal performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 50%
No 50%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 50%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Ackroyd Legal and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Ackroyd Legal compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 50%
No 50%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Ackroyd Legal offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Become Verified

Ackroyd Legal only have 85 reviews listed here

You may want to discover a firm with an established and proven reputation on ReviewSolicitors


Top Rated Law Firms - Highly Recommended and Recently Used By Clients Like You

Review Sources

Client Reviews

3.0/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    41
  • Very Good

    2
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    42

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Alison

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Alison

May 12, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

As communicative as the ex that ghosts you

Diabolical DO NOT USE. Impossible to get hold of

Can’t get through the phones
Emails go unresponded to

Was this review helpful?

Joseph

Joseph

April 05, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Review of Conveyancing Work by Ackroyd Legal

Thank you for the work from the team at the Ackroyd Legal London office. I bought my property through Ackroyd, and found my lawyer to helpful. I wouldn’t hesitate to call upon their legal services.

Was this review helpful?

Shane

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Shane

April 04, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Absolutely shocking service, do not use!

We were looking to sell and buy a house at the end of 2021 and found Ackroyd Legal online. I admit that I was a bit concerned about some of the reviews I read about them but the price was good and incorrectly believed that it didn’t matter too much who ‘conveyed’ the move. That was my biggest mistake. The whole process was a faff from start to finish which resulted in them ‘forgetting’ to pay off our old mortgage and also forgetting to register our ownership with land registry (among many other shortcomings)

I am not into naming and shaming but our case handler, Chirag Chopra, was at best not experienced and at worst intentionally obstructive. He was unresponsive to emails and request from myself and from conveyancers from the buyers of our house. In the end the conveyancers for the buyers and the estate agents ran everything through me to ensure that it was followed up on. It was far from a smooth and easy going process.

To be fair Chirag came under a solicitor Peter Benjamin who literally was missing in action on all and any communications. If he was setting an example then I am not surprised that Chirag was so poor.

Once we had dragged ourselves through about 4 months of absolutely shoddy conveyancing we moved into the house. By this point I had made a number of complaints to Ackroyd legal including the non existent complaints department, the CEO, the accounts team and the solicitor. None of which were followed up on.

After we moved in we found that Ackroyd legal had not paid off the old mortgage in full! So we spent another number of stressful days getting them to sort this payment out!!

I made a complaint to the Legal Ombudsman as I felt it was my duty to inform them of Stirling Ackroyd legals many shoddy practices hoping to draw a line under everything.

Unfortunately it was not to be. By April 2022, 5 months after moving into our house we were looking to have some insulation installed via the government warm homes scheme. In order to do this we needed to show our proof of land registry. It turns out that Sterling Ackroyd legal had not bothered to register our ownership. So again we make contact with them and they slowly start the process. We just about lose the opportunity to get the work done because it is taking so long. Chirag finally gets the registration done and then we receive a fine from land registry as ‘we’ aka our shoddy solicitors, have taken over 4 months to register. So begins another series of emails with Chirag at Ackroyd legal and thankfully they get the fine sorted at their cost.

The saga of selling and buying with Stirling Ackroyd Legal was a horrible experience. I don’t believe it was only Peter and Chirag who were responsible but the whole company. They were not present or communicative and were not conducive to making it pleasant or smooth. In fact they put the whole deal in jeopardy!!

Use these guys at your own risk. The sales pitch was ok but once you sign with them that’s when it went downhill for us. Pay a little more and check the reviews and go with someone else. At the very least avoid those individuals mentioned.

Was this review helpful?

Sunny

Sunny

March 24, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

AVOID AVOID AVOID - UNPROFESSIONAL - AWFUL - TIMEWASTERS

Rey Caliskan was my Conveyancer – very unprofessional. I lost my first house because of her, after 6 months of praying to her to answer back or to do anything, I was almost kneeling on my emails for an answer. Then I discovered that the seller sold to someone else because of lack of communication and was unhappy with my Solicitor.

My Solicitor was greedy, was overloaded with cases and was unable to manage the pressure from all the clients. She was also admitted to hospital as a result.

Shame on you, you ruined everything, was my first dream that you turned into a nightmare. Till today I'm still on rent because of Ackroyd Legal. I'm wasting all my savings on rent instead of spending on my house, it's Karma.

Only two things needed for this review-
1. There should be a ZERO STAR option.
2. STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY.

If you want zero communication and complete in-competent conveyancers then go ahead and sign up.

Was this review helpful?

Richard

Richard

March 15, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

When Performance Matters

When you are looking for a company that work to your tough deadlines and not their own in order to clinch the deal; or where the demand is such that other conveyancers can’t perform, then Ackroyd Legal are the ones. Myself and my wife have used Ackroyd Legal and would never go elsewhere. They treat you as the client and not as a problem. They always communicate even if it’s out of hours. I can’t honestly fault them and they are worthy of this review.

Was this review helpful?

Yannick

Yannick

February 25, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Parminder Virdee and Benjamin Baccas are amazing!

We had three different purchases with Ackroyd legal, as the first two fell through for survey reasons.

Benjamin Baccas was our second case manager. We told him about our previous experience, which hadn't been that good and he was highly communicative and reached out to us whenever necessary. It was hugely reassuring to feel like we didn't have to chase him about anything. Thank you Ben!

Our third and successful purchase was made with Parminder Virdee. I feel that Parminder deserves a medal for her patience and the effort she put into our case. We had a lot of questions and she took the time to explain everything in a huge amount of detail and was very understanding and empathetic about our questions. She went above and beyond and made us feel looked after as first time buyers who were worried about certain aspects of the purchase.

We are endlessly thankful for that because would not have managed to complete without someone who would have taken the time to help is under everything like she did.

Thank you Parminder!

Was this review helpful?

Bhavesh

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Bhavesh

February 14, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Really great service from the team at Ackroyd

Really great service from the team at Ackroyd especially during the difficult times. It was difficult to get updates at first due to the stamp duty freeze but after the team has made a lot of improvement and provided an excellent service throughout the conveyance.
A brilliant effort made on our behalf throughout the conveyance.

Was this review helpful?

Madeleine

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Madeleine

February 09, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

What a rubbish company

Don't believe the 5 star reviews. They must be fake.
If you are fooled into using this company because they are cheap, there is a reason for that.
I am an estate agent and the buyer is using this firm, Tekcan Tek. He has been emailing saying he will raise enquiries for the last 3 weeks and still absolutely nothing. Empty promises and no action. The buyer has lost faith that he will ever get this over the line. I have been trying their number 0203058 3363 and I get an automated reply saying this number is not available please try again later. What an utter shambles. DO NOT USE THEM IF YOU WANT TO ACTUALLY BUY SOMETHING.

Was this review helpful?

Dan

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Dan

February 05, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Terrible - Avoid

Used for a sale 12 months ago, Chirag Chopra was my case handler.

Didn't answer emails, phonecalls or keep to call backs booked for updates.

Painfully slow, didn't send a copy of any searches carried out, didnt calculate the settlement sums correctly and finally did t register the sale with Land Registry for 8 months after completion meaning i got a £200 fine.

Avoid

Was this review helpful?

About this branch

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Clinical Negligence
    • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Travel rights
  • Crime/ Criminal Defence
    • Assault
    • Business Crime
    • Criminal Damage
    • Criminal defence - All
    • Drugs offences
    • Murder and Manslaughter
    • Professional Conduct
    • Regulatory Defence
    • Theft
  • Driving offences
    • Careless driving
    • Death by dangerous driving
    • Drink driving
    • Driving whilst disqualified
    • Driving without a licence
    • Driving without insurance
    • Failure to furnish identification
    • Failure to provide a specimen
    • Mobile phone offences
    • Speeding offences
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Human rights
    • Human rights
  • Immigration
    • Administrative reviews, appeals and judicial reviews
    • Ancestry visas
    • Applications for British citizenship
    • Applications for discretionary leave
    • Applications to extend leave to remain or for settlement
    • Asylum and Deportation
    • Asylum applications and appeals
    • Citizenship
    • Deportation appeals
    • EEA Family Permits
    • EEA Registration Cards
    • EEA Residence Permits
    • Entry clearance applications and appeals
    • Family Based Visas
    • Family Reunion Applications / Appeals
    • Family Visit Visa Applications /Appeals
    • General Visit Visa Applications / Appeals
    • Human Rights
    • Illegal Workers and Civil Penalties
    • Immigration Law
    • Indefinite leave to remain applications
    • Marriage Applications/Appeals
    • Nationality, Citizenship, Registration application
    • Partner and family visas
    • Re-entry bans
    • Refugee Family Reunion
    • Settlement Applications and indefinite leave to remain appeals
    • Tier 1 (investors, entrepreneurs and exceptional talent)
    • Tier 2 (sponsored skilled workers)
    • Tier 4 (students)
    • Tier 5 (temporary workers)
    • UK ancestry
    • Visas
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Tax
  • Personal Injury
    • Against The Council
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Banking
    • Banking
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Corporate Law
    • Data Protection
    • Franchising
    • Insurance
    • Intellectual Property
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Setting up a business
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Copyright
    • Design rights and product designs
    • Domain Names
    • GDPR
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
    • Patents
    • Trade Marks and Designs