Whitehead Monckton Limited

020 7531 2990

Whitehead Monckton is one of the largest law firms in Kent, with offices located in Canterbury, London, Maidstone and Tenterden. Our experienced legal team provides a comprehensive range of services to both business and individual clients in practice areas including commercial transactions, property, employment, family, estate planning and wills and dispute resolution. We have developed expertise in the following areas: rural business, equine law, property development and leisure, enabling us to provide comprehensive support to clients within these sectors. Browse our website for further details on our legal services and team members. If you have any queries please don't hesitate to contact us today. We are confident our solicitors in Canterbury, London, Maidstone and Tenterden can provide you with the legal services you need.

4.6/5 130 Customer Reviews 130
Recommended by
126 Verified Clients
like Mr & Mrs Hou and Natalie
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Whitehead Monckton Limited compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Whitehead Monckton Limited on ReviewSolicitors

130 Customer Reviews

4.6/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    111
  • Very Good
    5
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    11

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Mr & Mrs Hou
Verified Mr & Mrs Hou Added 1 week ago Report to admin
May 11, 2019 20190511205226

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

Docklands Solictor is a professional firm that provided clear information for the service we required. Katie was helpful and understanding and provided us with a Will we required. I would recommend them.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Natalie
Verified Natalie Added 1 week ago Report to admin
May 11, 2019 20190511205226

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

Thank you for making a daunting task simple and clear. Your approachable and professional manner, made difficult and potentially emotive conversations, relaxed and congenial.

Solicitor being reviewed: Hannah Catherine Durston

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mr G Kearin
Verified Mr G Kearin Added 1 week ago Report to admin
May 11, 2019 20190511205225

Residential Conveyancing

5

Having been recommended to use Whitehead Monckton I was not sure what to expect. However I have found both Lisa Allbutt and Katie Langridge to have been faultless in their duties in undertaking the sale process of my father's property. As Executor, I have been kept informed at every stage of the process and the sale was completed on time. Thanks to both Lisa and Katie it has for me been a relatively stress free process. I would have no hesitation in using your services again in the future should the need arise.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 1 month ago Report to admin
March 26, 2019 20190326182242

Melissa Markham

5

Following a friend’s recommendation I contacted Melissa to process my recent divorce. Being communicated to clearly, as required and thoughtfully was a resounding opposite experience to what I had previously received elsewhere. Melissa’s care, compassion and guidance has been exceptional. I felt looked after and cared for in what could be an emotionally charged process. Thank you Melissa.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Keith & Shirley Bray
Verified Keith & Shirley Bray Added 2 months ago Report to admin
March 08, 2019 20190308114239

Wills Trust and Probate

5

We are both very satisfied with the way we have been treated and would have no hesitation in using you again in the future should the need arise.

Solicitor being reviewed: Bekka Victoria Fuszard

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ross
Verified Ross Added 7 months ago Report to admin
September 30, 2018 20180930211502

Recent sale and purchase of property

5

We couldn’t have been happier with the service - without such a supportive solicitor I don’t know how we would have survived!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Janis and Ron
Verified Janis and Ron Added 7 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
September 28, 2018 20180928211502

We found Whitehead and Monckton a very good firm to deal with

5

We have been very satisfied with all our dealings with Whithead and Monckton Solicitors for many years and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend them

Was this review helpful? Yes

David
Verified David Added 10 months ago Report to admin
July 19, 2018 20180719211501

Sale of Business.

5

Our business was conducted efficiently and effectively at very short notice. Chris Longden, Haggai Peri and David Riorden could not have done more to ensure a successful and seamless transaction. Further, all administrative staff at Whitehead Monckton were polite, mannered and highly professional. It has been a pleasure to have worked with all at Whitehead Monckton and I would not hesitate to recommend the firm to anybody who requires sound, clear, expert advice that is delivered with clarity and attention to detail. An excellent outcome for us due in no small part to the excellence of all at WM. Thankyou.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Nisha
Verified Nisha Added 11 months ago Report to admin
June 15, 2018 20180615211501

Family

5

Thank you to Daniel Bennett for representing me in a recent emergency family law related matter. Daniel is a dedicated, empathetic and trustworthy solicitor with a sound knowlegde of family law. I have no hesitation in recommending him! Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Jim
Jim Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
April 12, 2019
Collected on
20190412101615

Jim K

1

If I could give zero stars I would. Called them for an update on our sale and was basically told that I should call on a day of exchanges. How dare I. I have never been spoken to so badly by a company who should surely be nothing but professional. I would avoid these at all costs.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Paul
Paul Added 4 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
January 19, 2019
Collected on
20190119231428

Paul Hood

5

really nice people...very professional and very helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes

Julie
Julie Added 4 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
January 10, 2019
Collected on
20190110140459

Julie Darvill

5

Great Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Andrew
Andrew Added 5 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
December 05, 2018
Collected on
20181205080659

Andrew Eve

5

Currently using Jennifer for the purchase of my first house, she is great and extremely efficient, price is competitive and have no problems recommending her and Whitehead Monckton.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ben
Ben Added 10 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
July 10, 2018
Collected on
20180710094100

Ben Hancock

5

Really excellent. I have been using them for around 10 years now and counting. Very friendly, efficient and knowledgeable.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Solicitors who work at Whitehead Monckton Limited

  • Katie Broadfield

    Originally from Cambridge, I completed an LLB (Hons) in Law Degree at Sheffield Hallam University and then moved to London to undertake the Legal Practice Course at the College of Law. Following that I worked as a paralegal at Kingsley Napley Solicitors in London in the professional regulation department before joining Whitehead Monckton as a Trainee Solicitor in 2007. I qualified as a Solicitor in the Tax & Estate Planning department of Whitehead Monckton in February 2009 based in Maidstone. In October 2016 I became an Associate Director and relocated from Maidstone to Canary Wharf to head up the Tax & Estate Planning team at Docklands Solicitors, following the successful merger of the two firms. I now offer the full range of private client services and expertise to the London market, adding value to Docklands Solicitors' clients and the local area.

  • Alexander Bak

    Having first been called to the Bar I commenced legal practice in 2002. I have worked for major UK national and international legal practices as well as working in-house for a large hotel company as well as in house for 2 major UK telecommunications operators. I undertake a wide range of commercial property work, with a particular emphasis on: Acquisition and disposal of commercial property (freehold and leasehold) Acquisition and disposal of leisure property, such as hotels, pubs, restaurants, golf clubs etc (freehold and leasehold) Commercial Landlord and Tenant Property portfolio management Land development Secured lending Franchising Telecommunications (wayleave, rooftop and greenfield agreements) I also specialise in alcohol licensing and act for both individual and corporate clients. I apply licensing experience to leisure property transactions and am also able to act on behalf of clients in relation to all types of licensing applications and hearings. I am fluent in German.

  • Ruth Thoms

    I completed my LLB Law (Hons) Degree at Nottingham Trent University followed by the Legal Practice Course at Nottingham Law School. I then trained as a solicitor in Mayfair, London gaining extensive experience across a number of areas in law, before joining the firm in June 2017. I have expertise in: Commercial and Residential freehold and leasehold both sale and purchase transactions. Residential re-mortgages. Sale and purchase of newly built properties/developments of land. Declaration of Trust. Transfer of equity. Lease extensions.

  • Pam Thomas

    I qualified as a solicitor in 1988 and in 2005 and set up Docklands Solicitors with my partners. I have specialised in residential property transactions since 1988. I am conscious of how stressful moving house can be and I provide a thorough and personal service giving you peace of mind; I will deal with your enquiries in a professional but friendly manner. Through my many years of experience in dealing with large and small transactions I can anticipate the pitfalls that may arise and will work with you to ensure that your transaction proceeds as smoothly as possible. I have good strong links with many surveyors and estate agents.

  • Marsha Marriner

    Before I joined Whitehead Monckton’s Property Department in 2004 I worked for city law firm S J Berwin in their real estate department within the retail team which gave me a width breadth and knowledge of commercial property from both a strong Landlord and Tenant’s position. Since joining the Team at Whitehead Monckton I now act for a diverse range of clients both in the commercial, private and agricultural sector and have experience in a wide range of commercial transactions. Whatever property dealings you are contemplating I can help. I was delighted to be asked to be part of the new office in Canterbury which opened in 2013 as it brought with it the exciting prospect of developing more roots within the home county.

  • Sarah Brissenden

    I attended a local school in Tenterden and then completed my LLB Hons in Law with Business at the University of Brighton in 2009. Following a year working as a Law Costs Draftsmen in Canterbury I studied the Legal Practice Course at the College of Law in Guildford. I then spent the following two years working at London law firms before commencing my training contract with Whitehead Monckton in the Tenterden office in September 2013. I qualified as a solicitor in September 2015 and now work in the Family team at Canterbury. I am a member of the Rural Business team. I am also a Secretary of Kent Resolution and a committee member of Kent Young Resolution. When out of the office I enjoy travelling to different countries and experiencing different cultures. When I am home I enjoy spending time socialising with family and friends and enjoy keeping fit by jogging and playing badminton.

  • Jennifer Beynon

    I completed my LLB (Hons) Law Degree at the University of Kent followed by the Legal Practice Course at The College of Law. I then trained and worked in London before joining the firm in 2017. I have expertise in: Residential and commercial freehold and leasehold sales and purchases Transfers of equity and re-mortgages Lease extensions and shared ownership properties Sales and purchases of newly built property as well as acting for Developers in setting up Residential Estate paperwork and selling off individual plots Auction sales and purchases

  • Garry Warman

    I chose to combine both an academic and vocational approach towards my career and whilst working for a local firm of solicitors gained practical experience across a broad range of issues within my chosen field. I qualified as a Member of the Institute of Legal Executives in 1997 and joined Whitehead Monckton the same year. I became a Fellow of the Institute in 1999 and proudly became the first Legal Executive Partner of the firm in April 2011. I became an Associate Director when the firm incorporated to a Limited Company in April 2014 and Director in January 2016. I specialise in: Wills Tax planning and succession advice Estate administration Lasting and Enduring Powers of Attorney Trust creation and administration I am a member of the Society of Trust & Estate Practitioners (STEP) and Solicitors for the Elderly (SFE). I am the head of Whitehead Monckton’s Corporate Social Responsibility team.

  • David Riordan

    I completed a BA Hons Degree in English Literature at the University of Sheffield. I went on to study law at the College of Law in Chester completing the Postgraduate Diploma in Law followed by the Legal Practice Course. After qualifying as a solicitor, I practiced as a property litigator for two years with a large regional firm and then relocated to Kent with my wife where I have practiced as a civil litigator for 4 years prior to joining Whitehead Monckton in April 2014. While practising I completed a Diploma in Advanced Litigation with Law South and have since continued to develop my interest in mediation and alternative dispute resolution. I have a firm belief in seeking to successfully resolve cases through mediation where possible prior to going to trial. I have expertise in: Litigation and Dispute Resolution including: Landlord & tenant Property disputes Commercial litigation Company, director & shareholder disputes Partnership disputes Professional negligence claims

  • Lindsay Sharp

    I completed a BSc Hons Degree in Medical Biochemistry at Cardiff University followed by the Postgraduate Diploma in Law at University of Westminster and the Legal Practice Course at College of Law London. I then trained and worked in a long-established Kent based firm (qualifying in 2007) before joining the firm in 2017. Alongside work I continued my postgraduate education with University of Cambridge and qualified as a Notary Public in 2010. Now as one of approximately 800 Notaries in England and Wales I perform a full range of Notarial services and have an expanding portfolio of regular clients which include local companies, individuals, charities, PLCs and a FTSE100 company I have expertise in: Leases of commercial premises, including assignment and surrenders, acting for landlord and tenants Sales and purchases of commercial buildings Acting for local developers, from the initial acquisition stage through to individual plot sales Deeds of easement and wayleaves Remortgaging property portfolios Advising and rectifying title defects The sale and purchase of high value or complex residential properties.

  • Hannah Durston

    I completed a BSc in Psychology at the University of Southampton before going on to complete my Graduate Diploma in Law at Kingston University and my Legal Practice Course at The College of Law, Guildford. I then joined Whitehead Monckton as a trainee solicitor in September 2009. I qualified as a Solicitor in September 2011 and until April 2013 was based in the Maidstone office. Since then I have been based in the firm's Canterbury office. I became a Senior Solicitor in September 2015 and an Associate in April 2016. I have expertise in: Wills Tax planning and succession advice Lasting Powers of Attorney Court of Protection matters including Deputyship and Statutory Will applications Estate administration Trust creation and administration I am a member of Whitehead Monckton’s Corporate Social Responsibility team and have an active role in raising awareness and money for our Charity of the Year. I am also a full accredited member of Solicitors for the Elderly and a Dementia Friends Champion and have completed two of the three STEP thesis papers with a view to becoming a fully qualified STEP member via the Qualified Practitioner route in 2018.

  • Emma Palmer

    I completed a BA (Hons) degree in English at the University of Southampton before taking a gap year where I worked as a special needs teaching assistant in a Kent school. I then completed the Common Professional Examination at the College of Law, Guildford, followed up by the Legal Practice Course where I achieved a distinction. I then trained and practised in Surrey before moving to Kent in 2000 and working for another firm locally until I joined Whitehead Monckton in 2013. I have expertise in: All aspects of family law but I have particular expertise in: Divorce Complex finance following divorce – especially cases involving pensions Breakdown of unmarried relationships Children matters I have been a Resolution Accredited Specialist in financial and children proceedings for over 10 years and a Law Society Family Law Panel Member for over 10 years. As a committed Resolution practitioner I am always keen to promote and encourage settlement out of Court. I further qualified in 2014 as a collaborative lawyer. I am a member of the Canterbury “around the table” POD group for collaborative lawyers, a volunteer for both the Canterbury CAB and the Kent Law Clinic and give regular careers talks and attend careers fairs at local education establishments in Kent. I am also actively involved with local Law Society, being a Past President of the Medway Law Society and the current Honorary Secretary of the Kent Law Society.

  • Dan Cowley

    I completed a BA Hons Degree in History at Durham University followed by the Postgraduate Diploma in Law at Oxford Brookes University and the Legal Practice Course at The Oxford Institute of Legal Practice. I then trained and worked in Oxford (qualifying in 2005) for almost 11 years at Manches solicitors (now Penningtons Manches LLP) before relocating and joining the firm in 2014. I have expertise in: Acting for Landlords and Tenants in commercial lease transactions; Acting for further and higher education establishments in respect of their property portfolio management (previous clients include Oxford Brookes University and the University of Oxford). Acting for developers and landowners in respect to site assembly, development and sale of development land including joint venture, promotion agreements, overage agreements and mixed use regeneration projects; Property securitisation and secured lending; Acting for investors in the sale and purchase of commercially tenanted properties Acting for affordable housing registered providers in their development site acquisition and plot sales;

  • Daniel Bennett

    Listed as a leading individual in Legal 500 : (total professional commitment is exceptional and the quality of care is quite unique). I have a lot of experience exclusively in high net worth family law having started as a trainee solicitor at Boodle Hatfield in Oxford and London, continuing to Blandy & Blandy and then Pannone. I have postgraduate training in psychology and I am an experienced Family Mediator and Collaborative Practitioner. I became a Director at Whitehead Monckton in July 2016. I am a committed Resolution Member, having sat on the National Committee from 2013 to 2016, and Trustee of the John Cornwell Foundation. I train psychotherapists, solicitors and other professionals nationally to work effectively for clients out of court and to promote interdisciplinary working so that families are provided with lasting, meaningful solutions to family challenges which arise. I am a Resolution Accredited Specialist in financial and children proceedings. I have expertise in: collaborative and mediation agreements and meetings; complex financial proceedings and cases involving foreign clients and assets; applications to remove children from the jurisdiction; pre-nuptial and post-nuptial agreements.

  • Janey Goode

    After studying law at King's College, London, I trained with Clifford Chance, joining their Company department in 1990. I joined Whitehead Monckton in 1993 and became a partner in 1996. I qualified as a Notary in 1997 and became a Director when the firm incorporated to a Limited Company in April 2014. I am Head of the Business Law department. I am the Honorary Treasurer of the Kent Law Society and Chair of Kent and East Sussex Notaries Group. Listed as a leading individual for Corporate in Chambers for 2017 (of Whitehead Monckton is held in high regard by her clients, who praise her "broad range of experience" and appreciate the "practical approach" she takes to complex corporate matters.) Having been a keen horse rider for many years before having a family, I have taken a break from horse riding to devote more time to my family but hope in the future to take it up again. In the meantime, I maintain close links with the horse riding community. I have expertise in: All aspects of corporate and business law, from corporate reorganisations and financing to shareholders’agreements Notarial work. Specialist in partnership law and rural partnerships.

About This Branch

Description

With offices in Canterbury, London, Maidstone and Tenterden, Whitehead Monckton is one of the largest legal practices in the county. We offer a wide range of services specifically for businesses together with legal support for you as an individual. You can see our lawyers at the office most convenient to you or we can meet at your office or home. Its important to us that we are recognised within Kent as being a very approachable and professional firm. Many of our staff, including a number of Directors, completed their legal training with the firm and our ethos of client support and care is very important to all members of the firm.


Legal Services
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Architects
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Probate
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Children
  • Family Mediation
  • Collaborative Law
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Injunctions
  • Lasting power of attorney
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Professional trustees
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Discrimination at Work
  • TUPE
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Flexible Working
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Social Services
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Pension Law
  • Professional Negligence
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Professional Negligence law
  • Financial advisors
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Buying at auction
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Accountants
  • Trusts
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Leasehold properties
  • Lease Extensions
  • Injunctions
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Tax consultants
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Family law
  • Civil partnerships
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Child Law
  • Engineers
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Financial Matters
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Separation
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing Management
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Senior Executives
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Repossessions
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Pension and property advice
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Property Disputes
  • Barristers
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Gardening Leave
  • Valuers
  • Planning
  • Notary
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Wills
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Remortgaging
  • Stress at Work
  • Insurance brokers
  • Redundancy
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Right to Manage
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Transfer of title
  • IT professionals
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Housing disputes
  • Employment Contracts
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Extending your Lease
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Housing Associations
  • Professional Discipline
  • Trusts
  • Family Leave
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Education
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Child contact
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Tax
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Separation Agreement
  • Surveyors
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Transfers of equity
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Part Time Workers
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Management buyouts
  • Commercial Law
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Employment - business
  • Share option schemes
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Development plot sales
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Mediation
  • Rights of way issues
  • Purchase of development land
  • Statutory Demands
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Planning law
  • Corporate finance
  • Environmental policy law
  • Competition law
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Agency agreements
  • Franchising
  • Tax
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Corporate Law
  • Setting up a business
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Summary Judgment
  • Commercial Leases
  • Data Protection
  • Finance
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Developer disputes
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Asset Tracing

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0830 - 1800
  • 0830 - 1800
  • 0830 - 1800
  • 0830 - 1800
  • 0830 - 1800
  • Closed
  • Closed