Hart Brown

01483 887515

Hart Brown is a leading law firm with offices throughout Surrey. Established in 1919, our continued success and ability to build long term relationships has been based upon our unique understanding of the law and our clients and our commitment to making the process as straightforward as possible, in the most professional way. It’s the combination of these factors that creates our USP and makes us different. Hart Brown is… UNDERSTANDING about our clients legal needs and the law. STRAIGHTFORWARD in the way we work and communicate. PROFESSIONAL in everything we do, to achieve results and uphold our reputation.

4.8/5 113 Customer Reviews 113
Recommended by
112 Verified Clients
like Charlotte and J.S Hurst
Accreditations
accreditation

How Hart Brown compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Hart Brown on ReviewSolicitors

113 Customer Reviews

4.8/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    105
  • Very Good
    4
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    4

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
J.S Hurst
Verified J.S Hurst Added 1 week ago Report to admin
May 11, 2019 20190511205210

Residential Property/Conveyancing

5

Excellent Service Friendly staff Debbie Beswick- Clear and uncomplicated as well as supportive and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Antony & Janet Charters
Verified Antony & Janet Charters Added 1 week ago Report to admin
May 11, 2019 20190511205210

Residential Property/Conveyancing

5

We were very satisfied with all aspects of the buying and selling of properties. A first class service that is highly recommended.

Solicitor being reviewed: Nicole Louise Lush

Was this review helpful? Yes

Roderick & Jane Muttram
Verified Roderick & Jane Muttram Added 1 week ago Report to admin
May 11, 2019 20190511205210

Commercial Property

5

See the 'Suggestions' box. I have also provided a positive review to The Legal 500.

Solicitor being reviewed: John David Guthrie

Was this review helpful? Yes

Graeme Derby
Verified Graeme Derby Added 1 week ago Report to admin
May 11, 2019 20190511205209

Residential Property/Conveyancing

5

Happy with the service.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Dr R D & Mrs M Townsend
Verified Dr R D & Mrs M Townsend Added 1 month ago Report to admin
April 05, 2019 20190405150804

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

We were entirely satisfied with the experience and speed of response that we received in drawing up our revised wills. Many thanks, R.D. Townsend

Was this review helpful? Yes

N/A
Verified N/A Added 1 month ago Report to admin
April 05, 2019 20190405150803

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

I found Mrs Isabel Hodgson extremely pleasant and helpful and I would recommend her to friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
May 11, 2019 20190511205210

Residential Property/Conveyancing

5

Very good service, would recommend.

Solicitor being reviewed: Francesca Louise Ellen Nash

Was this review helpful? Yes

Rebecca
Verified Rebecca Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
May 11, 2019 20190511205210

Family

5

Exemplary service from Julian Waldon, with not only legal guidance and support but emotional support during a difficult divorce process. Julian really understood my issues and sought to resolve them in the best possible way with his expert legal knowledge.

Solicitor being reviewed: Julian Peter Waldon

Was this review helpful? Yes

Iain
Verified Iain Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
May 11, 2019 20190511205210

Residential Property/Conveyancing

5

Fantastic service from start to finish.

Solicitor being reviewed: David Stewart Knapp

Was this review helpful? Yes

Geoffrey Hunt
Verified Geoffrey Hunt Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
May 11, 2019 20190511205210

Residential Property/Conveyancing

5

I found Hart Brown to be ideal in every respect: Cordial, efficient, good communication, reasonably priced, full information always provided.

Solicitor being reviewed: David Stewart Knapp

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Charlotte
Charlotte Added 3 days ago Report to admin
May 20, 2019
Collected on
20190520131931

Charlotte

5

Isabel Hodgson has been delightful to deal with, as have all the staff - couldn't have had a better or more personal service - thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes

Janet
Janet Added 1 month ago Report to admin
April 09, 2019
Collected on
20190409182457

Janet Fricker

5

I found Louise Harrhy to be very helpful and professional in her dealings with my late mother's estate. I would definitely recommend her and Hart Brown.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Margaret
Margaret Added 2 months ago Report to admin
March 01, 2019
Collected on
20190301122312

Margaret Stammers

5

Louise Harrhy was recommended to me as a highly professional and knowledgeable solicitor when I was seeking some advice on Estate Planning. This she certainly is and her advice regarding Wills, Trusts and LPAs has been reassuring and helpful in planning the way forward. I have been left with the impression of Hart Brown as a firm of solicitors that can be respected and trusted.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Hart Brown responded to this review on 01 March, 2019

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. Louise and the team at the Cranleigh office will be delighted to see it.

Jane
Jane Added 3 months ago Report to admin
February 05, 2019
Collected on
20190205163002

Jane Mahoney

5

We used Francesca Nash for conveyancing work and could not have been better looked after. Everything was done efficiently and to time.Would heartily recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Hart Brown responded to this review on 11 February, 2019

Dear Jane, thank you for taking the time to leave this review, we are delighted to hear that you are satisfied with the service you received from us. We will ensure that your feedback is passed on to Francesca.

Jacqui
Jacqui Added 5 months ago Report to admin
November 25, 2018
Collected on
20181125094813

Jacqui Camfield

5

Louise Harrhy is one of the most helpful solicitors I've encountered. Dealing with a complicated Probate she ensured I was kept abreast of every development, gave sound advice and despite complications and setbacks ensured the whole process was brought to a timely and satisfactory conclusion at a most reasonable cost. I thank her most sincerely.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Hart Brown responded to this review on 26 November, 2018

Dear Jacqui, thank you very much for posting this review. We will ensure that it reaches Louise and her team today, they will be really delighted to see it.

Solicitors who work at Hart Brown

  • Louise Harrhy

    A Partner in the Trusts and Estates team at Hart Brown in Cranleigh, Louise has extensive experience in a broad range of Private Client work. Louise helps clients with all aspects of Private Client work and deals with the formation and administration of trusts, lifetime and post death planning and will drafting. She also works with other professional advisors to provide a complete package of advice. Louise has considerable experience of applications for probate and estate administration often including complex issues and overseas assets. Additionally, she can help clients with Court of Protection matters including lasting powers of attorney and court applications for gifts

  • Isabel Hodgson

    Isabel is a specialist in Wills, probate, trusts, estate administration and powers of attorney. Before joining Hart Brown, Isabel worked at another law firm for 10 years, qualifying as a Legal Executive in 2011, obtaining Fellowship in 2015. Isabel is also an Accredited Member of Solicitors for the Elderly. A friendly solicitor, Isabel can be found at our office in Cranleigh, an area she knows and loves.

  • Francesca Nash

    Francesca qualified in 1998 having completed her training at Fearon & Co Solicitors. She was a partner there for 15 years. Francesca specialises in Residential Conveyancing and is based in Cranleigh.

  • Emma Moore

    Emma is a partner in our Residential Property team in Cobham having joined Hart Brown in 2014. Emma qualified as a solicitor in 1998 and has specialised solely in residential property for over 10 years. Emma specialises in all aspect of residential property from first time buyers to high value properties. She is used to dealing with short timescales and working as quickly and efficiently as possible to achieve her client’s aims.

  • Tim Pearce

    Tim has specialised in residential conveyancing since the early 1980s and there is little he does not know about the stresses and strains of moving house. He is well known in Cobham and Guildford for the exceptional service he and his assistant Nicky give to all clients. Feedback he regularly receives from clients include comments such as: “I can honestly say that Tim and Nicky were absolutely amazing and went above and beyond any help and advice I could have expected. Thank you. Very very happy.” “Tim and his team never fail to give anything less than a 5 star service. Thanks so much”. Tim trained at Hart Brown and qualified as a solicitor in 1980 becoming a partner in 1984. Here are Tim’s answers to a brief interview about his interests and achievements. What do you count as your interests? Sport, and in particular golf, skiing and horse racing. Other interests include playing bridge and listening to classical music. Where are your favourite travel destinations? Italy and Switzerland. Tell us about your notable achievements. Running the London marathon 3 times, completing a triathlon in the New Forest and the Four Peaks Challenge in the Lake District. He is also a member of Cheltenham Race Course, Effingham Golf Club and the English Bridge Union./

  • Peter Howe

    Peter’s specialism is residential property. He qualified in 1991 and worked for a number of firms as a locum and then full time before joining Hart Brown in 2000. His experience as a locum he says gave him a good insight into the kind of firm that he wanted to settle down with. “It is amazing how different firms are in terms of the service they offer their clients” says Peter. Peter receives excellent feedback from his clients: “I found all my dealing with Peter Howe very useful, he is very down to earth and explained and answered all my queries very clearly, which took away a lot of the stress. Thank you.”

  • Nick Langmead

    Nick specialises in will drafting, estate administration, creating and advising on trusts as well as tax advice. He is a member of STEP and the Law Society Private Client Section. He also takes the opportunity to occasionally write blog entries on the Bates’ website. Prior to joining Hart Brown Nick trained at Keppe and Partners in Twickenham, he stayed there for 8 years and then moved to Bates Solicitors in Fleet and specialised in private client. Here are Nick’s answers to a brief interview about his interests and achievements: Most memorable case? Dealing with the estate of a retired railway engineer. He had spent his retirement building a huge and incredibly elaborate model railway which took up an entire large room of his house. The house couldn’t be sold with the model railway in situ so I had to work out a way to sell it, or if necessary give it away, just to get rid of it. I approached a number of model railway clubs and societies but none of them wanted it because they would have had to take the whole thing apart to get it out of the house and then rebuild it elsewhere. In the end the whole setup had to be scrapped, which was heart-breaking.

  • Julian Waldon

    Julian has extensive experience in family law and in particular high net worth financial cases. Qualifying in 1988, Julian’s career has included practising family law in California, gaining invaluable experience acting in high profile cases for clients in Beverley Hills. Julian is a trained collaborative lawyer and mediator and has been admitted to the California Bar (non-practising). He is also a member of Resolution and the Thameside Collaborative Law Pod. His most memorable case was obtaining monthly alimony of $35k for a client. Julian receives excellent feedback from his clients: “Your patience, efficiency and pragmatic advice have made a difficult matter easier for us.”

  • Nicole Lush

    Nicole studied Law at the University of Reading before working as a paralegal in a busy conveyancing department whilst completing the LPC on a part-time study basis at the College of Law, Guildford. She completed her training contract with a Hampshire based firm and qualified as a solicitor in England and Wales on 17 February 2014. Nicole then worked briefly in family law before choosing to specialise in residential property. She specialises in the sale and purchase of freehold and leasehold properties, Transfers of Equity and re-mortgages.

  • Tulia Ristow

    Tulia qualified as a Solicitor in 2006 and specialises in all aspects of Residential Property. She is also a qualified lawyer in Colombia, Latin America, and is bilingual in English and Spanish.

  • Vanessa McMurtrie

    Vanessa trained and then qualified as a solicitor in 1991 with Hart Brown working in the Cobham office, family department for a decade. She then worked for us on a part time consultancy basis while devoting more time to her family. During this period she was instrumental in implementing Hart Brown’s family department’s case management system and later, the quality system that led to the firm’s ISO 9001 accreditation. In 2005 Vanessa returned to client work and joined Mackrell Turner Garrett where she stayed for ten years, before re-joining Hart Brown in 2015. Vanessa knows Woking and the surrounding area well and enhances the work covered at our Woking office as she re-joins the family department. Vanessa has been a Resolution member since 1991, committed to resolving disputes in a non-confrontational and constructive way. She has served on the Surrey Resolution committee since 2008. She is a Resolution accredited collaboratively trained lawyer and welcomes the opportunity to help separating couples adopt this process as an alternative to the more traditional options available. Over the years, Vanessa has gained a wealth of experience in dealing with all the legal aspects of relationships coming to an end. She prides herself on being approachable and understanding as she helps her clients go through the legal process.

  • David Knapp

    David has a wealth of experience in residential conveyancing having specialised in this area since qualifying in 1983. He has a well deserved reputation for excellence and his clients repeatedly recommend him to their friends and relatives. “Your services came recommended to me by a family member and I shall have no hesitation in doing so myself in the future. I shall also have no hesitation in using your services again should the need arise. I would say a big thank you to David Knapp and his team as our instruction was of an urgent nature and their efforts ensured that the purchase of our property was completed well within our required timescale” fed back one client. Another said “A very professional service but also user friendly. Moving house can be traumatic but a good solicitor who knows exactly what to do at each step is vital. I was very lucky to have David Knapp for my house move”. David joined Hart Brown as a trainee in 1981 and became a Partner in 1987. He became Head of Hart Brown’s residential property department in 2004 and manages a large team of residential conveyancers spread across Hart Brown’s six offices. Another client has provided feedback for David: “In October 2010 we confronted a major issue with our house sale. Our solicitor at the time was simply not up to the job. We were stressed, very unsure of where we stood or what to do next and desperately needed someone who knew what they were doing. It was by recommendation we came to David Knapp. And we’re extremely glad we did. Put simply David’s been brilliant in every respect. Not only did David sort out all the unpleasant issues (dealing with councils and tricky buyers) resulting in a successful house sale. It was the way he went about doing it. Unlike our previous solicitor David is a great communicator – clear, straight to the point and speaks in language we all understand – not legalese. He was a total professional, answering questions quickly, working with us to plan our strategy and simply getting the job done. Most importantly we had the peace of mind knowing we had an astute fellow in our corner – who knew what he was doing every step of the way. It’s this peace of mind which really counts and I couldn’t recommend David strongly enough.”

  • Corinne Flannery

    Corinne qualified as a Fellow of CILEx in 2005 and joined Hart Brown in 2014 as a Chartered Legal Executive in our residential property team. She specialises in freehold and leasehold sales and purchases, transfers of equity and re-mortgages. Corinne often receives excellent feedback from her clients: ‘Thank you so much for your patience and support through challenging times. We did it!’ ‘Many thanks for all your help during our two house moves. You have been a pleasure to work with and have made the moves a lot easier by the help and attention you have given us. Thanks so much.’

  • Debbie Beswick

    Debbie, who is an Associate and Chartered Legal Executive, specialises in residential property. After joining Hart Brown in 1984 she quickly progressed through the ranks qualifying as a Legal Executive in 1996. She was admitted to the Fellowship in 1997. Debbie is well known in the Godalming area and receives rave reviews both from clients and agents who come back to her time and time again. Her most memorable case was the purchase of a property for clients who were looking for a quick turnaround. It was a mere 3 working days from instructions to exchange of contracts.

  • Sue Macleod

    Sue’s specialisms are wills, probate, tax planning and trusts. Having qualified as a solicitor in 1994 Sue joined Hart Brown in 1997. She left in 2006 to look after her young family and returned in May 2010. “I am delighted to be back. Hart Brown has always been a lovely firm to work for and they really care about their clients which is also important to me” says Sue. Sue’s clients provide excellent feedback: “An excellent and efficient service. Would highly recommend to friends and family.”

About This Branch


Practice Area

We offer a full range of legal services to businesses and individuals. With 17 partners, over 110 staff, 5 offices and a reputation for delivering high quality service Hart Brown is proud to have grown through recommendation and repeat business from loyal clients since it was established in 1919. All our lawyers are experts in their chosen field and fully up-to-date with the latest developments. Our teams work closely together to make sure that the service we deliver is fully integrated. Our Business Services include Commercial & Corporate, Commercial Property, and Dispute Resolution among others, and our Individual Services include Residential Property, Personal Injury, Clinical Negligence and Wills, Trusts & Estates. Equality and Diversity Our aim is always to treat everyone, both inside and outside the firm, with respect, consideration courtesy and a positive attitude. We aim to ensure that employment opportunities of whatever kind are only based on individual aptitude and personal ability. We do not discriminate against anyone, either directly or indirectly, on the grounds of colour ethnic or national origin, , orientation, marital status, pregnancy, disability, religion, age, part-time or fixed term status, race or on any other irrelevant or irrational basis.


Legal Services
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Matrimonial finance
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Transfers of equity
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Right to Manage
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Insurance brokers
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Wills
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Injunctions
  • Dental Negligence
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Children
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Stress at Work
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Separation
  • Against The Council
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Housing Management
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Housing disputes
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Gardening Leave
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Housing Associations
  • Part Time Workers
  • Repossessions
  • Redundancy
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Property Disputes
  • Trusts
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Pension Law
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Travel rights
  • Extending your Lease
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Pension and property advice
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Financial Matters
  • TUPE
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Remortgaging
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Consumer Rights
  • Financial advisors
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Barristers
  • Professional Discipline
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Lease Extensions
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Flexible Working
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Social Services
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Professional trustees
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Leasehold properties
  • Litigation Law
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Civil partnerships
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Trusts
  • Injunctions
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Child contact
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Separation Agreement
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Family Mediation
  • Buying at auction
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Child Law
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • Collaborative Law
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Senior Executives
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Valuers
  • Transfer of title
  • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • MRSA Claims
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Tax
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Medical Negligence
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Employment Contracts
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Media and Sports
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Probate
  • Family Leave
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Family law
  • IT professionals
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Development plot sales
  • Agency agreements
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Developer disputes
  • Credit Control
  • Data Protection
  • Environmental policy law
  • Setting up a business
  • Finance
  • Competition law
  • Franchising
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Management buyouts
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Share option schemes
  • Tax
  • Summary Judgment
  • Corporate Law
  • Purchase of development land
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Intellectual Property
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Employment - business
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Rights of way issues
  • Commercial Leases
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Asset Tracing
  • Mediation
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Statutory Demands
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Corporate finance
  • Commercial Law

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000