Hart Brown

01483 887766

Hart Brown is a leading law firm with offices throughout Surrey. Established in 1919, our continued success and ability to build long term relationships has been based upon our unique understanding of the law and our clients and our commitment to making the process as straightforward as possible, in the most professional way. It’s the combination of these factors that creates our USP and makes us different. Hart Brown is… UNDERSTANDING about our clients legal needs and the law. STRAIGHTFORWARD in the way we work and communicate. PROFESSIONAL in everything we do, to achieve results and uphold our reputation.

4.8/5 117 Customer Reviews 117
Recommended by
116 Verified Clients
like Nicola Jenkins and Rebecca
Accreditations
accreditation

How Hart Brown compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Hart Brown on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

117 Customer Reviews

4.8/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    108
  • Very Good
    5
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    4

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Rebecca
Verified Rebecca Added 1 month ago Report to admin
May 11, 2019 20190511205210

Family

5

Exemplary service from Julian Waldon, with not only legal guidance and support but emotional support during a difficult divorce process. Julian really understood my issues and sought to resolve them in the best possible way with his expert legal knowledge.

Solicitor being reviewed: Julian Peter Waldon

Was this review helpful? Yes

Nicola Jenkins
Verified Nicola Jenkins Added 1 month ago Report to admin
May 11, 2019 20190511205210

Residential Property/Conveyancing

5

Overall very satisfied with support provided, time required was clear and proved accurate, costs were clear and did not escalate. Many thanks.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Executors
Verified Executors Added 1 month ago Report to admin
May 11, 2019 20190511205209

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

The service was very helpful, clear and pleasant.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Douglas Macmillan
Verified Douglas Macmillan Added 2 months ago Report to admin
April 05, 2019 20190405150804

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

An excellent, prompt and efficient service provided by caring professionals.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Herbert Giorgio
Verified Herbert Giorgio Added 2 months ago Report to admin
April 05, 2019 20190405150803

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

We were both very impressed with the level of service given, would highly recommended to any family member and friend.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jennifer Croxton
Verified Jennifer Croxton Added 3 months ago Report to admin
March 08, 2019 20190308114156

Wills Trust and Probate

5

Claire did my last will when she was at previous firm.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Niki
Niki Added 4 months ago Report to admin
February 13, 2019 20190213171323

Excellent

5

This is the fourth time that I have used Hart Brown and the service they have always provided me with has always been excellent. I had a particularly tricky experience with a potential house purchase this time around and was expertly guided through, advised and re-assured throughout. They have a wealth of experience and ensured that I avoided many pitfalls and costly mistakes.
David Knapp and his team are incredible efficient, responsive and calm. They are particularly proactive in providing chasing other parties and making sure responses are received in a timely manner.

I wouldn't go anywhere else.


A representative from Hart Brown responded to this review on 14 February, 2019

Dear Niki, Thank you for such a wonderful review. David and the team will be delighted to see this and we really appreciate the time you have taken in writing it.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Simon
Verified Simon Added 9 months ago Report to admin
August 26, 2018 20180826211502

Conveyancing

5

Thank you for the perseverance and professionalism in seeing the sale through.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Nicholas
Verified Nicholas Added 11 months ago Report to admin
June 29, 2018 20180629211501

Probate work

5

Hart Brown acted wholly professionally and efficiently throughout what would otherwise have been a difficult process of dealing with my mother's estate - their advice was helpful and costs were very fair for the level of professional service received.

Was this review helpful? Yes

jane
Verified jane Added 12 months ago Report to admin
June 19, 2018 20180619211502

Efficient

5

Our solicitor took a very methodical approach that made the sale of our house a tick box exercise. The amount of initial forms are a bit overwhelming, however thorough. We were kept informed throughout the process and a common sense attitude prevailed.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Yolandi
Yolandi Added 1 month ago Report to admin
April 29, 2019
Collected on
20190429121319

Yolandi Prinsloo

5

Hartbrown Solictors in Godalming have been brilliant in aiding us to buy our first property. We were warned by many people that buying a house can be a very stressful experience and we braced ourselves for the worst. Debbie Beswick was fantastic throughout- she answered our questions (in most cases before we even asked them) patiently and quickly. Debbie seemed to be a step ahead of us all the way and her communication via email/ telephone/ post was always very clear. She was very easy to get hold of and always responded to requests/ emails/ phone calls within 24 hours if not within the hour. We were given clear guidance on our next steps in every instance and I am pleased to say that our sale went through smoothly and quickly and with no issues thanks to Debbie. It was very clear to us throughout our dealing with Debbie that she is professional, experienced and polite. And if anything more could be said we did truly feel that our sale had value and importance and that it mattered as much to her as it did to us. Thank you Debbie and Hartbrown solicitors, we can only recommend you highly until we have the opportunity to work with you again. Many thanks! Francis and Yolandi Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes

Kay
Kay Added 2 months ago Report to admin
April 09, 2019
Collected on
20190409134226

Kay Mead

5

I have just finished my third conveyancing transaction using Jackie Roberts of Hart Brown in Godalming. Every single one of the transactions was dealt with by her and went extremely smoothly which I believe is down to Jackie's expertise and professionalism. I would not hesitate to recommend her.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Hart Brown responded to this review on 09 April, 2019

Thank you so much for leaving such a great review for Jackie, we really appreciate it.

Allan
Allan Added 3 months ago Report to admin
February 26, 2019
Collected on
20190226185317

Allan Beswick

4

Tenacious certainly they don’t let go. I had a damages claim against a Hospital Trust which went on over three years. The advice and assistance given was practical, non -legalese and careful. I would have no hesitation to recommend this firm.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Christopher
Christopher Added 6 months ago Report to admin
December 11, 2018
Collected on
20181211134018

Christopher Nash

5

Used Hart Brown whilst buying my new house, and it was a great experience. Jackie was incredibly helpful from start to finish.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Hart Brown responded to this review on 11 December, 2018

Dear Christopher, thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. Jackie and the team at our Godalming office will be delighted to see this feedback.

Adam
Adam Added 2 years ago Report to admin
March 11, 2017
Collected on
20170311075322

Adam Wolley

5

Contrary to the below we couldnt have had a better experience with HB. We were dreading the use of a conveyancer but were so so lucky to find ourselves with Jackie. We had a long and difficult purchase through no fault of Jackie's and she was helpful, polite, thoughtful and energetic throughout, we particularly valued her drive to keep pushing the agents and lenders even without our chasing. We couldnt recommend HB enough, especially when they were significantly better value than any other local agents we checked, thank you Hart Brown.

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch


Practice Area

We offer a full range of legal services to businesses and individuals. With 17 partners, over 110 staff, 5 offices and a reputation for delivering high quality service Hart Brown is proud to have grown through recommendation and repeat business from loyal clients since it was established in 1919. All our lawyers are experts in their chosen field and fully up-to-date with the latest developments. Our teams work closely together to make sure that the service we deliver is fully integrated. Our Business Services include Commercial & Corporate, Commercial Property, and Dispute Resolution among others, and our Individual Services include Residential Property, Personal Injury, Clinical Negligence and Wills, Trusts & Estates. Equality and Diversity Our aim is always to treat everyone, both inside and outside the firm, with respect, consideration courtesy and a positive attitude. We aim to ensure that employment opportunities of whatever kind are only based on individual aptitude and personal ability. We do not discriminate against anyone, either directly or indirectly, on the grounds of colour ethnic or national origin, , orientation, marital status, pregnancy, disability, religion, age, part-time or fixed term status, race or on any other irrelevant or irrational basis.


Legal Services
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • MRSA Claims
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Civil partnerships
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Family Mediation
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Valuers
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Repossessions
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Pension Law
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Senior Executives
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Housing Management
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • IT professionals
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Family law
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Child Law
  • Buying at auction
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Litigation Law
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Social Services
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • TUPE
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Pension and property advice
  • Probate
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Medical Negligence
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Children
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Financial Matters
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Transfers of equity
  • Dental Negligence
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Travel rights
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Lease Extensions
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Injunctions
  • Gardening Leave
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Remortgaging
  • Trusts
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Property Disputes
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Employment Contracts
  • Right to Manage
  • Housing disputes
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Financial advisors
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Part Time Workers
  • Child contact
  • Housing Associations
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Stress at Work
  • Professional trustees
  • Separation Agreement
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Redundancy
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Leasehold properties
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Flexible Working
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Separation
  • Transfer of title
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Trusts
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Consumer Rights
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Collaborative Law
  • Media and Sports
  • Barristers
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Injunctions
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Extending your Lease
  • Insurance brokers
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Family Leave
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Professional Discipline
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Wills
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Tax
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Against The Council
  • Personal Injury Law
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Data Protection
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Intellectual Property
  • Credit Control
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Developer disputes
  • Development plot sales
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Franchising
  • Competition law
  • Statutory Demands
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Corporate Law
  • Agency agreements
  • Commercial Leases
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Setting up a business
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Management buyouts
  • Corporate finance
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Summary Judgment
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Finance
  • Share option schemes
  • Asset Tracing
  • Commercial Law
  • Purchase of development land
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Tax
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Mediation
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Environmental policy law
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Employment - business
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Rights of way issues

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000