Solicitor at Tozers LLP

Tozers LLP

James Orpin

Solicitor - Partner and Solicitor

SRA ID: 194955

Qualifying in 1999, James trained at, and worked for, a number of large regional law firms before joining Tozers to lead the Company and Commercial Team. James works closely with business clients of all sizes, and in all stages of the business lifecycle. His particular specialism and individual focus are on corporate transactions. James invests time in getting to know his clients and understanding their aspirations. This understanding is essential when dealing with intensive negotiations, and as a strong communicator James never loses sight that everyone is working towards a common goal. As well as advising companies and individuals who wish to sell or purchase a business or company, James and his team also advise on equity investments, reorganisations, shareholders’ agreements and commercial agreements. The team are ranked in the national Legal 500 listing with contributors describing Tozers’ Corporate and Commercial as “A strong team of individuals who work very well together”

Broadwalk House, Southernhay West, Exeter, Devon, EX1 1UA

Licensed for 21 years

Practice Areas

Company & Commercial

4.9/5 0 Client Reviews 0
  • Company & Commercial 100%
0 Client Reviews

4.9/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    14
  • Very Good
    2
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    0

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Gerald
Verified Gerald Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
Tozers LLP
Collected whilst working at Tozers LLP
January 09, 2021 20210109205207

Business / Commercial

5

This is the first time we have used Tozers. We were very happy with the service provided. Both James and Oli were very friendly and explained things fully. We will use them again and hope that all the staff are as competent as these two! Thank you.

Solicitor named in this review: James Orpin

A representative from Tozers LLP responded to this review on 12 January, 2021

Dear Gerald, thank you so much for your review. We are happy to hear you had such a wonderful experience with James and Ollie in our Company Commercial team and hope to work with you again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Martin
Verified Martin Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
Tozers LLP
Collected whilst working at Tozers LLP
January 05, 2021 20210105205228

Business / Commercial

5

Overall an excellent, friendly service. James and Oli understood our needs exactly and were very prompt in providing all documentation required and responding to phone and email requests. They realised the timescales and did all they could to make sure to the best of their ability that the timescales were met. I would definitely use the firm again.

Solicitor named in this review: James Orpin

A representative from Tozers LLP responded to this review on 07 January, 2021

Dear Martin, thank you for your review. We really appreciate your positive feedback and are pleased that you had such a positive experience with us. We look forward to working with you again.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gerald
Verified Gerald Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
Tozers LLP
Collected whilst working at Tozers LLP
December 31, 2020 20201231000000

Company & Commercial

5

Gerald recommends Tozers LLP

Solicitor named in this review: James Orpin

Was this review helpful? Yes

Tim
Verified Tim Added 3 months ago Report to admin
Tozers LLP
Collected whilst working at Tozers LLP
September 27, 2020 20200927205204

Business / Commercial

4

Trustworthy and professional solicitors at a reasonable cost. But what really stands out is the approachability of their staff and partners, their outstanding communication and their honest and straightforward approach.

Solicitor named in this review: James Orpin

A representative from Tozers LLP responded to this review on 06 October, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to post this review and for your positive feedback Tim. Our clients' views are important to us and help us constantly improve the way we do business. Thank you again, James Orpin

Was this review helpful? Yes

Rosalynd
Verified Rosalynd Added 6 months ago Report to admin
Tozers LLP
Collected whilst working at Tozers LLP
July 07, 2020 20200707010000

Company & Commercial

5

Rosalynd recommends Tozers LLP

Solicitor named in this review: James Orpin

Was this review helpful? Yes

Redferns
Verified Redferns Added 6 months ago Report to admin
Tozers LLP
Collected whilst working at Tozers LLP
July 04, 2020 20200704185921

Friendly and professional

5

James and Brendan were are pleasure to deal with both had a professional yet friendly approach. James has an excellent ability to explain complex legal terms to a basic level that I could understand.

I would thoroughly recommend and should the need arise I would not hesitate to use their services again.

Solicitor named in this review: James Orpin

A representative from Tozers LLP responded to this review on 06 July, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to post this review and for your positive feedback Redferns. Our clients' views are important to us and help us constantly improve the way we do business. Thank you again for your review, James Orpin

Was this review helpful? Yes

Thirsty Work Limited
Verified Thirsty Work Limited Added 6 months ago Report to admin
Tozers LLP
Collected whilst working at Tozers LLP
July 01, 2020 20200701010000

Company & Commercial

5

Thirsty Work Limited recommends Tozers LLP

Solicitor named in this review: James Orpin

Was this review helpful? Yes

Dan
Verified Dan Added 6 months ago Report to admin
Tozers LLP
Collected whilst working at Tozers LLP
June 29, 2020 20200629010000

Company & Commercial

5

Dan recommends Tozers LLP

Solicitor named in this review: James Orpin

Was this review helpful? Yes

Hender & Sons,Ltd
Verified Hender & Sons,Ltd Added 7 months ago Report to admin
Tozers LLP
Collected whilst working at Tozers LLP
June 25, 2020 20200625211846

Tozers

5

Practical and good at solving problems. We had been using London lawyers for most of the transactions and there was nothing which they couldn’t make more complicated in order to maximise fees. Tozers were a breath of fresh air and just got things sorted.

Solicitor named in this review: James Orpin

A representative from Tozers LLP responded to this review on 29 June, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to post this review and for your positive feedback. Our clients' views are important to us and help us constantly improve the way we do business. Thank you again for your review, James Orpin

Was this review helpful? Yes

Spreyer Brothers Leisure Limited
Verified Spreyer Brothers Leisure Limited Added 7 months ago Report to admin
Tozers LLP
Collected whilst working at Tozers LLP
June 23, 2020 20200623163107

Great services

5

We have used to Tozer a number of time and they have all ways been very clear and helpful,especially James Amy and Tracey
Thanks for you great service will always use again
Spreyer Brothers Leisure Ltd

Solicitor named in this review: James Orpin

A representative from Tozers LLP responded to this review on 24 June, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to post this review and for your positive feedback. Our clients' views are important to us and help us constantly improve the way we do business. Thank you again for your review, James Orpin

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Bob
Bob Added 2 years ago Report to admin
Tozers LLP
Collected whilst working at Tozers LLP
October 09, 2018
Collected on
20181009162720

Bob Harrison

5

We were recommended by our accountant and from the first call we felt in safe hands. The legal documents we needed for a company sale were complex but the team there handled them well. Questions were answered quickly and when we felt out of our depth understanding legal jargon we got straight talking, easy to understand explanations. I'd use the firm again and would recommend to anyone who values good advice and a professional service to give them a call and ask for either James or Amy.

Solicitor named in this review: James Orpin

A representative from Tozers LLP responded to this review on 10 October, 2018

Good morning Bob, Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a positive review. Our client's views are important to us and help us constantly improve the way we do business. Many thanks again for your review, James Orpin

Was this review helpful? Yes

About James Orpin

Qualifying in 1999, James trained at, and worked for, a number of large regional law firms before joining Tozers to lead the Company and Commercial Team. James works closely with business clients of all sizes, and in all stages of the business lifecycle. His particular specialism and individual focus are on corporate transactions. James invests time in getting to know his clients and understanding their aspirations. This understanding is essential when dealing with intensive negotiations, and as a strong communicator James never loses sight that everyone is working towards a common goal. As well as advising companies and individuals who wish to sell or purchase a business or company, James and his team also advise on equity investments, reorganisations, shareholders’ agreements and commercial agreements. The team are ranked in the national Legal 500 listing with contributors describing Tozers’ Corporate and Commercial as “A strong team of individuals who work very well together”

Languages Spoken: English

Contact James Orpin

Address

Tozers LLP

Broadwalk House

Southernhay West

Exeter

Devon



Phone 01392 201291

Website

Resume

LICENSE

Country

Status

Acquired

Updated

United Kingdom

Currently Registered

15/09/99

09/03/20

We found no instances of professional misconduct for this solicitor

WORK EXPERIENCE

Title

Name

Duration

SRA-approved manager - Member

Tozers

?-present