Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Clifton Ingram LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 93%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Clifton Ingram LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Clifton Ingram LLP. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 16%
Overpriced 25%
About Right 58%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 94%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Clifton Ingram LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Clifton Ingram LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 94%
No 6%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 94%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Clifton Ingram LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Clifton Ingram LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 94%
No 6%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Clifton Ingram LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.7/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    190
  • Very Good

    12
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    13

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Salim

Salim

November 03, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

STAY WELL CLEAR

I highly recommend avoiding Clifton Ingram, in particular Lesley Quinn.

I felt Lesley Quinn took complete advantage of the fact I was a first time buyer.

To give you some context, I only contacted her urgently on possibly 2-3 occasions over the span of 6 months. On the second occasion she told me ‘by contacting her like this, I am preventing her from doing her job’ ….can you imagine? I mean some buyers contact solicitors everyday. I couldn’t believe she spoke to me like that.

Also, just so you are aware, Lesley maybe by trade have a phone number, however just so you are aware…. over 6 months she never picked up once. It’s really an answering machine. When I would leave a message to request a call back, instead she would riggle out by emailing back. This was just one of many examples of doing the bare minimum.

Because of such a poor poor working relationship, Lesley cost me £1000’s and £1000 and £1000’s of money when I finally bought. Because there was no working relationship here AT ALL, I was never able to discuss ‘a need to go back and get a new rate’ to now secure a 2nd property after the first fell through. Bear in mind, I had over 3 months remaining on my current rate. Again, through lack of any communication over a phone I could have completed in ample time. Instead, Lesley never flagged once about a need to get completing sooner rather than later and then waited 3 weeks before my expiry when things were going through to tell me she was now ‘no longer confident of completing’. An absolute joke.

I then had to get a new rate and the rates had now DOUBLED. Livid wasn’t even the word I have to describe what I was feeling at the time.

Lesley would on many occasions flood my email with 15-16 attached documents and not even give me an incite on email what on earth she was sending me. ‘Please see correspondence attached’ was enough for her. Bear in mind there was very importance documentation there that required sending back urgently. Impossible to know what on earth I was dealing with.

In truth, I could go on and on about Lesley with other negligence. But I’m hoping no one else have to go through what I went through with my partner.

This review was written on an alias for obvious reasons. Please stay well clear, even if it means spending a little extra somewhere else.

Was this review helpful?

Peter

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Peter

October 17, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Marvellous service

From Lesley & Peter
Jo Reader dealt with our anticipated property sale, and the issues after our potential buyers withdrew.
She was always glad to help and nothing was too much trouble.
Jo always kept us up to date with issues that arose, never left us wondering what was going on, and dealt with them very smoothly and efficiently.
Jo is a great communicator, always came back with answers to questions very quickly, and was always good at meeting deadlines. She was excellent in chasing up queries and willing to go the extra mile.
Jo was always friendly and cheerful, and made you feel a valued client, as has been the case on the numerous occasions we have worked with her before.
We thank Jo very much for dealing with our case so professionally, and looking after us so well.
We highly recommend Jo and Clifton Ingram.

Was this review helpful?

Michael

Matter Type:

New home purchases and sales

Michael

September 20, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent

We’ve dealt with Jo Reader from Clifton Ingram on two separate occasions now. Fast, efficient and pleasant are words that best describe both experiences. Jo was very friendly and went out of her way to help us get things done. I would highly recommend Jo and the Clifton Ingram team.

Was this review helpful?

Ruth

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Ruth

September 08, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Amazing Jo Reader

Thank you Jo for a thoroughly professional and human interaction to sell and buy my properties. Efficient and speedy responses made the process stress free and very straightforward. Highly recommended

Was this review helpful?

Wendy

Matter Type:

Probate

Wendy

August 23, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Catalogue of errors and complete disdain for clients

It took Clifton Ingram 15 months to secure Probate, when they estimated 3 months. It was not a complex case, the delays were all due to poor management. Emails not answered for months and huge number of phone calls not returned. They also had the deceased name wrong on multiple items of correspondence despite the fact they drew up our wills (very poor and distressing).
Treated with complete disdain. They have acknowledged in writing their management resulted in lengthy delays and apologised for some errors but would still like me to pay the majority of the bill, despite the fact policies were paid out a year later that they could have been if they managed effectively.

Was this review helpful?

Hans

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Hans

July 24, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Legal work re property being auctioned

I instructed First For Auctions to sell my flat. This is a very successful company which operates on very tight and demanding deadlines and requires an extensive amount of paper work to provide prospective bidders with a legal pack relating to the property being auctioned.

Because of the slow pace at which my family solicitor worked, I asked First For Auctions if they could recommend a solicitor. Jo Reader of Clifton Ingram was highly recommended as they had worked extensively with her and had absolute confidence in her professional ability to handle the related legal and extensive paper work within tight time frames.

I contacted Jo Reader, via email, and asked if she would be prepared to handle the legal work. As an added complication I informed her that the auction would be at the end of the month which immediately created an incredibly tight deadline. Jo response was immediate and positive.

Jo’s work included the preparation of a seller’s legal pack, and involved liaising with the auction company and completing their paper work. Additionally, Jo had to liaise with the property’s service management company (to obtain historical data relating to costs and services provided and undertaken etc) and the company responsible for collecting the ground rent (for historical data re ground rent). Jo also proof read, and commented, where appropriate, on the many forms I had to complete as the property owner. The legal fees represented unequalled value for money. There were no hidden fees and absolutely no small print. Every detail of the legal process and their related fees, was explained in detail with absolute clarity before I instructed her to undertake the work. The final, itemised, invoice, was as expected.

I regularly communicated with Jo, on many occasions several times a day, during which she responded asap often within minutes. Her messages were always precise, with clarity, courteous and professional. At all times, I felt Jo was very happy to receive my messages. Jo made me feel highly valued and respected. Indeed, the attention I received often made me feel as though I was her only client. I felt she was absolutely committed to representing me.

As a result of Jo’s incredible professionalism, I now no longer use my long time family solicitor but direct all my legal work through Clifton Ingram.
Legal aspects in life have always caused me a degree of anxiety and worry just because they deal with legal issues, including fees and the legal process, in the mine field of related paper work. That feeling has now been dispelled thanks to Jo. She has given me total confidence in facing future legal issues and that really is one massive worry off my mind. Jo, you are a credit to your company and I am truly grateful to you. You worked incredibly hard under pressure and you made me feel valued. The sale of my property was a complete, stress free success.

Was this review helpful?

Anne

Matter Type:

Wills

Anne

June 30, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Probate and will

I cannot fault this company
The help and advice received from Stephanie and Sarah has been excellent
Kept informed all the time.
Should a solicitor be needed again then I will most definitely use this company again.

Was this review helpful?

Alex

Matter Type:

Probate

Alex

June 23, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Appalling Service!

After 3 years of delays, errors and appalling communication, we're now wondering whether this firm do unprofessional, shoddy work on purpose in order to charge extra for dealing with the complaints and corrections! We don't even dare complain any more, as it costs us nearly £300 per hour for the responses, which take the best part of a month to arrive, but get charged for all the same!

Was this review helpful?

Alex

Alex

June 23, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Appalling Service!

I only gave 1 star because it's impossible to give 0! We are now being charged hundreds of pounds for the time the firm has spent replying to our emails complaining about their appalling delays, lack of accounts and basic errors! If they had just done their job properly and in a timely fashion, we wouldn't have had to chase or complain in the first place! They appear to charge £295 per hour to reply to emails and phone calls complaining that they haven't done their job properly! Avoid this firm like the plague!

Was this review helpful?

Eric

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Eric

February 08, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Conveyance services

The team at Clifford Ingram did an amazing job as we had a particularly difficult buyer and associated solicitor. Lots of hurdles and work to get things completed but brilliant job I have to say thanks to Joanne and all the rest of the department who assisted me

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

William

William

February 20, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

William

I unreservedly recommend Joanne Reader of Clifton Ingram Solicitors, Wokingham, to anyone seeking an expert in Residential Conveyancing.

Jo was always immediately available to discuss any developments in the sale of my deceased brother’s property and more recently, the sale of our own property and purchase of another.
Despite matters in both the sale and purchase chains, becoming quite stressful; with one purchaser pulling out and then wanting back in, delays in lodging funds at the bottom of the chain, contravention of planning rules at one property and unbelievably, outdated Land Registry documentation; J0's calm, considered reassurance supported my wife and me throughout. We were particularly grateful for her painstaking attention to detail and keeping us up to date each step of the way, dispensing honest advice whenever we raised concerns.

If anyone is looking for a knowledgeable and extremely capable Conveyancing Executive at a reasonable price, look no further than Joanne Reader, we found her exceptional.

Bill & Hazel John

Was this review helpful?

Diane

Diane

February 18, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Diane

I chose Clifton Ingram Wokingham to handle the conveyancing of my late mother's property. Prior to that, Clifton Ingram had been very helpful offering advice in regard to my mother's Financial EPA.
I dealt with Lesley Quinn (Senior Conveyancer) who provided the most excellent service turning everything around by return of post and kept me informed. Everyone I spoke to at Clifton Ingram were knowledgeable, helpful & courteous.
I cannot fault Clifton Ingram and wouldn't hesitate to use the firm again.

Was this review helpful?

Dave

Dave

February 15, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Dave

Very disappointing.

Was this review helpful?

Kate

Kate

February 15, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Kate

Lesley Quinn once again handled our mortgage needs efficiently and professionally. Lesley has worked with us before and we sought her out again for our remortgage from abroad. She made the process clear and simple for us and dealt with our expat non-main stream bank brilliantly. We won’t use anyone else!

Was this review helpful?

Mike

Mike

February 08, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Mike

We worked with Elaine Bradshaw and Megan English on the sale of our house in Wokingham and the purchase of a property in the Northwest. We found them to be professional, efficient and very supportive. The sale was straightforward but there were some complications with the purchase. Elaine helped us to understand the issues and guided us through them with very clear explanations and advice. She always made herself available for meetings and phone calls, of which there were quite a few! Megan's administration and follow-up was also excellent. We would not hesitate to recommend the Clifton Ingram conveyancing team.

Was this review helpful?

Clifton Ingram LLP are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

We asked our clients what they wanted from a law firm; and they said they want clear and pragmatic legal advice, tailored to their needs, which will help them achieve their objectives – so that is what we deliver. Highly ranked in Legal 500, Clifton Ingram is a full-service law firm serving business and individual clients in the M3 corridor, including Thames Valley, Surrey, Hampshire and surrounding areas, from our offices in Wokingham, Reading and Farnham. With approximately 100 Partners and staff, whatever your legal need we have specialists who can provide you with prompt, practical advice, tailored to your specific requirements.

Practice areas

We offer advice on all areas of law including: Corporate & Commercial Commercial Property Corporate Recovery and Insolvency Dispute Resolution Divorce & Family Employment Intellectual Property Personal Insolvency Residential Property Wills & Inheritance Wills, Trusts & Estate Disputes

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Clinical Negligence
    • Accident and Emergency Claims
    • Amputation Negligence Claims
    • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
    • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
    • Birth Injury Claims
    • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
    • Blood Transfusion Claims
    • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
    • C. Difficile Claims
    • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
    • Cerebral Palsy Claims
    • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Clinical Negligence
    • Cochlear Implant Claims
    • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
    • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
    • Defective Medical Device Claims
    • Dental Negligence
    • Dental Negligence Claims
    • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
    • Diabetes Claims
    • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
    • Eye Surgery Claims
    • Failed Sterilisation Claims
    • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
    • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
    • Fertility Negligence Claims
    • GP Negligence Claims
    • Group B Streptococcus Claims
    • Hospital Negligence Claims
    • Knee Replacement Claims
    • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
    • Laser Treatment Claims
    • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • MRSA Claims
    • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Medical Negligence
    • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
    • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
    • Nerve Damage Claims
    • Nerve Injury Claims
    • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
    • Oral Cancer Claims
    • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
    • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Periodontal Disease Claims
    • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
    • Pressure Sore Claims
    • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Restorative Dentistry Claims
    • Sepsis Negligence Claims
    • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
    • Spinal Surgery Claims
    • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
    • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Surgery Compensation Claims
    • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
    • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Travel rights
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Personal Injury
    • Against The Council
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Professional Negligence
    • Barristers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional trustees
    • Valuers
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
    • Veterinary negligence
  • Charities
    • Charities
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Data Protection
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
    • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
    • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
    • Copyright
    • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
    • Design rights and product designs
    • Domain Names
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
    • Patents
    • Personality and Image Rights
    • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety
Book an appointment