Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Tilly Bailey & Irvine LLP Compares

Value for money

!

Limited data.

This firm - 89%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Tilly Bailey & Irvine LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 0%
About Right 100%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 88%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Tilly Bailey & Irvine LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Tilly Bailey & Irvine LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 88%
No 12%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 89%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Tilly Bailey & Irvine LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Tilly Bailey & Irvine LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 89%
No 11%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Tilly Bailey & Irvine LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.5/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    244
  • Very Good

    15
  • Average

    5
  • Poor

    1
  • Awful

    28

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
mohammad

mohammad

May 17, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Michelle and Julie been both great in dealing with my purchase.

I would totally recommend their conveyancing services. Michelle and Julie been both great in dealing with my purchase. They were very responsive in any updates that I needed to be aware of. They made what was an upsetting time stress free. I cannot recommend them highly enough. I will definitely use them again in the future.
Thank you for everything.


Was this review helpful?

Michael

Michael

April 29, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Brilliant, excellent

My experience with Tilly, Bailey & Irvine could not be faulted, they were excellent. I was an older,
first-time buyer, purchasing a 'Buy to Let' property - so I had many things that could go wrong - and loads of words and phrases that I had never heard of before, let alone understand.
That nothing did go amiss sums up Tilly, Bailey & Irvine - or at least Michelle Collins and the Hartlepool team. Mike Davies

Was this review helpful?

Victoria

Matter Type:

Child contact

Victoria

March 10, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Best family solicitors about

I’ve used this company twice now, and I can’t thank them enough for how much they done for me and winning my cases on both occasions.
They are extremely amazing and without them I wouldn’t be able to live my life freely from a horrible domestic violence relationship.

Was this review helpful?

Ruth

Ruth

November 15, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Phones not answered, messages not responded to

Obtained a quote for conveyancing from Tilly Bailey Irvine. Price seemed fine, and decided to instruct them but had a couple of questions. I phoned them several times on different days using all the numbers I could find for them. Not one call was answered. After getting through to an automated voicemail I twice left details and asked for a callback, still no response. Doesn't give a good impression! Needless to say I won't be instructing them.

Was this review helpful?

Rob

Rob

February 01, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent Service

I have used Tilly Bailey & Irvine a number of times of the years and each and every time the staff are polite and really experts in their field.

I would highly recommend Tilly Bailey and Irvine Solicitors in Hartlepool.

Was this review helpful?

Nael

Nael

May 18, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Useless and waste of time

Ongoing experience with this firm in selling a house - it should have been a straight forward sale however, the staff of this firm managed to make it difficult and a frustrating process; the lack of responsiveness; they won't give you feedback until you poke them (and do their job!) and don't review the documents and agreements they have in place! It honestly seems like a bot seated to send emails, .. actually, a bot would be more useful! - i'd avoid dealing with this firm. Tried to complaint but the firm complaint email is not responding, what a surprise!

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Tilly Bailey & Irvine LLP.

Anonymous

April 22, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Post nuptial

Fantastic company, excellent service from Wendy and all the staff that helped, great communication, highly recommend

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Tilly Bailey & Irvine LLP.

Matter Type:

Separation Agreement

Anonymous

April 02, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Separation Agreement

I received very sensible advice tailored to my circumstances. Things were explained to me very clearly, helping me to understand the legal processes around separation and make informed choices about how to proceed.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Tilly Bailey & Irvine LLP.

Matter Type:

Divorce

Anonymous

March 31, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Divorce S.McAulay

Excellent service provided by Stephanie McAulay she was always willing to help and kept me up to speed with everything that was going on and any questions i had she always had the answers and a very quick response

cant thank you enough
Regards Neil

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Tilly Bailey & Irvine LLP.

Anonymous

March 23, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Divorce

Happy at last. Big thank you to Shamin Ali and her team. Very professional and easily contactable. Very happy with your service.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Nd

Nd

April 27, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

A client

Great company, will be using them again shortly for my next purchase : )

Was this review helpful?

Andrew

Andrew

April 07, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Andrew

Professional solicitors with multiple offices in Europe

Was this review helpful?

Battamir

Battamir

April 05, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Battamir

I would totally recommend their conveyancing services. Megan Raw and Jasmine Eyre been both great in dealing with my purchase. They were very responsive in any updates that I needed to be aware of. Thank you for everything.

Was this review helpful?

Rachael

Rachael

March 09, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Rachael

Wow! Wow! Wow! What can a say.
At first everything seemed ok.
Things then become complicated with things not being explained fully which then become confusing and things got misunderstood.
Things being marked down that my daughter is at risk with my ex partner when she isn’t, which caused my ex to start a disagreement; which lead me to changing my number due to him accusing me of saying this!! I had to get my new solicitor to email his solicitor the proof a didn’t say this!!

I had to find a new solicitor to pick up the pieces from the mess this company had put me in!!
A wish a did research on this company before I even contacted them!

Please stay away from this company and find someone who knows what their doing!!
A wish a could give it zero star! But only got one star, for their receptionist; always so polite and so friendly- how ever the solicitor side is the worst I’ve experienced!!

Was this review helpful?

Dean

Dean

February 25, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Dean

The process of selling my house went smoothly and completed on the date we agreed. A big thank you to Charles who answered every query I asked and was very professional.

Was this review helpful?

Tilly Bailey & Irvine LLP are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Tilly Bailey & Irvine Solicitors is the largest law firm in Tees Valley, with offices across the North East. We have Solicitors in Hartlepool, Wynyard, Barnard Castle, Middlesbrough and Stockton. We serve clients in Durham, Teesside, Tees Valley, Newcastle, Yorkshire and more; nationally and internationally. Whatever advice you seek, whether it be for a house move, family matter, injury or negligence claim, will preparation, or advice on a business matter we are here to help. We're a very friendly firm, we certainly know our stuff, we get the job done and most importantly we put you, our client first. Get Strength On Your Side.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Actions against the police
    • Actions against the police
    • Excessive force or assault
    • Police negligence
    • Wrongful arrest or false imprisonment
  • Clinical Negligence
    • Accident and Emergency Claims
    • Amputation Negligence Claims
    • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
    • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
    • Birth Injury Claims
    • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
    • Blood Transfusion Claims
    • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
    • C. Difficile Claims
    • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
    • Cerebral Palsy Claims
    • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Clinical Negligence
    • Cochlear Implant Claims
    • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
    • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
    • Defective Medical Device Claims
    • Dental Negligence
    • Dental Negligence Claims
    • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
    • Diabetes Claims
    • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
    • Eye Surgery Claims
    • Failed Sterilisation Claims
    • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
    • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
    • Fertility Negligence Claims
    • GP Negligence Claims
    • Group B Streptococcus Claims
    • Hospital Negligence Claims
    • Knee Replacement Claims
    • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
    • Laser Treatment Claims
    • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • MRSA Claims
    • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Medical Negligence
    • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
    • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
    • Nerve Damage Claims
    • Nerve Injury Claims
    • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
    • Oral Cancer Claims
    • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
    • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Periodontal Disease Claims
    • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
    • Pressure Sore Claims
    • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Restorative Dentistry Claims
    • Sepsis Negligence Claims
    • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
    • Spinal Surgery Claims
    • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
    • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Surgery Compensation Claims
    • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
    • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Libel and Defamation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Malicious falsehood
    • Pre-publication advice
    • Travel rights
  • Crime/ Criminal Defence
    • Assault
    • Business Crime
    • Criminal Damage
    • Criminal defence - All
    • Drugs offences
    • Fraud
    • Murder and Manslaughter
    • Professional Conduct
    • Regulatory Defence
    • Theft
  • Driving offences
    • Appeal driving conviction
    • Careless driving
    • Convicted in absence
    • Dangerous driving
    • Dangerous vehicle conditions
    • Death By Careless Driving
    • Death by dangerous driving
    • Discretionary disqualification
    • Disqualification removal
    • Drink driving
    • Driving Whilst Unfit
    • Driving Without Due Care
    • Driving whilst disqualified
    • Driving without a licence
    • Driving without insurance
    • Drug driving
    • Drunk in charge
    • Exceptional Hardship
    • Failing to notify DVLA
    • Failure to furnish identification
    • Failure to provide a blood sample
    • Failure to provide a specimen
    • Goods vehicles - tachograph offences
    • Mobile phone offences
    • New Driver Provisions
    • Notice of intended prosecution
    • Recognition of disqualification
    • Restoration of licence
    • Road rage incidents
    • Serious injury by dangerous driving
    • Signs and signal offences
    • Special Reasons
    • Speeding offences
    • Stopping and reporting
    • Taxi offences
    • Taxi offences - illegally plying for hire
    • Taxi offences - licensing investigations
    • Taxi offences - points and disqualification
    • Totting Up Driving Ban
  • Education
    • Education
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Second charges
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Personal Injury
    • Against The Council
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Professional Negligence
    • Accountants
    • Architects
    • Barristers
    • Engineers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional Negligence
    • Professional Negligence law
    • Professional trustees
    • Surveyors
    • Tax consultants
    • Valuers
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
    • Veterinary negligence
  • Charities
    • Charities
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Slander
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Computer and IT Law
    • Copyright
    • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
    • Design rights and product designs
    • GDPR
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
    • Patents
    • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety
    • Licensing
Book an appointment