Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Tilly Bailey & Irvine LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 86%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Tilly Bailey & Irvine LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Tilly Bailey & Irvine LLP. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 22%
About Right 77%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 87%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Tilly Bailey & Irvine LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Tilly Bailey & Irvine LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 87%
No 13%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 87%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Tilly Bailey & Irvine LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Tilly Bailey & Irvine LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 87%
No 13%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Tilly Bailey & Irvine LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.4/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    534
  • Very Good

    34
  • Average

    10
  • Poor

    8
  • Awful

    77

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Grace

Grace

August 08, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

House purchase

I found the experience really good. I was really helped with Jessica and Rachael's support, they were always contactable to answer any queries or questions I had. I found them to be lovely people who made the stressful experience of buying a house so much more less stressful. Thank you so much. I would not hesitate to recommend them.

Was this review helpful?

Lee

Lee

July 18, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent Service

Both Michelle and Julie at Tilly were very friendly and helpful. They certainly eased (what can be) a very stressful situation in buying a property. Always spoke to me and was friendly and 'down to earth' when I called the offices - which for me - was very important. Recommended.

Was this review helpful?

Dean

Dean

February 01, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Defence of Fundamental Dishonesty allegation

I was let down by a previous solicitor recommended to me by my insurance company after a road traffic collision. Through negligence on various parties behalf I was accused of Fundamental Dishonesty and threatened with court action from an insurance company. Kay from the Hartlepool office looked at my case and appointed a barrister to represent us in court. We won our case and the accusations dropped. Kay also retrieved any costs owed to us from the other insurance company. I cannot thank Kay and TBI enough for the help and support I was given during this very stressful time.

Was this review helpful?

Nordic

Nordic

January 16, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Spoke with Joannw today. Very helpful, friendly and so professional

Joanne was so helpful today. I would recommend this firm

Was this review helpful?

peter

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

peter

January 06, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

APPALLING CUSTOMER SERVICE

Impossible to speak with the person who is supposed to be dealing with our property purchase. Phone not answered, calls not returned and emails ignored. Tried escalating complaint and spoke to Conveyancing Manager who I thought was going to call back. Call not returned, email ignored and message left on voicemail also ignored.

Was this review helpful?

Amy

Matter Type:

Child Arrangements Following Divorce

Amy

December 28, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Dumped on a paralegal

DO NOT USE!!! Do not allow harbour to refer you into these! Refused to take instructions and ghosted me. Horrific experience

Was this review helpful?

Survivor

Matter Type:

Divorce

Survivor

December 20, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Divorce & finances - poor communication

I learnt a lot by leaving this firm and going to a recommended solicitor and finding out how a solicitor is meant to work. TBI Hartlepool, who I contacted via a domestic abuse charity, where they have a plaque of support, did no end of damage to my confidence and bills. They wanted everything in paper, so if it was sent electronically, they reverted to paper. When I changed firms, the new firm was aghast at receiving everything in paper format (especially if I sent it electronically in the first place). I paid again for it to be reverted back to e-format.

Lack of sympathy, empathy, no pushing through on what was a protracted abusive case. Lack of clarity on charges and rights, especially someone struggling with trauma. I thought this was normal until I had a different experience, and realised my time with TBI only reinforced my gaslighting experience.

However, I did have the opportunity to pay monthly. Also, a different office has been recommended and due to a lack of legal aid firms, I am going to try a different office for children’s matters: it might just be the solicitor I dealt with.

Was this review helpful?

Dustin

Dustin

December 14, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

The Worst Solicitors I've ever used - AVOID

The Worst Solicitors we've ever used. The worst communication I've experienced. We've been chasing every week for months and around 6 months later, I still have no idea what's going on.

We've used 5+ different solicitors over the past couple of years and Tilly Bailey & Irvine has been the worst experience .. by a considerable margin. You're better off going with any other company

Was this review helpful?

Samreen

Samreen

October 19, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Absolutely useless

I am in the middle of purchasing a property with my mother. Tamara and her team have not been helpful at all they do not communicate with us. I am the one contacting them. Instead of making our lives easier they are adding more stress on my head. AVOID AT COST

Was this review helpful?

Martin

Martin

August 23, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Support with updating my Will

The experience was really smooth, straightforward and very professional. I felt very supported in the process and was able to ask questions to help me understand the details. It was a really efficient and positive experience. I no longer live in the UK but this presented no problem in terms of preparing the updated Will, sending the copies for me to sign and processing the documents. I was super impressed. Thank you

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

V

V

September 18, 2018

Report to admin

Collected on:

A client

I've used Tilly Bailey & Irvine solicitors a number of times now and always find them helpful and attentive. Clear up front pricing means you always know what your bill will be.

Was this review helpful?

Athena

Athena

April 10, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Athena

Had a really great experience with these solicitors, especially Chloe Donkin whom looked after our house sale and ensured everything transitioned smoothly with great communication skills.

Thank you Chloe

Was this review helpful?

Callum

Callum

April 02, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Callum

Michelle and Julie were brilliant at every step of mine and my girlfriends house purchase (first time buyers) explaining everything in good detail and calming us down when a spanner was thrown into the works from the sellers side.
Thank you again and would thoroughly recommend them to anyone needing conveyancing services.

Was this review helpful?

Hilary

Hilary

March 27, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Hilary

Very inefficient - practice lost initial paperwork, failed to keep me informed of progress. Conveyancer failed to pick up a clause in my parents’ wills that was brought to my attention by the buyer’s solicitor, causing extra paperwork at very short notice and with too little time to meet the already unrealistic completion date.

Some of the forms had ridiculous questions - ‘who is your estate agent?’ TBI LLP is an-house law practice for William H Brown! Some unintelligible - ‘have any agreements been made with the buyer? Such as???

Conveyancer seemed to want documents back from me like yesterday, offered a phone call when I was stressed and failed to respond when I emailed to ask what time would be convenient. To be fair to her she did apologise for this but please don’t over promise and under deliver.

No visible progress for ages. When I pressed I was told I had to be patient for the buyer’s solicitor to set completion date.

Then out of the blue a completion date set which was completely unrealistic and was postponed by buyer even though he had set it for earlier than I thought viable. Cheeky and inaccurate reply when I raised this.

Document attachments buried under three long corporate statements following each email basically saying ‘Don’t bother us. We’re too busy to talk to clients’.

Conveyancer’s written English very poor in terms of punctuation and clear explanation of some of the special requirements. This needs addressing!

Was this review helpful?

Laura

Laura

March 27, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Laura

Very disappointed with the service we received. Communication was very difficult and the process was unnecessarily prolonged. This caused difficulties in the conveyancing process and made the situation mentally exhausting. I would not use this firm again.

Was this review helpful?

Tilly Bailey & Irvine LLP are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Tilly Bailey & Irvine Solicitors is the largest law firm in Tees Valley, with offices across the North East. We have Solicitors in Hartlepool, Wynyard, Barnard Castle, Middlesbrough and Stockton. We serve clients in Durham, Teesside, Tees Valley, Newcastle, Yorkshire and more; nationally and internationally. Whatever advice you seek, whether it be for a house move, family matter, injury or negligence claim, will preparation, or advice on a business matter we are here to help. We're a very friendly firm, we certainly know our stuff, we get the job done and most importantly we put you, our client first. Get Strength On Your Side.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Actions against the police
    • Actions against the police
    • Excessive force or assault
    • Police negligence
    • Wrongful arrest or false imprisonment
  • Clinical Negligence
    • Accident and Emergency Claims
    • Amputation Negligence Claims
    • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
    • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
    • Birth Injury Claims
    • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
    • Blood Transfusion Claims
    • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
    • C. Difficile Claims
    • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
    • Cerebral Palsy Claims
    • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Clinical Negligence
    • Cochlear Implant Claims
    • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
    • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
    • Defective Medical Device Claims
    • Dental Negligence
    • Dental Negligence Claims
    • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
    • Diabetes Claims
    • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
    • Eye Surgery Claims
    • Failed Sterilisation Claims
    • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
    • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
    • Fertility Negligence Claims
    • GP Negligence Claims
    • Group B Streptococcus Claims
    • Hospital Negligence Claims
    • Knee Replacement Claims
    • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
    • Laser Treatment Claims
    • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • MRSA Claims
    • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Medical Negligence
    • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
    • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
    • Nerve Damage Claims
    • Nerve Injury Claims
    • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
    • Oral Cancer Claims
    • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
    • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Periodontal Disease Claims
    • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
    • Pressure Sore Claims
    • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Restorative Dentistry Claims
    • Sepsis Negligence Claims
    • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
    • Spinal Surgery Claims
    • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
    • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Surgery Compensation Claims
    • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
    • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Libel and Defamation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Malicious falsehood
    • Pre-publication advice
    • Travel rights
  • Crime/ Criminal Defence
    • Assault
    • Business Crime
    • Criminal Damage
    • Criminal defence - All
    • Drugs offences
    • Fraud
    • Murder and Manslaughter
    • Professional Conduct
    • Regulatory Defence
    • Theft
  • Driving offences
    • Appeal driving conviction
    • Careless driving
    • Convicted in absence
    • Dangerous driving
    • Dangerous vehicle conditions
    • Death By Careless Driving
    • Death by dangerous driving
    • Discretionary disqualification
    • Disqualification removal
    • Drink driving
    • Driving Whilst Unfit
    • Driving Without Due Care
    • Driving whilst disqualified
    • Driving without a licence
    • Driving without insurance
    • Drug driving
    • Drunk in charge
    • Exceptional Hardship
    • Failing to notify DVLA
    • Failure to furnish identification
    • Failure to provide a blood sample
    • Failure to provide a specimen
    • Goods vehicles - tachograph offences
    • Mobile phone offences
    • New Driver Provisions
    • Notice of intended prosecution
    • Recognition of disqualification
    • Restoration of licence
    • Road rage incidents
    • Serious injury by dangerous driving
    • Signs and signal offences
    • Special Reasons
    • Speeding offences
    • Stopping and reporting
    • Taxi offences
    • Taxi offences - illegally plying for hire
    • Taxi offences - licensing investigations
    • Taxi offences - points and disqualification
    • Totting Up Driving Ban
  • Education
    • Education
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Second charges
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Personal Injury
    • Against The Council
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Professional Negligence
    • Accountants
    • Architects
    • Barristers
    • Engineers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional Negligence
    • Professional Negligence law
    • Professional trustees
    • Surveyors
    • Tax consultants
    • Valuers
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
    • Veterinary negligence
  • Charities
    • Charities
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Slander
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Computer and IT Law
    • Copyright
    • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
    • Design rights and product designs
    • GDPR
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
    • Patents
    • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety
    • Licensing
Book an appointment