Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Brockbank Curwen Cain & Hall Limited Compares

Value for money

!

Limited data.

This firm - 91%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Brockbank Curwen Cain & Hall Limited on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Brockbank Curwen Cain & Hall Limited. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 33%
About Right 66%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 90%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Brockbank Curwen Cain & Hall Limited and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Brockbank Curwen Cain & Hall Limited performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 90%
No 10%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 91%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Brockbank Curwen Cain & Hall Limited and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Brockbank Curwen Cain & Hall Limited compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 91%
No 9%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Brockbank Curwen Cain & Hall Limited offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.6/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    68
  • Very Good

    3
  • Average

    2
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    7

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Tim

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Brockbank Curwen Cain & Hall Limited.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Tim

July 25, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Sale of Mum's property

I was acting on behalf of my mother who was selling her bungalow and going in to a nursing home. So, a difficult time. But we were so pleased with the way they handled the whole process. I work in a related property industry so know what it is like to manage client's expectations. Diana & Rachel did that superbly and in a timely manner - I have been very pleased and satisfied with everything from start to finish.

Was this review helpful?

Peter

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Brockbank Curwen Cain & Hall Limited.

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Peter

March 15, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Exceptional Conveyancing Solicitors

I employed Debbie Chambers of Brockbank's Solicitors to act on my behalf in sale of my late brothers house. The whole conveyancing process was explained in such a way that it was easy to understand. There were a number of issues to resolve during the sale process, but Debbie and her team always dealt with the issues in a calm and professional way. It was an absolute pleasure doing business with you and you helped me get through a very difficult time. The conveyancing fees were very reasonable. Thank you.

Was this review helpful?

Alison

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Brockbank Curwen Cain & Hall Limited.

Alison

January 12, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great service, Debbie was outstanding

Debbie was fantastic, took a few weeks. Was informed every step of the way. Helped with all the forms. Would recommend and use again.

Was this review helpful?

Tony

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Brockbank Curwen Cain & Hall Limited.

Tony

December 30, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Pain free

Clear and precise from day one and an excellent professional service provided by Diana.

Was this review helpful?

Barbara

Barbara

March 14, 2018

Report to admin

Collected on:

Review left for Brockbanks

Angela Haughin very helpful through the whole process nearly 3 years.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Anonymous

January 25, 2018

Report to admin

Collected on:

Review left for Brockbanks

Hayley Heron- very good and professional made you feel at ease when making our will. Thank you. All staff were very good.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Anonymous

January 19, 2018

Report to admin

Collected on:

Review left for Brockbanks

Everyone was most helpful in all our dealings in both Workington and Cockermouth offices, in what was an epic journey through sale and one or two supposed purchases along the way.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Anonymous

January 17, 2018

Report to admin

Collected on:

Review left for Brockbanks

Ceri Bevan- available, organised, confident and good communicator.

Was this review helpful?

Richard

Richard

January 15, 2018

Report to admin

Collected on:

Review left for Brockbanks

None- Please keep up the good work.

Was this review helpful?

Sharon

Sharon

September 27, 2017

Report to admin

Collected on:

Review left for Brockbanks

Sarah Fitzsimons and her secretary- receptionist is very friendly

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Phil

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Phil

May 16, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Phil

I have been so impressed with the service, speed and efficiency of my solicitor, Diana Smalley, who has gone above and beyond to get my house sale and purchase through as quickly as possible.

Was this review helpful?

John

Matter Type:

Lasting power of attorney

John

July 25, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

John

I can highly recommend Oglethorpe & Broache of Keswick especially on this occasion soliciter Lisa, who did a home visit to my elderly parents to discuss and simplify The Power of Attourney.
Achieving this has taken a weight off our Minds thankyou very much for your support & guidance
Regards
John Tinnion

Was this review helpful?

Christine

Christine

May 13, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Christine

Almost two months ago I asked this company to perform a very simple task for me. They hold the deeds for some land which I own and I needed them to check a detail. It seems that this simple task was far too difficult for this company to perform as despite numerous one-sided conversations with the company's answering machine and very rare conversations with staff (including management) no-one has thus far checked the deeds. I'm wondering if they are lost or have been handed to someone to whom they should not have been given.
I have now resorted to telephoning the company every day, requesting an answer or update to my initial query but no-one able to give me answers is ever available to speak to me and the promised return calls never materialise.
I would advise anyone to think very carefully before using this company. Perhaps I am being very daring at saying such things about a firm of solicitors due to thoughts of charges against me, but I have only stated the truth.

Was this review helpful?

anita

anita

February 07, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

anita

ceri bevan and her team were extremely helpful and went the extra mile to resolve difficult issues we faced them with. Covid 19 must have proved difficult for the team, at times, but none of this seemed to phase them. We have used Brockbanks since the early 2000s and been extremely satisfied with their professional attitude. We will have no hesitation in using their services in the near future or recommending them to friends.
Barry & Anita Craggs

Was this review helpful?

Jon

Jon

September 16, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Jon

Called to check progress on a case and had the phone put down on me. what sort of business would do that discussing service. I would not recommend this practice to anyone.

Was this review helpful?

Brockbank Curwen Cain & Hall Limited are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

At Brockbanks, you will find us to be approachable, patient, competent and helpful, and will work with you to provide a solution tailored to your needs.

Regulated by

Law Society of Scotland

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Clinical Negligence
    • Accident and Emergency Claims
    • Amputation Negligence Claims
    • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
    • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
    • Birth Injury Claims
    • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
    • Blood Transfusion Claims
    • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
    • C. Difficile Claims
    • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
    • Cerebral Palsy Claims
    • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Clinical Negligence
    • Cochlear Implant Claims
    • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
    • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
    • Defective Medical Device Claims
    • Dental Negligence
    • Dental Negligence Claims
    • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
    • Diabetes Claims
    • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
    • Eye Surgery Claims
    • Failed Sterilisation Claims
    • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
    • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
    • Fertility Negligence Claims
    • GP Negligence Claims
    • Group B Streptococcus Claims
    • Hospital Negligence Claims
    • Knee Replacement Claims
    • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
    • Laser Treatment Claims
    • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • MRSA Claims
    • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Medical Negligence
    • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
    • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
    • Nerve Damage Claims
    • Nerve Injury Claims
    • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
    • Oral Cancer Claims
    • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
    • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Periodontal Disease Claims
    • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
    • Pressure Sore Claims
    • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Restorative Dentistry Claims
    • Sepsis Negligence Claims
    • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
    • Spinal Surgery Claims
    • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
    • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Surgery Compensation Claims
    • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
    • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Travel rights
  • Crime/ Criminal Defence
    • Assault
    • Business Crime
    • Criminal Damage
    • Criminal defence - All
    • Drugs offences
    • Murder and Manslaughter
    • Professional Conduct
    • Regulatory Defence
    • Theft
  • Employment
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Pay Issue
    • Redundancy
    • TUPE
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Trusts
  • Personal Injury
    • Against The Council
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
    • Veterinary negligence
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety
    • Licensing
Book an appointment