Mullis & Peake LLP

01277 245015

Mullis & Peake is a leading independent law firm based in Essex, providing legal advice to businesses and individuals. Established in 1902 as a family business, Mullis & Peake has been built on decades of close customer relations and is proud that generations of families continue to use our services.

4.5/5 159 Customer Reviews 159
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Mullis & Peake LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Mullis & Peake LLP on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

159 Customer Reviews

4.5/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    129
  • Very Good
    14
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    13

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Ka Kei
Ka Kei Added 3 days ago Report to admin
November 16, 2019 20191116093412

Very unhappy experience

1

Our experience couldn't be worse for our house purchase. The office seems to be falling apart and the solicitors disagree with each other. Simple mistakes such as calculating stamp duty were made repeatedly. There was a change of our representing solicitor during the conveyancing process but we were not even informed! The pre-contract report was a standard letter without any useful information regarding the enquiries about the house. It is now two weeks after completions and we have not even received the contents and fixtures list for us to check the items in the house. The transfer of ownership of solar panels, which we reminded in particular at the beginning, was not done before completions; we have to try to do the ownership transfer ourselves but the solicitor office does not even bother providing us the essential documents to make this happen (after two calls were made). Totally unprofessional and unreliable.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Lyndon
Verified Lyndon Added 1 week ago Report to admin
November 07, 2019 20191107205201

Residential Property

5

Our sale was processed smoothly and timely, with good communication and professionalism

Was this review helpful? Yes

Pauline Flanagan
Verified Pauline Flanagan Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
October 31, 2019 20191031205201

Residential Property

5

It would be good if the sale and purchase of a property was dealt with by one person and not transferred to a different department after exchange of contracts - especially if the time between exchange and completion is short. You don’t have time to know who it is you’re dealing with.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sharon
Verified Sharon Added 1 month ago Report to admin
October 19, 2019 20191019205201

Residential Property

5

I would not go anywhere else for conveyancing. The service and friendliness from everyone. I have dealt with, is second to none! Well done Svetlana and all of your support team!!

Was this review helpful? Yes

John
Verified John Added 1 month ago Report to admin
October 11, 2019 20191011205201

Residential Property

5

Great service that ensured my house sale went through smoothly and was stress free. Thanks!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mark
Verified Mark Added 1 month ago Report to admin
October 04, 2019 20191004205201

Residential Property

5

I could not thank Claire anymore. I did ask for her line mangers name so i could email them on her service but she was to humble to do so. ( i even offered to buy flowers). I may of been a pain at some time but again Claire was always willing to listen to my rants and 'ALWAYS' had our best interest at heart. If we were ever to move again and Claire would take us on we would instruct her in a heart beat.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Melissa
Verified Melissa Added 1 month ago Report to admin
October 04, 2019 20191004205200

Residential Property

5

Excellent service would recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gloria
Verified Gloria Added 1 month ago Report to admin
October 03, 2019 20191003205201

Family

5

I am sorry that I cannot leave a positive review as I would not use this firm again. I took my case to another firm gave them the exact information as to the details of my case and got a far more positive outlook on what I could expect!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gary Turner
Verified Gary Turner Added 1 month ago Report to admin
October 03, 2019 20191003205201

Litigation / Dispute Resolution

5

I have used the services of Mullis and Peake on many occasions and continue to be impressed with the top quality of your company and the professional standards that you ensure are met each and every time. I will without question continue to use the services of your company in the future and will without hesitation recommend to anyone needing a solicitor to contact your company.

Solicitor named in this review: Esther Marshall

Was this review helpful? Yes

Debbie
Verified Debbie Added 2 months ago Report to admin
September 20, 2019 20190920205201

Residential Property

5

Very professional kept informed at every step of conveyancing and reasonably priced

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Ka
Ka Added 3 days ago Report to admin
November 16, 2019
Collected on
20191116092837

A client

1

Our experience couldn't be worse for our house purchase. The office seems to be falling apart and the solicitors disagree with each other. Simple mistakes such as calculating stamp duty were made repeatedly. There was a change of our representing solicitor during the conveyancing process but we were not even informed! The pre-contract report was a standard letter without any useful information regarding the enquiries about the house. It is now two weeks after completions and we have not even received the contents and fixtures list for us to check the items in the house. The transfer of ownership of solar panels, which we reminded in particular at the beginning, was not done before completions; we have to try to do the ownership transfer ourselves but the solicitor office does not even bother providing us the essential documents to make this happen (after two calls were made). Totally unprofessional and unreliable.

Was this review helpful? Yes

charlotte
charlotte Added 1 month ago Report to admin
October 09, 2019
Collected on
20191009141705

charlotte

5

Throughly recommend, 5* service. Angela in particular has been fantastic. Would not use any other solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sue
Sue Added 3 months ago Report to admin
July 28, 2019
Collected on
20190728193149

Sue

5

Good

Was this review helpful? Yes

Syd
Syd Added 3 months ago Report to admin
July 27, 2019
Collected on
20190727083338

Syd

5

On behalf of myself and son ....five star service from this firm of solicitors. No hesitation in recommending.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Rebecca
Rebecca Added 1 year ago Report to admin
October 12, 2018
Collected on
20181012163524

Rebecca Smith

1

Absolutely appalling , impossible to get hold of anyone with no understanding or regard to how the client is feeling .

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mullis & Peake LLP responded to this review on 16 October, 2018

We are really sorry that you feel you have received a negative experience when using Mullis & Peake LLP Solicitors. We take all feedback seriously and would like to investigate this matter for you. Please would you contact Joanne Briton by email: joannebriton@mplaw.co.uk or on her direct line 01708 784056, at your convenience, so she can discuss the issues with you and rectify the situation.

About This Branch

Description

Mullis & Peake LLP Solicitors is a leading law firm with a team of specialists providing legal advice to businesses and individuals. Established for over a century in the East London and Essex area, we are committed to providing trustworthy, expert advice, developed through personal contact, tailored to meet each client’s individual needs. We are delighted that another well known local law firm, McCorry Connolly Solicitors Ltd, have joined Mullis & Peake LLP Solicitors from February 2018.


Legal Services
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Annulment
  • Flexible Working
  • Child Access
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Children's Serious Injury
  • Chronic Pain
  • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
  • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Child Law
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Extending your Lease
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Divorce Mediation
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Accident Abroad
  • Tinnitus
  • Collaborative Law
  • Separation Agreement
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Pension and property advice
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Car Accident
  • Leasehold properties
  • Fatal Accident
  • Professional Discipline
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Employment Contracts
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Domestic Violence
  • Litigation Law
  • Transfer of title
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Civil partnerships
  • Back Injury At Work
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Dog Bite
  • Accident At Work
  • Manual Handling
  • Head and Brain Injury
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Tax
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Pleural Thickening
  • Child Abduction
  • Family Leave
  • Transfers of equity
  • Cycling Accident
  • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Mental Health
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Right to Manage
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Repetitive Strain Injury
  • Amputation
  • Asbestosis
  • Elderly care home fees
  • Accidents In Public Places
  • Fall From Height
  • No Win No Fee
  • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
  • TUPE
  • Senior Executives
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • High Net Worth Divorce
  • Motor Insurance Policy
  • Part Time Workers
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Child contact
  • Property Disputes
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Asbestos Lung Cancer
  • Fixed Fee Divorce
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Pleural Plaques (Scotland)
  • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
  • Social Services
  • Children
  • Repossessions
  • Pension Law
  • Marriage and civil partnerships
  • Against The Council
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Defective Work Equipment
  • Legal aid
  • Injunctions
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Serious Injury
  • Remortgaging
  • Housing Associations
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Housing disputes
  • Osteoarthritis
  • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
  • Wills
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Family law
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Bus and Coach Accident
  • Fatal Asbestos
  • Gardening Leave
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Supermarket Accident
  • Stress at Work
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Elderly care
  • Industrial Disease Compensation
  • Financial Matters
  • Lasting power of attorney
  • Housing Management
  • Trusts
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Separation
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Mesothelioma Compensation
  • Probate
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Trusts
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Asbestos Compensation
  • Head Injury At Work
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Injunctions
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Child Maintenance
  • Spinal Injury Compensation
  • Terrorism Abroad
  • Family Mediation
  • Slips, Trips and Falls
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Holiday Accidents and Illness
  • Children's Accident
  • Broken Bone Or Fracture
  • Redundancy
  • Car Passenger
  • International Divorce
  • Occupational Asthma
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Sports Injury
  • Divorce
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Road Traffic Accident
  • Skiing Injury
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Motorbike Accident
  • Pedestrian Accident
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Horse Riding Injury
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Buying at auction
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Lease Extensions
  • Vibration White Finger
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Whiplash
  • Child Custody
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Share option schemes
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Purchase of development land
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Engineering contracts
  • Asset Tracing
  • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
  • Intellectual Property
  • Agency agreements
  • Development agreements
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Small businesses
  • Data Protection
  • Framework agreements
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Franchising
  • Credit Control
  • Finance
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Developer disputes
  • Summary Judgment
  • Development loan facilities
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Competition law
  • Employment - business
  • Environmental policy law
  • Corporate finance
  • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
  • Facility maintenance agreements
  • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Mediation
  • Statutory Demands
  • Guarantees and bonds
  • Commercial Law
  • Rights of way issues
  • Corporate Law
  • Building contracts and professional appointments
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Tax
  • Management buyouts
  • Debt Recovery
  • Setting up a business
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Development plot sales
  • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
  • Construction
  • In-house training
  • Commercial Leases
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Commercial Litigation Matters

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0800 - 1800
  • 0800 - 1800
  • 0800 - 1800
  • 0800 - 1800
  • 0800 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000