Mullis & Peake LLP

01277 245015

Mullis & Peake is a leading independent law firm based in Essex, providing legal advice to businesses and individuals. Established in 1902 as a family business, Mullis & Peake has been built on decades of close customer relations and is proud that generations of families continue to use our services.

4.5/5 188 Customer Reviews 188 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Mullis & Peake LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Mullis & Peake LLP on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

188 Customer Reviews

4.5/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    152
  • Very Good
    17
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    15

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Pauline
Verified Pauline Added 1 month ago Report to admin
April 19, 2020 20200419205207

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

From making the first phone call to completion of my business I was treated by everyone professionally and friendly. Stella guided me in a very professional manner, which I would like to thank her for.

A representative from Mullis & Peake LLP responded to this review on 14 May, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Tracey Webb
Verified Tracey Webb Added 2 months ago Report to admin
March 12, 2020 20200312205204

Family

4

No concerns.

Solicitor named in this review: Jessica Thrower

A representative from Mullis & Peake LLP responded to this review on 18 March, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

James
James Added 2 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
March 10, 2020 20200310150625

Disappointing service

1

Would give a zero star if possible. Avoid at all costs!

We were introduced and recommended to Mullis and Peake solicitors by our mortgage adviser but it became apparent from the beginning that we would have issues. Communication with the company as whole was awful, particularly Svetlana who we had the misfortune of being allocated.

Firstly, we were given a fixed price for using their conveyancing services, which was slightly higher than other solicitors but competitive. We were treated poorly when requesting any sort of information and felt as if we were bothering them. We ended up being asked to pay £50 extra on top of the agreed fee as they had left a voicemail and sent an email to the bank's solicitors because they did not anticipate that amount of workload.

Secondly, we were being fed multiple lies on the rare occasions we could make contact with our representative. Contracts to be signed urgently were sent in the post days later than we had been told, even though we stated we could come into the office to speed the process up.
Overall we had a very disappointing and frustrating service, and would strongly suggest that anybody thinking of using Mullis and Peake (Shenfield) to avoid! There are plenty of better options in the East London/West Essex area.

A representative from Mullis & Peake LLP responded to this review on 18 March, 2020

We are sorry to have received your negative review and comments that you have not been satisfied with the service provided to you. We have been able to speak to the fee earner concerned and have been advised that the solicitors acting in respect of the Buy to Let property were very slow in responding and wanted an exchange and completion on the same day which is always difficult. It is correct that you were charged an additional £50 plus VAT however this was agreed by you as a result of the fact it was a requirement that there be a discharge of the mortgage as well, and additional work needed to be undertaken. Unfortunately completion did not take place on the date agreed as a result of no funds being received until much later on in the day which made it impossible to complete on your purchase. We can assure you that we take on board the comments you make and if Angela Sharma can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact her: 01708 784000, angelasharma@mplaw.co.uk

Was this review helpful? Yes

Andrew
Andrew Added 2 months ago Report to admin
March 06, 2020 20200306085537

Above and beyond

5

I worked with Svetlana and she was a real partner in the process of a small but slightly complicated property sale. I would work with her again and again without hesitation.

A representative from Mullis & Peake LLP responded to this review on 18 March, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

BL
Verified BL Added 3 months ago Report to admin
February 28, 2020 20200228205203

Employment

5

An amazing result, all thanks to my Solicitor: Manzurul Islam for all his hard work! A great lawyer and I’m so glad I had every faith in him to achieve a positive outcome.

A representative from Mullis & Peake LLP responded to this review on 18 March, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Laura
Verified Laura Added 4 months ago Report to admin
February 01, 2020 20200201205204

Family

5

Staff were all extremely helpful and my case was dealt with as quickly as could of been. Very friendly and would highly recommend.

Solicitor named in this review: Jessica Thrower

Was this review helpful? Yes

JON
Verified JON Added 4 months ago Report to admin
January 25, 2020 20200125205203

Residential Property

5

ANDREW FIDLER IS EXCELLENT, HIS UNDERSTANDING AND ASSISTANCE IN MY COMMERICAL INTERESTS IS ALWAYS SECOND TO NONE. PAUL FURSMAN IS EXTREMELY EFFICIENT HELPING ME IN MY RESIDENTIAL INTERESTS WITH THE MINIMUM OF FUSS.

Solicitor named in this review: Paul Fursman

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mrs P Bailey
Verified Mrs P Bailey Added 4 months ago Report to admin
January 23, 2020 20200123205226

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

I have been treated with the utmost respect, advise and help, by both solicitors used within your company, with regards to the making of my will and codicil, and also my daughter's will.

Was this review helpful? Yes

martin
Verified martin Added 4 months ago Report to admin
January 23, 2020 20200123205221

Family

5

Great advise, Jessica was brilliant, and when it came down to it everything I needed was done swiftly and promptly A 🌟

Solicitor named in this review: Jessica Thrower

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sandra Joseph
Verified Sandra Joseph Added 6 months ago Report to admin
December 03, 2019 20191203205202

Residential Property

5

Excellent, professional and supportive service received.

Solicitor named in this review: Clare Butcher

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

J
J Added 2 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
March 10, 2020
Collected on
20200310144509

A client

1

Would give a zero star if possible. Avoid at all costs!

We were introduced and recommended to Mullis and Peake solicitors by our mortgage adviser but it became apparent from the beginning that we would have issues. Communication with the company as whole was awful, particularly Svetlana who we had the misfortune of being allocated.

Firstly, we were given a fixed price for using their conveyancing services, which was slightly higher than other solicitors but competitive. We were treated poorly when requesting any sort of information and felt as if we were bothering them. We ended up being asked to pay £50 extra on top of the agreed fee as they had left a voicemail and sent an email to the bank's solicitors because they did not anticipate that amount of workload.

Secondly, we were being fed multiple lies on the rare occasions we could make contact with our representative. Contracts to be signed urgently were sent in the post days later than we had been told, even though we stated we could come into the office to speed the process up.
Overall we had a very disappointing and frustrating service, and would strongly suggest that anybody thinking of using Mullis and Peake (Shenfield) to avoid! There are plenty of better options in the East London/West Essex area.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mullis & Peake LLP responded to this review on 18 March, 2020

We are sorry to have received your negative review and comments that you have not been satisfied with the service provided to you. We have been able to speak to the fee earner concerned and have been advised that the solicitors acting in respect of the Buy to Let property were very slow in responding and wanted an exchange and completion on the same day which is always difficult. It is correct that you were charged an additional £50 plus VAT however this was agreed by you as a result of the fact it was a requirement that there be a discharge of the mortgage as well, and additional work needed to be undertaken. Unfortunately completion did not take place on the date agreed as a result of no funds being received until much later on in the day which made it impossible to complete on your purchase. We can assure you that we take on board the comments you make and if Angela Sharma can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact her: 01708 784000, angelasharma@mplaw.co.uk

Ka
Ka Added 6 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
November 16, 2019
Collected on
20191116092837

A client

1

Our experience couldn't be worse for our house purchase. The office seems to be falling apart and the solicitors disagree with each other. Simple mistakes such as calculating stamp duty were made repeatedly. There was a change of our representing solicitor during the conveyancing process but we were not even informed! The pre-contract report was a standard letter without any useful information regarding the enquiries about the house. It is now two weeks after completions and we have not even received the contents and fixtures list for us to check the items in the house. The transfer of ownership of solar panels, which we reminded in particular at the beginning, was not done before completions; we have to try to do the ownership transfer ourselves but the solicitor office does not even bother providing us the essential documents to make this happen (after two calls were made). Totally unprofessional and unreliable.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mullis & Peake LLP responded to this review on 20 November, 2019

We are really sorry that you feel you have had a negative experience when using Mullis & Peake LLP Solicitors. We take all feedback seriously and we have investigated this matter for you. We understand that another solicitor took over the transaction and this was explained to you when you spoke with the Head of Residential Property. The issues with the post completion documents have now been dealt with. Following a further email from you, your solicitor spoke to the seller’s solicitor who confirmed with the agent that all the papers had been left for you upon completion. Your solicitor then provided an explanation as to what the seller had said; a letter confirming completion and that the solar panels were included in the sale, was sent as per your request. If you would like further feedback please would you contact Angela Sharma by email: angelasharma@mplaw.co.uk or by telephone 01708 784000, at your convenience, so she can discuss the issues with you and rectify the situation.

charlotte
charlotte Added 7 months ago Report to admin
October 09, 2019
Collected on
20191009141705

charlotte

5

Throughly recommend, 5* service. Angela in particular has been fantastic. Would not use any other solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sue
Sue Added 10 months ago Report to admin
July 28, 2019
Collected on
20190728193149

Sue

5

Good

Was this review helpful? Yes

Syd
Syd Added 10 months ago Report to admin
July 27, 2019
Collected on
20190727083338

Syd

5

On behalf of myself and son ....five star service from this firm of solicitors. No hesitation in recommending.

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

Mullis & Peake LLP Solicitors is a leading law firm with a team of specialists providing legal advice to businesses and individuals. Established for over a century in the East London and Essex area, we are committed to providing trustworthy, expert advice, developed through personal contact, tailored to meet each client’s individual needs. We are delighted that another well known local law firm, McCorry Connolly Solicitors Ltd, have joined Mullis & Peake LLP Solicitors from February 2018.


Legal Services
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Fixed Fee Divorce
  • Housing Management
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Child Maintenance
  • Housing disputes
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Gardening Leave
  • Divorce Mediation
  • Occupational Asthma
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Industrial Disease Compensation
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Divorce
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Separation Agreement
  • Domestic Violence
  • High Net Worth Divorce
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Employment Contracts
  • Family law
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Family Mediation
  • Injunctions
  • Redundancy
  • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Car Passenger
  • Road Traffic Accident
  • Extending your Lease
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Collaborative Law
  • Financial Matters
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Back Injury At Work
  • Child Access
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Accidents In Public Places
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Pedestrian Accident
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • TUPE
  • Children's Serious Injury
  • Fall From Height
  • Asbestosis
  • Purchase and Sale
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Family Leave
  • Head and Brain Injury
  • Child Law
  • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
  • Motor Insurance Policy
  • Elderly care home fees
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Lease Extensions
  • Pension Law
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Motorbike Accident
  • Leasehold properties
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Wills
  • Spinal Injury Compensation
  • Lasting power of attorney
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Slips, Trips and Falls
  • Elderly care
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Repetitive Strain Injury
  • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
  • Flexible Working
  • Accident Abroad
  • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Accident At Work
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Head Injury At Work
  • Annulment
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Defective Work Equipment
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Broken Bone Or Fracture
  • Children's Accident
  • Manual Handling
  • Housing Associations
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Fatal Accident
  • Right to Manage
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Chronic Pain
  • Professional Discipline
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • No Win No Fee
  • Car Accident
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Child Abduction
  • Remortgaging
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Litigation Law
  • Child contact
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Vibration White Finger
  • Cycling Accident
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Tinnitus
  • Marriage and civil partnerships
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Injunctions
  • Fatal Asbestos
  • Terrorism Abroad
  • Osteoarthritis
  • Holiday Accidents and Illness
  • Social Services
  • Asbestos Lung Cancer
  • Sports Injury
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Skiing Injury
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Part Time Workers
  • Buying at auction
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Repossessions
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Dog Bite
  • Pleural Thickening
  • Mesothelioma Compensation
  • Trusts
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Pleural Plaques (Scotland)
  • Property Disputes
  • Whiplash
  • Transfer of title
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Separation
  • Trusts
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
  • Civil partnerships
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Children
  • Child Custody
  • Bus and Coach Accident
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Transfers of equity
  • International Divorce
  • Asbestos Compensation
  • Tax
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Stress at Work
  • Mental Health
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Serious Injury
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Legal aid
  • Horse Riding Injury
  • Senior Executives
  • Supermarket Accident
  • Against The Council
  • Probate
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Amputation
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
  • Pension and property advice
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Developer disputes
  • Franchising
  • Mediation
  • Setting up a business
  • Corporate Law
  • Development plot sales
  • Commercial Law
  • Debt Recovery
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Engineering contracts
  • Purchase of development land
  • Agency agreements
  • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Finance
  • Management buyouts
  • Data Protection
  • Asset Tracing
  • Credit Control
  • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Development loan facilities
  • Facility maintenance agreements
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Statutory Demands
  • Development agreements
  • Intellectual Property
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Small businesses
  • Commercial Leases
  • Framework agreements
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Rights of way issues
  • Tax
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
  • Construction
  • In-house training
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Share option schemes
  • Competition law
  • Corporate finance
  • Guarantees and bonds
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Employment - business
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Summary Judgment
  • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
  • Environmental policy law
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Building contracts and professional appointments
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0800 - 1800
  • 0800 - 1800
  • 0800 - 1800
  • 0800 - 1800
  • 0800 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000