Mullis & Peake LLP

01277 245015

Mullis & Peake is a leading independent law firm based in Essex, providing legal advice to businesses and individuals. Established in 1902 as a family business, Mullis & Peake has been built on decades of close customer relations and is proud that generations of families continue to use our services.

4.6/5 261 Client Reviews 261 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Mullis & Peake LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Mullis & Peake LLP on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

261 Client Reviews

4.6/5

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    219
  • Very Good
    19
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    2
  • Awful
    19

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Neil
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Mullis & Peake LLP. Neil Added 2 months ago Report to admin
February 26, 2021 20210226205209

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

Very good service

Was this review helpful? Yes

Debbie Curry
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Mullis & Peake LLP. Debbie Curry Added 2 months ago Report to admin
February 20, 2021 20210220205206

Residential Property

5

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

I would highly recommend Mullis & Peake who provide a professional service, keep you updated of all progress made and always at the end of a telephone to answer any questions

Solicitor named in this review: Paul Fursman

Was this review helpful? Yes

Karin
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Mullis & Peake LLP. Karin Added 2 months ago Report to admin
February 18, 2021 20210218205208

Residential Property

5

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

We have used Mullis and Peake on several occasions for property purchases and sales and what stands out for us is the ability to always reach them to discuss matters which reduces the stress in the process considerably.

Solicitor named in this review: Roger Paul Clark

Was this review helpful? Yes

Paula
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Mullis & Peake LLP. Paula Added 3 months ago Report to admin
February 11, 2021 20210211205218

Residential Property

5

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

Would have no hesitation in using Mullis & Peake in any future requirements that I might have,

Solicitor named in this review: Roger Paul Clark

Was this review helpful? Yes

Liam
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Mullis & Peake LLP. Liam Added 3 months ago Report to admin
February 06, 2021 20210206205207

Residential Property

5

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

Dawn was extremely pro-active and responsive at all times. Provided advice at every decision point when asked and was always happen to explain things in more detail. The quote was extremely true to the price and, given the quality of the service, I felt it was good value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Fran
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Mullis & Peake LLP. Fran Added 3 months ago Report to admin
February 02, 2021 20210202205211

Residential Property

5

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

All personnel I dealt with for the sale of my flat inspired confidence and made me feel the whole process would run smoothly and expertly. Warned of cost so no nasty surprise. A painless experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes

June
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Mullis & Peake LLP. June Added 3 months ago Report to admin
February 02, 2021 20210202205209

Residential Property

5

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

I would definitely repeat my business with you and make recommendations to my friends and family

Was this review helpful? Yes

David
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Mullis & Peake LLP. David Added 3 months ago Report to admin
January 21, 2021 20210121205206

Residential Property

5

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

Both myself and my daughters have used M&P before mainly for conveyancing, We have found the service to be first class and what differentiates M&P from other Solicitors is that they are quick to respond to questions including phone calls. Latterly Gayna Percival has been looking after our needs and she is great to deal with - direct in her approach yet polite, courteous and explains things in language you can understand.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Veronica
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Mullis & Peake LLP. Veronica Added 3 months ago Report to admin
January 18, 2021 20210118205209

Residential Property

5

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

I have dealt with both Andrew Fidler and Roger Clarke on matters relating to the purchase/sale of property. I found both to be approachable, efficient and professional. I would heartily recommend their services.

Solicitor named in this review: Roger Paul Clark

Was this review helpful? Yes

Nigel
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Mullis & Peake LLP. Nigel Added 4 months ago Report to admin
January 09, 2021 20210109205207

Residential Property

5

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

Already done by email direct to Roger Clarke and also on the websire review.

Solicitor named in this review: Roger Paul Clark

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Retro
Retro Added 1 month ago Report to admin
March 16, 2021
Collected on
20210316095117

Retro

5

Absolutely no complaints about Mullis and Peake whom I used for the sale and purchase of my home. Paras in particular was a pleasure to speak to and dealt with all enquiries promptly and efficiently and gave us a smooth experience despite complications in other parts of the chain. Would use again. Thanks, Victoria S.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Matthew
Matthew Added 10 months ago Report to admin
July 01, 2020
Collected on
20200701062810

Matthew

5

This is the second time we have used Mullis & Peake for a house purchase and they have been excellent.
Svetlana couldn’t do enough to help and was very supportive throughout the process.
Couldn’t recommend Svetlana enough and would definitely use Mullis & Peake again for any other house purchases.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mullis & Peake LLP responded to this review on 01 July, 2020

Thank you for such a positive review

J
J Added 1 year ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin
March 10, 2020
Collected on
20200310144509

A client

1

Would give a zero star if possible. Avoid at all costs!

We were introduced and recommended to Mullis and Peake solicitors by our mortgage adviser but it became apparent from the beginning that we would have issues. Communication with the company as whole was awful, particularly Svetlana who we had the misfortune of being allocated.

Firstly, we were given a fixed price for using their conveyancing services, which was slightly higher than other solicitors but competitive. We were treated poorly when requesting any sort of information and felt as if we were bothering them. We ended up being asked to pay £50 extra on top of the agreed fee as they had left a voicemail and sent an email to the bank's solicitors because they did not anticipate that amount of workload.

Secondly, we were being fed multiple lies on the rare occasions we could make contact with our representative. Contracts to be signed urgently were sent in the post days later than we had been told, even though we stated we could come into the office to speed the process up.
Overall we had a very disappointing and frustrating service, and would strongly suggest that anybody thinking of using Mullis and Peake (Shenfield) to avoid! There are plenty of better options in the East London/West Essex area.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mullis & Peake LLP responded to this review on 18 March, 2020

We are sorry to have received your negative review and comments that you have not been satisfied with the service provided to you. We have been able to speak to the fee earner concerned and have been advised that the solicitors acting in respect of the Buy to Let property were very slow in responding and wanted an exchange and completion on the same day which is always difficult. It is correct that you were charged an additional £50 plus VAT however this was agreed by you as a result of the fact it was a requirement that there be a discharge of the mortgage as well, and additional work needed to be undertaken. Unfortunately completion did not take place on the date agreed as a result of no funds being received until much later on in the day which made it impossible to complete on your purchase. We can assure you that we take on board the comments you make and if Angela Sharma can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact her: 01708 784000, angelasharma@mplaw.co.uk

Ka
Ka Added 1 year ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin
November 16, 2019
Collected on
20191116092837

A client

1

Our experience couldn't be worse for our house purchase. The office seems to be falling apart and the solicitors disagree with each other. Simple mistakes such as calculating stamp duty were made repeatedly. There was a change of our representing solicitor during the conveyancing process but we were not even informed! The pre-contract report was a standard letter without any useful information regarding the enquiries about the house. It is now two weeks after completions and we have not even received the contents and fixtures list for us to check the items in the house. The transfer of ownership of solar panels, which we reminded in particular at the beginning, was not done before completions; we have to try to do the ownership transfer ourselves but the solicitor office does not even bother providing us the essential documents to make this happen (after two calls were made). Totally unprofessional and unreliable.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mullis & Peake LLP responded to this review on 20 November, 2019

We are really sorry that you feel you have had a negative experience when using Mullis & Peake LLP Solicitors. We take all feedback seriously and we have investigated this matter for you. We understand that another solicitor took over the transaction and this was explained to you when you spoke with the Head of Residential Property. The issues with the post completion documents have now been dealt with. Following a further email from you, your solicitor spoke to the seller’s solicitor who confirmed with the agent that all the papers had been left for you upon completion. Your solicitor then provided an explanation as to what the seller had said; a letter confirming completion and that the solar panels were included in the sale, was sent as per your request. If you would like further feedback please would you contact Angela Sharma by email: angelasharma@mplaw.co.uk or by telephone 01708 784000, at your convenience, so she can discuss the issues with you and rectify the situation.

charlotte
charlotte Added 1 year ago Report to admin
October 09, 2019
Collected on
20191009131705

charlotte

5

Throughly recommend, 5* service. Angela in particular has been fantastic. Would not use any other solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

Mullis & Peake LLP Solicitors is a leading law firm with a team of specialists providing legal advice to businesses and individuals. Established for over a century in the East London and Essex area, we are committed to providing trustworthy, expert advice, developed through personal contact, tailored to meet each client’s individual needs. We are delighted that another well known local law firm, McCorry Connolly Solicitors Ltd, have joined Mullis & Peake LLP Solicitors from February 2018.


Regulated By:
Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal Services

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0800 - 1800
  • 0800 - 1800
  • 0800 - 1800
  • 0800 - 1800
  • 0800 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000