Mullis & Peake LLP

01708 784000

Mullis & Peake is a leading independent law firm based in Essex, providing legal advice to businesses and individuals. Established in 1902 as a family business, Mullis & Peake has been built on decades of close customer relations and is proud that generations of families continue to use our services.

4.5/5 138 Customer Reviews 138
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Mullis & Peake LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Mullis & Peake LLP on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

138 Customer Reviews

4.5/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    112
  • Very Good
    13
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    10

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Donald
Verified Donald Added 1 week ago Report to admin
September 06, 2019 20190906205202

Family

5

At a difficult time in my life Mullis & Peake provide me with sound advice, they maintained a professional but understanding attitude to my case and all their staff were polite and considerate.

Was this review helpful? Yes

John
Verified John Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
August 18, 2019 20190818205201

Residential Property

5

Great sevice from Svetlana made my dad's move run very smoothly. Highly recommend her in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reanna
Reanna Added 2 months ago Report to admin
July 10, 2019 20190710101950

Just a joke really...

1

My partner went with the branch in Romford to get his divorce done. We have struggled to pay for all the fees on min wage but have done it. But that was like 5/6 months ago and still waiting on some stupid paper work before we even get the divorce papers. We are constantly chasing them up for information. But I guess you have taken our money and don’t care anymore! Angela was brilliant at the start. Helping us but it’s all stopped and it’s honestly the worst experience we have had from a company. They just keep blaming the courts backlog and not giving us any information what so ever! So thanks great service... the court are also lying about the what they are doing, said first that it was accepted and saying now the hearing is on Friday. But yet there’s no way of getting contact as Angela is away from the office again.

A representative from Mullis & Peake LLP responded to this review on 11 July, 2019

We are very disappointed that you and your partner have had a negative experience of Mullis & Peake. We understand that you Reanna, who posted the review, are not a client of Mullis & Peake. We have however been able to trace the case to which you refer and we would comment as follows. The resources now available within the judicial system are more strained than they ever have been. All family law work in the Essex and East London area is undertaken centrally in Bury St Edmunds. They are completely overwhelmed and their general response times to correspondence is anything from 28 to 38 days. This is discounting correspondence that you send to them chasing up a response which gets no response! We consider it an important aspect of advising our clients that we manage their expectations in relation to court time tables which are entirely outside our control. We failed to do this adequately in this case as all the delay in processing the application for Decree Nisi which was submitted on the 11th March 2019 through to pronouncement on the 12th July 2019 is entirely outside our control. The matter will now proceed through to a conclusion with your partner being able to apply for Decree Absolute six weeks and one day from this Friday, 12th July. We assure you of our best attentions at all times. Mrs Sharma had in fact written to the court on three separate occasions chasing the progress of Decree Nisi. If you have any further comments you would like to make please contact Roisin McCorry, Head of the Family Law Department, on roisinmccorry@mplaw.co.uk.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Heather
Verified Heather Added 2 months ago Report to admin
June 29, 2019 20190629205202

Residential Property

4

I am happy so far with the work done by Mullis & Peake. I must however state that sometimes getting through by phone find it a bit frustrating and didHav not want to leave a message for someone to get back to me.

Solicitor being reviewed: Paul Fursman

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sam & Katie
Verified Sam & Katie Added 4 months ago Report to admin
May 11, 2019 20190511205212

Residential Property

5

Having been recommended to Mullis & Peake, we were very happy with the service provided. Svetlana looked after us, answered all our questions and kept us up to date on the progress of our case. I can't recommend them enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mrs M Morrell
Verified Mrs M Morrell Added 4 months ago Report to admin
May 11, 2019 20190511205212

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

Having been recently widowed it was not the traumatic experience that I feared in making my will. Hannaley was extremely empathetic and easy to talk to. Everything was explained very clearly and I was happy with the outcome.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Victoria
Verified Victoria Added 4 months ago Report to admin
May 11, 2019 20190511205212

Residential Property

4

Professional and friendly, kept up to date with what was happening. Easy to contact when needed.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mr and Mrs Monk
Verified Mr and Mrs Monk Added 4 months ago Report to admin
May 11, 2019 20190511205212

Wills, Trusts and Probate

4

The staff, when you enter the building, are pleasant and welcoming - you are made to feel at ease.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Paul
Verified Paul Added 4 months ago Report to admin
May 11, 2019 20190511205211

Employment

5

Do not be afraid to seek support from a solicitor! I was was very anxious about seeking this support and believed that my employers were going to be fair? I did seek support, and found that my employers were not as fair as I assumed that they would be. Esther was supportive and helped me work through the maze of issues helping me get the best result possible. She had dialogue with my employers which made them more act in a more reasonable fashion than they had been. This is a great one to one service that leaves you feeling valued and supported.

Solicitor being reviewed: Esther Claire Marshall

Was this review helpful? Yes

N. Martin
Verified N. Martin Added 5 months ago Report to admin
April 05, 2019 20190405150805

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

Good firm of solicitors, with reasonable costs and excellent staff who dealt with matters in a timely, efficient and effective fashion.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Charmaine
Charmaine Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
August 22, 2019
Collected on
20190822171011

Charmaine

5

They give sound advice

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jay
Jay Added 1 month ago Report to admin
August 13, 2019
Collected on
20190813094303

Jay

1

Totally frustrated at the lack of communication and service from this company, voice messages are not responded to, emails not answered and we are doing all the chasing and getting no updates regarding our case.

Have paid substantial fees and seen zero results.

OBO Paul Brightman

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mullis & Peake LLP responded to this review on 13 August, 2019

We are really sorry that you feel you have had a negative experience when using Mullis & Peake LLP Solicitors. We take all feedback seriously and I understand that your solicitor has contacted you and that they are still waiting a response from the other side. If you would like to discuss the matter further please contact Manzurul Islam, Head of Dispute Resolution, by email: Manzurulislam@mplaw.co.uk or on his direct line 01708 784020, at your convenience, so he can discuss the issues with you and rectify the situation.

Ryan
Ryan Added 1 month ago Report to admin
July 27, 2019
Collected on
20190727010401

Ryan

1

Hi , my name is Ryan.I am currently awaiting an inheritance settlement that has been going on for 16 months now and every time i phone to speak to someone regarding the matter they are either on leave or they are busy .
Through out the 16 months i have had to continuously chase them up on what is happening with my late mum's case .
They are not being transparent with any invoices or billing they have charged whilst my mum;s money was in court of protection and said they don;t not have to disclose this information .I'me a paying client and paying good money for this matter to be dealt with and don't see why they are not being transparent .
it has been sixteen months now on witch should have been a clear cut proceeding .There is no one contesting the will and don't see why it has took this long.
The response i get of the solicitors that work there is very negative and rude to be honest .Even though it is my mum's money they have in there account they will not disclose exactly how much .i am currently seeking advise from the FCA on what to do with this matter .
Once this case is closed and dealt with i will not be using mullis and peake again and would not recommend them to any one else as i feel they are keeping me hanging on and feel like they are constantly against me.They do not respond to my emails and constantly telling me they are waiting on paper work. if i do eventually get through to a solicitor .
Sixteen months is not good enough for this to be resolved and they are putting it back months at a time. I have even approached out side solicitors to try and get this matter resolved but they are getting the same response as i am . iv received a small interim payment from them but that is all .It has cost me hundreds of pounds to get other solicitors to chase them up .This is simply not professional standards and soon i will have to take thus matter further

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sergio
Sergio Added 4 months ago Report to admin
May 16, 2019
Collected on
20190516120231

Sergio

5

Sophie was excellent and very helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes

Richard
Richard Added 5 months ago Report to admin
April 10, 2019
Collected on
20190410222132

Richard Rayment

4

Gives honest legal opinion even if on occasions it's not what you want to hear!

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

Mullis & Peake LLP Solicitors is a leading law firm with a team of specialists providing legal advice to businesses and individuals. Established for over a century in the East London and Essex area, we are committed to providing trustworthy, expert advice, developed through personal contact, tailored to meet each client’s individual needs. We are delighted that another well known local law firm, McCorry Connolly Solicitors Ltd, have joined Mullis & Peake LLP Solicitors from February 2018.


Legal Services
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
  • Annulment
  • Legal aid
  • Car Passenger
  • Pension Law
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Civil partnerships
  • Pension and property advice
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Car Accident
  • Stress at Work
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Divorce
  • Lease Extensions
  • Senior Executives
  • International Divorce
  • Serious Injury
  • Family Leave
  • Family law
  • Osteoarthritis
  • Children's Accident
  • Social Services
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Elderly care
  • Probate
  • Accidents In Public Places
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Child Access
  • Employment Contracts
  • Against The Council
  • Children's Serious Injury
  • Children
  • Tax
  • Extending your Lease
  • Housing Management
  • Pleural Plaques (Scotland)
  • High Net Worth Divorce
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Remortgaging
  • Transfer of title
  • Pedestrian Accident
  • Manual Handling
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Professional Discipline
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Chronic Pain
  • Slips, Trips and Falls
  • Dog Bite
  • Holiday Accidents and Illness
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Motor Insurance Policy
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Housing disputes
  • TUPE
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Financial Matters
  • Property Disputes
  • Occupational Asthma
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Motorbike Accident
  • Child Abduction
  • Fatal Accident
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Trusts
  • Family Mediation
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Separation
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Horse Riding Injury
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Head Injury At Work
  • Sports Injury
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Elderly care home fees
  • Terrorism Abroad
  • Child Maintenance
  • Domestic Violence
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Housing Associations
  • Asbestos Compensation
  • Repetitive Strain Injury
  • Right to Manage
  • Litigation Law
  • Trusts
  • Asbestosis
  • Fatal Asbestos
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Mental Health
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Fixed Fee Divorce
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Accident At Work
  • Injunctions
  • Back Injury At Work
  • Defective Work Equipment
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Head and Brain Injury
  • Cycling Accident
  • Spinal Injury Compensation
  • Collaborative Law
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Flexible Working
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Broken Bone Or Fracture
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
  • Child Custody
  • Amputation
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • No Win No Fee
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Road Traffic Accident
  • Part Time Workers
  • Supermarket Accident
  • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Child Law
  • Redundancy
  • Child contact
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Tinnitus
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Buying at auction
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Accident Abroad
  • Lasting power of attorney
  • Skiing Injury
  • Separation Agreement
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Vibration White Finger
  • Repossessions
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Transfers of equity
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Injunctions
  • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Fall From Height
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Wills
  • Whiplash
  • Bus and Coach Accident
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Asbestos Lung Cancer
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Divorce Mediation
  • Marriage and civil partnerships
  • Leasehold properties
  • Mesothelioma Compensation
  • Pleural Thickening
  • Gardening Leave
  • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
  • Industrial Disease Compensation
  • Developer disputes
  • Intellectual Property
  • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Commercial Leases
  • Mediation
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Competition law
  • Agency agreements
  • Framework agreements
  • Franchising
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Development plot sales
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Facility maintenance agreements
  • Development agreements
  • Rights of way issues
  • Corporate finance
  • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
  • Summary Judgment
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Small businesses
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Data Protection
  • Construction
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Credit Control
  • Purchase of development land
  • Asset Tracing
  • Development loan facilities
  • Setting up a business
  • Commercial Law
  • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
  • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
  • Statutory Demands
  • Finance
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Share option schemes
  • Engineering contracts
  • In-house training
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Building contracts and professional appointments
  • Corporate Law
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Debt Recovery
  • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Management buyouts
  • Environmental policy law
  • Guarantees and bonds
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Employment - business
  • Tax

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0800 - 1800
  • 0800 - 1800
  • 0800 - 1800
  • 0800 - 1800
  • 0800 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000