Irwin Mitchell LLP

Also known as - Im Private Wealth,Irwin Mitchell Private Wealth

1.9/5 10 Client Reviews Leave a review

How Irwin Mitchell LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Irwin Mitchell LLP on ReviewSolicitors

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Irwin Mitchell LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Show more

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Become Verified

Irwin Mitchell LLP has Not Been Verified by ReviewSolicitors

You may want to discover a firm with an established and proven reputation on ReviewSolicitors

Top Rated Law Firms - Highly Recommended and Recently Used By Clients Like You


10 Client Reviews

1.9/5

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    1
  • Awful
    7
Anonymous
Click to rate
dylan
dylan Added 3 months ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin
November 11, 2020 20201111103541

Was Going to use them, NOT NOW AFTER READING REVIEWS.

1

I was looking for a Solicitor as my Legal Expenses Insurers are going to fund my case, after looking at these reviews I will not be using them, these reviews of the experience of clients by this company are very useful and help us avid having our cases aborted and made into a financial disaster.

I thank all the victims for sharing their experiences of this company and helping me avoid using them.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Marion
Marion Added 3 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
December 04, 2020 20201204184213

Help with child orders

5

My solicitor James Henshall at Irwin Mitchell was fantastic, so professional and yet providing a calming influence when needed .A totally lovely guy who got the job done ,excellent service ,this man has made my family look forward with hope and excitement, something we havent been able to do for a while .A massive thanku .

Solicitor named in this review: James Henshall

Was this review helpful? Yes

Tania
Tania Added 3 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
December 04, 2020 20201204110355

Excellent would very highly recommend

5

At the most difficult time in my life, Hilary Wetherell at the Birmingham office has provided the most amazing support. Hilary really cares about her clients. The rehabilitation package she arranged for my daughter has helped her to recover to a stage that I didn't think would be possible. The award she has secured has exceeded all of my expectations. My daughter now has a secure and hopeful future. Hilary is always professional but personable and there when needed. I thank the day I made that first call to Irwin Mitchell!

Solicitor named in this review: Hilary Wetherell

Was this review helpful? Yes

Angela
Angela Added 5 months ago 13 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 29, 2020 20200929132419

Lackadaisical | Lazy | Money hungry | No priority | Poor Service

1

Shocking solicitor - should be remanded for utter laziness and fleecing clients for money. Had to remind him to progress case. Never responded to emails in good time. Never answered queries. Had to assist him with evidence which was in plain site.

Worst service from a solicitor I have ever had.

Took my case to another firm and would never recommend this firm.

Solicitor named in this review: Richard Casdan

Was this review helpful? Yes

Stephen
Stephen Added 12 months ago 10 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
March 12, 2020 20200312140416

Irwin Mitchell

1

My name is Stephen Reed and I am the victim of the most appalling treatment at the hands of John Vickery who has now left the profession. I was subjected to the most cruellest of perjury eventually resulting in me becoming Homeless but only after suffering from bribery and blackmail. My story is on most social media platforms including a video on YouTube under Afroman Scarecrow Productions.

Was this review helpful? Yes

R
R Added 1 year ago 10 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
March 02, 2020 20200302132321

Anonymous

1

Do not use Lisa Roberts for conveyancing service is appalling and slow not to mention the untruthful statements

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jonathan
Jonathan Added 1 year ago 15 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 10, 2019 20190910203923

Disgraceful company,avoid.

1

Matter Type: Building contracts and professional appointments

We went through 18 months of with this company,we had 3 different paralegals which meant we had to go through the whole process with them each time,they told us to walk away and shake hands with the defendant as they stated the amount claimed would only be £300 (in fact we sued for over £10,000!!)They called us by our wrong names,they sent letters to the defendant in the wrong name and to add insult to injury they closed our case because they informed our insurance company we would not get any money.....because the defendant stated he had none!!! (The defendant had already settled two CCJ's against him).This company is a disgrace, avoid at all costs.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Richard
Richard Added 2 years ago 15 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
October 02, 2018 20181002084706

Definitely not recommended if you want a professional service

1

Matter Type: Consumer Disputes

I advise anyone NOT to engage this firm if you expect your claim to be properly handled by a qualified and experienced practitioner. It certainly did not happen for me.
They completely mishandled my claim against a roofing contractor and even worse failed to address the issues when I complained to them. They:
1) Assigned the 'assessment' of my claim to a "paralegal". Shorthand for "unqualified and/or inexperienced" in my case.
2) When I questioned a long list of fundamental errors and misunderstandings of my claim in the “initial assessment” of my claim, this "paralegal" could not (or would not) address ANY of my specific concerns. She demonstrated a complete lack of very basic knowledge (just one example was asking me why I was claiming for a new TV aerial instead of getting a quote to repair it when anyone with any common sense would know that the cost of replacing a TV aerial is primarily in the fitting and adjusting and they are NOT repairable.
3) The paralegal then came up with a fictitious 'value' for the company I was claiming against that was very low and then used this to dismiss my claim as being 'unrecoverable' against the contractor.
4) When I asked the paralegal to explain how this company ‘valuation’ was arrived at this was ignored and she then demanded that I provide an (unnecessary at this stage) expert witness statement that conformed to CPR part 2 when the brief she was working to was an initial assessment of the value and viability of my claim, not in preparing an application to court. This paralegal then used this unnecessary demand to cease acting on my claim unless I provided this court witness statement at my expense.
5) When I made a complaint to management about the apparent lack of inexperience and qualifications of the paralegal, and the failure to respond to my specific complaints, her manager completely failed to address any of the specific issue I had raised and simply closed ranks with her paralegal and summarily dismissed my complaints.
All together very poor service and you would be better of using a local (qualified and experienced) solicitor who would maintain a dialogue and get an understanding of the issues, and would have some legal qualifications.
Oh well, its off to the Legal Ombudsman then.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Richard
Richard Added 2 years ago 10 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 29, 2018 20180929083431

Worst claim handler ever?

1

Matter Type: Consumer Disputes

Complete waste of time if you engage this firm if you want your claim properly handled by a qualified and experienced practitioner.
They completely mishandled my claim against a roofing contractor and worse failed to address the many issues when I complained to them by:
1) Assigning the 'assessment' of my claim to a "paralegal". Shorthand for "unqualified and/or inexperienced" in my case.
2) When I questioned a long list of fundamental errors and misunderstanding of my claim in her initial 'assessment' of my claim, this "paralegal" could not (or would not) address ANY of my specific concerns. She demonstrated a complete lack of very basic knowledge (just one example was asking me why I was claiming for a new TV aerial instead of getting a quote to repair the completely destroyed item when anyone with common sense would know that the cost of replacing a TV aerial is primarily in the fitting and adjusting and they NOT repairable.
3) The paralegal then invented a fictitious 'value' for the company I was claiming against that was very low and then used this to dismiss my claim as being 'unrecoverable' against the contractor.
4) When I complained the same paralegal then demanded that I provide an (unnecessary at this stage) expert witness statement that conformed to CPR part 2 when the brief she was working to was an initial assessment of the value and viability of my claim, not in preparing an application to court. This paralegal then used this for unnecessary demand to cease acting on my claim.
5) When I made a complaint about the apparent inexperience and lack of qualifications of the paralegal her manager failed to address any of the specific issue I complained about and simply closed ranks with her paralegal and summarily dismissed my complaints.
Altogether very poor service and you would be better of using a local (qualified and experienced) solicitor rather than this firm

Was this review helpful? Yes

Greg
Greg Added 5 years ago 23 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
October 07, 2015 20151007114103

Good initial impression, service was as useul as a parking fine

2

Matter Type: Employment Law

Ive seen these solicitors around a lot and needed some advice about my employment. After initially speaking to them, they never returned my calls despite telling me they would. It took 4 days for a "Summary" of our conversation to come through, by which time I had lost interest with them. Word of advice, if I'm paying your gargantuan fees, then I am your number 1 priority, not 20th down the list.

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Regulated By:

Legal Services