Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Irwin Mitchell LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 88%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Irwin Mitchell LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Irwin Mitchell LLP. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 80%
About Right 20%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 96%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Irwin Mitchell LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Irwin Mitchell LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 96%
No 4%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 86%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Irwin Mitchell LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Irwin Mitchell LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 86%
No 14%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Irwin Mitchell LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.4/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    9393
  • Very Good

    621
  • Average

    155
  • Poor

    135
  • Awful

    813

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Geof

Matter Type:

Leasehold properties

Geof

February 27, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

First Class Service

Very happy with the service that we receive from Irwin Mitchell and the personnel attached to our account

Was this review helpful?

Debbie

Matter Type:

Accident At Work

Debbie

August 09, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Misleading

All the other reveiws seem to have echoed what I was about to say, but be mindful when and if your doing " A no win, no fee", because they tell you it's originally 25% but that goes up when it gets to the nitty gritty of getting compensation. The Solicitor told me the terms were in the contract it can be as high as 40% and more, then why on earth did I start the process in the first place.
The contract reads like a Bible Amen to that I got to the first paragraph and gave up and they expect you've read it in times of turmoil in your life, no you must make it clear verbally.
Don't take anything for granted, don't make assumptions, because youl get the total opposite. I don't understand I was recommended by 2 people to go to Irwin Mitchell, why on earth didn't I go locally.

Was this review helpful?

S

S

July 26, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Deputy Irwin Mitchell Trust Corporation

After more than 12 months of ongoing issues, I raised in November 2021 a complaint about the deputy of my daughters complex care package, Irwin Mitchell LLP, represented by Julia Lomas and Lucy Nicol. As the law firm refused to take actions or find a resolution for any of the issues raised.

In summary, Irwin Mitchell caused severe and irreversible and continuing financial damage to my daughters limited care funds and compromised my daughters wellbeing, by means of
a) slow processing of urgent deputy related decisions, towards e.g. investments but also care relevant equipment.
b) repeated ignorance of mutually agreed processes, resulting in exorbitant time spend from my side to rectify and resolve issues created by the deputy
c) ongoing payment issues, processing invoices in relation to my daughters care to late or only after final warnings (with all related implications) have been issued, resulting in additional work, avoidable interest charged to my daughters care package and reputational and credit rating related damages to me

The entire deputy team appears unable to acknowledge or apologise for any errors made. Senior managers are poorly prepared, high defensive and argue even the most appalling errors made by their trainee teams - as client, we felt continuously left alone with poorly trained and sometimes unprofessional associates.

Stay away from the deputy team at Irwin Mitchell LLP

Was this review helpful?

Angela

Angela

September 29, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Lackadaisical | Lazy | Money hungry | No priority | Poor Service

Shocking solicitor - should be remanded for utter laziness and fleecing clients for money. Had to remind him to progress case. Never responded to emails in good time. Never answered queries. Had to assist him with evidence which was in plain site.

Worst service from a solicitor I have ever had.

Took my case to another firm and would never recommend this firm.

Was this review helpful?

R

R

March 02, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Anonymous

Do not use Lisa Roberts for conveyancing service is appalling and slow not to mention the untruthful statements

Was this review helpful?

Max

Matter Type:

Probate

Max

April 15, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Better and cheaper options out there!

Be careful as to whom you put down as an executor of a will because if it's a solicitors the charges for probate/dealing with the estate "could" run into thousands as per the experience here, and it's difficult to nigh impossible to remove them without having to go through a court. Whether it's charging by the hour or charging a percentage of the estate I am sure many don't realise how much this will cost because of course when you write a will you may have no idea of the fees that they will charge. So my advice is if your loved one has made a will through a solicitor maybe an uncomfortable conversation may be best to avoid a massive shock later. We will never know if using Irwin Mitchell as an executor was the wish of our loved one or if possible (alleged) "persuasion" was a factor when the will was being set up. I know our loved one would be horrified if they were still here.

Was this review helpful?

Peter

Peter

March 27, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Terrible experience

Person who answered the phone asked a myriad of questions before trying to put me through to the appropriate dept . Didn’t manage to actually speak to a solicitor.!!!

Was this review helpful?

Daryl

Daryl

February 23, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Good service

It is stressful having to find legal advice. The team make the experience easier and bareable.

Was this review helpful?

Katrina

Matter Type:

Settlement Agreements

Katrina

February 21, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great Service

From the first call with Daniella Colton, she was so supportive which made me feel settled about the choices I had to make. Because of this, I chose to go with Irwin Mitchell for this reason and she was fantastic right to the very end making sure I fully understood everything along the way.

Was this review helpful?

Maria

Matter Type:

Employment Contracts

Maria

February 17, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Friendly and helpful staff

I have used Irwin Mitchell for getting a settlement agreement from work and they did absolutely everything for me with a very successful outcome

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Sue

Sue

August 08, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent advice and quick responses

I have been represented by Sarah Coyne at Irwin Mitchell Solicitors for (i) a flat sale in Sussex in 2023 and (ii) a flat purchase in Oxfordshire in 2023 (unrelated). Both experiences were good, with excellent advice and quick responses. Will definitely use Sarah again if we have a need.

Was this review helpful?

David

David

August 03, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

The best of the best

We were lucky enough to work with Jo Robinson, Natalie Telford, and Tracy Gormley in respect of our recent property sale and purchase. We were really impressed with the communication, pragmatism, knowledge, and willingness to listen to what was important to us. We would strongly recommend Jo and her fantastic team. We got an insight into how other conveyancing teams operate as part of the process; we were really comforted that we had the best of the best.

Was this review helpful?

Andre

Andre

August 02, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Always kept me updated

It took a long time to reach my settlement, but was worth it in the end, Sarah Downs was helpful all the way through, always kept me updated and and always explained things when I didn’t understand

Was this review helpful?

Lisa

Lisa

August 01, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Rebecca has been great

This was my first time needing a medical negligence solicitor, a friend suggested I use Irwin Mitchell & I’ve been more than happy with the way my claim has been dealt with from my first point of contact . I was assigned Rebecca Levesley, Rebecca has been great, answering any queries I have promptly and in detail & I would highly recommend her to anyone.

Was this review helpful?

Charlie

Charlie

July 31, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Brilliant conveyancer

Sarah Coyne was a brilliant conveyancer, she was fantastic throughout our purchase, always kept us up to date and helped us through a stressful period, highly recommend

Was this review helpful?

Irwin Mitchell LLP are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Actions against the police
    • Actions against the police
    • Assault using a Taser gun
    • Excessive force or assault
    • Human rights breaches
    • Malicious prosecution
    • Police negligence
    • Wrongful arrest or false imprisonment
  • Clinical Negligence
    • Accident and Emergency Claims
    • Amputation Negligence Claims
    • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
    • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
    • Birth Injury Claims
    • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
    • Blood Transfusion Claims
    • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
    • C. Difficile Claims
    • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
    • Cerebral Palsy Claims
    • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Clinical Negligence
    • Cochlear Implant Claims
    • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
    • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
    • Defective Medical Device Claims
    • Dental Negligence
    • Dental Negligence Claims
    • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
    • Diabetes Claims
    • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
    • Eye Surgery Claims
    • Failed Sterilisation Claims
    • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
    • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
    • Fertility Negligence Claims
    • GP Negligence Claims
    • Group B Streptococcus Claims
    • Hospital Negligence Claims
    • Knee Replacement Claims
    • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
    • Laser Treatment Claims
    • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • MRSA Claims
    • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Medical Negligence
    • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
    • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
    • Nerve Damage Claims
    • Nerve Injury Claims
    • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
    • Oral Cancer Claims
    • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
    • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Periodontal Disease Claims
    • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
    • Pressure Sore Claims
    • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Restorative Dentistry Claims
    • Sepsis Negligence Claims
    • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
    • Spinal Surgery Claims
    • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
    • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Surgery Compensation Claims
    • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
    • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Libel and Defamation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Malicious falsehood
    • Pre-publication advice
    • Travel - Airlines going out of business
    • Travel - Falsely advertised accommodation
    • Travel - Holiday Sickness
    • Travel - Travel agents going out of business
    • Travel - Trip cancellation
    • Travel - Unsanitary hotel conditions
    • Travel - Volcanic ash disruption
    • Travel rights
  • Crime/ Criminal Defence
    • Assault
    • Business Crime
    • Criminal Damage
    • Criminal defence - All
    • Drugs offences
    • Fraud
    • Murder and Manslaughter
    • Professional Conduct
    • Regulatory Defence
    • Theft
  • Education
    • Education
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Media and Sports
    • Military
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Human rights
    • Human rights
  • Immigration
    • Administrative reviews, appeals and judicial reviews
    • Ancestry visas
    • Applications for British citizenship
    • Applications for discretionary leave
    • Applications to extend leave to remain or for settlement
    • Asylum applications and appeals
    • Citizenship
    • Deportation appeals
    • EEA Family Permits
    • EEA Registration Cards
    • EEA Residence Permits
    • Entry clearance applications and appeals
    • Family Based Visas
    • Family Reunion Applications / Appeals
    • Family Visit Visa Applications /Appeals
    • General Visit Visa Applications / Appeals
    • Human Rights
    • Illegal Workers and Civil Penalties
    • Immigration Law
    • Indefinite leave to remain applications
    • Marriage Applications/Appeals
    • Nationality, Citizenship, Registration application
    • Partner and family visas
    • Re-entry bans
    • Settlement Applications and indefinite leave to remain appeals
    • Tier 1 (investors, entrepreneurs and exceptional talent)
    • Tier 2 (sponsored skilled workers)
    • Tier 4 (students)
    • Tier 5 (temporary workers)
    • UK ancestry
    • Visas
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Notary
    • Notary
  • Personal Injury
    • Against The Council
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • No Win No Fee
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Professional Negligence
    • Barristers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional Negligence
    • Professional trustees
    • Valuers
  • Welfare & Benefits
    • Benefits
    • Housing
    • Mental Health
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
    • Veterinary negligence
  • Banking
    • Banking
  • Charities
    • Charities
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Insurance
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Outsourcing agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Slander
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Construction
    • Building contracts and professional appointments
    • Construction
    • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
    • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
    • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
    • Development agreements
    • Development loan facilities
    • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
    • Engineering contracts
    • Facility maintenance agreements
    • Framework agreements
    • Guarantees and bonds
    • In-house training
    • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • Energy & Transport
    • Aviation
    • Energy
    • Maritime and Shipping
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
    • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
    • Computer and IT Law
    • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
    • Copyright
    • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
    • Design rights and product designs
    • Domain Names
    • GDPR
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
    • Patents
    • Personality and Image Rights
    • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Regulations
    • Environment
    • Health and Safety
    • Licensing